Have you ever had to dial 999?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Yes. My kitchen caught fire. Then we put it out eventually and I told them it was ok and hung up. They called back to make sure everything was ok. It was a good service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Littlegirllost

nope thankfully, although it was called for me after a car accident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, I dialled 112. 999 doesn't exist any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I called 999 when 3 scumbags had a blow out in a stolen car at the top of my driveway. It was a hotwired banger and I stood there watching them while they changed the tire with just a jack and a pair of pliers. Had abit of craic with them and they even had the cheek to ask me when the guards will be here. They guards arrived about 2 minutes too late.

The guy driving was a well known scummer and about 1 year later he killed 2 people in a crash while driving a stolen car. He is rightly locked up now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

More times than I care to remember... probably about 30/40 times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Not yet thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Once, me and my mate where in his house playing xbox one night, his ma and da were gone out and we heard noises downstairs. We waited for about ten minutes and we then realised it was people trying to get in the back door so we rang 999, they were there in about 5 minutes and they started bangin on the door shouting its the police open up, i tought to myself this sounds so hollywoodish :P turns out there were people out the back but they ran when they heard the police shouting. The little baldy gardai was actually sound that night come to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Called it four times;

1. I was about 9 and was playing with an old mobile which had an old sim card in it. I entered the wrong PIN a few times and the phone got blocked so I ended up pressing the button to call 'Emergency' to ask for the unblocking code. Needless to say, the operator wasn't too impressed.

2. Second time, we had a chimney fire, my fault, and I rang the fire brigade after a few minutes of panic. Had the fire quenched by the time 2 full fire brigades pulled up outside our front gate.

3. Then in college, someone pressed all the fire alarms at about 4am setting off a siren in the whole apartment building. We didn't have a code to turn it off and couldn't get through to the management so I called the fire brigade again. Probably wasn't the best idea looking back on it now. I did tell them there wasn't a fire but that someone had set off the alarm. Anyway, 3 fire engines turned up and checked all the apartments but couldn't do anything about the alarm. Eventually got a code off someone later and turned it off.

4. Last time I called the fire brigade was a few years ago when I spotted a fire on the grounds of a warehouse behind our apartment in Galway. There didn't seem to be anyone around and I thought the fire looked like it was spreading. Anyway, a fire engine did arrive out and quenched it and took a look around.

I thought there was a charge for calling out emergency services but I never heard anything after my calls. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Once. For a break-in a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Condi wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Creamsoda

Sounds like a delightful area you live in! :pac:

ah it isn't too bad just had a few dodgy people living there for a while! Had a drug dealer living across the hall from me for a while too... He's gone now though so its all quite now. Moving out in a few weeks to a nice quite area so its all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yes, once. Few years back I was sitting at a bus stop when this bunch of teenagers walked over and were being really really noisy. They were shouting and laughing and just being normal teenagers. One of them, a girl, starts walking funny and they all think this is hilarious. She gets down on her knees and they laugh harder. Then she lies down on her front and they're on the ground pissing themselves with laughter. One says, "oh she had too much drugs" and they all laugh.

Then one of them starts screaming. There's blood coming out her nose and her mouth and she's unresponsive to when they try to move her. I call for an ambulance and just as it pulls up she regains consciousness. At which point most of her friends run away.

They would rather not get in trouble than make sure she's OK. Friends me arse.

I thought this was going to be a joke. :(
    Condi wrote: »

Aw. Romance isn't dead.

It's just unconscious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I phoned 999 once when I lived in Scotland because of a domestic abuse incident, he was beating the crap out of her, and they told me that it wasn't a life or death situation - so I should ring this other number they have for lesser emergencies...having said that, I told them I had no credit and no access to a phone and they needed to send someone now. So, they did, and thankfully my neighbour was arrested because the scumbag was beating his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭LEIN

Twice.

1. Kids smashing up a car.

2. Ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭MissMiami

friendface wrote: »
    Called it four times;

1. I was about 9 and was playing with an old mobile which had an old sim card in it. I entered the wrong PIN a few times and the phone got blocked so I ended up pressing the button to call 'Emergency' to ask for the unblocking code. Needless to say, the operator wasn't too impressed.

2. Second time, we had a chimney fire, my fault, and I rang the fire brigade after a few minutes of panic. Had the fire quenched by the time 2 full fire brigades pulled up outside our front gate.

3. Then in college, someone pressed all the fire alarms at about 4am setting off a siren in the whole apartment building. We didn't have a code to turn it off and couldn't get through to the management so I called the fire brigade again. Probably wasn't the best idea looking back on it now. I did tell them there wasn't a fire but that someone had set off the alarm. Anyway, 3 fire engines turned up and checked all the apartments but couldn't do anything about the alarm. Eventually got a code off someone later and turned it off.

4. Last time I called the fire brigade was a few years ago when I spotted a fire on the grounds of a warehouse behind our apartment in Galway. There didn't seem to be anyone around and I thought the fire looked like it was spreading. Anyway, a fire engine did arrive out and quenched it and took a look around.

I thought there was a charge for calling out emergency services but I never heard anything after my calls. :confused:

Was that in Corrib Village by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

Confab wrote: »
    No, I dialled 112. 999 doesn't exist any more.

Yes it does, it still puts you through to emergency services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

MissMiami wrote: »

I was wondering if it was the apartments beside Roaches multi-story, because if so I might no who did it

<_<
    >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I've dialled 999 & 112 a few times deliberately, for genuine emergencies. Stories aren't interesting.

But on two occasions I accidentally dialled 112 while the phone was in my pocket. Most mobile phones will allow you to dial 112 even if the keypad is locked, provided you dial the numbers in reasonably close succession, followed by the CALL key. The chances of it happening are slim enough, but I was unfortunate enough to have had it happen twice in the space of a couple of months.

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I was working in a newsagents once when it got robbed. I was the only person there as the other guy was on his lunch and I was only 16. The robber jumped over the counter when I opened the till and just grabbed all the cash he could, while I just froze.

When he ran out, instead of ringing 999 I rang my sister because she worked in the same chain, on the other side of town and I was in a bit of a panic and didn't know who else to ring. She goes "Did you ring 999" and I said "No, I didn't think it was an emergency" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

4 year old doing subtraction and in double figures! American kids are definitely more advanced.

I've called 999 twice.

Once, when we lived in London when I could see a guy getting kicked literally to death by one guy while six others looked on and once for myself. It's amazing how squeaky my voice gets when I'm under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

yes i did have to do so three timesnone of it for me or my family i found a lady unconsious on road, dialled 999, ambulance was there within 10 minuits and were great, took the pressure off me,another thime someone called to my door and asked me to call 999, again all was taken care of, and another time on a roundabout in a town, there were a load of cars hooting the horns of their cars at this small car that had stopped centre of roundabout, i gave a good look and found it had an elderly lady driver whose head was slumped forward, stopped my car got out and checked to find the poor thing was in and out of conciousness and called 999 again then they were there in 5 minuits i was glad to see them, i found out she was exhausted in extreme heat of july it was a real scorcher that day, the car was the last place you would want to be, the poor lady it got the better of her, but what amazed me was the amount of people who did not look at her to see she was okay, just ignorantly hooted horns, but i made sure i gave them something to hoot about that day, i blocked roundabout until medics arrived and was glad to hear afterwards that she made a full recovery. and furthermore none of these gombeens would get out of their car to help me push this ladies car out of the way while steering,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Is it true that 911 get's you through as well here? That in times of distress it may be the first to come to mind because of TV/films?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Superbus wrote: »
    Is it true that 911 get's you through as well here?

Why don't you try it and just say you were curious to find out if 911 worked ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Dialed it a good few times, reported a travelers horse loose on the N18 outside Limerick. The first at the scene of a car crash in South Dublin and reported a car on fire near Dunlaoghaire pier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

goat2 wrote: »
    yes i did have to do so three timesnone of it for me or my family i found a lady unconsious on road, dialled 999, ambulance was there within 10 minuits and were great, took the pressure off me,another thime someone called to my door and asked me to call 999, again all was taken care of, and another time on a roundabout in a town, there were a load of cars hooting the horns of their cars at this small car that had stopped centre of roundabout, i gave a good look and found it had an elderly lady driver whose head was slumped forward, stopped my car got out and checked to find the poor thing was in and out of conciousness and called 999 again then they were there in 5 minuits i was glad to see them, i found out she was exhausted in extreme heat of july it was a real scorcher that day, the car was the last place you would want to be, the poor lady it got the better of her, but what amazed me was the amount of people who did not look at her to see she was okay, just ignorantly hooted horns, but i made sure i gave them something to hoot about that day, i blocked roundabout until medics arrived and was glad to hear afterwards that she made a full recovery. and furthermore none of these gombeens would get out of their car to help me push this ladies car out of the way while steering,

If this "elderly lady driver" wasn't able to put up with a bit of heat, there's no way in hell she's capable of controlling a vehicle which is potentially a very dangerous weapon. Just as well she didn't decide to pass out coming up to a group of kids playing on the road or anything.

Why on earth would you possibly think it necessary to block up the whole roundabout because of one stupid old woman's error in judgement?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

MissMiami wrote: »

Nope, it was actually in Atlantis Apts in Westside. The fire alarm was usually pretty annoying there anyway. I remember it would always go off if you had a shower with the door open. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I've always wondered why they decided on 112, or even kept 999 so long. The logical choice imo would be 555. If you need to call in the dark (maybe you're hiding), if you're blinded (maybe by smoke) etc. It would be easy for people to go straight for the button with the braille dot. Nobody uses rotary phones anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I once tried to call the emergency services when the chip-pan was on fire. Thing was, I was watching so many American sitcoms I kept dialing 911.

Place burnt to the ground.