Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever had to dial 999?

• 18-09-2010 4:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭

Just came across an article about some wee girl who had to phone an ambulance for her mum and I got to thinking that in 20-odd years of life, I've never had to dial 999... (touch wood)

So, anyone here had to make that call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

once, for a fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I've been working 18 years in a hospital, and last Wednesday I had to call Cardiac arrest for the first time ever - same thing! It always happened there was somebody else nearer the phone in the past.
    Everything went fine thank God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Nope, hope I never have to because here its 911.. I don't know what 999 would get me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah, a few times. Once when we got a message off my nan in the middle of the night saying she was bleeding, we weren't sure if she'd managed to call an ambulance or not; so we did; once when some lads kicked down our fence for the millionth time, and a few times when we've got broken into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭smallgarden

once on way home from night out,witnessed guy crashing motorbike so called for ambulance,it arrived nearly an hour later!was surprised at the length of the delay!

i dialed 112 for a building fire before, so no, i never had to ring 999. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The only time it looked like we I had to call 999 I just called the Hospital directly itself and everything was ok in the end.

Yes, once. Few years back I was sitting at a bus stop when this bunch of teenagers walked over and were being really really noisy. They were shouting and laughing and just being normal teenagers. One of them, a girl, starts walking funny and they all think this is hilarious. She gets down on her knees and they laugh harder. Then she lies down on her front and they're on the ground pissing themselves with laughter. One says, "oh she had too much drugs" and they all laugh.

Then one of them starts screaming. There's blood coming out her nose and her mouth and she's unresponsive to when they try to move her. I call for an ambulance and just as it pulls up she regains consciousness. At which point most of her friends run away.

They would rather not get in trouble than make sure she's OK. Friends me arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I used to work for a company making phone software. I had to run tests on emergency numbers and was very quickly dialing 999 and hanging up, thinking it wouldn't connect so everything would be fine.

I did this about 3 or 4 times, then got a call back on the number from a guy from the emergency services who called me to check did we have an emergency. Needless to say when I told him what was happening he wasn't impressed :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah, hotel night porter

Place getting trashed one night and me on my own
    Two squad cars there within minutes and a lot of the residents kicked out of the lobby to the car park in the rain to cool off before their details got taken

Good result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Yes, once. Few years back I was sitting at a bus stop when this bunch of teenagers walked over and were being really really noisy. They were shouting and laughing and just being normal teenagers. One of them, a girl, starts walking funny and they all think this is hilarious. She gets down on her knees and they laugh harder. Then she lies down on her front and they're on the ground pissing themselves with laughter. One says, "oh she had too much drugs" and they all laugh.

Then one of them starts screaming. There's blood coming out her nose and her mouth and she's unresponsive to when they try to move her. I call for an ambulance and just as it pulls up she regains consciousness. At which point most of her friends run away.

Pfft bog people....

Rycn wrote: »
    Pfft bog people....

That has something to do with my story because ....? They weren't Irish, all the teenagers involved were African.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Actual Paramedic

Apparently there is a figure, like on average a person will dial 999/112/911 at least twice in their lifetime.

Remember that the emergency number is for police, fire, ambulance, lifeboat, coastguard, mountain rescue etc

The 999 call goes to a dedicated call centre for answering these calls and redirecting them to right service in the right county/location. It was run by Eircom but has recently changed to BT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

That has something to do with my story because ....? They weren't Irish, all the teenagers involved were African.
    Ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Apparently there is a figure, like on average a person will dial 999/112/911 at least twice in their lifetime.

Remember that the emergency number is for police, fire, ambulance, lifeboat, coastguard, mountain rescue etc

The 999 call goes to a dedicated call centre for answering these calls and redirecting them to right service in the right county/location. It was run by Eircom but has recently changed to BT.

I suppose you would know.

Rycn wrote: »
    Pfft bog people....

Most likely yea,I mean every time I sit at the bus stop outside the Bog I always see drug crazed farmers stumbling about after cutting the turf!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

once for a fire and once as a ran away from 2 knackers who were trying to **** me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Creamsoda

Twice this summer, first when one of the junkies living in an apartment under me got locked out and when he couldn't wake the other junkies up by attempting to kick the door down he set off the fire alarm in the whole building. Then about 2 weeks later when I came home and found 2 of the alcoholics from another 1 of the apartments kicking the living sh*t out of the same junkie. One of the alcoholics had a big kitchen knife so I called the cops and in less than 2 minutes later about 8 cops ran in with guns and kicked them all out! Then that evening the junkies apartments went on fire(turns out the lady junkie had been cooking when they got thrown out and the cooker went on fire). I wasn't home when that happened though so I didnt call 999 that time. Was an eventful few weeks.

Creamsoda wrote: »
    Twice this summer, first when one of the junkies living in an apartment under me got locked out and when he couldn't wake the other junkies up by attempting to kick the door down he set off the fire alarm in the whole building. Then about 2 weeks later when I came home and found 2 of the alcoholics from another 1 of the apartments kicking the living sh*t out of the same junkie. One of the alcoholics had a big kitchen knife so I called the cops and in less than 2 minutes later about 8 cops ran in with guns and kicked them all out! Then that evening the junkies apartments went on fire(turns out the lady junkie had been cooking when they got thrown out and the cooker went on fire). I wasn't home when that happened though so I didnt call 999 that time. Was an eventful few weeks.

Sounds like a delightful area you live in! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭ronanphilip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

My aul man used to work in a bank in a tiny little rural town and we lived in "the bank house", which was just a house attached on to the office of the bank.
    Was a sweet deal really, free house, power and phone etc and the house shared the same phone number as the bank.
    Well I was only a young fella and I think someone had just told me about 999 so I rang it and hung up about 10 times in a row and went to bed. I was woken up by the sirens and the blue lights....

Pops wasn't pleased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Yup, twice.

Once when I was four, my dad was making breakfast when he collapsed and had a seizure. I'd been told before by my parents what to do if it ever happened 'cause my dad is epileptic, so I wrapped him in my My Little Pony duvet and called an ambulance.

The second time, I was sixteen. My dad had a seizure whilst driving me to school. I stopped the car and called an ambulance.

Awww. That's so cute. Love the fact the guy was actually going to help him too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Yeah in a frantic moment. Funny how you think you would be so prepared for making the call but when under pressure you go to crumbly biscuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Once when my grandad had a heart attack. He lived because I can use a phone. Epic win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

About 4 time's i think hmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I have a few times.. the last time was yesterday. I was driving from Ballaghadareen to Castlebar & had to ring the guards to tell them that a load of cows had escaped onto the N5 and were blocking the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Whats 999. I live in equador...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Yes. My kitchen caught fire. Then we put it out eventually and I told them it was ok and hung up. They called back to make sure everything was ok. It was a good service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Littlegirllost

nope thankfully, although it was called for me after a car accident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, I dialled 112. 999 doesn't exist any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I called 999 when 3 scumbags had a blow out in a stolen car at the top of my driveway. It was a hotwired banger and I stood there watching them while they changed the tire with just a jack and a pair of pliers. Had abit of craic with them and they even had the cheek to ask me when the guards will be here. They guards arrived about 2 minutes too late.

The guy driving was a well known scummer and about 1 year later he killed 2 people in a crash while driving a stolen car. He is rightly locked up now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

More times than I care to remember... probably about 30/40 times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Not yet thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Once, me and my mate where in his house playing xbox one night, his ma and da were gone out and we heard noises downstairs. We waited for about ten minutes and we then realised it was people trying to get in the back door so we rang 999, they were there in about 5 minutes and they started bangin on the door shouting its the police open up, i tought to myself this sounds so hollywoodish :P turns out there were people out the back but they ran when they heard the police shouting. The little baldy gardai was actually sound that night come to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Called it four times;

1. I was about 9 and was playing with an old mobile which had an old sim card in it. I entered the wrong PIN a few times and the phone got blocked so I ended up pressing the button to call 'Emergency' to ask for the unblocking code. Needless to say, the operator wasn't too impressed.

2. Second time, we had a chimney fire, my fault, and I rang the fire brigade after a few minutes of panic. Had the fire quenched by the time 2 full fire brigades pulled up outside our front gate.

3. Then in college, someone pressed all the fire alarms at about 4am setting off a siren in the whole apartment building. We didn't have a code to turn it off and couldn't get through to the management so I called the fire brigade again. Probably wasn't the best idea looking back on it now. I did tell them there wasn't a fire but that someone had set off the alarm. Anyway, 3 fire engines turned up and checked all the apartments but couldn't do anything about the alarm. Eventually got a code off someone later and turned it off.

4. Last time I called the fire brigade was a few years ago when I spotted a fire on the grounds of a warehouse behind our apartment in Galway. There didn't seem to be anyone around and I thought the fire looked like it was spreading. Anyway, a fire engine did arrive out and quenched it and took a look around.

I thought there was a charge for calling out emergency services but I never heard anything after my calls. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Once. For a break-in a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Condi wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Creamsoda

Sounds like a delightful area you live in! :pac:

ah it isn't too bad just had a few dodgy people living there for a while! Had a drug dealer living across the hall from me for a while too... He's gone now though so its all quite now. Moving out in a few weeks to a nice quite area so its all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I thought this was going to be a joke. :(
    Condi wrote: »

Aw. Romance isn't dead.

It's just unconscious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I phoned 999 once when I lived in Scotland because of a domestic abuse incident, he was beating the crap out of her, and they told me that it wasn't a life or death situation - so I should ring this other number they have for lesser emergencies...having said that, I told them I had no credit and no access to a phone and they needed to send someone now. So, they did, and thankfully my neighbour was arrested because the scumbag was beating his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Twice.

1. Kids smashing up a car.

2. Ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭MissMiami

friendface wrote: »
    Called it four times;

1. I was about 9 and was playing with an old mobile which had an old sim card in it. I entered the wrong PIN a few times and the phone got blocked so I ended up pressing the button to call 'Emergency' to ask for the unblocking code. Needless to say, the operator wasn't too impressed.

2. Second time, we had a chimney fire, my fault, and I rang the fire brigade after a few minutes of panic. Had the fire quenched by the time 2 full fire brigades pulled up outside our front gate.

3. Then in college, someone pressed all the fire alarms at about 4am setting off a siren in the whole apartment building. We didn't have a code to turn it off and couldn't get through to the management so I called the fire brigade again. Probably wasn't the best idea looking back on it now. I did tell them there wasn't a fire but that someone had set off the alarm. Anyway, 3 fire engines turned up and checked all the apartments but couldn't do anything about the alarm. Eventually got a code off someone later and turned it off.

4. Last time I called the fire brigade was a few years ago when I spotted a fire on the grounds of a warehouse behind our apartment in Galway. There didn't seem to be anyone around and I thought the fire looked like it was spreading. Anyway, a fire engine did arrive out and quenched it and took a look around.

I thought there was a charge for calling out emergency services but I never heard anything after my calls. :confused:

Was that in Corrib Village by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

Confab wrote: »
    No, I dialled 112. 999 doesn't exist any more.

Yes it does, it still puts you through to emergency services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

MissMiami wrote: »
    Was that in Corrib Village by any chance?

I was wondering if it was the apartments beside Roaches multi-story, because if so I might no who did it

<_<
    >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I've dialled 999 & 112 a few times deliberately, for genuine emergencies. Stories aren't interesting.

But on two occasions I accidentally dialled 112 while the phone was in my pocket. Most mobile phones will allow you to dial 112 even if the keypad is locked, provided you dial the numbers in reasonably close succession, followed by the CALL key. The chances of it happening are slim enough, but I was unfortunate enough to have had it happen twice in the space of a couple of months.

Z