TV Licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Not since I went free 2 air and actually very rarely before that. I actually believe the tv licence guy I'd an urban myth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I get letters with my name on them but ignore them. They seem to have stopped now, think the inspectors have given up on apartments.
    If someone knocks unexpected, I just ask who is it through the door. If its tv licence man, I call security to have him kicked out.€2500 a year management fees slightly paid off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Just seen there on channel 4 news that the BBC are freezing licenses for 1 year... doubt RTE will follow suit some how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I got caught out last year. Always thought I could avoid the inspector as I'd see him in the camera when he'd buzz our apartment and then I'd just ignore him. But some gobs**te obviously let him and he went round knocking on doors. I opened thinking it was a neightbour - WRONG,

So I've just been sent a reminder to renew the licence. Is there any way to avoid paying it or do they have me now that they have me on their system?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

So I've just been sent a reminder to renew the licence. Is there any way to avoid paying it or so they have me now that they have me on their system?

but you don't have a TV!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Nope considering all you see on TV is the corpse-like Tubridy and Jedward. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Littlegirllost

i pay it, begrudgingly though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i paid it there in may, i would rather just get it out of the way than have to worry about every time the door knocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

lame thread been done loads of times... As previously discussed. Your licence is not for the content but for the tele itself. The fact a portion goes to RTE disgusts me but then again....... Mirium is a roide....

Its just a shame shinn fein can now speak on tele cause my father got great milage when he went to court over not haveing a licence and proclaimed to the judge that he refuses to pay his licence while his political freedom was being staggered by section 51 of the constitution( I think it was 51... you know the one where an actor use to talk for Gerry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I love my landlord. He had his head screwed on when he was building the apartment complex. Theres top security with gates, and codes to the apartments. Feck I find it difficult to get into my own place at times. There is also a eyehole in the door to my apartment. When my lease expires I swear I will give him the 165 euro or whatever it costs as a bonus because i will never pay a tv licence. I buy the rte guide and thats all I am ever going to give to rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭spider_pig

what's a television....? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Sarn

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    If it was based on RTÉ reception you might have a point. You'd swear all of it went to RTÉ when reading some of what's posted on this thread.

Well €134 of the €160 goes to RTE. So eliminating the grant derived from the licence fee going to RTE would reduce the cost to €26. I know I would like to see a greater share of the fee moved away from RTE or the cost brought down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Another thread where we pretend to not pay the TV license. Cool ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I got caught out last year. Always thought I could avoid the inspector as I'd see him in the camera when he'd buzz our apartment and then I'd just ignore him. But some gobs**te obviously let him and he went round knocking on doors. I opened thinking it was a neightbour - WRONG,

So I've just been sent a reminder to renew the licence. Is there any way to avoid paying it or do they have me now that they have me on their system?

I got those letters. Ignored and they stopped. Even got the things in the apartment letterbox "an inspector has called...bla blah blah....no licence on our register..blah blah blah".
    Ignore them! Pretend you're foreign. I think the ads says that's a valid excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

AHHH. i was wondering how the feck you all got away with it.

Apartment blocks.

I unfortunately live in a house.

the bastards always catch me out on the hop.

we change the name on it every years after 3 or 4 warnings so we get a few months free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,589 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I've always paid it. Knowing my luck if i didn't pay it i'd be caught by the bollix!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

Who actually tells you that you need a licence? I've never been told. Sure how was I supposed to know. Needless to say, I don't have a licence. Ah, apartments, the true nemesis of the inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

gsxr1 wrote: »
    we change the name on it every years after 3 or 4 warnings so we get a few months free.
    If it were only that simple my wifes name is on the license as well as my name so they have copped on to that years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

If it were only that simple my wifes name is on the license as well as my name so they have copped on to that years ago.

use any name.

as long as they see a license for that address they leave you alone. You get about 3 months of warning letters then the visits start.
    then ye change the name on a brand new lience . To anything. the last 3-4 months are not payed for.

they are bastards . I would love to torture one of them for ****s and giggles ..
    really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Was in my house just over a year before I got the letter in the door. So I got one. Now every year I play chicken with the warnings, so far they keep winning, as I chicken out by at least the fifth letter.
    However in the last 2 years I have been tempted to tell them shove it until they shut Kenny up about how little he is paid, and cancel his contract. They could get rid of all those high paid wa**ers and I would not even notice. Never listen to them on the radio, or watch them on the box. Just keep Sharon Ní Bheoláin ,she seems to make all the bad news sound ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

when the tv license inspector calls over to my house I usually tell him to ***k off before I pull his teeth out. I also tell him I don't have a TV but my sky dish hangs just above my front door. My Telly is also viewable at my front window.

When he points out to me that I have a dish I tell him it's a spy satelite for spying on his wife. Ask him is he proud about what he is doing for a living.

When he gives me more $h1t I usually deck the c**t, bring him down to me basement and then I rape him.

After that he has never come back to look for my TV license.

SO YOU HAVEN'T SEEN OR HEARD ALL THE EXCUSE'S Mr. TV Inspector a$$h0l3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

when the tv license inspector calls over to my house I usually tell him to ***k off before I pull his teeth out. I also tell him I don't have a TV but my sky dish hangs just above my front door. My Telly is also viewable at my front window.

When he points out to me that I have a dish I tell him it's a spy satelite for spying on his wife. Ask him is he proud about what he is doing for a living.

When he gives me more $h1t I usually deck the c**t, bring him down to me basement and then I rape him.

After that he has never come back to look for my TV license.

SO YOU HAVEN'T SEEN OR HEARD ALL THE EXCUSE'S Mr. TV Inspector a$$h0l3

Thats explains why they havent called over to me, they are all afraid of getting raped. Continue with your raping services buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

will do man, will do.....
    and don't forget, for the law & courts.

if you shout surprise before the act it's not considered rape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭spider_pig

will do man, will do.....
    and don't forget, for the law & courts.

if you shout surprise before the act it's not considered rape

its only rape if he say's no, so gag the fcuker and away you go :D

only joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Ha. You're all gonna be in sooooo much trouble when the TV Liscense man catches wind of this haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Ha. You're all gonna be in sooooo much trouble when the TV Liscense man catches wind of this haha

He wouldn't catch a cold :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

I don't pay it! :mad: i feel my hard earned cash is better spent on chocolate and other such luxuries....

that and my OH pays the TV licence, i pay our car taxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I do, but I think it's a waste.... now saying that I think it'll actually be worth something once DTT starts next month and SaorSat starts Q2 next year.
    It's about time we get over the air Digital TV and freesat programming.
    What, only about 10 years behind the UK. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Technically no, my dad gets it for free! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

gsxr1 wrote: »
    use any name.

as long as they see a license for that address they leave you alone. You get about 3 months of warning letters then the visits start.
    then ye change the name on a brand new lience . To anything. the last 3-4 months are not payed for.

they are bastards . I would love to torture one of them for ****s and giggles ..
    really.
    Sounds interesting I will try it next spring when my license is due for renewal.