how do Gardai/Detectives go to murder/homicide scenes and not be affected?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Preusse wrote: »
    Surely, there's no need for that?

Sorry, I drifted into Hippy-speak for a moment. I get the flash-backs from time to time.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

bigpink wrote: »
    Im shocked by the standard of the newer young guards,theres girls i went to school with and they are thick as planks still to this day,act like wags yet they some how got into the guards

Were you in the same class as them? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

delta720 wrote: »
    Read Homicide by David Simon, or if you can't read, watch The Wire.

??:confused:
    Em... how do you expect the OP to follow your advice if he or she can't read.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

A UK police person friend of mine had to go to morgue to identify the crash victom bodies of two criminals. (Or something to that effect) I dont know the ins and outs of her job but she was one of those gun wielding cops (China O'Brien wannabe!)

Despite the bodies being in bad shape she said prepared herself as mentally as possible. She said it wasnt a pleasant sight but she could manage. But after she did the formal bit, the mortician peeled back the skin on one of the victim's face. He had been holding it there for the purpose of her identifying the body. It was at that point she made a speedy exit. :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

I'm a nurse and volunteer EMT, I've witnessed some shocking stuff in my time and I agree with all who said that while you're dealing with something death in the here and now, you just switch into work mode and do what you've got to do. Dealing with families in the aftermath however, was the part I struggled with most. We've been offered Critical Incident Stress Debriefing and had the support of our colleagues to talk it out and help us to deal with these things.

My brother passed away suddenly last week, I identified his body. It was awful, but again I just switched over and got on with it. Once I stepped out the door I went to bits though. I think it's probably easier for women as there's ledd of a stigma for us if we admit we're not coping or need to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Sorry to hear of your loss Alaskimo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

I'd say that job would be very appealing.
    especially when they are a pealing a car accident victim off the road

hahahah, good 1

sure beats my office job, wouldn't say it's that hard tbh.
    I mean if you don't know the person, then who cares

if it's family / relative or someone you know that would be different but a person you don't know...... who cares

I'd love that job, lots of gore, different scene every day, no two crashes are alike etc...

sign me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

It depends on the individual I suppose. My brother is a Garda and within weeks of graduating from Templemore he attended a death. The dead guy had lived alone and had health and mental problems. He hung himself and went undiscovered for weeks. When the smell became too much (along with a large stain on the neighbours ceiling underneath) for the other people in the apartment block they rang the cops who broke into the flat. The body had been there for weeks, the rope he hung himself with had snapped and the body lay on the floor as it rotted. It was black, swollen with gases and was leaking various fluids into the carpet. There were flies everywhere along with the smell. Horrific stuff and when the undertakers lifted the body up to put it in a body bag a large patch of skin tore off has it had become attached to the carpet.

But my brother says thats not the worst thing about the job. As someone else said in the thread its having to go to someones house in the middle of the night to tell the family their son/daughter/father/mother has been killed in a car crash or whatever. They absolutely dread having to do this.