Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how do Gardai/Detectives go to murder/homicide scenes and not be affected?

• 14-09-2010 9:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

It doesn't make sense. You would assume if you went to a scene where a person hung him/herself it would affect your mind a lot. Or a car crash where you had to pull out the bodies.

I assume they have some methods, because everybody is human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Of course it affects them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

dexter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

they're secretly sociopaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Id say they have to do mandatory counseling sessions and are probably rotated on different crimes etc they are only human themselves

The state pathologist must be one strong person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

They dont look at the damage behind the crime, ie that to the family of the murdered,dead etc but rather they look at it technically I assume, like how and why did this happen.

And jokes too I heard,seen it on a show 2 cops cleaning up a body and laughing while doing it,they said it is a release for them,helps them not to get emotionally attached.

Don't they have a lot of psychology screening? Just to make sure you're strong enough to cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Well if it's the usual case of some scumbag drugdealer or crook i'm sure it cheers them up a bit tbh. Must be hard if it's someone innocent mind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Kasabian wrote: »
    Of course it affects them.

But I mean none of them are depressed/traumatized by it. It is their job to do it, and they do it for 30+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'd say you can detach yourself from bodies and the like, to an extent.
    The real trial would be telling the victims family. I couldn't knock on someones door to tell them their child was killed on the road or committed suicide, both situations more common than murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Because they have no soul :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

CorkMan wrote: »
    But I mean none of them are depressed/traumatized by it.

Of course they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The trick is too detach yourself from it by viewing it technically and joking about, or so I've read.

Easier said than done though - I know a chap who was a fireman / ambulance driver for years and spent his life scraping dead bodies off the road. Feckin' screamin' mad alco!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Bjorn Bored.

It is possible to detach your self from the emotions of such things, I mean how do you think Nurses and dotors and hospice workers cope seeing death and suffering on a daily basis? You just decide to opt out of the emotional attachment,just like flickin a switch in your brain..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Don't they have to attend post mortems, like the pigs in the UK? A guy that I went to school with, dropped like a brick when it was his turn to witness the giblets being carved up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I agree with Kowloon. I could handle the dead bodies, sure it's only meat and that person has nothing more to worry about, but seeing how it effects family would be much harder to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭delta720

Read Homicide by David Simon, or if you can't read, watch The Wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Yup. Sometimes upholding the law is messy. But you get by. One day at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

I'm not sure about the bit that them being human matters...sure the Nazis were human, and not only killed in cold blood but also burned hundreds of thousands of bodies.... I'm sure they can find a few hundred Irish that can stomach a few murders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Easier said than done though - I know a chap who was a fireman / ambulance driver for years and spent his life scraping dead bodies off the road. Feckin' screamin' mad alco!

I know a chap who was a plumber and he was a raging alco too. I don't think that's true to the vast majority of people in that sector. My uncle was a fireman his whole life and he was a gentleman and well rounded man.

Another uncle who was a soldier all his life, seargeant Major when he died and again, no effects of what he had seen in his life in his life outside work. Although aparently he was an absolute **** of a Seargeant, but that was his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Of course they're affected but they've just gotta be strong and get on with it. Of course that's easier said than done but it's just the same as when someone on boards.ie calls you a horrible name. You've just gotta breath in, count to ten and suck it up. Otherwise you'll explode with anger and die or even worse get infracted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Know cops who have seen some pretty horrific sh*t and there is mandatory counselling, which most really aren't that interested in.
    Of course they do think about it when they lie back at night but they try not to.
    And at work, there is unappropriate joking and whatnot but I don't think that's cold, you have to cope with that sort of thing. And the fact that gardai are often thought of as cold is often for the very reason that they are detaching themselves from whats happening, you could end up with a very jaded world view if you didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Bitch

csimiamie.jpg

Please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

How they know they are/will be ok doing those jobs? Do they make them selves do it or got used to it...I dont get it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

But I mean none of them are depressed/traumatized by it. It is their job to do it, and they do it for 30+ years.

Its essentially down to the fact that they are pricks.
    They love seeing murder scenes because it all goes in the bank for later on.
    They [EMAIL="w@nk"]w@nk[/EMAIL] whilst thinking of the dead smashed heads and then they eat their fried puppy dinner and then they cut into their chests with a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You detach yourself

That isn't a car wrapped around a tree with some mothers son dead inside.

No, it's a vehicle which left the road at this spot with 30 metres of skids marks at this time on this date.
    One male deceased, currently working to identify.

Write a technical report and keep your distance

delta720 wrote: »
    Read Homicide by David Simon, or if you can't read, watch The Wire.

Or if you dont fancy watching all 5 series of the wire just watch the die hard trilogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Someone i knew with Cassidy's team left the Gardai after being so traumatized by an incident so i would disagree with the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

They [EMAIL="w@nk"]w@nk[/EMAIL] whilst thinking of the dead smashed heads and then they eat their fried puppy dinner and then they cut into their chests with a knife.
    dude what the fúck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

kowloon wrote: »
    I'd say you can detach yourself from bodies and the like, to an extent.

And do your business before they get too cold.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    dude what the fúck?

If you have evidence to the contrary id love to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

stovelid wrote: »
    And do your business before they get too cold.

What if the corpse is in a freezer?

5 mins in the microwave on defrost setting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cmdr Keen wrote: »
    I'm not sure about the bit that them being human matters...sure the Nazis were human, and not only killed in cold blood but also burned hundreds of thousands of bodies.... I'm sure they can find a few hundred Irish that can stomach a few murders
    Plenty of Nazis were ****ed up by what they had to carry out - there were actually psychiatric facilities built especially for them during the regime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Believe it or not, its very easy to become desensitized to violence. Surgeons have to cut people up everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

If you have evidence to the contrary id love to see it.
    If you have evidence to prove your stupid theory I'd like to see that?

Oh, but you won't, will you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Bitch

csimiamie.jpg

Please...

Yeeaaaaaaaaaah!

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    If you have evidence to prove your stupid theory I'd like to see that?

Oh, but you won't, will you.

I wish to organise a place and time where we can meet up and fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Sorry maybe cause it's late when I am looking at this, but can someone please explain this post to me please?

As for the topic, I am sure every person who has to deal with these situations has their own way to help them through it.

Agreed, such as eating a fried pet for dinner as the Gardai have been reportedly fond of doing to it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Sorry maybe cause it's late when I am looking at this, but can someone please explain this post to me please?

Charles Manson got himself a boards account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

ejmaztec wrote: »
    ... like the pigs in the UK? ...

Surely, there's no need for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I can only speak as an ol' dog of war soldier, you never forget!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

My friends dad once got called out to a suspicious bonfire. Turns out there was a body in the bonfire, most sickening smell in the world he said. He couldn't do anything about it, the guy was dead and the fire was going strong. Said it was the most disgusting thing he's ever smelt or come across, really shook him up. It certainly does effect them OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Then you are the taker and make use of the frozen extremities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I've found two people dead, one fairly recently. One was a suicide with a knife (lots of blood), and the other a heroin overdose.

Believe me...it affects you and you never forget those memories. But, you deal with it and move on. I had friends and family to talk to about it, and that helps. The Gardai have that also, and perhaps therapists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Pighead wrote: »
    Of course they're affected but they've just gotta be strong and get on with it. Of course that's easier said than done but it's just the same as when someone on boards.ie calls you a horrible name. You've just gotta breath in, count to ten and suck it up. Otherwise you'll explode with anger and die or even worse get infracted.

Pighead didn't speak in 3rd person?? Something wrong with Pighead?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Pighead didn't speak in 3rd person?? Something wrong with Pighead?!

Pighead wasn't talking about Pighead, so no need to do so.

I've seen 3 sudden deaths. One was a heroin overdose, the other two were natural deaths. To this day I can see the faces of all three. Yes I made jokes, but not when the family was around, I've equated carrying a 18 stone corpse down a narrow staircase with moving a wardrobe, FFS. It does effect us, of course it does. But we talk about it, we joke about it, and we deal with it in a healthy manner. There is counselling there if desired. The incident would want to be very bad for there to be compulsory counselling.

I've seen and heard doctors breaking the bones of a body because it wouldn't fit into the fridge at the hospital due to rigor mortis.

I've been in the mortuary to identify the body of a deceased to the pathologist, there was also the body of a person who hung themselves with the rope still attached, and the body of a baby.

I've also been at a scene where a person has fallen a number of stories onto a spiked railing, and lost their life.

These things i will never forget, and anybody that insults me for the things i've seen, needs to be taken out back and given a serious beating. You might be strong behind a keyboard and the anonymity of the internet, but i deal with things everyday that would make you weep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

how do Gardai/Detectives go to murder/homicide scenes and not be affected?

Well I know a few guys who are paramedics. I'm sure they've seen some awful stuff but they say you just get used to it. Same as doctors/nurses get detached from the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Lads, just because Gardai put on their uniform, doesn't make them any more impervious to this kind of thing than anyone else.

+1 for Marie Cassidy being a very strong person, as are the Gardai who have to put up with these scenes in the course of their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I have a large number of friends who are Gardai. Some of the situations they have described as having been in are horrible, distressing and mentally scarring.

Personally I'd say I could handle, albeit with difficulty, seeing adult deaths but not in a million years a child.

Yeah, and Marie Cassidy and her colleagues must have the worst job in the country by a mile.