This Is England 86

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

I thought the first episode was great. I love Shane Meadows directing style and his effective use of music.

Shane Meadows didn't direct it, Tom Harper did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭Basq

cosmic wrote: »
    Shane Meadows didn't direct it, Tom Harper did!
    Think Meadows is directing the last two parts.

basquille wrote: »
    Think Meadows is directing the last two parts.

Yep, they've split it, Harper did the first two and Meadows did the last two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

my guess:
    lol gets raped by her mums boyfriend?

I enjoyed it but was puzzled by a few things too and thought that Shaun would
    have some balls like he did in the original film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

Paddy Considine + Beard = Ace TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Bog wrote: »
    Paddy Considine + Beard = Ace TV

The chap with the beard isn't Paddy Considine. Sorry!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    So I'm a bit confused as to how those two could become such good mates with Woody and co. Perhaps the fact that Combo attacked them made them realise that they were listening to the rantings of a misguided psychopath.

Actually, the one thing that annoyed me about the first episode was how much of a shift Banjo has made. It felt like a stretch, jumping from Banjo as a hard bastard (for lack of a more eloquent description) to a almost campy comic relief character! Hoping, as Brooker promises, this gets far darker, but that anyway was a considerable jump for me between the film and series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    The chap with the beard isn't Paddy Considine. Sorry!

Are you sure? I reckon I could spot that simmering malevolent glare a mile off..

Bog wrote: »
    Are you sure? I reckon I could spot that simmering malevolent glare a mile off..

Yep, it's Johnny Harris. He's awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Actually, the one thing that annoyed me about the first episode was how much of a shift Banjo has made. It felt like a stretch, jumping from Banjo as a hard bastard (for lack of a more eloquent description) to a almost campy comic relief character! Hoping, as Brooker promises, this gets far darker, but that anyway was a considerable jump for me between the film and series.

Not sure how it's annoying, i found it very believable. Banjo witnessed first hand how wrong his behaviour was and all the gang bar the kid seem to have bonded together over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

It's 3 years later, people can change in 3 years or so.

More of the same... very enjoyable albeit a bit safe (especially when compared to the movie).
    I'm now itching for Combo to show up and cause some tension.. but I've a feeling he'll be in the fourth part, and that's it!

Some more funny bits this week:

-
    Gadget snorting the sherbet
    -
    The camera panning from Meggy playing a game console to his "lovechild" doing the same. Great shot! :)
    -
    "Fire And Ice!"

Still enjoying it.. a LOT! But being completely honest, I would have liked more solid drama to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Decent episode. I felt sorry for Woody, as Lol admitted herself, she never told Woody the full story in regards to her dad. Had he known I'm sure he would have given Lol the attention she needed.
    I was a bit disappointed in Milky as well, I didn't think he'd fall into bed with Lol so easily.

Thomas Turgoose was excellent in that bedroom scene, he just really let rip, it was excellent.

I guessed that the bearded guy was
    some kind of paedo, which is disappointing as I wouldn't have thought Meadows would use such a stereotypical image of a shady individual. I would have hoped for something more along the lines of Fassbender in Fish Tank.

Gadget's
    sex scene was comical, especially when she tells him that he'll have to finish himself off. :P
    It was very Shameless like.

All in all, decent, they have a lot to fit in though over the next 2 episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Delighted for Gadget and his "fire and Ice" tonight! :D:D
    Milky not being such a good friend to poor aul Woody, and am I alone in thinking LoL has a gorgeous face? Its her eyes or something, jaysus, they are very striking.
    Great show, will watch the repeat again next Monday night, and am really looking forward to the next episode, surely it will have a Combo introduction?
    Should be good!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

papagormo wrote: »
    and am I alone in thinking LoL has a gorgeous face? Its her eyes or something, jaysus, they are very striking.

You're not alone there, I find her to be really beautiful in a natural kind of way, her hairstyle really suits her. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    You're not alone there, I find her to be really beautiful in a natural kind of way, her hairstyle really suits her. :)

her real name is Vicky McClure, heres a google image of her with long hair too, jaysus, shes a stunner.

large_80510001-761958.JPG&t=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Didn't really enjoy tonights episode that much either but at least it seems to be going places, finally. I can't say i find the funny parts funny either apart from the leader of the moped gang who we will probably not see again. I also agree with the second spoiler in LZ5by5's last post and i don't find lol pretty, at all.

Sorry to be so negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i'm obsessed with smell....what an extraordinary head she has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

Im hoping this gets better, its been a bit of a let down so far
    Maybe its because im waiting on Combo's apperance, if they leave it till the last episode I wont be happy.

The lad playing Jay is a great actor, It really showed when
    he caught his mum in bed with the asian man. I thought a bit of raciam was going to reappear in him but was relived when he said its nothing to do with him being coloured.
    No need to have the young lad dressed the exact same as Meggy, the glasses would have done.

The comments above about Woddy are spot on.
    Likable chap but spineless

Q:
    Is Jay's boss/mums boyfriend the same shop keeper they hasseled in the movie?

Dancor wrote: »
    The lad playing Jay is a great actor,

Q:
    Think you mean Shaun.. and
    yes, it's the same guy.
    No need to have the young lad dressed the exact same as Meggy, the glasses would have done.
    Think it was for comedic effect to show how similar they appear..

Im hoping this gets better, its been a bit of a let down so far
    Maybe its because im waiting on Combo's apperance, if they leave it till the last episode I wont be happy.

The lad playing Jay is a great actor, It really showed when
    he caught his mum in bed with the asian man. I thought a bit of raciam was going to reappear in him but was relived when he said its nothing to do with him being coloured.

The comments above about Woddy are spot on.
    Likable chap but spineless

Q:
    RE: the boyfriend....yes I htink he is the same bloke!!

and fire and Ice woman is from the show shop?? "these boots came all the way from London"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

basquille wrote: »
    Think you mean Shaun..

:rolleyes: *Facepalm*

Silly me.

where the **** did I get Jay from!!?

'The Inbetweeners' possibly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

That sex scene between Gadget and the ol'slapper i found disturbing, still can't get it out of my mind YUK!!

As for lol, i was convinced that she was going to reveal herself as a lesbian..she certainly looks like one don't you think.

Still not sure they made the right decision making it into a series, the film was so good they should have lsft it at that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I also agree with the second spoiler in LZ5by5's last post and i don't find lol pretty, at all.

me neither, too tom boyish for my liking

and her tits are tiny:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

I found last night's episode a bit disappointing, I think they wasted a lot of it. :( I've nothing against a bit of comic relief, but there's only 4 episodes, and we need to see the plot advancing a bit more. I'm beginning to wonder how they're going to write Combo into this at all. :confused:

bit early yet to be worrying about the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheFairy

Watched this in HD and for the first time I was convinced on the merits of HD! Loving the show, took me right back to the era, constantly found myself smiling at things in the show.

I personally feel the whole thing is going to explode, theres a sense of it building for me anyway.

I say bravo!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Just watched this and thought it was an improvement, if still a significant tonal shift from the film thus far. The emotional pay-offs here were much more satisfying: the final montage worked well, suggesting what will cause problems in the episodes to come. Would +1 the comments about Thomas Turgoose, had much more of a chance to shine here. Want to hurl something at Woody though: as said, a nice guy, but seriously dense in some respects.
    Lolled at the sherbert gag!

So far, the series isn't really what I expected, but surely
    Combo's presence
    shall finally set the fuse alight for a more thematically explosive climax. So far it seems more nostalgic than probing: This Is England was both. Here's hoping Meadow's masterplan is worth the wait. We're more invested in the characters now, not always with the most original delivery, so still dying to see where all this is going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

fryup wrote: »
    That sex scene between Gadget and the ol'slapper i found disturbing, still can't get it out of my mind YUK!!

As for lol, i was convinced that she was going to reveal herself as a lesbian..she certainly looks like one don't you think.

Still not sure they made the right decision making it into a series, the film was so good they should have lsft it at that.

She's a skinhead!
    Lol is stunning, what a face. Same with her sister Kel. Great actresses.
    Costumes are great, I would love to raid the wardrobe.
    Enjoying it loads thus far! The whole
    Woody/Lol/Milky thing is very upsetting
    . Found the
    shots of the party and especially the hot tub
    a bit "Skins" though!

The sound track is amazing as I expected, digging up so many forgotten things from the depths of my itunes, some stuff I hadn't heard before too.
    Alan Davies 80s documentary after was great too, also great music, and he interviewed some former skinheads (albeit skinheads of the combo variety).