hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I just listened to the radio clip.

How is this making such news? Really I'am amazed.

It is making news because how he sounded in the interview in the context that he was up til 4am singing, drinking and skitting - while the country sinks further (even though he knew he had a nationwide interview to give the next morning).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Is this a new dawn for the country? Is drinking and larking about after a days work now over? Is this a urban v rural issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Is this a new dawn for the country? Is drinking and larking about after a days work now over? Is this a urban v rural issue?

Well if it is can well all do it?

Oh no hang on if everyone goes for a 'think in' and gets drunk and expects someone else to pick up the tab then we'd be even more screwed than we are now.

What a fine example for the country.
    Drunk / asleep at the wheel.
    Great job Cowen.

I think when you are leader of a country that is in dire straits you shouldn't be singing, drinking and doing impressions of well know people at 4am when you have an arranged interview at 9am.

It is certainly not helping the situation. But sure, why would said leader care, he pockets his 300 grand a year even given the state the country is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Fu€k sake of all the things we as Irish people could get worked up about we choose this. There seems to be a bigger deal made about this than the billions been pumped into Anglo & Nama. What about the health service problems, education problems??

Jes the lad stayed up and had a few drinks and did an interview this morning which I personally don't think was that bad and people get their knickers in a twist over this. People should seriously get their priorities in order and choose more worthwhile battles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Mark200 wrote: »
    Actually, no one answered my question (until your post, where you accused me of ignoring answers).

But you had been giving questions equipped with rolleyes earlier to me and just ignoring the answers. That’s why I said that you were ignoring answers. This is what I’m talking about:
    Ah so you can't socialise without 'over-indulging'? :rolleyes:
    I don't know. Because he wont tell me how much he drank. I'm assuming, as he is avoiding the questions on that question, that he has something to hide.

ADD: He was still going strong on the drink at 2.30am according to Today FM just now. ADD AGAIN: He was in "elated spirits" and "doing impressions of Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh" ANOTHER ADD: "finished up close to 4am" - All direct quotes from people who were in the same room as him.

Is that not over-indulging Mark?

RE:

I wasn't listening to Today FM tonight but I'll believe what you said... that people have rang in to confirm he had a few drinks. Oh no.

If you’d like to listen back – it is here: http://audiostore.todayfm.com/player/tuesday.html
    There was no mention of the radio interview in the post I was replying to. It was a complaint about his drinking, singing and impressions.

I realise that wasn’t directed at me, but I think the majority don’t really care what he does in his own time. Just drinking half the night on a Monday night, turning up for work the next day hungover and then lying about it is annoying. Do you not agree with that at least?

Did anyone see Pat Carey on Vincent Browne last night? V Browne literally laughed in his face because he was getting in a fluster trying to come up with the correct thing to say. Just say it as it is! None of this “storm in a teacup” would have happened if Cowen just said “Yeah, we had a late night last night”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I think when you are leader of a country that is in dire straits you shouldn't be singing, drinking and doing impressions of well know people at 4am when you have an arranged interview at 9am.

It is certainly not helping the situation. But sure, why would said leader care, he pockets his 300 grand a year even given the state the country is in.
    Would a good session with your colleagues after a "think in" not be classed as "team building"? Would a government not be better equipped to pull together and fix this mess after such a weekend?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Hnads up everyone here who's never gone into work hungover..? I know it's not essentially the same but you know what I mean!

<o/

Plus my job isn't to represent our country, or show up on tv.

s_carnage wrote: »

Jes the lad stayed up and had a few drinks and did an interview this morning which I personally don't think was that bad and people get their knickers in a twist over this. People should seriously get their priorities in order and choose more worthwhile battles.

Oh jeez, sounds like you are going to vote FF AGAIN in the next general election.

Please don't, for the sake of the country.............

Would a good session with your colleagues after a "think in" not be classed as "team building"? Would a government not be better equipped to pull together and fix this mess after such a weekend?

No is the answer to both your questions.

Alcohol is not the solution to this mess.

Brian Cowen and FF are not the solution to this mess.

He must go.

f** this ...The world is laughing at how surprised we are our leader had a few pints after work....
    No such calls for resignations when Bill Clinton and the missus were dragged to a pub and tricked into advertising Diageo products ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,808 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Its all over the papers this morning too.... at least two front page photoshopped pics with a pint of carlsberg (and a "Probably the worst leader in the world" or equivalent pun to go with it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

f** this ...The world is laughing at how surprised we are our leader had a few pints after work....
    No such calls for resignations when Bill Clinton and the missus were dragged to a pub and tricked into advertising Diageo products ....

You're for real, aren't you?

Mr E wrote: »
    Its all over the papers this morning too.... at least two front page photoshopped pics with a pint of carlsberg (and a "Probably the worst leader in the world" or equivalent pun to go with it).

the cringiest one he's necking a bottle of champagne after a his last election!! Looks really bad!

They are not lauging about our leader "having a few drinks after work".

They are laughing at him drinking, singing and skitting until 4am - while the country is on its knees.

The carry on of the night before meant that he was not up to the job the next morning.....and this is the man who is expected to get us out of this economic mess. What a joke!

No wonder the world is looking on in disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Oh jeez, sounds like you are going to vote FF AGAIN in the next general election.

Please don't, for the sake of the country.............

Same narrow minded opinion I expected. I have never and can't ever see me voting FF. That help??

Still think that there are better battles that we as Irish people should be getting worked about instead of something so daft as this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

It's not so much the 'few drinks,' as the LIES spouted the next day, LIES by Cowen, and LIES by every one of his cabinet ministers, to try to cover up what wasn't a very clever decision, but wasn't a huge issue in the overall scheme of things.

But it doesn't matter whether it is a small issue, or an issue of national importance. What you get from Cowen is LIES, LIES, LIES. The man treats the public he is supposed to represent like imbeciles, and we don't like being treated like imbeciles.

The day Cowen speaks honestly, from the heart, is the day people might start to respect him. It hasn't happened once in his entire tenure as Taoiseach. He has no credibility. I don't believe a word out of his mouth. Give me a Taoiseach I can believe and respect.

s_carnage wrote: »
    Same narrow minded opinion I expected. I have never and can't ever see me voting FF. That help??

Still think that there are better battles that we as Irish people should be getting worked about instead of something so daft as this.

You don't think we should be concerned about what our leader is doing at night time that then impinges on the job that he has to during the day time - namely attempt to fix the dire economic situation we are in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

No is the answer to both your questions.

Alcohol is not the solution to this mess.

Brian Cowen and FF are not the solution to this mess.

He must go.

Agree, but unfortunately there is no solution to this mess.

I know let's go and slug a load of pints that should sort it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

help me out here

at what point did simon coveney spike brian's pint with
    rohepnol?

and have the world listen to him over the net slurring his words and talking about the good friday agreement when asked about the croke park agreement

this new low in irish politics:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Noel Whelan, "independent" political commentator, is getting very worked up about this on Pat Kenny right now on how the media are to blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

They are laughing at him drinking, singing and skitting until 4am - while the country is on its knees.

HE WAS ON A BREAAAAKKKKKKKKK!!!!!

Do you honestly expect him not to ever get drunk again until the global recession is over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Newsflash Brian Cowen caught doing coke with Ricky Hatton..

cop on lads, can a man not be plastered at 330 am on a monday night?

he only has three weeks left on his holidays ffs

and in december he has to reduce the money available to heat the homes of the disabled rather than tax someone like the head of the esb who earns
    750,000 euros a year
    or the head of the forestry a civil servant who earns more than president obama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Squiggle

I just listened to the radio clip.

How is this making such news?

Because Fine Gael are in opposition - a bunch of monumentally incompetent wánkers who nit pick over a non event, the perfect opposition from FF's point of view. Coveney and Kenny are god sends to FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

I wonder is this the end of him??

The whole situation is really very depressing, not least because there doesn't seem to be a better alternative to Cowen..

moonpurple wrote: »

and in december he has to reduce the money available to heat the homes of the disabled rather than tax someone like the head of the esb who earns
    750,000 euros a year
    or the head of the forestry a civil servant who earns more than president obama

Oh boy!

Well then of course the right thing was to be drinking and singing in a bar until 4am. I'm sure all of those with disabilities and no heat will be glad that BC had a good night with the lads.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i want to take this opportunity to congratulate FG, the media and the bored as f'uck citizens of ireland for making a show of this country once again.

how exactly a private dinner where irish people do irish things like drink and sing and have a laugh has turned into such a farce of double standards and begrudgery is beyond me. shame on all involved in this from the whingy joe duffy brigade to the opportunist opposition to the holier than thou media: you've made a laughing stock out of US...

that interview - while hardly a spectacular piece of oratory - was certainly not the ramblings of a drunken fool either.

the country has been brought down again by 'our own' people...for shame

moonpurple wrote: »
    help me out here

at what point did simon coveney spike brian's pint with
    rohepnol?

and have the world listen to him over the net slurring his words and talking about the good friday agreement when asked about the croke park agreement

this new low in irish politics:pac:

Sorry to nit pick now but the "talking about the good friday agreement when asked about the croke park agreement" part is exaggerated. He never talked about the good friday aggreement....
    at most he said "good fr" and then corrected himself..

I wonder is this the end of him??

The whole situation is really very depressing, not least because there doesn't seem to be a better alternative to Cowen..

it would take 30 minutes for cowen to be replaced by

mary hanafin
    or dermot ahern
    or michael martin
    in that order...