hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

shivs wrote: »
    HOW can you defend this eejit???? Takes one to know one....... Are you too from Offaly?!

Responses like yours are absolutely pathetic. Acting like anyone who is suggesting that he sounded normal in the interview is all of a sudden defending every political decision he ever made. Cop the hell on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Jev/N wrote: »
    Jesus the amount of rabble rabble opinions in here is ridiculous

rabble :rolleyes: get over yourself . rabble are people expressing themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

dolliemix wrote: »
    Whats with the capital letters?

I just think this is a no news story. There's more important things happening. Headlines speculating as to whether somebody was drunk or not is a waste of space.

I listened to the interview. I don't think he was drunk. He did discuss economic and tax issues in the interview. I understood what he was saying. I am not convinced by him but that opinion is not based on his voice this morning.

I would rather see people debating more important issues where we have concrete facts. I feel like I've wasted loads of time today listening to people claiming he was dunk/ hungover or not.

This whole thing is crazy and I think people need to calm down.

I don't listen to Joe Duffy but listening and watching the news today was like one big Joe Duffy Fest. :o

Neither do I listen to Joe Duffy- I am lucky to have a job! Discussing the 'Good Friday/Croke Park Agreement'...............on Morning Ireland- the man sounded out of his depth (and mind).

People are angry because they (rightly) believe they are going it alone and their government don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

dolliemix wrote: »
    Whats with the capital letters?

I just think this is a no news story. There's more important things happening. Headlines speculating as to whether somebody was drunk or not is a waste of space.

I listened to the interview. I don't think he was drunk. He did discuss economic and tax issues in the interview. I understood what he was saying. I am not convinced by him but that opinion is not based on his voice this morning.

I would rather see people debating more important issues where we have concrete facts. I feel like I've wasted loads of time today listening to people claiming he was dunk/ hungover or not.

This whole thing is crazy and I think people need to calm down.

I don't listen to Joe Duffy but listening and watching the news today was like one big Joe Duffy Fest. :o

Frankly I think the man always sounds drunk, and judging by the manner in which he has run this country, I wouldn't be surprised if he was actually drunk the whole time.

My anger is aimed at him and his cronies continuing with the Fianna Fail tradition of lavish meals and regular piss ups. These things may have been ignored at the height of the boom, but they are grossly inapropriate now.

The fact is he was out drinking until after 3am last night in a hotel ( at tax payers expense BTW). Thats not speculation. Remember the massive tax increases and budget cuts over the next 20 years won't affect this man or any of his friends. They'll still be enjoying the high life as they are now (especially when they are people willing to support and make excuses for them.) Meanwhile the average Irish person and their kids will be struggling.

I would honestly welcome a German political take over with open arms. Politics in this country is rottent to the core. What I wouldn't give for all our Government to be in plane and for that plane to.... well you can guess the rest.

Mark200 wrote: »
    Responses like yours are absolutely pathetic. Acting like anyone who is suggesting that he sounded normal in the interview is all of a sudden defending every political decision he ever made. Cop the hell on.
    Am not meaning to sound pathetic.....am just very, very angry. Political decisions he made should be lauded????????!! Ex-Minister for Finance....Jokes on you buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Neither do I listen to Joe Duffy- I am lucky to have a job! Discussing the 'Good Friday/Croke Park Agreement'...............on Morning Ireland- the man sounded out of his depth (and mind).

People are angry because they (rightly) believe they are going it alone and their government don't care.

I don't agree with you that he sounded out of his depth. You can't seem to accept this. Its either your opinion or nothing?

I respect that people may feel angry with the Taoiseach. (As I do on many matters but not on this occasion. I felt he gave a pretty good interview.)

I just wish people would discuss the issues that he himself spoke about and argue them instead of using up all the air time discussing whether or not he was hungover or not.

I agree with Brian Cowen ...that Simon Coveney's comments were pathetic.

I sincerely hope that from tomorrow ALL politicians get on with the job of discussing political and economic progress in the country and not make petty assumptions and innuendos about other politicians....no matter what party they belong to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

very well said ! oh i didnt vote for anyone , never have never will BTW !

Am not meaning to sound pathetic.....am just very, very angry. Political decisions he made should be lauded????????!! Ex-Minister for Finance....Jokes on you buddy!

Actually there was no reference to any of his political decisions in the post you were replying to. The 'joke' is on no one but you for attempting to turn the question of whether or not he was drunk, into a whether or not he's doing a good job. One can believe he wasn't drunk without believing he's doing a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Christ above who gives a flying fu@k? This is the sort of non-news that Joe Duffy makes a living from. The high horse brigade are already going into overdrive on Ray Darcy.

A few pints, a bit hungover so what? Its not like he has the power to nuke the planet or anything or is going to be making any earth shattering decisions right at this moment. He is entitled to blow off a little steam and get plastered if he wants to.

And can I point out I detest the sight of him, Bertie and all FF'ers.
    The point is though he's meant to be the leader of this country and this is how he presents himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Nero fiddled while Rome burned. Cowen got pissed-up while Ireland sank. Politics is bullshit.

Actually there was no reference to any of his political decisions in the post you were replying to. The 'joke' is on no one but you for attempting to turn the question of whether or not he was drunk, into a whether or not he's doing a good job. One can believe he wasn't drunk without believing he's doing a good job.

I refer to the 'stellar' job he did as Finance Minister...... IF he performed in that post, there would be no issue (although our Taoiseach 'sounding' drunk in the middle of a financial catastrophe is unpalatable)

He DIDN't perform in either role......glad you think the joke is solely on me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

nero fiddled with other things though:eek:

I refer to the 'stellar' job he did as Finance Minister...... IF he performed in that post, there would be no issue (although our Taoiseach 'sounding' drunk in the middle of a financial catastrophe is unpalatable)

He DIDN't perform in either role......glad you think the joke is solely on me!

You've completely lost the plot. Lets back track a bit. In response to someone saying he didn't sound drunk, you said:
    HOW can you defend this eejit???? Takes one to know one....... Are you too from Offaly?!

It's pathetic that you think that someone who thinks he didn't sound drunk is all of a sudden defending the political decisions Cowen has made.

Please don't reply with another incoherent post making some vague reference to his previous roles in Government.

You said:
    Political decisions he made should be lauded????????!!

Where on Earth did you get that from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

duckysauce wrote: »
    rabble :rolleyes: get over yourself . rabble are people expressing themselves

I think what each of us have determined as rabble might be different.

Let's just say that I think some arguments in the thread are completely hogwash :pac:

You've completely lost the plot. Lets back track a bit. In response to someone saying he didn't sound drunk, you said:

It's pathetic that you think that someone who thinks he didn't sound drunk is all of a sudden defending the political decisions Cowen has made.

Please don't reply with another incoherent post making some vague reference to his previous roles in Government.

You said:

Where on Earth did you get that from?

I have not lost the plot
    I am angry and fail to understand his defenders;)
    I am not attempting to make incoherent posts
    I do think the man sounded completely unprofessional and an embarrassment to our nation - I only mentioned his prior 'expertise' all things financial to reinforce his ineptness

That you are prepared to defend him and insult me for voicing my opinion is your prerogative...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

I actually feel incredibly sorry for him and his family on a personal level. Imagine how it feels to have your physical appearance constantly joked about. I definitely wouldn't be able to handle it.

I listened to the interview there, I don't think it was much worse than his usual interviews. He doesn't have a good speaking voice ever, I really don't think today was very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

I actually feel incredibly sorry for him and his family on a personal level. Imagine how it feels to have your physical appearance constantly joked about. I definitely wouldn't be able to handle it.

I listened to the interview there, I don't think it was much worse than his usual interviews. He doesn't have a good speaking voice ever, I really don't think today was very different.
    Sure who's fault could it be apart from his own that he has a fondness for food?!
    In fairness, he can't be criticised on his own for single-handedly doing a shite job. Everyone is FF and probably every other party had their heads in the sand and were money-grabbing power-craving grassholes. Damn, if I was in power I'd do the very same, I'd take it easy and raise my own salary. I'm sure many others would too!

Still doesn't change the fact that he's a BIFFO though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I have not lost the plot
    I am angry and fail to understand his defenders;)
    I am not attempting to make incoherent posts
    I do think the man sounded completely unprofessional and an embarrassment to our nation - I only mentioned his prior 'expertise' all things financial to reinforce his ineptness

That you are prepared to defend him and insult me for voicing my opinion is your prerogative...........

This is the problem. Nobody is defending Brian Cowen. But you can't see that. Some of us our simply saying that we didn't think he was drunk on the radio. Thats not defending him, its fact!!!

.....and on the subject of insulting people......I believe it was me that you questioned.........

.....I initially did not give this pathetic post the dignity of a response. But seeing as it was quoted at you again and you didn't respond, I will address it.

You are being overly sensitive to people's opinions on this matter to the point where you have insulted me and others and made assumptions of our overall political views and birth county???!!!:eek: Do people from Offaly have more superior/inferior senses than the rest of the country?

Surely you can see how immature your posts are coming across and as a result, you've completely invalidated many of your genuine arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

fontanalis wrote: »
    I'm glad everyone is ok with it, they probably paid for the pints!

No they didn't. The meeting was paid for by the party themselves. Fundraising paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ave Nocturna

His appearance and FF policies are completely unrelated, to state the obvious. His 'fondness for food' didn't land the country in this mess and, in fairness, it's juvenile of people to even bring his weight into it. Really, what is that going to achieve? As though a thin, handsome Cowen would do a different job?

To make it clear, I'm not some sort of Biffo lover (biffophile?) or FF supporter, I'm as angry as everyone else but I would rather Cowen worked on fixing the economy as opposed to solely fixing his appearance and demeanour. It's embarrassing that this has become media fodder worldwide and I think that instead of attacking the man personally we should be attacking the system (don't you just hate that...? "The system" ) I know FF have an awful lot to answer for but this is a new low I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

shivs.

Take this as a mod warning, do not post in this thread again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

His appearance and FF policies are completely unrelated, to state the obvious. His 'fondness for food' didn't land the country in this mess and, in fairness, it's juvenile of people to even bring his weight into it. Really, what is that going to achieve? As though a thin, handsome Cowen would do a different job?

I agree with that... but...

Given that details about his health, lifestyle and various vices have been in the public domain for a long time now, surely it would have been in his own interest to quash the criticism, the piss-taking and the recurring rumours by quitting cigarettes and cutting down on the drink (publicly at least) upon becoming Taoiseach. Being healthier probably wouldn't have made him much better at the non-media-related aspects of his job, but those relatively minor lifestyle sacrifices would at least have given us some indication that he actually values being the most powerful person in the country. Since day one, everything about his demeanour has suggested the very opposite.

In short, he looks like a man who couldn't give a shit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

The Bandwaggon brigade started this sh/t
    it sounded like he had a cold or something ffs, nothing more :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ave Nocturna

RayM wrote: »
    I agree with that... but...

Given that details about his health, lifestyle and various vices have been in the public domain for a long time now, surely it would have been in his own interest to quash the criticism, the piss-taking and the recurring rumours by quitting cigarettes and cutting down on the drink (publicly at least) upon becoming Taoiseach. Being healthier probably wouldn't have made him much better at the non-media-related aspects of his job, but those relatively minor lifestyle sacrifices would at least have given us some indication that he actually values being the most powerful person in the country. Since day one, everything about his demeanour has suggested the very opposite.

In short, he looks like a man who couldn't give a shit.

I see what you mean. I guess there's a difference between saying what you've said just there and the usual "Ahh he's a useless fat... (...blah blah blah)" remarks that have become tiresome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Christ above who gives a flying fu@k? This is the sort of non-news that Joe Duffy makes a living from. The high horse brigade are already going into overdrive on Ray Darcy.

A few pints, a bit hungover so what? Its not like he has the power to nuke the planet or anything or is going to be making any earth shattering decisions right at this moment. He is entitled to blow off a little steam and get plastered if he wants to.

And can I point out I detest the sight of him, Bertie and all FF'ers.

Everyone who thanked this post:

You are responsible for it all.

You are my enemy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I love all the comments along the lines of 'who hasnt gone to work hungover?' or this is non-news etc.
    Can you picture Obama giving an interview after a night on the piss? Or David Cameron? Or Angela Merkle?
    They wouldnt do it, so why should we accept it from our supposed leader? Any other PM or president would be lambasted for it.

That's bsaically my problem with the whole thing. It's not that he had a few pints, and was a bit rough the next day, its that he didn't have the competence to avoid the interview. As the most powerful man in Ireland(after Tony O'Reilly), if a Journalist asks for an interview he should be able to say, "No, Im only out of bed, Im going to go and get some food into me, come back to me around 10, and I'll give you an exclusive".

If I have a few pints and am the worse for wear in the morning, I still manage the self preservation skills to avoid my boss until my head clears up. Considering we are all his bosses, and the interview was not planned, but simply ad-hoc, he should have been able to avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Saila wrote: »
    The Bandwaggon brigade started this sh/t
    it sounded like he had a cold or something ffs, nothing more :rolleyes:

A bandwagon can't start something you ****ing goon.

They join later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

This has hit the media here in Europe. What an embarrassment :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I just listened to the radio clip.

How is this making such news? Really I'am amazed.