hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Mister men wrote: »
    Disgraceful. He needs to simple as that.

Needs to do what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Needs to do what?

what he said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Needs to do what?

Simple. As that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Simple. As that.

fair enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Personally, i think the whole thing has been blown out of proportion. IMO he sounded as if he had been awake for a whole 3 minutes before he went on air. No offence to the man, but his interviews aren't exactly awe inspiring on a regular day and todays interview wasn't much different. He probably sounded slightly less interested than usual but as usual he spouted out the same old lines about the economy. He slipped up and called the Croke Park Agreement the Good Friday agreement but anyone could make that mistake.
    IMO he should have delayed the interview until he was more 'together' or at least he should have had a strong black coffee.

http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2010/pc/pod-v-1409102ndhour40m16smorningireland.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Have to say listened to the first 5 mins of the interview and he seemed fine to me. Bit rough maybe but wouldn't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

For those of us in work (and Ive lost my job) we turned up at our jobs sober. When we did go out for a drink we did so on a night when we werent working the next day. Not so the leader of our country. Six months Im unemployed. Ive tried everywhere.
    come on now seriously....I would call that abnormal, and i'm not even a drinker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Funkfield

LoanShark wrote: »
    to my knowledge this is the first time he has been interviewed in this state..

No, he has been interviewed in Ireland before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is such horse shit, I heard one ejit on the radio saying he should have made sure he had an early night and got a good nights sleep like people can be turned on and off like a piece of machinery.

He is a person at the end of the day and is allowed to have an off day or do a bad interview once and awhile.

I'm no fan of FF or Brian but the media and people getting upset about this are what's wrong with this country dedicating their gossip based hysteria to this trivial crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Uriel. wrote: »
    He's a visionary and leading by example :D

More like - He's a visonary and drinking by example.

baldbear wrote: »
    I heard Cowen nailed Mary Harney on the pool table with willie O'dea rolling a camcorder.

Imagine the aftermath if the head-shops were still doing business.....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭lighthouse

kfallon wrote: »
    Wonder if he got taco fries on the way home last night :rolleyes:

No chipper near the Ardilaun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ScumLord wrote: »
    ...I'm no fan of FF or Brian but the media and people getting upset about this are what's wrong with this country dedicating their gossip based hysteria to this trivial crap.
    Lord knows I'm no fan of FF and co - I've had a joke and a laugh but if I'm being truthful, even suffering with a hangover, at least he could still get a few words out and speak using words not found in public daily use on the streets sometimes.

If he had a hangover, he should have stayed off the air for reasons which his org' could have spun.
    - But as he did drag himself to the interview (via phone?), he managed to fend off the interviewers questions.

I want him booted out and with personal good reasons alone - but I've been where he's been this morning and I have to be honest and say I probably wouldn't have done better.

That said, I still think at this stage he and the rest of his mob should no longer be in office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Mister men wrote: »
    Disgraceful. He needs to simple as that.

Agreed. If he doesnt, then the people of Ireland should end of story. Otherwise might happen.

Imagine the aftermath if the head-shops were still in business......:eek:

Why is this even news never mind being headline news. FF have the country in bits and a hangover has caused as much outrage as all the problems the country is in.

Its a joke. We all go into work hungover, half the people who rang in complaining to radio shows were probably on the beer last night themselves. Don't get me wrong I hate the sight of Cowen but this is just an complete non-event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

FF cant be happy about this even if they are rallying the troops around him. The story is gone global.

BBC

Zimbio

Reuters

Associated Press

Fox News

and of course

Joe Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Ah i was dyin to hear this...he sounds like he has a head cold thats all tbh. You can hear him sniffling the whole way through it. Let down :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭patmac

baldbear wrote: »
    Lets session our way out of the recsession.

It's gas the abuse Cohen gets for his drinking when Bertie was just as bad, a man of the people he was!

Are you drunk or was Lenny singing along with Brian as well.
    I'm between two minds on this one sometimes I admire his Irishness for drinking pints and smoking ciggies, but then I can't forgive him for messing up the country when Minister for Finance maybe one influenced the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭dasdog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Jesus, talk about blowing things out of proportion

flyton5 wrote: »
    I wonder do the FF lads have to publish the bar receipts as part of their expenses on their respective websites? I'd say it'd make for some interesting reading....

I'd say cowen's are well destroyed at this stage LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Why is this even news never mind being headline news. FF have the country in bits and a hangover has caused as much outrage as all the problems the country is in.

Its a joke. We all go into work hungover, half the people who rang in complaining to radio shows were probably on the beer last night themselves. Don't get me wrong I hate the sight of Cowen but this is just an complete non-event.

Jaysus if I had a job now there's no way I would go in hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Biggins wrote: »
    Lord knows I'm no fan of FF and co - I've had a joke and a laugh but if I'm being truthful, even suffering with a hangover, at least he could still get a few words out and speak using words not found in public daily use on the streets sometimes.
    I'd prefer if they used ordinary language, nothing makes me cringe more than to hear politician and Guards on TV and the radio using big, meaningless words trying desperately not to blurt out a sentence the way they want to. It PR jaw flapping.

I want him gone too but this is getting to the stage of pettiness, there's no need for it given the actual mess they've made of everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Welp, get ready for an election guys.

We're going to an election because Cowen sounded a bit rough on the radio.

Think about that. This is the reason that will take down the FF hegemony on Irish politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

If it was the "PM" of any other country would it be traveling so well?

SeaFields wrote: »
    FF cant be happy about this even if they are rallying the troops around him. The story is gone global.

BBC

Zimbio

Reuters

Associated Press

Fox News

and of course

Joe Duffy

God we are the laughing stock of the world. This will fuel the dimwits who like to poke fun at Ireland. As if things couldn't get worse. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd prefer if they used ordinary language, nothing makes me cringe more than to hear politician and Guards on TV and the radio using big, meaningless words trying desperately not to blurt out a sentence the way they want to. It PR jaw flapping.

I want him gone too but this is getting to the stage of pettiness, there's no need for it given the actual mess they've made of everything.
    Indeed.
    They are going a right (or should I say "wrong") job of it while they are at their desks (which by the looks of things is rare).

As regards his general use of vocabulary, its par with the person I think he was trying to impress, the interviewer (and thus then the public by trying to sound loquacious).

Standard sound-bite methodology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

He was a hell of alot more coherent than some of the morons that are on Joe Duffy today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

From the BBC

The Irish prime minister has denied being drunk or hungover on an RTE radio programme on Tuesday morning.
    Taoiseach Brian Cowen said such comments were "ridil....dicir....ridilcu....bull****".

I have a new found respect for Cowen, I'd say he'd be some craic in the pub :pac: