hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Noel Dempsey has said this morning that the taoiseach "is entitled to a bit of socialisation"

Socialisation definition - the process by which individuals learn and perform behaviour expected of them by society.

Obviously not enough socialisation for Biffo then. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

SeaFields wrote: »
    Noel Dempsey has said this morning that the taoiseach "is entitled to a bit of socialisation"

Socialisation definition - the process by which individuals learn and perform behaviour expected of them by society.

For those of us in work (and Ive lost my job) we turned up at our jobs sober. When we did go out for a drink we did so on a night when we werent working the next day. Not so the leader of our country. Six months Im unemployed. Ive tried everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I don't think he sounds that bad, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Associated Press are now carrying the story - and it's a harsh interpretation.
    Irish premier denies being drunk, hung over on air
    (AP) – 23 minutes ago
    DUBLIN — Prime Minister Brian Cowen is resisting calls for an early election in Ireland amid fears about the nation's debt troubles — and his own ability to steer the country through the crisis.
    Cowen was repeatedly accused by politicians and commentators on Irish radio Tuesday of being drunk or hung over after he gave a croaky interview to state radio. He often offered vague, semi-coherent answers to questions on Ireland's battle to save its banks and reverse its deficit.
    Asked by a reporter about speculation he was struggling from the aftereffects of late-night drinking, Cowen replied curtly, "That's ridiculous."
    Cowen's Fianna Fail party has a shaky parliamentary majority. His government faces re-election by 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

SeaFields wrote: »

Although Noel Dempsey made a balls of it (maybe he had a bad head too?! :) ) he did confirm that there was a social occasion last night. You can be 100% sure Brian was on the beer. He overdone it. That shouldn't happen on a school night when you're the Prime Minister of a country that is fúcked.

EDIT:
    For those of us in work (and Ive lost my job) we turned up at our jobs sober. When we did go out for a drink we did so on a night when we werent working the next day. Not so the leader of our country. Six months Im unemployed. Ive tried everywhere.

In fairness, plenty of people go to work with hangovers / still suffering the effects of the drinking. We all know we don't perform anywhere near our best capabilities in that state though. That's why he shouldn't be turning up to this "think-in" while half cut from the "gettingpissedingalway-in" the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He's no Boris Yeltsin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

When we did go out for a drink we did so on a night when we werent working the next day.
    Never had a staff party, going away party no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He's no Boris Yeltsin
    Thats plane! :D

He's no Boris Yeltsin

Thanks for reminding me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-z9wfueMAw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

I wonder do the FF lads have to publish the bar receipts as part of their expenses on their respective websites? I'd say it'd make for some interesting reading....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

The man sounded tired but hardly in the horrors. Anyway, at least he got something right...
    The Taoiseach ridiculed suggestions from Mr Kenny that it would take a decade of Fine Gael policies to undo the damage wrought by Fianna Fáil.

flyton5 wrote: »
    I wonder do the FF lads have to publish the bar receipts as part of their expenses on their respective websites? I'd say it'd make for some interesting reading....

Don't be ridiculous! There were no orders at the bar, that is uncalled for!

Mr Cowen was in his room doing his yoga routine by 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭RichieO

He sounds quite normal to me, at least normal for him, it's not his fault he sounds a bit pizzed all the time, it's not his fault he looks like a Irish budget version of Shrek either...
    It's understandable he nearly lost it with yer man, I mean, what is the point of trying to force a politician to tell the truth, not a hope in hell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Mr Cowen was in his room doing his yoga routine by 8pm.

"More pathetic posturing by Brian Cowen" or "Putting the Tao into Taoiseach"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

Don't be ridiculous! There were no orders at the bar, that is uncalled for!

Mr Cowen was in his room doing a keg stand by 8pm.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Biggins wrote: »
    Thats plane! :D

good man biggins

bahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,536 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

gizmo wrote: »
    The man sounded tired but hardly in the horrors. Anyway, at least he got something right..
    Quote:
    The Taoiseach ridiculed suggestions from Mr Kenny that it would take a decade of Fine Gael policies to undo the damage wrought by Fianna Fáil.

Really? 10 years is optimistic in my opinion.
    Right now Anglo owes €74 billion. Let's be optimistic and say they get 50% of that back from loans..which leaves us with €37 billion to repay...
    You honestly think we can repay that in a couple of years?
    I think Kenny was telling the truth about how long it's going to take Ireland to recover from this..and if AIB goes under (a lot of experts reckon AIB will make Anglo look like small change) then we're really fúcked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

If you are having a tough time and life is going down the drain then what is the answer, yes a few pints with the lads, a sort of let's get drunk and get it out of our sytems.
    Many companies use this approach, they just don't call them pi$$-ups they call them team building and bonding sessions.

Sure what harm can it do , things aren't going to get any worse or better for that matter while the man has a few pints.

We really are a country of nit pickers,anything to deflect away from the reality of a situation.

The biggest issue this country has at the moment is John Gormley proping up this Government and not giving the people the oppurtuinity to choose who we want to try and get us out of this sh!t all the while coming up with new ways of taxing the working man in the guise of enviornmental protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Fair play to Cowen - he didn't drink and drive this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Man gets drunk and has hangover.

Seriously, have the media nothing better to fcuking report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

He hadn't had his feed of coleshlaaww this morning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Just listened to the full interview there. Comments like "He sounded like a fúckin mess on the radio this morning" are insane exaggerations. He sounded fine, if not a bit tired. Big woop. He answered the questions just fine... someone said he mixed up the Croke Park agreement with the Good Friday agreement. No he didn't. He, clearly, just misspoke. He corrected himself before he even said it: "The Good Fri... sorry, the Croke Park agreement". Big deal. I'd have more problems with the interviewer and his stupid questions which he asked instead of letting Cowen finish his answers.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Hello folks. A few posts have been removed containing speculation about the taoiseach from unreliable sources (My mate said, I heard this, etc). This kind of thing can get us in trouble so please think before you post.
    It's terribly important :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Biggins wrote: »

That's from 2009.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I'm glad everyone is ok with it, they probably paid for the pints!

That's from 2009.
    I know, its a pre re-run referendum interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Disgraceful. He needs to quit simple as that.

Elevator wrote: »
    good man biggins

bahahahahahaha

I know but the inside reference would have flew over the heads of the younger ones here.
    Bless, I'm showing my age! :D

Mark200 wrote: »
    someone said he mixed up the Croke Park agreement with the Good Friday agreement. No he didn't. He, clearly, just misspoke. He corrected himself before he even said it: "The Good Fri... sorry, the Croke Park agreement".

That was probably my post you read. I posted that on a report I read. When I listened back, in fairness he did just have a slip of the tongue.

He did sound terrible though. Uninterested and most certainly hungover. He shouldn't be hungover on a work morning. Simples.