Whats your earliest memory? How far back can you remember?

• 13-09-2010 09:56PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

My friends think I'm strange because I can remember in a relatively detailed way back until I was as young as around 18 months old. (Can guess that age as I remember specific details including ones about an aunt that moved to america I was 18 months old (she didn't come back till I was 7).)

I think they're the weird ones as some of their first memories are as old as their first day of school, communion etc.

Anyways I think my first memory was climbing out of my cot at a year and a half and giving my mother the fright of her life (my cousin had cracked her skull doing the same about a month earlier so she was a bit panicky about the whole thing) , she never put me in the cot again.

Whats your first memory and how old were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I can remember being in playschool and not really understanding why all the other little girls wanted to play in the toy kitchen. I was about 3; no gender stereotyping for me!

*twirls hair and giggles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Clicking on this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I remember being a sperm.

God, I miss those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I remember being a sperm.

God, I miss those days.
    All the gee you could wish for.

When I was about 2 on a family holiday
    and playschool and such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Dudess wrote: »
    All the gee you could wish for.

Mmmm. Mammy fanny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Watching my brother come home from primary school everyday in those old CIE buses (yellow ones). I was probably about two or three. I can remember earlier but that memory is most clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I read once that most early memories are made up from stories you have heard or photos you have seen and people believe them to be memories.

I have loads from 2 1/2 onwards, few snippets from before that, which i believe to be made up by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I remember walking into the corner of the table and splitting my head open - the RTE news was on is all I remember and my auld lad looking over at me and probably laughin... I remember then just getting back up and walkin off again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I can remember being in my high chair and looking out the kitchen window at my father while he was building a wall. My mother told me I would of been just gone one because he built the wall when we first moved to the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I can remember being in my cot when we lived in a house in Lusk and I can remember the day we moved to a house in Swords. I was about two, I can also remember talking to the next door neighbours and telling them that i could see dragons in their back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my mother showing me an atlas and going through countries. thats the earliest memory i have and that italy looked like one of my mammys boots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Remember me days of playschool... when i was like 3 years old, playing with them big lego blocks... and having red beans [sweet stuff] for lunch once in awhile, and nap times. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

being in my cot and managing to release the side of it,so it crashed to the floor with a massive bang,and bursting into tears because i scared myself ****less

no idea how i can remember back that far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My first steps.

Bill Bixby was about to get angry on tv and i thought it was my fault.. so i legged it.. 3 steps and bang into the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

at the play school - I remember sitting on a bold chair most of the time - I was 3!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I was playing on the carpet in our sitting room.
    The television was on, my mother was watching the news. I remember seeing lots of rubble and on the street.
    Also some ambulances, a burnt out car, fireman, Gardai and people crying and looking dazed.

Had no idea what it was at the time. Now I do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIuyuPsy0Mo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Being born..seriously. Afterwards in the hospital in the baby room in the cot thing I mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Saila wrote: »
    Being born..seriously. Afterwards in the hospital in the baby room in the cot thing I mean

Stop lying on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I remember getting a bath in the kitchen sink. I think I must have been around 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Stop lying on the internet.

if thats what makes you feel better about it. It happened Im not kidding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Saila wrote: »
    if thats what makes you feel better about it. It happened Im not kidding.
    I know you were born.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I remember my dad holding me on the back of his Rough Collie (like Lassie) and the dog walking around the garden.

I must have been ~2. The dog was like a fecking horse compared to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

My Grandad holding me upside down by the ankles! I was around 4 Id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Being in hospital getting a cyst removed from my throat when I was two, other photograph kinda memories, earliest clear one is my last day of Montessori at four.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭BeeJazizWafuls

I remember being in a onesie that had a duck on it, and I had two soothers clipped onto it and I would swap them over every few mins when the one that wasn't in mouth had dried up (insert filthy joke here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My parents having an argument and my mother taking off when I was about 4..she came back the next day, nothing dramatic or anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭token56

My earliet memory is of my grandad who died when I was 2 and a few months so I would of had to be younger than that. I just remember visiting him and my grandmother with my parents and he was sitting down and the table having his dinner, and they tried to make me eat a yoghurt I think. I've a few other memories from around 2 or 3 onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The big bang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

My first memory, hmmmmm. Oh ye, I was just born. I was 8 1/2 premature, the doctors were freaking out.:(