Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your earliest memory? How far back can you remember?

• 13-09-2010 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

My friends think I'm strange because I can remember in a relatively detailed way back until I was as young as around 18 months old. (Can guess that age as I remember specific details including ones about an aunt that moved to america I was 18 months old (she didn't come back till I was 7).)

I think they're the weird ones as some of their first memories are as old as their first day of school, communion etc.

Anyways I think my first memory was climbing out of my cot at a year and a half and giving my mother the fright of her life (my cousin had cracked her skull doing the same about a month earlier so she was a bit panicky about the whole thing) , she never put me in the cot again.

Whats your first memory and how old were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I can remember being in playschool and not really understanding why all the other little girls wanted to play in the toy kitchen. I was about 3; no gender stereotyping for me!

*twirls hair and giggles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Clicking on this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I remember being a sperm.

God, I miss those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I remember being a sperm.

God, I miss those days.
    All the gee you could wish for.

When I was about 2 on a family holiday
    and playschool and such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Dudess wrote: »
    All the gee you could wish for.

Mmmm. Mammy fanny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Watching my brother come home from primary school everyday in those old CIE buses (yellow ones). I was probably about two or three. I can remember earlier but that memory is most clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I read once that most early memories are made up from stories you have heard or photos you have seen and people believe them to be memories.

I have loads from 2 1/2 onwards, few snippets from before that, which i believe to be made up by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I remember walking into the corner of the table and splitting my head open - the RTE news was on is all I remember and my auld lad looking over at me and probably laughin... I remember then just getting back up and walkin off again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I can remember being in my high chair and looking out the kitchen window at my father while he was building a wall. My mother told me I would of been just gone one because he built the wall when we first moved to the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I can remember being in my cot when we lived in a house in Lusk and I can remember the day we moved to a house in Swords. I was about two, I can also remember talking to the next door neighbours and telling them that i could see dragons in their back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my mother showing me an atlas and going through countries. thats the earliest memory i have and that italy looked like one of my mammys boots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Remember me days of playschool... when i was like 3 years old, playing with them big lego blocks... and having red beans [sweet stuff] for lunch once in awhile, and nap times. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

being in my cot and managing to release the side of it,so it crashed to the floor with a massive bang,and bursting into tears because i scared myself ****less

no idea how i can remember back that far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My first steps.

Bill Bixby was about to get angry on tv and i thought it was my fault.. so i legged it.. 3 steps and bang into the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

at the play school - I remember sitting on a bold chair most of the time - I was 3!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I was playing on the carpet in our sitting room.
    The television was on, my mother was watching the news. I remember seeing lots of rubble and on the street.
    Also some ambulances, a burnt out car, fireman, Gardai and people crying and looking dazed.

Had no idea what it was at the time. Now I do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIuyuPsy0Mo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Being born..seriously. Afterwards in the hospital in the baby room in the cot thing I mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Saila wrote: »
    Being born..seriously. Afterwards in the hospital in the baby room in the cot thing I mean

Stop lying on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I remember getting a bath in the kitchen sink. I think I must have been around 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Stop lying on the internet.

if thats what makes you feel better about it. It happened Im not kidding.

Saila wrote: »
    if thats what makes you feel better about it. It happened Im not kidding.
    I know you were born.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I remember my dad holding me on the back of his Rough Collie (like Lassie) and the dog walking around the garden.

I must have been ~2. The dog was like a fecking horse compared to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

My Grandad holding me upside down by the ankles! I was around 4 Id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Being in hospital getting a cyst removed from my throat when I was two, other photograph kinda memories, earliest clear one is my last day of Montessori at four.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭BeeJazizWafuls

I remember being in a onesie that had a duck on it, and I had two soothers clipped onto it and I would swap them over every few mins when the one that wasn't in mouth had dried up (insert filthy joke here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My parents having an argument and my mother taking off when I was about 4..she came back the next day, nothing dramatic or anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭token56

My earliet memory is of my grandad who died when I was 2 and a few months so I would of had to be younger than that. I just remember visiting him and my grandmother with my parents and he was sitting down and the table having his dinner, and they tried to make me eat a yoghurt I think. I've a few other memories from around 2 or 3 onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The big bang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

My first memory, hmmmmm. Oh ye, I was just born. I was 8 1/2 premature, the doctors were freaking out.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

It was Christmas eve and I was about 2! My mother came into the living room and my brither and sister was having a fight. She then got into a really bad mood went up into the attic got the boxes for the x-mas decorations. She then took down all the decorations. We didn't have Christmas. It's actually true!:(

cooltown wrote: »
    It was Christmas eve and I was about 2! My mother came into the living room and my brither and sister was having a fight. She then got into a really bad mood went up into the attic got the boxes for the x-mas decorations. She then took down all the decorations. We didn't have Christmas. It's actually true!:(

Was she insane by any chance?:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

First memory would be of the hurling team my Dad played for winning a big match, which I think was a county final.

They were presented with a huge cup, and I distinctly remember being put inside the cup and carried around the pub by my Dad and my uncle (who was also on the team). It was in 1980, so I would have been 2.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

Was she insane by any chance?:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    I don't think so. It actually still hurts thinking of it!

cooltown wrote: »
    I don't think so. It actually still hurts thinking of it!
    Not letting the kids have christmas is harsh.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I remember pulling a box of my nappies out of the kitchen press. Dunno how old i was but i was under 2 anyway.

I also remember being in playschool and they were trying to make me eat rice pudding,which i hated, so i jumped on a police trike and tried to escape. They caught me though :(
    I was about 3 then, that's one of my 1st vivid memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I can remember as far back as when I was 6 weeks old the time of my Christening. I remember a photo being taken of me and was looking at my hand. Anything else was running after a pet dog I had when I were 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

earliest memory is standing on the windowsill watching santy ride around the estate on a horse and cart, i was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

hmmm finding it hard to remember which is the earliest, i have a number of early memories... not happy ones though :(