have you ever got mugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

A couple of stories. I used to have long hair and used to be targeted quite a bit in the square etc. By ****ers who took exception to my hair.

But these two stories are post long hair.
    Once a friend and myself were walking near the McDonalds outside the square when we heard 'lads, I want 20 quid or one of you is getting stabbed' and this scumbag produced a small blade. We decided to call his bluff and replied 'no, put the knife away before you get hurt'. He obliged and then tried to dismiss the attempt as a joke.

Story 2.

one Halloween I was walking from the off license to a party when a traveller asked had I any spare cans. I replied no, he approached me and put his hand in my pocket, I hit him with my free left hand (right hand was holding the offo bag) and he hit the deck. Next thing I hear 'don't you hit my brother'. I was quickly surrounded and set upon. My friends bailed on me and I took some amount of hits. Eventually spotted a gap and ran. I came out of it quite bruised, but they didn't get anything from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Pedro K wrote: »
    A couple of stories. I used to have long hair and used to be targeted quite a bit in the square etc. By ****ers who took exception to my hair.

But these two stories are post long hair.
    Once a friend and myself were walking near the McDonalds outside the square when we heard 'lads, I want 20 quid or one of you is getting stabbed' and this scumbag produced a small blade. We decided to call his bluff and replied 'no, put the knife away before you get hurt'. He obliged and then tried to dismiss the attempt as a joke.

Story 2.

one Halloween I was walking from the off license to a party when a traveller asked had I any spare cans. I replied no, he approached me and put his hand in my pocket, I hit him with my free left hand (right hand was holding the offo bag) and he hit the deck. Next thing I hear 'don't you hit my brother'. I was quickly surrounded and set upon. My friends bailed on me and I took some amount of hits. Eventually spotted a gap and ran. I came out of it quite bruised, but they didn't get anything from me.

Some friends you have there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I want Kelly Brooke to pin me against the wall and rape me violently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Some friends you have there!

Aye, I wasn't best pleased at all. Needless to say, I went to a different party with different people in the end. Both of those incidents are a good couple of years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

I've been mugged once.

Walking up to Tara St dart station about 10 years ago, I was walking ahead of two mates.
    I look back and these two junkies walked up beside them, they had syringes to my mates necks, I had literally nothing in my wallet other than a dart ticket. My mates had drinking money for some gig they were going to later, so that was gone.

The junkies were weirdly polite, almost apologetic.
    Odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,587 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

When I was like 14 I was walking up from the bus stop when some scumbag ran up from behind me, punched me in the stomach, roobed my hat and ran away :confused:

Also have been held up in work by two fellas with a gun and a cleaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

I was mugged about ten years ago. Was waiting for a bus about 11pm, talking on my phone. Saw the bus coming, hung up, dropped the phone into my pocket and stuck my arm out to stop the bus. Next thing I know I'm pushed into the side of the bus shelter and some guy is pegging it down the road with my phone.

I'm standing there in complete shock and the bus driver looks at me and says "Are you getting on, or wha?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's been attempted twice...

First time... there was 3 of'em around me... grabbed 1 of'em.. not too sure but think i may have hurt him... the other 2 decided to run afterwards...

Second time, some scumbag was walking upto me me screaming "What's the story bout yer phwone..." Then thumped me on the side of my head while i went to walk around him... he ended up getting 6 months for that...

His Barrister was a fúcking scumbag too... claiming i wasn't much use on the stand becasue i couldn't clearly remember the timeframe of the event and that all the other people who gave statements as witnesses should not be acceptable as they had been standing out side a nightclub while "having drink on them." He also claimed it was possible, but could not confirm, but believed the defendant to be in a juvineil instituation when the attack was meant to have happened...

yeah... if he was their you'd have a signed sheet and a gaurd from the instituition confirming it...

fúcking weasel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Binder

Nearly got mugged twice....

Was walking down north circular road after a school hurling match, was about 12/13. 2 guys come up to me and say....sorry mate you got the time.....me being the innocent young lad says yes and lift my sleeve to read the time. Then one of he lads says give me your watch....I said no then he says give me your money. All I had was 50p for bus fair so I said no and he then said....ok bye.

Another time i was in a phone box on Dorset St and a group of lads came up and opened the door and said give me your wallet. I happened to notice a local lad I knew from school across the road so I shouted over to him. They then said 'you know him? your alright so'....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

I was nearly robbed one evenin i was walkin home from work, 2 lads in their 20s, i broke one lads nose and knocked the other lad out.......i thought i done well for a 12 year old girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Once standing at Ha'penny bridge northside waiting to cross. Was about 15/16 and 4 junkies came up and one of them went through me and my mates pockets, didn't fins my wallet on account of my rediculously baggie trousers. Found my mates wallet and they took a 20 I had just loaned him for new bass strings. So technically they robbed my money :mad:. Tonnes of adults standing around pretending not to notice.

Another time I was at Eden quay on Paddies day about the same age and a few lads came up and asked to use my phone. I lied and said I had not got a phone but would happily lend them change for the payphone across the street. I dug out some change and they just grabbed it all and walked the oppossite way. I had it in my head that if they kicked off at least one of em was going in the liffey even if I had to drag him with me.

A traveller stole the wheel of my moped when I was 17 while I was working in a Shell station. Saw him at the last minute and gave chase to 4 of them who jumped in a car for about 30 seconds and realised if I caught them I'd probably get the sh!t kicked outta me so I stopped.

Eventually my moped was stolen though I didn't see that happening.

Why can't people be nice!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

NothingMan wrote: »
    A traveller stole the wheel of my moped when I was 17 while I was working in a Shell station. Saw him at the last minute and gave chase to 4 of them who jumped in a car for about 30 seconds and realised if I caught them I'd probably get the sh!t kicked outta me so I stopped.

Eventually my moped was stolen though I didn't see that happening.

Why can't people be nice!

Who'd steal a moped with 1 wheel ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I was walking back through Temple Bar with a mate after a night out with work about 8 years ago. I was sober and driving, he was on his way to drunkville. We were cutting through one of the alleys when this young wan appeared out of nowhere and started walking in-between us, arms around both of our shoulders. She says 'do one of yas wanna come down the alley and I'll give ya a blow-job.' So I shrugged her off, and kept walking, but my mate, in all his classiness stopped to barter. So I stop and turn, waiting for him to finish negociations, listening to the talk of 'I'd really like to, but I have a girlfriend,' and so on. Then, out of nowhere, another girl and some rat-faced little shit appear and grab onto my mate, trying to drag him into the alley. I run up and grab onto my mate, trying to separate everyone and get him out of there. My mate, who is still holding onto a bottle of Heineken, wallops the young wan on the head with the bottle until she lets go, and the three scumbags start screaming 'DON'T FUCKIN' HIT HUR!' like he's committed some hate crime. Me and my mate leg it out of the alley and literally straight into two gardai who are talking to two upset-looking girls. We point out the direction of the scumbags.

Three minutes later, the gardai are back to us, lead us to one of their cars and ask if the two morose-looking idiots in the back are two of the muggers. We have a look, and sure enough, it's the young wan and the fella. Turns out they'd mugged a few people that night. So my mate decides to moon them, pulling down his pants and waving his bare arse at the window. One of the gardai yells at my mate to stop, but he's kinda laughing as well. We eventually got called up as witnesses, and I went along to the court. But there's a loop-hole in the law that states that a defendant can plead not-guilty all the way up until the trial in the hopes that no witnesses turn up. But if they do appear, the defendant can change his or her plea to guilty at the last moment in order to get a reduced sentence. The law in an ass. And thankfully, that's the closest I've ever come to being mugged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Who'd steal a moped with 1 wheel ?

You should have seen me driving around in a constant wheelie for 6 months after the wheel was stolen!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The first week i moved down to Limerick for college i had two dudes try and mug me. Basically had me marked as a student and figured it would be an easy enough job for them. Thankfully I had no honour or manners, so one ferocious kick in the knackers and a deftly placed right later the situation had been defused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭davepatr07

Was mugged there of all places at the time Ireland beat Holland at Lansdowne to qualify for 2002 WC.

Travel a good bit and 1st and only time been mugged, shook me up and made me street wise afterwards thats for sure!

Was on a drinking spree with some mates in Sauchiehall Street. Got seperated in a club so towards the end of the night decided to walk back to hotel instead of gettin a cab. Wasn't completely pissed and could see where I was goin. Decided to take a short cut through a car park off the main street in front of some old apartments. Noticed 2 tall characters coming around a corner that looked a bit dodgy so knew this wasnt gona be pretty, I was right I ran and could hear feet running behind me next thing they were on top of me dragging me to the side of a car behind a tree where they pinned me on the ground and took my wallet and one of my rings on my right hand. 1 of the guys said to the other stab him I pleaded just to take the ring and wallet thats all I had (Only had about 15 pounds). They wanted the other ring from the finger but was havin difficulty taking it off. I nearly felt like saying come back to the hotel and I'll get soap and water to help it come off! They were junkies alright, teeth missing and looking like ****. Duno where they got the speed to catch up with me as I'm a pretty fast runner. Police came afterwards following morning showing me mug shots. Think they got them in the end. Hasn't put me off going back. Was just a stupid thing to do not takin the cab, I was a sitting duck. Luckily I got away with just a few scratches from being dragged to the ground. Ya live and learn.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

In College, I got mugged and lost €1,500 by a woman sitting at a table saying Registration Desk 6.

I know some mature students who were in the same area on a different day who lost €3,000 in a mugging at a place called Registration Desk 3.

The area seems to be a mugging blackspot, maybe the college should put have security patrol there more often!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Yeah, four times total.

Twice by the same bloke and three times in the space on a month and a half back in 97.

Once resulting in a stab wound.

None of them got a penny from me though (mostly because i didnt have any money at the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

I was nearly robbed one evenin i was walkin home from work, 2 lads in their 20s, i broke one lads nose and knocked the other lad out.......i thought i done well for a 12 year old girl.

I loled. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭didntgotoplan

Me and a friend (well former friend now) walking down near Centre on the Grand Parade around half 7 in the evening. 2 teenagers came up to us asking for a euro for the bus, we had feck all money on us. I said sorry and just kept walking to Washington Street.

Then one of them grabbed my friends bag and she started screaming. The other one tried to grab mine so I swung it at her (Pretty heavy with college books) The first one saw me fighting back, dropped my friends bag-who decided to run off screaming with it :eek: and so I just hit them with my bag a few more times until a fella in one of the pubs came out and stopped them. The girls ran off and I had a black eye, but was grand otherwise.

Where was my friend? Still running screaming down Washington Street acting like someone tried to murder her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

I was held up with a syringe when I was 18.
    I didnt put up a fight. I think had it been anything else, I may have done. But the thoughts of what I could get if he managed to stab me with it made me think otherwise. Scumbag.
    I managed to ID the guy from mugshots, turned out he was due in court for loads of offenses. I saw him across the road one time in town about a year later.
    Typical justice system. Probably did no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Luxie

One assault, one mugging. Practically the same area, three months apart.

Needless to say, I moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Giggernaut

I was mugged when I was 14 by a traveller called Red Terry he was well known round town with his red barnet and lazy eye. He and his two bro's cornered me outside tesco demanding I hand over my pennies or he'd stick me with his blade.Then out of the blue I was then yanked into tesco by my mates dad who had seen everything, cops were called statement taken, about a month later I was asked to go to court and identify him. My mother said no and so Red Terry was allowed to walk.

That wasnt the end of it.I was after doing a bit of Christmas pressie shopping and was waiting by the family car when Red Terry and his bro's made a beeline for me. It was cold and there was lots of snow I no place to run and I couldnt bear my pressie's being stolen. I was in a bit of a pickle! They approached shouting "you dead sham,hey" "Whats in the bags,sham". They surrounded me ,I collapsed hunching over the bags protecting them like my life depended on it. I remember thinking I cant lose mam's present.Eyes shut I prayed they'd go away.

Then I heard scuffling and upon looking up I noticed my older brother holding Red Terry face down in the snow while my other brother stuffed wads of snow down his trackie bottoms. Then after a bit of persuading I got an apology and he waddled off never to bother me again.
    You can never have enough big brothers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I was held up with a syringe when I was 18.
    I didnt put up a fight. I think had it been anything else, I may have done. But the thoughts of what I could get if he managed to stab me with it made me think otherwise. Scumbag.
    I managed to ID the guy from mugshots, turned out he was due in court for loads of offenses. I saw him across the road one time in town about a year later.
    Typical justice system. Probably did no time.

Why didnt you smash his teeth in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

Giggernaut wrote: »
    I was mugged when I was 14 by a traveller ..
    ,I collapsed hunching over the bags protecting them like my life depended on it. I remember thinking I cant lose mam's present.Eyes shut I prayed they'd go away.....

You can never have enough big brothers :)

You are too cute.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I was walking home with a girl about 2 years ago.
    I heard these quickly approaching footsteps but was too drunk to care.

the hood of my jumper got grabbed and I was hit on the head with a bottle. It didn't smash but just bounced off my skull. I turned around and hit the guy in the face. He went down like a tons of bricks but unfortunatly he had a friend with him who managed to smash a bottle across my face.

I hit the ground with blood literally pouring out of my head and mouth. one of them picked me up and got me in a choke hold while the other pulled my pockets inside out and took any cash I had on me.

The girl I was with managed to run to a local pub. I stumbled up the road and collapsed. I woke up with a group of friends around me telling me they called an ambulance. They had my hoodie wrapped around my head although I could feel blood running down my back.
    I got rushed to the mater A&E where I spent the next 10 hours on an IV Drip being given tetnes shots and having blood tests run. All the while sitting on a desk chair.

2 hours later I was on a flight to Bulgaria for a 2 week holiday.
    due to my healing wound I wasn't allowed in any of the pools. Which in 38C. weather, is really uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

1st time: 18 or 19 years old, Sunday afternoon BBQ in a friends house, went to the off licence with 3 friends. They all bought 6 cans of beer each, I bought a bottle of martini and carton of orange juice (i know?!?). There were local scummers outside the off licence, I didnt pay any attention as we went in. Came out and were walking down the road back to the house and heard running feet behind us. Turned and there were 5 scummers on top of us, grabbing for the bags, one of them was waving a screwdriver in my friends face.

It all happened fast, cans were busting out of bags and exploding on the road, one scummer was trying to grab a bag of cans and was pulling on it like a tug of war and my friend let go, the scummer fell out into the road and narrowly missed being hit by a car. They all ran off, there were at least 6 or 8 cans rolling exploded around the road.

And yet somehow I was still standing shrank back against the wall holding my bag with my intact bottle of martini and carton of orange juice!! It was a very scary experience.

2nd time: Mildly inebriated strolling arm in arm with a young gent down the quays near the Liffey bar and a junkie approached with a begging cup and asked us for spare change - in a nasty kind of a way. As he did so I noticed that in the other hand was a knife and suddenly realised the begging cup was just a distraction for him to get down to menacing business. I immediately lurched forward as though I was extremely drunk, indicated the begging cup and said to the junkie 'oh have ya any change for me bus fare, I spent it all!!!'. He instantly moved away from us and actually said 'sorry luv i dont, mind yourself getting home'. And went away!!

3rd time: Very drunk, sat on a window ledge near the back of stephens green shopping centre to compose myself for the inevitable search for a taxi (long before deregulation - taxis were scarcer than hens teeth). A guy was sitting with me, we were to share a taxi but he was even drunker than me, and dozing off.

A bloke approached from across the road. He asked me the time then made a swipe for my small handbag which was attached to my wrist via a long strap that Id wrapped around a few times, but still had some length it was swinging on.

In sheer reaction I swung the bag at him, completely forgettting that the bag was full with change, the result of a long nights drinking. It connected with his head with an unholy smack and he fell to the ground. I got a terrible fright - in case he got up and beat me up - so I kicked him in the genitals as hard as I could. He screamed, scurried to his feet and sort of crab walked off. Amazingly my taxi sharer slept through it all and I was so out of it that I forgot all about it until the next day when I went to have a look in my bag and the weight of it reminded me of the smack itd made connecting with the guys head.

A completely accidental score to me on that particular mugging occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭kiddums

Not really no. I guess 6ft 6 and 19+ stone is too unmuggable for most. Or mabye I just look like a poor hobo.

Tho it didnt stop 2 drunk guys one night. The threatend to stab me for my fone, tho they didnt appear to have a knife.
    Tho one of them might have had one in the back of his trackies as he kept putting his hand in there. Either that or he has a fettish for that kinda thing.
    Needless to say when I simply pushed the biggest one away when he got too close and he litrally fell head over heals and landed on his front. I didnt even push him that hard.
    End of attempt.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Once at the Square about 9 years ago..I've seen the same lad from Fettercairn a few times in the next couple of years..quite possibly no longer alive. The same lads for a few years were always there, it seems a lot quieter now. Unfortunately they tried to mug someone with nothing on them except a broken watch :pac:

Not anymore though. Rarely approached anymore even when on Aston Quay. One of the advantages of being snyper sized..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

CorkMan wrote: »
    To the above post, I vary between 19.5 stone and 20.25 stone.

You vary heavy.