Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

have you ever got mugged?

• 12-09-2010 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I did once when I was living in Dublin. I was 13 when I got mugged by some big fellas in his late 20s.

I was around 5'8 and 13 and a half stone, he was 6'2 and around 18 stone. He grabbed a piece of steel of the ground and threatened to bash in my head with it unless I gave him my 2 rings. He also said if I told anyone he would find me and him and a bunch of guys would kick the crap out of me.

I found out his name through my sources and when I was 15 I saw him name in court and he had 83 convinctions!!! Tell me your stories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Got teacupped once.

(Nope, never mugged. I look like a poor person methinks)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Got teacupped once.

Are you sure you don't mean teabagged?

Or butt raped perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I did yeah, it all happened so fast.
    How was I suppose to know wallet inspectors weren't real.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

Thats funny, i was only talking about mugging in another thread.
    Ya once abroad by a brazillian guy. I was walking with my sister down a poorly lit street and this guy on a moped was shouting over to us, we kept walking and next thing a guy comes running towards us grabs my bag and keeps running, knocking me to the ground.
    He kept calling my sisters mobile from my phone saying the most disgusting things. Rang meteor to ask them to block my phone. Guess what they didn't and he ran up a bill of 300eur in calls to Brazil that night. Thank god they record calls with meteor as i was able to complain and at first they denied receiving a call from me but then admitted a call was lodged.
    Well thats my story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

nope, people actually avoid me on the street, i always have an angry look on my face and im fairly built and have a beer belly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Nope never been robbed of anything. Thank fcuk cos i don't have much in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

never been mugged but i have mugged a few people alright:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

One can of Tyskie has just been skited across the room. In bits laughing at this. Brilliant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Nearly. Cornered by some girl with a pram in some woods, just ran the other way.

Pathetically, I was absolutely terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Nope but i caught a mugger :)

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Nope but i caught a mugger :)

Are you sure you don't mean syphillis?

Thats the one!! - i always get those 2 mixed up. Silly me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

You were a fúcking HUGE 13 year old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Held up once with a handgun (that turned out to be a replica) in a place I worked.

Also had my wallet snatched years ago in a shop and actually chased and nearly caught the bloke but he pulled out a syringe so I decided to walk away.

Every time I go out in Dublin, I wake up with an empty wallet. Have never been mugged, but that's the closest I've got to feeling like it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

It was tried but it didn't go well for him.
    Knocked him out and disarmed him. Dragged his sorry ass to the Garda station and threw him in the main doors.
    (14 years of 5 day a week Wado-Ryu training and other styles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Me? Mugged?

lol no..

im getting an erection thinking about some one trying to rob me.. it wouldnt end well

snyper wrote: »
    Me? Mugged?

lol no..

im getting an erection thinking about some one trying to rob me..

Well,whatever turns you on i suppose! :pac:

Me? Mugged?

lol no..

im getting an erection thinking about some one trying to rob me
    .. it wouldnt end well

Holy crap - that is one strange fetish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I was waiting for someone outside Trinity College and a young fella (accompanied by others) pulled my phone out of my hand... then turned on his heel and gave it back to me, noting "It's too sh1te"... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I've never been mugged (thankfully). I've never been in a position where I've been faced with a knife or a gun or even a replica for that matter, again thankfully.

But when faced with a threat I have a fight rather than flight reaction. It's not pretty for a girl to carry on that way, I know, or particularly clever for that matter. But its a survival instinct, and a feeling I cannot explain. Just pure hatrid for the person that thinks they can take advantage of you, and it makes no odds to me if its a woman or a man - they don't have to be a particular gender to be the scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I... sort of have. :/

Was out in the town centre (not Birmingham, before I moved back); a very small, quiet town. Went to the shop with 3 mates, was approached by around 20-25 young lads.

Stopped us dead in our tracks, a few of them started circling us. "HU R U, YE?" (text speak to demonstrate idiocy) a mate of mine calmly told them his name, and asked who they were; which, obviously was ignored.

One came up to another mate, said nothing, just held a bottle to his head.

Then one came up to me, and started going through my pockets. What I don't understand is - I had a wallet there, and he ignored it? :confused:

Not sure if that really counts as a mugging as they didn't actually steal anything, but it was still scary.

I think they thought we might have knifes, they seemed on the lookout - but I mean, for God sake; we were four white middle class kids. We looked more like a boyband than thugs.

Dudess wrote: »
    I was waiting for someone outside Trinity College and a young fella (accompanied by others) pulled my phone out of my hand... then turned on his heel and gave it back to me, noting "It's too sh1te"... :D

I see where that went wrong... the poor bastard :pac:

/ducks out of thread.. sorry... couldnt help it...

/runs away

Not mugged though myself and an ex were walking home one evening when some random guy we'd passed earlier did a uturn and punched him a few times :mad:
    Kept yelling to leave him alone and trying to step between them while ex was being dazed and punched again but got away

still have no idea wtf yer man was at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Me? Mugged?

lol no..

im getting an erection thinking about some one trying to rob me.. it wouldnt end well

Same here.

Don't think i look very muggable. 6ft 2 , 18 stone+.

Then again the scummer in question could have a knife so size or strength would mean nothing. Have the 3 euros in my wallet.

brummytom wrote: »

Was out in the town centre (not Birmingham, before I moved back); a very small, quiet town. Went to the shop with 3 mates, was approached by around 20-25 young lads.

Stopped us dead in our tracks, a few of them started circling us. "HU R U, YE?" (text speak to demonstrate idiocy) a mate of mine calmly told them his name, and asked who they were; which, obviously was ignored.

Then one came up to me, and started going through my pockets. What I don't understand is - I had a wallet there, and he ignored it? :confused:

Not sure if that really counts as a mugging as they didn't actually steal anything, but it was still scary.

I think they thought we might have knifes, they seemed on the lookout - but I mean, for God sake; we were four white middle class kids. We looked more like a boyband than thugs.

I hate to break it to you but you were molested by pocket fetishists.

Abigayle wrote: »
    I've never been mugged (thankfully). I've never been in a position where I've been faced with a knife or a gun or even a replica for that matter, again thankfully.

But when faced with a threat I have a fight rather than flight reaction. It's not pretty for a girl to carry on that way, I know, or particularly clever for that matter. But its a survival instinct, and a feeling I cannot explain. Just pure hatrid for the person that thinks they can take advantage of you, and it makes no odds to me if its a woman or a man - they don't have to be a particular gender to be the scum of the earth.
    Sure we all say that.
    But how do you know what you will do unless you have been mugged.
    By the way it happens so fast you won't probably have time to react.
    I just lay there making some uncomprehensible sound

We looked more like a boyband than thugs.

HAHA - quote of the week :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

SV wrote: »
    You were a fúcking HUGE 13 year old

Your Honour

We looked more like a boyband than thugs.

So, a dude felt you up through your pockets coz you look like a pretty boy & you're wondering what the connection is?

:p

Same here.

Then again the scummer in question could have a knife so size or strength would mean nothing. Have the 3 euros in my wallet.
    Did you mug the op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

First time:
    I was walking home from the train station in Maynooth around 11.30 at night. A little bit tipsy. Some guy ran up behind me, punched me in the back of my head (what a gent), knocking me forward so that my knees completely split open (just in time for my college graduation the following day. Lovely.) He took my bag, nothing valuable in it for him. Still took me a few hundred euro to replace the makeup, contact lenses, car keys, random things like that. It was pretty crap. To say the very least.

Second time, three months later:
    I was walking home in a dodgy area in northside Dublin. A car pulled up beside me on a deserted bridge, and the passenger leaned out the window and grabbed my bag. I held on to it, looked him dead in the eye, and said "Go f*** yourself." We struggled, I didn't let go. They drove on. There were witnesses. We called the guards, they caught the junkies concerned, and I was brought in to identify them. The courtcase is coming up soon. The guys in question were released from jail on "good behaviour" just a couple of days before trying to mug me. The guards reckon they'll go back to jail for a good while once it comes up in court. I don't know how these things work at all. But I hope they're right.

Third time:
    Any b*stard that tries to do anything to me now. I swear to god, I'm not joking. They will come off a million times worse. Simple as that.

Think it's all bravado? Just f*cking try me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I see where that went wrong... the poor bastard :pac:

/ducks out of thread.. sorry... couldnt help it...

/runs away
    Oh I agree - all that effort... to waste. :(

Same here.

You also get turned on by the thoughts of someone robbing you?
    You and snyper should get together and do some role playing. :pac:

alwaysadub wrote: »
    You also get turned on by the thoughts of someone robbing you?
    You and snyper should get together and do some role playing. :pac:

Add a whole new meaning to the word stroking.

Was out in the town centre (not Birmingham, before I moved back); a very small, quiet town. Blue Oyster...

Mad shit altogether.

Are you sure you weren't molested, not mugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

yup,bought a sambo in O'Briens once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Was mugged when i was 14, walked down the wrong street and next thing I knew two druggys had me pinned up against a wall with a knife to my troath. They took my wallet which only had about a tenner in it but I was fairly shaken. Reported it to the gards and they caught the fella that had the knife as he was aparently on a bit of a mugging spree. Its a pritty frightining experience especially when a knife is pulled, I stayed away from town for a while after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

At Sziget this year in Hungary (a major festival) we used to buy food and drinks in a supermarket down the road and drink and eat outside it to avoid festival prices, a hungarian homeless punk robbed my tomatoes from my bag, worth all of about 30 cents, hate to say it but I left him on his ass and got my tomatoes back:D So silly to look back on as they were regularly seen shooting up and had a gang of about 15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Was never mugged but I did drop 20 quid one day and as I went to pick it up it blew away. Woman ran over picked it up and fùcking legged it like the wind.

I followed suit, she ran into the old Dunne Stores in Enniscorthy, anyone from there might remember the steps going down to the back entrance from the car park. I cleared them in 3 jumps while screaming "give me my fùcking money back", caught her at the bottom of the stairs where she just handed it to me.

I must have looked scary as fùck. I was only 17 and penniless.

At Sziget this year in Hungary (a major festival) we used to buy food and drinks in a supermarket down the road and drink and eat outside it to avoid festival prices, a hungarian homeless punk robbed my tomatoes from my bag, worth all of about 30 cents, hate to say it but I left him on his ass and got my tomatoes back:D So silly to look back on as they were regularly seen shooting up and had a gang of about 15

My eyes are still crossed from reading that post.

But I think I want to eat a tomatoe or somethings.. O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Some little scumbag tried to start a fight with me at the Square when I was about 15 - she thought I'd pushed her in the queue at the newsagents. She started shouting at me, then took a swing at me. I blocked it, kicked her in the shin and walked out towards my bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

First time:
    I was walking home from the train station in Maynooth around 11.30 at night. A little bit tipsy. Some guy ran up behind me, punched me in the back of my head (what a gent), knocking me forward so that my knees completely split open (just in time for my college graduation the following day. Lovely.) He took my bag, nothing valuable in it for him. Still took me a few hundred euro to replace the makeup, contact lenses, car keys, random things like that. It was pretty crap. To say the very least.

Maynooth train station can be quite dodge after hours. Even during the day, the amount of broken glass from cars that were broken into was mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Almost. On holidays, in Majorca I think. After walking a lady friend back to her place I was making my way home about 3 or 4 o clock in the morning, my friends having long since deserted me. I was on crutches after breaking my ankle a few weeks before. A guy and girl, in their twenties, and talking in an English accent came out of nowhere. He tried to grab me so I promptly walloped him square on the head with the crutch,which seemed to stun him. She tried stabbing me with her cigarrette, (not the most lethal of weapons but still...) so I swung for her too,didnt get much of a connection on it but enough to scare them off. Not proud of swinging for her, but in situation like that, you cant take any prisoners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Years ago, marching up O'Connell Street in Dublin with my bag o' cans on the way home, a couple of scumbags stopped me and demanded my drink with menaces.
    I looked around. After all, this is one of the most policed streets in Europe, right?
    Not a sign of plod to be seen. So I sighed, and swung the cans at scumbag number one's head. Amazingly, he fell sideways, knocking scumbag number two straight into the path of my cans, and so both of them got a welt of my tinnies in one fell swoop.
    With them both floored, I looked around again for someone to acknowledge my amazingness, but sadly anyone nearby was beetling away at rapid pace.
    The last laugh was on me in the end though, because when I got home and opened up a can to celebrate, it fizzed up and soaked my chest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

have you ever got mugged?

Ha, don't be silly.

:cool:

Ha, don't be silly.

:cool:

Ye startin' :mad:

/runs like fook :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

I find it amazing how many hero stories there are but very few "The Mugger won" stories.

Me; I was 13-14 and got my phone snatched by a person that was suppose to be selling me fireworks. Now, I only buy my fireworks from reputable criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ye startin' :mad:

/runs like fook :pac:

/Unzip's.... "Yeah, why?".