Banking Crisis Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

EVERYBODY, IF THIS HAPPENS THEN ALL THE MONEY YOU HAVE IN THE BANK WILL BE GONE. TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR FAMILY TO GO DOWN TO THE BANK AND TAKE OUT ALL OF THEIR SAVINGS OR THEY'LL BE LOST FOREVER.

/sits back with popcorn and watches to see if I've triggered a run on the banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Also, please stop the with the "stack up on rice, bread" comments etc.

The downright scaremongering by the media and some of the public on certain issues is ridiculous. We had these sort of comments 2 years ago.
    "In 6 months Ireland will have collapsed"
    "Dole will hit 500,000 by the end of 2009"
    etc.
    Never happened. When it does, I'll worry

Best get some worry beads ready, just to be safe.
    The Central Statistics Office said the adjusted Live Register rose to 452,500 last month, with a net figure of about 1,700 more people signing on each week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

30H!3 wrote: »
    Where are you getting all this sh1te from, please provide a link to a reputable newspaper article or at least provide some logic for the basis of your scaremongering.

Edit - The EU has just extended the bank guarantee today which covers business deposits, interbank loans, and other securities.

The €20 billion you are referring to is an annual budget deficit owed to international banks and bondholders. They aren't putting the pressure on us just yet, knowing they will be repaid with huge interest considering Ireland's poor S&P rating.

So yea... what exactly are you talking about?
    The yield on Irish bonds hit a record high this morning, ie bond investors betting on us defaulting & billions € leaving the country.
    The ECB then intervened & started buying bonds to stop the yields sky rocketing. Irish GOV is then forced to extend the bank guarantee to stop a run on the banks.
    This all happened today, the result? Can kicked another 3 months down the road, it's going to be some christmas :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

dvpower wrote: »

Don't forget about the FAS wasters messin' up the statistics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Sea Sharp wrote: »

/sits back with popcorn and watches to see if I've triggered a run on the banks.

You'll have to wait until 10am tomorrow. I hate cold popcorn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Part 2?

I would think we are much farther than part 2 at this stage.

Part 2379 maybe, but not part two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

Mr Cawley wrote: »
    How can I profit from this?
    Short irish bonds & the €

Mr Cawley wrote: »
    and Will it effect 'X factor'?
    Definitely, in the event of a default, the morons who watch X factor will unlikely have the means to pay for electricity to watch this nonsense :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

dvpower wrote: »
    In January the Seasonally Adjusted register was 434,700, so in the 9 months till now there has been an increase of 17,800.
    At that pace it would take 2 years to reach 500,000.
    So I'll keep more worry beads in the drawer for the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

Not if you have a permanent and pensionable job for life!;)

I'm not having a go at the PS, but the ECB/IMF will be most likely be the ones bailing us out next year and they will be the ones deciding where the cuts are made. You can forget all agreements the unions have bargained to-date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Jonjo says the economy's going to fail, therefore the recovery has definitely started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I really have got to stop reading AH and Jonjo's posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

From the Irish Times - linkage

Irish bond spreads widened today and yields inched above 6 per cent, rising above the peaks reached at the height of the sovereign debt crisis in early May.

The spread between the benchmark 10-year bond and the German bund was 372 basis points this afternoon, while the yield earlier rose sharply, by over 30 points, to a new euro lifetime high of 6.011 per cent at one stage, before falling back to 5.98 per cent at 5pm.

This compares with a yield of 5.68 per cent a week ago and is now almost three times higher than equivalent German bonds, the lowest yielding bonds in the euro zone.

Analysts said the jump in Irish bonds appeared to be an over-reaction but such an extreme move puts further pressure on Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan and the European Commission to put a final price on Anglo's bailout and its future.

The increase in Irish borrowing costs will also make it more costly for Irish banks to refinance billions of euros in debt this month.

Although the National Treasury Management Agency is holding an auction for between €400 million and €600 million of Treasury bills on Thursday, the Government’s own funding needs for this year have largely been secured in a series of monthly auctions giving Mr Lenihan at least some breathing space while he negotiates with Brussels.

Taoiseach Brian Cowen insisted today the economic situation was not out of control. "It is clear that we have to deal with the situation, which we believe is manageable," he told reporters in Dublin. "There has been turbulence generally in the international bond markets for some time and you have seen ebbs and flows in terms of sentiment."

Mr Lenihan is currently in Brussels, meeting with his EU counterparts. He met EU competition commissioner Joaquín Almunia yesterday to discuss the future of Anglo Irish Bank.

Bond yields have risen considerably in the past few months, fuelled in part by investor concerns and downgrades by ratings agencies.

This afternoon, the Portuguese-German spread reached 355 basis points, also a record, from 333 basis points. The Greek-German 10-year yield spread reached 947 basis points.

Concern some European nations are struggling to narrow their deficits sent the German bund yield to a record low and widened the spreads for the bonds of the most-indebted nations soaring.

The Greek-German spread reached a record 973 basis points on May 7th, the day before the European Union and International Monetary Fund crafted a region-wide bailout package to ward off investors betting on the break-up of the euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jonjo would make a fucking fortune, if he were to market himself as a cure for constipation.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Comparable? Don't make me laugh. Argentina is a dump. Always was, always has been.

Up until 15 years ago, we would have been considered a complete tip as well run by corrupt Gangsters who feathered their own nests at the taxpayers expense.

Just because we are in Europe, doesn't make us any more sophisticated than the Argies

Thing is even if our country did spiral into economic turmoil, the fact that we're under euro currency bails us out, just like Greece. Right? RIGHT!?

Do the Germans a) have the money and b) the will to bail us out?

One of the PIIGS is going to be allowed fail....there just isn't money enough to bail them all out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

Behind the scenes, Lenihan has given up the country's economic sovereignty.

He's a lacky in a €1,000 suit who's job in life is to deliver spin in front a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

A well I'm sick of it all..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Time for the cyanide pills lads.

You first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

JonJoeDali wrote: »
    Behind the scenes, Lenihan has given up the country's economic sovereignty.

He's a lacky in a €1,000 suit who's job in life is to deliver spin in front a camera.
    Id have to disagree...he seems to be the only politician with the grit and balls to make an effort to get us out of this bloody mess (i.e with the Bank garuntee).

Did anyone watch the RTE doc Freefall last night?

One thing that I do know...and that this economic crisis will go down in history. Economic and banking theory which was developed to an unbelieveable level, was supposed to be insuring and protecting us...but it has failed on a spectacular level.

We will get through this...and a new normality will be accepted, but what we also need is a national effort....maybe even the development of special purpose National Bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

So now it's no longer attractive for foreign investors Irish Banks to buy up Irish Bonds( with tax payers bail out money) to pretend things are improving....................:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Turn on Prime Time now folks, it's spelt out in stark terms what awaits us in weeks/months.

My sister and mother were Just asking me there about the banks while watching Prime Time, now they dont know much about all this but they are thinking of taking there money out of the banks before all this goes bust and i think a lot of other people are thinking the same after hearing the stark commentary on today's events.

Turn on Prime Time now folks, it's spelt out in stark terms what awaits us in weeks/months.

I'm in the UK so can't see this. What's the consensus view?

IMF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

My sister and mother were Just asking me there about the banks while watching Prime Time, now they dont know much about all this but they are thinking of taking there money out of the banks before all this goes bust and i think a lot of other people are thinking the same after hearing the stark commentary on today's events.

Tell em buy tin foil hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

The amount of negativity in this country is shocking. I honestly think if the government came out and said exactly what the situation was, Irish people would pull together and work our way out of it.
    All the playing politics, drip feeding information, softening us up bollocks from biffo and co is making it worse.

The reality is, that the government wont get us out of this, big business & consumers putting their hands in their pockets will. That won't happen with this culture of negativity that has appeared in the last couple of years. All the government can do is move debt around to massage figures, unless they put SSRI's in the water supply, i can't see how else they lift this national depression anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Deadly mortgage free :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

I'm in the UK so can't see this. What's the consensus view?

IMF?

The IMF?? The big bogeyman? The IMF won't be able to do **** about the public finances.
    What will happen is Anglo will wound up as a going concern and BOI and AIB will likely be merged with the smaller banks in the market.

A certain Irish based Politics site has got over 50,0000 views and 736 posts on this subject in the last 8 hours and the owner of said website told his members that the thread is being viewed by and i quote him here " What I will say, is that there are some pretty interesting people watching this thread at the moment, especially in financial agencies and financial institutions here and across the EU (and further afield)"

Tomorrow is going to be very interesting indeed, black wednesday perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I was down the bank today making a withdrawl. Thank god i moved most of my money elsewhere recently. I can tell you right now i was one of many with the same idea. I can see a run on the banks some time within the next few days. There is no way in hell i would want my money in any Irish bank when the **** hits the fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

There is a big thread over on another forum, one poster there has been told that
    BBC & Sky have put crews on standby in Ireland in the event this escalates:eek:

Conspiracy Theories...........>>>>>