The Bear Grylls Appreciation Thread

I mean look at Ray, what's not to like about his cooking?! The man is a proper legend with some of the most useful info!
    Ray = Legend

Bear = Non legend

Bear = ex-SAS
    Ray = a fat boy scout
    Yeah, but if you're in a proper survival situation you probably won't have parachute cord or conveniently placed netting to help you. And attempting to grab sharks by the tail or wrestle wild boars is far from safe.. and neither is chimney climbing steep cliffs

Neither will you have a tarp, a hatchet or a fcuking frying pan with olive oil and pepper with you either, but it doesn't stop Mr. Mears from showing off his "survival" skills either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

well to be fair Ray would survive longer on his fat than Bear + Ray would simply eat Bear to survive

Ray Mears is the chuck Norris of the jungle where as Bear is followed by a buffet

i'd out survive Bear any day of the week in ticknock, just as long as I have me dutch gold.

Personally I'd make a nice tent out of his skin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Let me tell you something. Ray Mears maybe doesn't have the action man looks that women drool over or a phony stage name that kids think is cool but i'd say he knows a hell of a lot more about real-life longterm survival than Bear grills burgers.

I'd say 75% of Gryll's audience are made up of women/teenage girls that think he's 'dreamy' & really have no interest in wilderness survival whatsoever (in the same way as a lot of women watch rugby!) & kids who like i said think he's a modern day action man. Hardly the most hardcore critics of survival programs.:rolleyes:

I have watched a good few of his shows & though mildly entertaining its not far off resembling Mcgyver to be honest.

Mears show is just about facts, no drama, no taking stupid risks for the camera, no leaping from helicopters blindfolded juggling chainsaws or eating of cow sh!t.

Ray Mears: A real wilderness man & i think he would out-last Gridles in any survival situation.

here here Fonecrusher, I concur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

here here Fonecrusher, I concur

Thank you. High five?

virtual High 5

/ slap

//gets coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

You got to love his upbeat and fun attitude, even after getting stung in the face by a bee or drinking his own urine from a dead snake carcass. The man is pure class. I was surprised that he managed to shoot a show in Ireland. Where can you go in Ireland that isn't a couple of miles from a road or a shop?

Les Stroud is a depressing bastard. As far as I can tell his idea of survival is sitting in a tent and moaning. And then checking if some food has washed ashore every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

My favorite episode was when he killed five people and smeared the still warm blood all over his naked body. Anyone else catch that one?

Edit: On second thought that may not have been Bear, please disregard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭bob2oo7

I think the cameraman is much better... does everything this waster does...(except eating) and does it while holding a camera!!

A lot more difficult I'm sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 BrianStorm

Awh he's a grand auld youngfella. I dunno how he eats some the stuff he does, fair play to him though. I think when he's scared i respect him the most because you know he's putting himself at risk to educate people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

bob2oo7 wrote: »
    I think the cameraman is much better... does everything this waster does...(except eating) and does it while holding a camera!!

A lot more difficult I'm sure

the camera crew have wetsuits for when they go near a river. They have their own food. And bear sets up safety lines for them when they've climbing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Myself and the oul fella were watching the sky news reports of the discovery building take over (that asian guy with the gun, remember?)

My dad turns to me and says "sure they'll be grand, Bear Grylls works there"

I thought it was hilarious

Facts: Bear is a 2nd dan in karate, speaks three languages, holds the record for the longest continuous indoor freefall, was among a group of people who were the 1st to cross the North Atlantic unassisted and was also in a team that were the 1st to circumnavigate the UK in a personal watercraft.

One more fact: Mears doesn't "survive".....he goes camping with a 60 year old man with a lisp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Doyler92 wrote: »

Your a bit late with this one, PAGE 1:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Facts: Bear is a 2nd dan in karate, speaks three languages, holds the record for the longest continuous indoor freefall, was among a group of people who were the 1st to cross the North Atlantic unassisted and was also in a team that were the 1st to circumnavigate the UK in a personal watercraft.

One more fact: Mears doesn't "survive".....he goes camping with a 60 year old man with a lisp.

His history is certainly impressive, and I'm sure he's a nice fella.. but I still prefer Mears' shows over Grylls'.. I watch Man vs Wild all the time because I think it's entertaining but that's the height of it for me. Mears submerses himself in the outdoors.. Grylls goes looking for challenges to overcome in order to wow people..

apples and oranges really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Ray Mears is utterly dull in my opinion, I find him utterly lacking in any charisma and I'd rather watch paint dry than listen to him talk for an hour. If you've seen the show "Shooting Survivor" you can see exactly what Bear Grylls puts into shooting it e.g. while the camera crew are all roped up he'll go over a particular section (rapids, waterfall, cliff etc.) with an expert to determine exactly how he should do it and then does it unroped. Which to be fair isn't fake and takes balls.

And Bear Grylls wandering around the wilderness munching on the mankiest shíte he can get his mitts on his pure TV gold.

When Ray Mears does stuff like this maybe I'll watch it, but if the other 99% of it is him sitting on his fat arse in the woods then I doubt I'll ever bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

My cousin was a big fan, he was down in Limerick last year for something and she got to meet him, apparently hes a dickhead, with a really high opinion of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Fact - Bear got chased by a man in a bear suit.........
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-471510/Latest-TV-fake-scenes-Grizzly-attack-survival-man-fancy-dress-bear-costume.html

Fake Bear Fake Bear scandal, Bear can't Bear to be alone in woods, Bear nessecities....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Crap thread, the man's a sham! No offence OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

bear grylls is a poor mans les stroud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Does Bear shit in the woods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Nah, his support crew bring a portaloo with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

yes he does, then he keeps it for later and eats it as it is full of nutrients and will give him the vital vitamins he needs to continue his journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Doyler92 wrote: »

What size/type of grill.
    Are we talking grizzly bear, black bear...
    Does he have to kill them himself.
    Not enough parameters in the question tbh.

I heard that Ray Mears is actually the camera man and gives Bear pointers behind the scenes on how to actually do it.

so there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Ray mears is the love child of Adrian Chiles and Jamie Oliver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

My girlfriend fancies him.

To shut her up I usually make fun of what a date with Bear Grylls would be like. Why buy a bottle of expensive champagne when I saw a huge pile of elephant dung at the bottom of this huge cliff. Wait here for me while I use my pants to fashion a surprisingly effective parachute, in the meantime you can suck termites off this rock. Excellent source of protein, which you'll need for back at the hotel later.

I love the shows though. I secretly wish I was Bear Grylls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Bear Grylls is trained to be a survivor.

Jackass do comparible stunts and they're not trained. Which is more impressive?