Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bear Grylls Appreciation Thread

• 03-09-2010 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭

For all you lovers of the legend that is Bear Grylls. For those of you who dont know him, shame on you, shame on you! Share your favourite Bear Grylls moments with us please. My own personal favourite is when he finds a dead sheep and uses its skin as a sleeping bag. Let the fun begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Well that was a short thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Did you see the one where he is in Ireland? Biggest load of ****e I have ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

I always think about his camera man - the Ginger Rogers to Bear Grylls' Fred Astaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

Only survivalist I know who stays in hotels must be hell for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 heskey

Eating apples out of a bear **** was quiet impressive too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Do you know many survivalists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Did you see the one where he is in Ireland? Biggest load of ****e I have ever seen.

In the wild wastelands of County Clare? He eats a dead sheep, what a numpty, he could've gone down the road and had some chowder and Guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

Is that the guy who squeezed 3 drops of rancid liquid from an elephants dung rather than just ask the camera man for a sip of his bottle of water.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    In the wild wastelands of County Clare? He eats a dead sheep, what a numpty, he could've gone down the road and had some chowder and Guinness

its chowdah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

This is something I've learned in the special forces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

How many bears could a Bear Grylls grill if a Bear Grylls could grill bears?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Fago! wrote: »

none?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

pfft, he's not even a real bear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Devil08 wrote: »
    Share your favourite Bear Grylls moments with us please.

When Discovery Channel was forced to issue the following disclaimer - "Discovery Communications has learned that isolated elements of "Man v Wild" show were not natural to the environment (in order words fake) and that for health and safety concerns the crew and host received some survival assistance while in the field (which included overnight stays in 5 star hotels).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I call shenanigans on Bear Grylls and his survivalist treks, I bet ya he has a buffet table off camera at each location and stays in a hotel every night once the camera is turned off. :pac:

Rubik. wrote: »
    When Discovery Channel was forced to issue the following disclaimer - "Discovery Communications has learned that isolated elements of "Man v Wild" show were not natural to the environment (in order words fake) and that for health and safety concerns the crew and host received some survival assistance while in the field (which included overnight stays in 5 star hotels).

Grylls hunted down and ate the rogue cameraman who betrayed him, declaring him to be "a great source of protein".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rubik. wrote: »

The fake volcano smoke.....I've never been able to watch the program since I read that.

The show is aimed at showing you how to survive in certain situations. Its very rare you would find yourself in these situations though! It doesnt have to be 100% real to get its point across or for Bear to demonstrate his survival techniques.

For all you lovers of the legend that is Bear Grylls. For those of you who dont know him, shame on you, shame on you! Share your favourite Bear Grylls moments with us please. My own personal favourite is when he finds a dead sheep and uses its skin as a sleeping bag. Let the fun begin.

Some his greatest contributions can be found here, albeit anonymously....
    http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels

The show is aimed at showing you how to survive in certain situations. Its very rare you would find yourself in these situations though!

Fucken right. No way could I afford a five star...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

I always wondered about the cameramen in Bear Grylls (no pun intended), I mean how do they do all that he does and film it at the same time. That always seemed more intriguing to me than what he was actually doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Adriatic wrote: »
    I always wondered about the cameramen in Bear Grylls (no pun intended), I mean how do they do all that he does and film it at the same time. That always seemed more intriguing to me than what he was actually doing.

Now these rumours may be wrong but i've heard the camera man is actually Chuck Norris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Bear Grylls? pfft. Tom Hanks is a better survivalist then him. Didn't he manage to spend a couple of years on an Island, lost from all signs of life whatsoever. Having to adapt by teaching himself how to catch fish and other such things.

yea but he had wilson with him helping him along the way, come on now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Bear Grylls? pfft. Tom Hanks is a better survivalist then him. Didn't he manage to spend a couple of years on an Island, lost from all signs of life whatsoever. Having to adapt by teaching himself how to catch fish and other such things.
    Willssooonnn!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

For all you lovers of the legend that is Bear Grylls.
    - Bear Grylls is a joke!
    FYP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I like when he takes off his clothes.

- Bear Grylls is a joke!

FYP!

Set up your own Ray Mears thread! Bear Grylls would eat him for breakfast!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well you could follow Bears hard edged biting the heads of snakes and scorpions or hang out with this lad and end up happily bloated with lovely grub.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF-G_1FsxuA&feature=related as an aside WTF can't I embed youtube vids these days? all I get is a white box.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Fago! wrote: »

Copy my post from another thread will you?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well you could follow Bears hard edged biting the heads of snakes and scorpions or hang out with this lad and end up happily bloated with lovely grub.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF-G_1FsxuA&feature=related as an aside WTF can't I embed youtube vids these days? all I get is a white box.
    fixed that for you:)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I mean look at Ray, what's not to like about his cooking?! The man is a proper legend with some of the most useful info!

Bear Grylls gives ridiculous situations.

"Okay, so you're F22 has just been shot down behind enemy lines, you've lost all clothing. Let's skin a goat to make some pants and pick up this elephant **** and drain the juice to make some water."

Ray would stick his knife in the tree and let the natural run off fill the cup he has just made from the bark of the same tree.

Ray = Legend

Bear = Non legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭phishcakes

anyone seen the bear grylls episode with will ferrel??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGVjDIA4Aao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I like the bit where he pretends to do the stuff he says he does and people buy into it.

Ledgebag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Bear Grylls is a legend. All he is doing is teaching you what to do if you get stuck in a certain situation. It doesnt matter if there is a pub or a hotel down the road, he still shows how to build shelter, how to get food and water and to stay safe.

Pauleta wrote: »
    Bear Grylls is a legend. All he is doing is teaching you what to do if you get stuck in a certain situation. It doesnt matter if there is a pub or a hotel down the road, he still shows how to build shelter, how to get food and water and to stay safe.

Yeah, but if you're in a proper survival situation you probably won't have parachute cord or conveniently placed netting to help you. And attempting to grab sharks by the tail or wrestle wild boars is far from safe.. and neither is chimney climbing steep cliffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Share your favourite Bear Grylls moments with us please.

The episode where he phoned up room service in that 5 star hotel (the crew where put up in the local hostel) & asked for fillet steak & baby potatoes after he had an his usual hour long massage session.
    But get this....the kitchen ran out of potatoes that night! Apparently he had an elton john style tantrum so they had a kitchen worker go out & buy some potatoes just for his order so he got them eventually. Phew.

It was a close call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Really enjoy Bear's show. Myself and my daughter love to sit down and watch it together. She finds it fascinating. Two episodes that stand out for me are when he was in Russia and Siberia.

So what if its a little bit fake, he really can do these things. The guy is an expert skydiver, recovered from a near fatal accident to climb Everest, what a legend. He's earned his right to stay in fancy hotels. He's done his time staying out all night in handmade shacks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

bear grylls is a bit crap really rather watch ray mears...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I like the episode where he jumped from a helicopter onto a beach in the Bahamas.

He lived like a vegan, lucked fruit from the trees and eat lots of leafy greens and avocados.

There was this really crazy part where a coconut fell from a tree and almost hit him.

He cracked this open anyway and drank the fresh coconut water.

He then made a salad from walnuts, grapes, olives, some local sea vegetables and crisp salad leaves.

Then he made a salad dressing from cream he squeezed from the coconut mixed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The scariest part was, he sliced an apple up and just before he added it to the salad, he noticed a worm in it - so he flicked it up and booted it into the sea.

Amazing guy and just goes to show that if ever you are stranded in Hawaii, you CAN survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

You people do realise he has a stunt double for the really dangerous stuff right?

Set up your own Ray Mears thread! Bear Grylls would eat him for breakfast!

..only if he had somebody prepare Ray for him first....

Bear Grylls is a legend. All he is doing is teaching you what to do if you get stuck in a certain situation.

Then why in one episode does he advise going through an old mine as a shortcut down a mountain....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

All of that is also covered by the Boy Scouts, they don't dress it up as something it's not though.

I did enjoy the stint he did in the Foreign Legion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

And why would you try and climb up a waterfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I like the episode where he jumped from a helicopter onto a beach in the Bahamas.

He lived like a vegan, lucked fruit from the trees and eat lots of leafy greens and avocados.

There was this really crazy part where a coconut fell from a tree and almost hit him.

He cracked this open anyway and drank the fresh coconut water.

He then made a salad from walnuts, grapes, olives, some local sea vegetables and crisp salad leaves.

Then he made a salad dressing from cream he squeezed from the coconut mixed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The scariest part was, he sliced an apple up and just before he added it to the salad, he noticed a worm in it - so he flicked it up and booted it into the sea.

Amazing guy and just goes to show that if ever you are stranded in Hawaii, you CAN survive.

Sure hawaii is littered in Darma food drops . But is he a match for the black smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Dont give a rats ass what stuff is fake.

Yer man Bear Grylls is so hot.

Yum yumyumyum:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

the lads who did the waterford one were pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I'd watch Bear Grylls with the same mindset that I'd have watching a Rambo movie. I know it's all bollocks but it's entertaining none the less. Ray Mears knows his stuff but his shows dont exactly catch the imagination.