My 'Hero' Moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

None of this relates to the OP though. He can still get done for assault.

(d) to protect property belonging to another from appropriation, destruction or damage caused by a criminal act or (with the authority of that other) from trespass or infringement; or
    (e) to prevent crime or a breach of the peace.

These sections seem very relative...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

conno3001 wrote: »
    (d) to protect property belonging to another from appropriation, destruction or damage caused by a criminal act or (with the authority of that other) from trespass or infringement; or
    (e) to prevent crime or a breach of the peace.

These sections seem very relative...

You could argue the first one I suppose but the crime had already happened and since he was fleeing you'll be hard pushed you were protect someone's property. He wasn't preventing any crime. The crime had already happened and the scummer was running away. Chances are you'll be grand OP but if you haven't given a statement you'd want to alter it from the one in your OP. Also the first part is important, what's deemed reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

KeithM89 wrote: »
    I chased the cnut down a path and into a field - i even did a cool one-handed jump over a barrier :cool:
    I'm just trying to place this, did you run into Oriel Park and then into the Grammar Field and what barrier did you jump over because I think of any other then the wire fence around the Grammar Field?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

You could argue the first one I suppose but the crime had already happened and since he was fleeing you'll be hard pushed you were protect someone's property. He wasn't preventing any crime. The crime had already happened and the scummer was running away. Chances are you'll be grand OP but if you haven't given a statement you'd want to alter it from the one in your OP. Also the first part is important, what's deemed reasonable.

"if only such as is reasonable in the circumstances as he or she believes them to be"

In fairness I'm certain the op believes the amount of force he used to be reasonable.

As far as the protecting property is concerned, whether he is fleeing or not, the thief in still in the act of attempting to steal property as he has not gotten into the clear yet. If a person walks into a bank and has an amount of money in his hands, he is still attempting to steal it as he has not gotten away yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

not1but4 wrote: »
    I'm just trying to place this, did you run into Oriel Park and then into the Grammar Field and what barrier did you jump over because I think of any other then the wire fence around the Grammar Field?
    He ran towards the entrance of Oriel park - but ran right, down a path which comes out across from the Centra shop theres a barrier there then left into the field - caught him there

I think a pic would explain it btr :):
    path.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Well OP, prepare to have your car burned out or your house broken into once this scummer finds out where you live :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

i caught a pervert using his phone to take a picture up a girls skirt that was standing on the drogheda train. i gave him a back hander and a stiff jab in the nose(busted nicely:D) and threw him off the train. he got the fright of his life,dirty animal. poor girl just ran off up the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Anyone remember the RTE program "How low can you go"? About 3 lads travelling to places around Europe on as little money as they can.

Anyway I was on my way home in town one night with an ex around 3 years ago and walking up Harcourt St we came across a fight where this lad was on the ground getting the absolute face kicked off him (literally).....To me it looked too bad to just walk on, They both looked hammered but there was no sign of the lad on top stopping as he continued to smash this other fella's face in........I stepped in, Restrained the lad that was on top and tried to reason with him telling him the Gaurds were coming down the street.

While I was doing this, The other lad gets up blood streaming down his face. It was yer man Michael from the show I mentioned above "how low can you go"........The lad i was still holding back was going absolutely nuts, roaring at this Michael lad and tryna get passed but luckily did'nt go for me for doing so.

I believe I was a bit of a hero for stopping this savage beating...Do you think this fella Michael said thanks? or even acknowledged me for the help? He just shouted fcuk you and walked off down the street.

I took a shiit load of abuse from the ex for stepping in that night to save a fellow man-Ungrateful Wnker:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Well OP, prepare to have your car burned out or your house broken into once this scummer finds out where you live :(

So long as you don't boast about the event on the internet using a profile that gives away your name, age and location you should be pretty safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Lawsuit is a coming

'Tis the season
    Watch out, look around
    Lawsuit's coming, coming to town (coming to your town)
    Do do do do do, do do do do
    Do do do do do, always Coca-Cola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Adam wrote: »
    has someone been watching Hot Fuzz?

Less Hot Fuzz, more Hot Fizz, in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Fair play OP and feck the bregrudgers! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Overheal wrote: »
    Do you feel proud then, beating on a minor :mad: :pac:

If he's old enough to rob a purse he's old enough to get his head kicked in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Everyone concentrating on the trivia, yet no-one's asked the important question - Diet Coke or Coke?
    I'll decide whether you're a hero or not depending on the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Thoie wrote: »
    Everyone concentrating on the trivia, yet no-one's asked the important question - Diet Coke or Coke?

Still & Sparkling Water - Ballygowan or Riverrock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I punched a bird in the arse while watching a porn movie once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Not much but I acted:
    Once on the Dublin bus an old man somehow managed to fall down the stairs backwards and landed badly kinda on his head and was a bit out of it, I was sitting downstairs in the back seat.
    Someone told the bus driver to stop and someone called the ambulance.
    I'd done a bit of first aid training and after no one immediately hopped up to help him I went to see if he was ok and talk to him until the ambulance arrived.
    He had a a small bleeding wound on the back of his head so I was kind of panicking a bit, luckily a friend who also did the first aid with me was waiting at the bus stop so I asked him to come in and help me out (dunno if he payed on either, mwahaha).

Later on his wife called my friend and told us he was in the hospital and ok etc.

Now if you'll excuse me I think I hear a cat stuck up a tree *flies away* :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Well done OP, nice cowardly attitude from some members here, like the littering thread (even if it's an ad for DCC), if more people did the right thing, that sort of scumbag would think twice before trying a stunt like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

Well done OP. Its nice to hear Johnny scumbag getting he's come upon's
    (if thats a word :pac:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Victor_M wrote: »
    Well done OP, nice cowardly attitude from some members here,

Yep.... because everything posted by users in After hours is 100% straight up, no jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

Where you dressed in your Batman suit?

at the shop... he told you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

Its ironic that this thread is about "Heroes" but its full of Grammer Nazis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

stbrennan wrote: »
    Its ironic that this thread is about "Heroes" but its full of Grammer Nazis

Grammar Heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Regular Coke of course...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Regular Coke of course...:)

Of course, I accidentally listened to some of that while looking for it, so now I have to go scrub my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I was driving one evening through a village and spotted a hysterical woman standing beside a body lying on the ground. I pulled up straight away and went over. The man on the ground an elderly gent was choking after getting hit by the wing mirror on her van and was bleeding profusely from the fore head. I released the tongue and unblocked his airway. In the meantime I talked to the woman calming her down and gave her my phone to ring for assistance, but she was a trembling mess and couldn’t. I asked her to go to my car and get a sleeping bag out of the back and a bag of clothes. I got her to put sleeping bag over the man and tucked it under him and rang for assistance, talking to the man and put my tee shirt into the hole in his head to try and stem the bleeding, keeping his head between my knees. He regained consciencness and I didn’t want him to move, as his neck could be damaged. At this time other people had gathered and were able to assist me. I got his name and kept talking to him as he drifted in and out of conscienceness. At this stage a doctor had come and later an ambulance. They thanked me for all I had done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I was driving one evening through a village and spotted a hysterical woman standing beside a body lying on the ground. I pulled up straight away and went over. The man on the ground an elderly gent was choking after getting hit by the wing mirror on her van and was bleeding profusely from the fore head. I released the tongue and unblocked his airway. In the meantime I talked to the woman calming her down and gave her my phone to ring for assistance, but she was a trembling mess and couldn’t. I asked her to go to my car and get a sleeping bag out of the back and a bag of clothes. I got her to put sleeping bag over the man and tucked it under him and rang for assistance, talking to the man and put my tee shirt into the hole in his head to try and stem the bleeding, keeping his head between my knees. He regained consciencness and I didn’t want him to move, as his neck could be damaged. At this time other people had gathered and were able to assist me. I got his name and kept talking to him as he drifted in and out of conscienceness. At this stage a doctor had come and later an ambulance. They thanked me for all I had done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MrSir

Superbus wrote: »
    Grammar Heroes.
    Heroes perhaps in the third reich....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Ok so this morning i was at the shop, bought some Coke and some credit, on the way out, some wee scumbag grabbed some young girls purse. Not thinkin, i gave chase (so did some old guy but he wasnt in the best shape).

I chased the cnut down a path and into a field - i even did a cool one-handed jump over a barrier :cool: Bottle of Coke still in hand, i flung it at him, hit him in the head and knocked him off momentum. I tackled him to the ground and got 2 solid punches to his face (there was even a little bit of blood :) )

The old guy caught up and we dragged the twat back to the shop, gave the woman her purse, called guards... etc. I felt so good after catching that little sh!t

Anyone else have similar stories??

Where abouts in town was that ..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,080 ✭✭✭✭titan18

The important question was the girl hot tbh.

So OP, was the girl hot?