Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns N' Roses - Irish Date Announced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Ste7en wrote: »
    If what flies? What had MCD to do with people throwing stuff at the performers?

MCD sold tickets on the premise that people would get to see a gig at a certain time. This didn't happen. People deserve their (ridiculous sums of) money back.

Personally I wouldn't go see G'n'R for free but 70e is no mean sum of money that MCD are simply keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

NickDrake wrote: »
    Agree re point 1

The thing is Irish people are pretty stupid when it come to music. Look, the Coronas and massive here and the likes of Rhianna etc storm the charts.

I bet the majority of the women in the crowd expected to see Slash up there. Seeing as the majority of Irish women have a terrible taste in music and just to what is fashionable (ie ****e)

Also a lot of people going to the 02 havent a clue about music and just tag along. So I'd say a lot of them expected to see Slash up there and even 'buckethead'.

Nobody I met or talked to there expected Slash. In fact any GnR fan who didn't go was because they knew Slash wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

lordgoat wrote: »
    Rich who were the last act in the o2 or point that started their set at 21:45? And when do nobody support acts get 80min sets?

Don't be fooled by that.

I do agree though he looks like a fatter version of Petty.

Also MCD if you're reading this, when did you start using primary school children to write your press reports? Although the amateur aspect of it does klind of suit the gig it's referring to.

anyway's you have a point...and so do a million other people on this thread. This calamity is just a massive fiasco.

- Axl etc should show more respect by turning up earlier
    - people should not be surprised by the fact he did. They should also know he's notoriously irrtiable onstage
    - if a Prima Donna rockstar says he's gonna walk off stage if any more sh*t is thrown at him, and then some idiot (who's probably just some pissed dude rather than a real fan) throws something at him...what do they expect? A lot of anger should be directed towards whoever this was. Idiot.
    - MCD...or anyone else, will find it very difficult to counteract this
    - who knows what happened when he walked off stage. Quite likely Axl was reminded of his contractual obligations. Are people going to act surprised that MCD would cover their asses with this and then the post event PR? FFS...
    - no one should have been told the show was over if that hadn't been confirmed
    - Axl should have got on with the show and rocked his balls off...but in fairness the guy is so up his own arse at this stage he may as well have had a lobotomy. His sense of entitlement is unbelievable and the disregard he has for fans is nauseating. That's the man though...

an absolute comedy of errors

it seems like refunds may be difficult to get...I'd imagine they've fulfilled their contract by playing a whole setlist. Its kinda like going to a boxing match and seeing one of the eejits getting knocked out in the first round.

My own feeling would be that it must have been a right kick in the teeth to whoever went, but that they might just have to put it down to experience...

Its a good one to say you were at though...G N Rs last Irish appearance :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Kold wrote: »
    MCD sold tickets on the premise that people would get to see a gig at a certain time. This didn't happen. People deserve their (ridiculous sums of) money back.

Personally I wouldn't go see G'n'R for free but 70e is no mean sum of money that MCD are simply keeping.

There was no time set; no premise that there was a time either. GnR played for two hours; therefore they can't sue the band and get their own money back.

I have sympathy for the people who left, but if you stayed the full two and half hours then you got what you paid for. Wasn't the best I admit, with Axl just standing there uninterested, but he's not contractually obliged to look interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

There was no time set; no premise that there was a time either. GnR played for two hours; therefore they can't sue the band and get their own money back.

I have sympathy for the people who left, but if you stayed the full two and half hours then you got what you paid for. Wasn't the best I admit, with Axl just standing there uninterested, but he's not contractually obliged to look interested.

o2 employees were saying that the concert was over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Yeah, I think the most you can expect to get out of this are tickets to a selection of upcoming MCD gigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Jaysus, I know everyone critiseses the Joe Duffy Show, but ffs - it would be still nice to hear it discussed somewhere that a spokesperson for MCD might phone in to.

They are on talking about some risqué advert :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

o2 employees were saying that the concert was over

That is one argument that could well hold up, though MCD could say that that was The O2's fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

The saddest thing about gigs is that there are always a few twats ready to ruin the night for everyone else, we had them at Blink (the guys starting fights left right and centre and the drunken twats) we had them at AC/DC at Punchertstown (those drunken idiots falling over themselves and causing trouble, incidentally enough the O2 gig seemed to have no trouble whatsoever). It's not the fans who cause the trouble but rather those people who see these gigs as an excuse to get pissed in public and act the prick.

Exactly

Every Gig I've been to has had these arsewipes near me spilling their piss of lager on me and bashing into me.
    Guess its the problem with Irish crowds....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,261 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ah no Tommy wasnt condoning it, I went down early for Danko, thought they were great in TBMC a few years back.
    From what someone else just said I do think they got extra time, i saw them being gestured at about 8:40 and they seemed to be playing random songs to fill. I honestly cuoldnt believe they'd do 80 mins.

Back to my other point really, if they'd released set times at least a lot more people could anticipate a late show, the delay of 45 mins wouldve been more tolerable.

im disappointed. went to see Axl Rose doing his classics in an arena and ended up watching a band of hired musicians playing classic songs with a mannequin doing the vocals..
    What type of musicians would you prefer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Would be interesting to see what MCD are saying to GnR's management. Surely words will be exchanged at some point. Axl and co. would've had a rider (a few pages long I'd imagine) and in return they would have contractually promised to appear for a set period of time from a set time. If that contract was broken, if a contract was broken, then MCD would be entitled to a refund and then they could have set about doing something similar. The fact that they came back on stage indicates to me that MCD talked to GnR's guys who then talked to axl and probably threatened to pull the whole tour unless they honoured their commitments.

O2 and MCD are culprits of bad communication and are liable for an apology. The fact that the house lights went up and some stewards told people to go home is shambolic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭weareallmarks

wow i am thanking all the gods i didnt get a ticket for this...

the band made an agreement to do a show at a certain time and they didnt honor that agreement which led to an angry crowd...saying 'sorry we're late get ready to get sweaty' .....or soemthing would have stopped the whole thing...

i would have stormed outta there when the lights came on as most normal people did. lights go up = i go home....he had to be told he could be sued before getting back onstage...

anyone who was expecting gnr crica 1989 needs a full labotomy....thats just stupid and anyone who didnt know that axl has turned into mariah carey they shoudl have heard the news from reading last weekend.....

i hope the people who stuck it out enjoyed the show

Lets get one thing straight.

This is NOT Guns n Roses. Its just basically Axel Rose and friends. He shouldnt be allowed call himself guns n roses.

Why were the people throwing stuff. Because he was terrible?

If he was terrible he deserved it. Heard he was lip syncing too

If you condone throwing **** at bands then you, according to the majority of threads here, are a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Oh hang on, Liveline now talking about the critical issue of ministers cycling without helmets...ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

wow i am thanking all the gods i didnt get a ticket for this...

the band made an agreement to do a show at a certain time and they didnt honor that agreement which led to an angry crowd...saying 'sorry we're late get ready to get sweaty' .....or soemthing would have stopped the whole thing...

i would have stormed outta there when the lights came on as most normal people did. lights go up = i go home....he had to be told he could be sued before getting back onstage...

anyone who was expecting gnr crica 1989 needs a full labotomy....thats just stupid and anyone who didnt know that axl has turned into mariah carey they shoudl have heard the news from reading last weekend.....

i hope the people who stuck it out enjoyed the show

Absolute rubbish.

Mariah Carey would never do that :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Well an actual band rather than a mercenary and some hired chimps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,697 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Axl Rose turning into Mariah Carey!!! PMSL:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

They certainly aren't chimps, they were amazing last night.

PCros wrote: »
    Nothing will be changed.

Smashing Pumpkins in 95 had alot more trouble than this!

after the pumpkins that second barrier was installed in the point.....that was a major pain in the hole and ruined the point..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

If you condone throwing **** at bands then you, according to the majority of threads here, are a knacker.

I am expecting you to get a ban for calling me that.

I would easily throw stuff at the Coronas, Rhianna, XFactor or other rubbish like that. I wouldnt throw stuff at their person but on stage and at the equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 axl6666

Axl showed up pretty late- very late really. A lot of people were getting angry at that as they had children with them and/or
    they had their cars in car parks where they would have to spend a lot of money if their car was still their after 12.

Security at the 02 said that Axl was scheduled to come on at 9 and to finish at 11.15.

Crowd was getting pretty fidgety and angry around ten (though started doing mexican waves which were fun). However
    when guns came on they pretty much won most people over.

Axl was very angry from the start and threw something at one of his roadies. He stormed off during chinese democracy.

The bottles that were thrown at Axl were actually plastic. I have to at least blame the late start for the bottle throwing.
    People were getting drunker the longer they were waiting.

People were very confused about the walkoff, and whether or not he was gong to come back. Security did not
    know what was happening and were telling people whatever they needed to here to keep them calm. So if someone
    said should we leave, security would say yes just to keep things under control. At one point we were told by security to leave the place,
    but security were very confused themselves.

When Axl came back on he was needlessly angry. A lot of people had left by this time but the ones that remained I think wanted
    him to put on a good show, and were willing him to do well. However he ignored any goodwill from audience and
    just stood there throughout all the songs. The rest of the band were trying to encourage him by touching him etc.
    but he just ignored everything.

The band was VERY good. They put lots of energy into the show (they’re all very charismatic) to compensate for the negative energy and apathy
    coming from Axl. In fact from what we could see people actually seemed to be happiest when Axl was off stage and the rest of the
    band were playing without him. The solos got very good responses and people seemed to like the musicianship. It was difficult
    to get into things when Axl was on stage since he obviously did not want to be there.

From what I could see Axl is the weak link in Guns. The rest of the band would be able to start a great band without him. And that’ speaking
    as a big Axl fan.

None of this would have happened if he had not made an ultimatum to an increasingly angry and drunk audience. Someone was bound to
    break it. He should have just said can you please stop throwing things, thanks, or tried to pick out the person who was throwing things.
    It was not good to punish whole crowd for one drunken guy’s mistake. He squandered all the good will that he had even up to half ten,
    when he came on late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

...rumour has it Axl pulled this stunt to get onto the Joe Duffy show as he's a big fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

That is one argument that could well hold up, though MCD could say that that was The O2's fault.

let 02 refund then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

NickDrake wrote:
    I would easily throw stuff at the Coronas, Rhianna, XFactor or other rubbish like that. I wouldnt throw stuff at their person but on stage and at the equipment.

Seriously? Cause throwing liquids at electronics isn't dangerous at all :rolleyes:

I am expecting you to get a ban for calling me that.

exactly ....

Bumblefoot is no chimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

guns n roses musicians. ones that created Appetite for Destruction

anything other than that is AN Other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

beans wrote: »
    What's the story with YouTube copyright? does the poster of the video have a genuine grievance under copyright infringement?

So if a band uploads a music video, Youtube own it? That doesn't sound right.
    Het-Field wrote: »
    There was no claim that the band would "return shortly". When the houselights went down for the second time it was as much as asuprise to me as it was to any other person in the arena.

Did yer man Desmond not come out and say they were trying to get him back out?
    Garseys wrote: »
    Every Gig I've been to has had these arsewipes near me spilling their piss of lager on me and bashing into me.
    Guess its the problem with Irish crowds....

That happens in other countries too. I've met drunken assholes doing the same at gigs in the UK and the US.
    after the pumpkins that second barrier was installed in the point.....that was a major pain in the hole and ruined the point..

Yeah, it'd have been so much better if they'd left things as they were. Another few deaths woul d be a small price to pay. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,697 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

If, as someone said earlier in this thread, Axl looked like he didn't want to be there, then I reckon GnR will be wound up after this tour - if it gets completed??

Sounds like he's just going through the motions tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,725 ✭✭✭✭Basq

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So if a band uploads a music video, Youtube own it? That doesn't sound right.
    I presume the poster means that does the owner of the video have a grievance against a station airing his / her video without credit.