Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest chancer customers you have dealt with?

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

well this summer during a festival the telephone line went down for the whole weekend so no laser, no atm etc. Now most people seemed fine about annoyed at the fact but ok about, nothing we could have done to help them.
    the next morning when all the festival goers were trying to get food and one fella had no money due to the fact that the atm was down. He wanted cash from the post and was told that he couldn't get it due to no telephone line, siad he would give him his bank card for cash instead and got told no coz you can call in monday saying it was stolen. tried it then on the shop assiants and siad you tried once over there and it wont work here either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

I was the customer in this scenario... the salesman was the chancer, he tried to sell us a house that had been camoflaged as a decent house. The house was 60 years old and needed a new roof, and when I looked in the attic, I noticed there was no insulation and some of the rafetrs needed replacing.
    I drove past it one rainey day and noticed the back yard was flooded as the drainiage system was obviously screwed up... he was looking for €220,000... I think he must have been the biggest chancer I have ever dealt with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

not really a customer thing, but I was heading home from college in the pissing rain when a car pulled up on the street and the driver signaled me to come round to his window. I thought he was looking for directions or something but he began to recite the sob story about how he was heading up to a wedding in Donegall and didn't bring his wallet. to add to this, he didn't have enough petrol to get there.
    This man assured me that if I spotted him some money for petrol, he would give it back at the same time/place on his way home the next day!

I proceeded to walk off laughing.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Oh god, that happened to me except I was the Customer... I wasn't chancing my arm though, I genuinely thought I'd given €50... felt like a plonker and haven't gone in that pub since... :o
    Happened me too, only I did give a 50 and got change for 5. The barman after swearing blind for two minutes that I only gave him a fiver finally opened the till to find my 50 euro note sitting on top of the fivers.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Had a bizarre one when I worked in a pharmacy. I hadn’t been working there long when a middle-aged woman comes in and asks to have a look at a couple of painkillers, she was looking at the back of the packs and I just thought she was deciding which one to get. She was very vague, didn’t buy them but asked me for a sheet of paper, I thought ok well seems harmless and I gave her one. She goes off and sits in one of the chairs for customers waiting for prescriptions and starts writing stuff on the sheet, I’m thinking a bit odd but meh carry on with whatever I’m doing, I notice her going around the store, looking at things and writing on the sheet. I assume maybe she’s writing a list of stuff she wants to get another time. I’m not at the counter thank god when she comes back. I notice her starting to get very angry with the pharmacist dealing with her at the counter. She starts to shout her head off at him:eek:
    It turns out she went around writing a list of meds and the instructions from the packs of them on the sheet of paper I’d given her. She had written a prescription for herself and was convinced she was allowed to because she was a medical student.
    It was the most ridiculous thing, the meds she’d written on it were both available on prescription and over the counter so she could have just bought them as anyone else would. But she was utterly convinced she had the right to write a prescription, being a medical student she seemed to think made her a doctor, doctors aren’t even allowed to write their own prescriptions. I have never seen someone lose it so much, I pretty much hid in the dispensary during the whole thing, being so inexperienced I was terrified:o She was shouting like hell at the pharmacist, he was explaining to her as politely as possible that she couldn’t write her own prescription. But she wasn’t having it and the guards had to be called, nearly arrested her but she eventually left. Later turned out the guards had dealt with her before and also that she was a doctors wife!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Happened me too, only I did give a 50 and got change for 5. The barman after swearing blind for two minutes that I only gave him a fiver finally opened the till to find my 50 euro note sitting on top of the fivers.

i always throw whatever note a customer gives me on the buttons while im giving change, saves them accusing you of short changing.

if it ever happens where they query the change i just point to the note on the buttons and say thats what u gave me i havent put it into the til yet. works every time

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

Cake Man wrote: »
    Work in a supermarket. Few weeks ago, an old woman was at the salad bar putting in just a tiny bit of coleslaw into the plastic container. Proceeds to weigh it and print out the sticker and then goes back over and stuffs as much more coleslaw into the container as possible! Fcuking chancer, the old aren't immune to it either! :rolleyes::pac:

Used to work in a shop and a guy used to do this all the time, but with the fruit. Ya wouldnt mind if it was a couple of extra grapes or somethin, but he load up, and only pay around 20c.
    One day I said "oh its not scanning hold on and ill go and get another sticker for ya" Tried to say hed get it himself, but I was like "Oh its no problem, Ill sort it for ya"

Another woman used to come in and take all da magazines out of the papers.

Also at the end of the day, the pastry and cakes that had been sitttin out all day would get bagged, and youd get around 6 pieces for 70c and theyd sit in the bargain basket thing.

This woman used to fill them with all the expensive pastries that werent on offer, and swap the stickers. Shed have about 5 or 6 euros worth and try and get it for bout 70c.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

When I used to work in Xtra-vision, We used to get our deliveries every Thursday. We used to send things back to head office too. For a few weeks a couple of lads would come in about half an hour before the courier. They'd be wearing courier's uniforms and asked if there was anything to be sent back to head office. They managed to get massive tvs and everything off some of the other shops

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

A story from the other side.
    My old friends got a great idea to make a dud €50 note and go to the chinese to buy chips with it, thus getting free chips and €48 in change back. In theory it was swell but when he made the note it was the size of a €5 note and pretty crap looking. After telling them countless times it wont work, they still went ahead with it.
    So off to the chinese they went (I waited in the car to see them fail). About 5 minutes later the 2 guys come sprinting out only to be followed by 4 chinese men running after them and shouting some chinese abuse. Was so funny I regret not recording any of it.

tl;dr - They didnt fall for the dud note.

I also used to rape the sweets counter in my local supermarket. You had to put the sweets in a bag and weigh it yourself. So I would fill it up to the top each time and when weighing it I would lift it off the scales a tiny bit thus reducing it weight and price. Worked for atleast a year untill thy got rid of them. Ah the good times..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Worked in the cinema years ago and had this chancer come in with his son. I went to take the tickets and noticed that the movie they were going to was rated 18s. All the staff had just gotten a long lecture about not letting underage people into movies, threats of massive fines, loss of job, death* etc.

I looked at his son, all of 10 years of age and politely explained that he wouldn't be able to go in and I could offer a refund or get him tickets to see another show. Instead of doing the usual and trying to persuade me to let it go, the man insisted his son was 18. At this point it was hard to keep a straight face, but I stood my ground and asked for ID to prove this. He went on a rant, insisting his word was good enough and why would he need ID to see some stupid film.

The very best part of this was the boy was standing there wearing his school uniform from one of the local primary schools! When I pointed this out he tore up the tickets, threw them at me and stormed off - only to turn around and collect the ticket bits and storm off again. :D

*this bit may not be true

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Back in the dark ages my first job was in a book shop where we had to convert the UK price into Punts (the old money). Now this was before the like of barcodes and scanning products into the till and was all worked out via a trusty calculator and this ment that the price of a book could vary from one shipment to the next depending on the currency rate of the day/week.

One regular customer used to always peel the price sticker (remember them) off the book and expect to get it for the much cheaper Sterling price. So every time she came up to the counter with a book we would charge the max amount the currency rate could of been to make sure the shop never got ripped off.

She never wised up and paid over the odds for every purchase she made :)

Thankfully working in an Occult bookshop ment the owners always had my back and being able to tell pain in the arse customers to GTFO was never a problem :D

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

Whilst I was a student I worked in NEXT in the UK. There annual sales used to start at 5am and would be manic. So people would panic buy. A few days after the sale a woman returned a bikini that had been purchased in a another branch to where I was working. She was complaining that the bikini bottoms had been soiled and she didn't realise until she got home. To our surprise they have been soiled big time with blood...yuk!!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

chirogirl wrote: »
    Whilst I was a student I worked in NEXT in the UK. There annual sales used to start at 5am and would be manic. So people would panic buy. A few days after the sale a woman returned a bikini that had been purchased in a another branch to where I was working. She was complaining that the bikini bottoms had been soiled and she didn't realise until she got home. To our surprise they have been soiled big time with blood...yuk!!

That's what happens when you buy a bikini during a busy period:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

zerks wrote: »
    That's what happens when you buy a bikini during a busy period:D:D
    WINRAR

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭CluelessGirl

I know a lady who is a multi millionaire but to look at her you would give her charity.

Everywhere she goes she is doing the whole poor mouth scheme.....

I just don't get their mind set at all.......

Like booking into a 5 star hotel and then complaining to staff about the prices of things....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

JOCookie wrote: »
    I worked in Xtra Vision during college, (a lot of these seem to happen there) and a Roma woman came in and bought a small bottle of coke for E1.25 i think it was, and handed me in a E100.00 note. I only had E20.00 notes in the till as we only keep small notes in it. I handed the change back with 4 E20.00 notes, in front of me she put one of the E20.00 notes in to her other hand :confused:

Than she started roaring saying i didnt give her the right change, and she counted it out infront of me, saying she was missing E20.00 (as it was in her other hand). I was getting annoyed at this stage cos she was always in other shops around trying this and there was a queue behind her, so i just took the E20.00 out of her other hand, took the rest of the change of the counter and took the bottle of coke of her and gave her back her E100.00 and told her to get out!! felt good.

Wimp! I showed the bitch I knew what she was at, then gave her the big note back - RIPPED IN FOUR !!!!

I win LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Cake Man wrote: »
    Work in a supermarket. Few weeks ago, an old woman was at the salad bar putting in just a tiny bit of coleslaw into the plastic container. Proceeds to weigh it and print out the sticker and then goes back over and stuffs as much more coleslaw into the container as possible! Fcuking chancer, the old aren't immune to it either! :rolleyes::pac:

:D Ive been doing this for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

I once had a woman return a phone to me, the thing was in bits, she said she gave it to her daughter as a christmas present and it was like that in the box. Thing is she was returning it in April. She said she would ring Adrian Kennedy or some crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Your right about the so called well to do people being the most obnoxious. Was working in credit control during the summer when I was in college for one of the phone companies and when disconnection Thursday came around the phones would be hopping. Anyway got this very grand D4 type lady (mid 30's) on the phone who hadn't paid her bill and wanted to be put back on. Told her grand and I'd put her back on if she paid the bill in full cash in the post office (procedure if cheques had bounced before this was in the so called good times mind you) and ring back with the receipt number and everything would be sorted there and then.
    Got this snotty answer in her best ROCK accent. "Isn't it loike standard business practice loike to give 30 days credit loike and it was against her roights for us disconnect her and you should reconnect me loike pronto"
    I replied well your Jan/Feb bill is outstanding, so is your March/April and so is your May/June bill (This was in July) Adding the days up roughly that's about 180 days credit from your first outstanding bill. Call me back with the post office code when you paid in full and I will happily reconnect you for our standard reconnection fee of €12.50 plus VAT. Needless to say she hung up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Used to work in a specialists sport shop which didn't get to many customers, but one day a regular looking guy came in, looked around for a bit and tried some gear on. Turns out while was in the changing room he had slipped a shoe box containing a 250€ pair of shoes into his bag.

He came up to the till completely relaxed, bought a jersey and after which he produced the shoes from his bag, saying he had bought them 2 weeks ago and they were a size to small. We didn't have any bigger sizes so offered him his cash back. Once I asked for his receipt he came up with 2-3 different excuses in the space of a minute of "oh never got it" "I forgot it" "Might be in the car etc". He said he was going out to the car and my manager had a weird feeling about it so he made him leave the shoes on the counter. Customer never came back, my manager did a quick check on the tills, turns out the shoes in that size hadn't been sold in over 2 years :pac:

Ironically part of his ploy to look normal was buying the jersey, which he left behind during his hasty escape "to find the receipt".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

JOCookie wrote: »
    I worked in Xtra Vision during college, (a lot of these seem to happen there) and a Roma woman came in and bought a small bottle of coke for E1.25 i think it was, and handed me in a E100.00 note. I only had E20.00 notes in the till as we only keep small notes in it. I handed the change back with 4 E20.00 notes, in front of me she put one of the E20.00 notes in to her other hand :confused:

Than she started roaring saying i didnt give her the right change, and she counted it out infront of me, saying she was missing E20.00 (as it was in her other hand). I was getting annoyed at this stage cos she was always in other shops around trying this and there was a queue behind her, so i just took the E20.00 out of her other hand, took the rest of the change of the counter and took the bottle of coke of her and gave her back her E100.00 and told her to get out!! felt good.

This happens at least one a day with the Romas in the bank I work in, they ask you to change money into lower dominations, say 20's for 100's then they roar and shout saying youve short changed them - basically try to make you all flustered to the point where you dont know what youve handed out.
    Its got to the point now, where all change requests have to go through an account because of the fu(kers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

jdooley28 wrote: »
    Two men in my da's hometown were total chancers. The first lad would get a €50 euro note tear a piece of the corner and write something random on the bottom, then he'd use it to buy a pint. Then his friend would come in pay for a pint with a €5 note, and drink it quickly. He would then return to bar and say did I not give you €50 last time, I think I did because its all I had coming in with me, I remmber cause just before I left the house I got a €50 off the wife and there was a number wriitnon the back of it. Would work when it was busy.

Once had a customer swear blind he gave me a €50 for a bottle of Bud. I had just got a new float and he was the first person i served with it, was a great feeling been able to take the till and askin him could he he see his €50 note anywhere!

Worked in Dubln in a bar and this is a well known trick or when its really busy they'd wave a fifty in the air and shout the order in, youd hand out the order, and they pay you with a tenner or whatever, its so busy your head is processing the fact that they had a fifty when they ordered and give them change of the fifty. Sounds stupid but you'd be surprised how often it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    hahaahah - this happened to me once - except I was actually drinking coke :D:D:D Had it half finished and some guy from the bar came up behind me and said it didn't look right and took it back and gave me a new one :D:D:D:D:D

buyah - it felt good

saying that when it happened I was so young it didn't even register to me why he changed it but being the mean fecker that I am I still remember the good auld buzz of getting a free coke :D:D

I thought all the stingy cavan man jokes my da told me were made up! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭GTE

A car pulls up in the petrol station and a mother and her daughter get out.
    Daughter comes into the shop with the credit card and says 20 euro please while the mother pumps rather slowly until the daughter makes it to the till.

OK I say.

I put the card though and would you believe, the machine packs in, or so I told the daughter.

So, once the card machine had managed to switch back on again it turned out that the 20 euro petrol somehow turned into 46.something euro and the car was no where to be seen.

So, I put that through the card, give her a till and petrol receipt with the price underlined for good measure and she scuttles off around a corner to where ever the car went.

On a busy section of the day a person gets to the till to pay for fuel. He takes a few seconds to answer and when I looked I caught him looking back from the direction of the screen that has the fuel system on it.
    He said he got 15 diesel.
    I had already been paid for that but didnt get the chance to press the buttons I needed to to take it off the screen.
    I ask what pump
    "ehh, ehhh, *looks outside* pump 3, the far side"
    So pump 3 is a petrol nozzle and the diesel is the third fuel pump out there but each pump has two nozzles on it so it was actually number 6.

Which car is it? Pretending I hadnt a clue. Oh the Opel ok. . Is that an Audi key?

Turns out he was the fecker who got 70 petrol!

A guy comes in with work boots worth about 50ish euro but had a price of 20 on it. Ill admit I didnt know the prices of that section well but I questioned it, looked into the boots and found the "secret" price tag with the 50 on it.

The cameras found that he had taken a price off something else and stuck it on the box.

A guy bought some lollipops while his friend tried to run out with a tool set under his jumper.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

jdooley28 wrote: »
    Once had a customer swear blind he gave me a €50 for a bottle of Bud. I had just got a new float and he was the first person i served with it, was a great feeling been able to take the till and askin him could he he see his €50 note anywhere!
    Aye, loved when that happened! :D
    Rhamiel wrote: »
    It was only when she left and I cleared her table I realized the fcuker had brought tea bags from home with her in her handbag to use instead of payin for a feckin cup of tea. The nerve of the snooty bollix :P
    Mum brings her own teabags, as most places don't do green tea, or think that as the box is green, that's what she means :rolleyes: so she just asks for hot water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

wobzilla1 wrote: »
    When I used to work in Xtra-vision, We used to get our deliveries every Thursday. We used to send things back to head office too. For a few weeks a couple of lads would come in about half an hour before the courier. They'd be wearing courier's uniforms and asked if there was anything to be sent back to head office. They managed to get massive tvs and everything off some of the other shops

For a few weeks? You didn't notice after the courier came in the first time and you'd already given away loads of ****?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bernyh

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    There was a bit of a scam going betting on dogs when I was working in the bookies. People would use really **** hand writing where you weren't sure whether they had written €5 or €50. They would do this just as the dog race is off, and wouldn't put the money down until they saw how their dog was doing. If it was doing **** they'd put €5 down, if it was doing well they'd put €50 down. We just told them to **** off, we don't take late bets, especially when it comes to the dogs. There is a phrase for all of this but it is escaping me right now.

the phrase is "slow count" (feckers)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I've seen two drug dependant people eating out of the salad bar in a supermarket and when the security started kicking them out, they were shouting that they were only testing it before they bought it.

Turned me off salad bars indeffinitly.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭flower tattoo

EMF2010 wrote: »
    Worked in the cinema years ago and had this chancer come in with his son. I went to take the tickets and noticed that the movie they were going to was rated 18s. All the staff had just gotten a long lecture about not letting underage people into movies, threats of massive fines, loss of job, death* etc.

I looked at his son, all of 10 years of age and politely explained that he wouldn't be able to go in and I could offer a refund or get him tickets to see another show. Instead of doing the usual and trying to persuade me to let it go, the man insisted his son was 18. At this point it was hard to keep a straight face, but I stood my ground and asked for ID to prove this. He went on a rant, insisting his word was good enough and why would he need ID to see some stupid film.

The very best part of this was the boy was standing there wearing his school uniform from one of the local primary schools! When I pointed this out he tore up the tickets, threw them at me and stormed off - only to turn around and collect the ticket bits and storm off again. :D

*this bit may not be true

i watched a woman in front of me at the cinema swear up and down her daughter was 12, even though she was about 5'8 and looked about 17. She was yelling she was tall for her age and was entitled to a childs ticket and no way was she as old as she looked - finally the cashier told her that okay she would accept that her daughter was 12 but the film they wanted to see was a 15 so she wouldn't be allowed in..... the whole queue was laughing.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭JOCookie

Wimp! I showed the bitch I knew what she was at, then gave her the big note back - RIPPED IN FOUR !!!!

I win LOL

You Win! :)

But for me just telling her to get out was a big deal, i'm not confrontational at all. :o