Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns N' Roses - Irish Date Announced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Shelli2

mockler007 wrote: »
    they did walk off stage, for 40 mins, after 20 mins of being boooo'd
    and was an hour and a half late,

Watch the linked clip that this person was referring to and you might get what their on about ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

allanb49 wrote: »
    Effects - People will wait once it's given an acknowledgement of why they had too. Sure people will say ah but that's Axl,

Would you put up with this if you where going to the hospital for the birth of your child and told ok we'll be with you in 5 mins and have to wait for another 85 without anyone talking to you. Or a more realistic scenario.

You're in a restraunt order your food which should take 15 - 20 mins. Would you be happy it arrived and was lukewarm after 90 mins?

A service was not provided.

You are not comparing like with like. An Axl Rose gig is not the same as going to hospital for a birth or eating food in a restaurant.
    You can expect Axl to be late, you can expect him to walk off if he keeps getting stuff thrown at him.
    The service was provided. Forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

20,000 people at 70 euros a go
    140,000 euros

getting paid for 10 minutes attitude makes axel pretty well paid

r e f u n d t i m e

ring joe duffy folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Effects wrote: »
    I doubt you were told by staff it was over. Didn't you hear either of the two announcements saying to hold on that the issue was being dealt with? The people who left have no one to blame but themselves.

Oh come on, The house lights went up, he went off in a strop and they roadies started covering up the equipment. It wasn't for another 40 minutes before he came back on. At that point i'd have been gone too, waiting 2 hours 10 mins for a band meant to be over at that point.

Common Courtesy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

I doubt you were told by staff it was over. Didn't you hear either of the two announcements saying to hold on that the issue was being dealt with? The people who left have no one to blame but themselves.
    will see what small claims court has to say so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

They were brutal at Leeds Festival last weekend. QOTSA amazing though....

You are not comparing like with like. An Axl Rose gig is not the same as going to hospital for a birth or eating food in a restaurant.
    You can expect Axl to be late, you can expect him to walk off if he keeps getting stuff thrown at him.
    The service was provided. Forget about it.

Ok like with like

- Green Day Marlay Park 2010 - On 9.10
    - Kiss The O2 2010 - On 9.15
    - Guns n Roses RDS 2006 - On at .... 9.10 :eek:

Based on the last one he was on time and it seemed he had grown out of these childish strops. Yes you can expect him to be late but in seriousness can you really expect people not to be píssed after shelling out so much money. It was a gamble and didn't pay off. But to use the excuse technichal difficulties.

I was at We Will Rock You in the O2 in January and that had technichal difficulties with the sound cutting out. You know what they did they shouted without the mics projected there voice and carried on for a few mins before it was fixed. How proper professionals should. They apoligesied for the delay and disruption and got a round of applause.

How difficult would it have been for Rose to say sorry i'm late but we're gonna rock your socks off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I saw Pearl Jam when they played and it's sad that I'll remember this gig more because of the circus act that is Axl.

I kind of feel sorry for his band, because they really tried their best to get the crowd going, and they're excellent musicians (although, what's the story with Slash Jr.? Does he not have his own style at all?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

if you search google with
    guns n roses dublin
    you might get some video footage,
    which should not be on the net of course but we are where we are:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

moonpurple wrote: »
    140,000 euros

getting paid for 10 minutes attitude makes axel pretty well paid

r e f u n d t i m e

ring joe duffy folks

the point only holds 5000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,732 ✭✭✭✭Basq

The O2 you mean? Holds 14,000 IIRC.

humanji wrote: »
    I saw Pearl Jam when they played and it's sad that I'll remember this gig more because of the circus act that is Axl.

I kind of feel sorry for his band, because they really tried their best to get the crowd going, and they're excellent musicians (although, what's the story with Slash Jr.? Does he not have his own style at all?).

I was thinking why couldn't they have come on early and done some of there stuff, As you said all talented musicians pretty sure they could have had a jam going to keep the crowd appeased for a bit before if they knew Axl was going to be late?

if you search google with
    guns n roses dublin
    you might get some video footage,
    which should not be on the net of course but we are where we are:eek:

what do you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

The capacity is 14,000.

Clearly the posters means 2,000 and not 20,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭tororosso

Just to confirm on your query: When the lights came on, and after about 20 minutes of waiting, we left. Before we did I asked 2 security guards was the gig officially over. The answer given was YES. I then went and asked a bunch of stewards was it over. They said it was over too. One even went on to say to hold on to the tickets to claim a refund from MCD. I even got a stewards name off his badge and have 3 witnesses to this effect too so any notion that the gig was still on is plain wrong. Just because they decide eventually to come back out on stage at a ridiculously late time on a wednesday night, in an attempt to fulfill obligations and avoid claims, does not mean that people were wrong to leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Anyone seen Axl's Wikipedia page this morning?

"On the 1st of september 2010 he caused absolute mayhem in Dublins o2 arena after walking off stage after 20 minutes. Many fans were outraged
    and riots began to take place in the arena itself. He was later seen in
    ...the venue carpark, holding his mickey and crying into a bowl of
    Hazelbrook Farm ice cream."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

140,000 euros

you are missing a zero at the end there....

and there are only 14,000 - which makes total of 1,050,000.. The guys from lost prophets hit the nail on the head, turning up late for gigs and being a prick is not Rock and Roll any more.. What it is about now, is turning up, and showing people how to put on an amazing show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭DYLF

it holds 14000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,732 ✭✭✭✭Basq

MCD will have an announcement regarding the gig at 10.30am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

I was there last night. coming on stage at 10.30pm was taking the piss alright. Understandably a lot of people were pissed off and pissed by the time they did go on! But throwing bottles up at Axl was definitely gonna piss him off and he did give a warning. When they did play they did sound good. Axl's voice wasn't too bad, I thought the band did rock. MCD should have communicated more with the crowd as we were about to leave when we overheard a steward saying that they were coming back on, we were given no other notice then the lights went out and they kicked into "Live and let die". I'd say there was some tough talking going on back stage with Axl been told that they wouldn't get paid unless they went back on - would loved to have been a fly on the wall during that discussion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

novarock wrote: »
    The guys from lost prophets hit the nail on the head, turning up late for gigs and being a prick is not Rock and Roll any more.. What it is about now, is turning up, and showing people how to put on an amazing show.

He has a point, maybe he should try it sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Oh dear. You'd wonder whether those taking exception to a 90 minute wait had ever been to a gig before. I don't think I've ever been to a show that started on time. Of course those who instigated the bottle-throwing should be praised for being such die-hard rock-n-rollers :rolleyes:

"Show usually starts around 7, we go on stage around 9". Oddly prophetic. Part of me thinks that certain people in attendance were praying for an excuse to nail Axl to the wall - it is the cool thing to do of late: "Yeah I was at a Guns show - that Axl, such a dick, honestly, take it from me, I was there". Can't blame them in the slightest for walking off stage, but really feel for those who paid good money to see a show.

I'm tempted to make a "sympathy for the devil" joke here, but can't bring myself to do it. Elements of those in attendance, you have disgraced yourselves (it'd sound better if Yeats said it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

Nutgrover wrote: »
    What a waste of time it was. I'm not even angry that he left after 20 minutes as he gave a warning after 2 plastic bottles and walked off after a glass one. I'm disgusted more by his 1 hour delay in starting up. Sadly, this guy proved to be a redneck. Bottlethrowers are just stupid c..nts and organizers should keep greater distance between 'fans' & stage + security guards should be watching, like it was on other rock concerts I was. People were even rougher than northern dubs and still such incidents were preventing by tighter security control + no glass bottles (only plastic cups) sold in the venue.

Wow you are really Groving axl roses Nuts there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Calina wrote: »
    Sorry. No dice. Gig starts and ends on time.

In what universe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭jacko1

for all of you at the gig last night its quite simple - either MCD announce a full refund or you take them to the small claims court under the sale of goods and supply of services act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

jacko1 wrote: »
    for all of you at the gig last night its quite simple - either MCD announce a full refund or you take them to the small claims court under the sale of goods and supply of services act

FTW, they wouldn't have a leg to stand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,717 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

10:30pm start to a show where the doors opened at 6:30pm and the venue curfew is 11pm.

People knew the curfew was 11pm and thought we were going to have a repeat of the other night where the band weren't allowed to play beyond this.

Yeah, sure that's just 'rock n' roll'.

My arse it is.

Loads of young kids there had to leave.

People in wheelchairs who had to leave.

I had work the next day and had to leave. As I'm sure many others did given it was a Wednesday night.

If they could have gotten away without coming back on stage they would have left at 11pm after Axel said Goodnight and walked off. They didn't come back for the fans. They came back to stop MCD suing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

It's ****ing bull**** about starting whenever he sees fit.

Pearl Jam played for over 2hrs are were pissed at having to finish at 11.
    I have been to a dozen gigs in the o2 and many more in Olympia and RDS etc and there is a curfew in place.

To start 30 mins before a curfew is two fingers to the organisers and the crowd.

And before any of ye say he does this all the time, he does it at festivals where there is no curfew and people are there expecting to be in for a long night, it's not like with like.

jacko1 wrote: »

Under the Sale of Goods and Supply of Services Act 1980, anything you buy from a retailer must be:

* of merchantable quality
    * fit for its normal purpose, and reasonably durable
    * as described, whether the description is part of the advertising or wrapping, on a label, or something said by the salesperson.

Now if people where told the carpark was closing at half 11 and that there cars left in there over night would incur a €100 fine i'd go on the assumption the gig was to end at the 11 mark. The last luas was at half 12.

It didn't say on the ticket or on mcd's website that the gig had an extended curfew so with that knowledge normal laws apply that the gig was to be over by 11. Therefore the bolded part applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Yeah, the whole thing was a bit of a sham to be fair.

The support act, Danko Jones only finished at 9.15 so everyone was already worried that the Guns N Roses set was gonna be cut due to the 11 o'clock curfew. They took about an hour to get the stage ready and i'd say they came on at around 20 past 10. Fair few people booing after the first song. They then started Welcome to the Jungle but about 30 seconds into it someone threw a full pint (I read on one of the forums this morning that someone said it was a bottle full of p*ss) over Axl from the crowd. He stopped the song and said if anything else gets thrown at the stage, they are going to leave. They started playing again and did another 3 songs. Then someone else threw 2 bottles at the stage and he just said "goodnight folks" and walked off.

Then there was about a half hour of everyone standing around wondering what was happening. They sent some chick out from MCD and she said they were trying to sort out a "technical difficulty". Loads of people just left at that stage cos they put the house lights back on. Then someone who looked very like Denis Desmond, the head of MCD came out and said to hold on a few mins and he was trying to sort things.

Think around half 11 or so then, the band came back on. They played the full set but Axl stood at the back of the stage for the whole thing and basically just sang. No dancing or running around at all. The band still sounded class but there was f*ck all energy in the crowd at that stage so it was all a bit meh! When they finished the last song, they all just walked off stage. No goodbye or thanks or anything.

When we got outside the arena, his car was trying to get out. Loads of gardai and security surrounding it. Line of the night has to be some culchie guard shouting "quick, get the f*cker out of dodge! they'll tear him apart!"

But yeah no riots whatsoever!