Policy not to give a child a plaster. WTF ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Its a total joke, but whats happening is that less and less people are volounteering to train children at sports nowadays. there are so many regulations and rules for health and safety and just to cover yourself.

i helped train u10s at gaa, if one of them needed to go to the bathroom what did you do? let them off by themselves ( we were at the far end of the club grounds) or go with them on your own you couldnt win.

parents forgot to pick up their kid one night and two of us had to wait and then drive to his house, not even a thank you or sorry from the parent.

sad to say i packed it up shortly after that. too many rules and regulations , not enough common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Overheal wrote: »
    Pardon me, I'm only a foreigner, but doesn't the school have access to that sort of information? Emergency contact number, next of kin, known allergies, etc. ?
    Silly foreigner, this is Ireland. If you have a "No trespassing" sign on your land and someone trespasses and breaks their leg coming off a scrambler bike, you can be sued for not taking all reasonable measures to prevent someone coming to harm or some such bullshít. Happened to an older farmer neighbour of mine years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Elliejo

They do have access to all that on the profiles of the children - but you would be amazed, or maybe you wouldn't, at the amount of parents who can't be bothered to update the original information when circumstances change. What was relevant in Junior Infants (contact numbers, contact people etc) often change in the intervening years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 legsalita

I'm a Primary teacher in Derry and it's policy from above up here too. I do think however, it's up to the school's own discretion to obtain written consent from parents. It's the same with taking their pics, allowing them to use the internet...everything. They are not allowed online until we have written consent.

It seems mad I know, but then again, I know of too many cases where parents see a 'cheap buck' to be made, even excellent teachers losing their jobs.

I know allergies are very rare, but they do exist and I for one do not want to be the person putting on a plaster, without consent, then the child to have an allergic reaction. Nothing to do with my legal stance, but more to do with the child's health.
    (But the legal stance admittedly features quite strongly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Nevore wrote: »
    ......or some such bullshít......

You nailed it there. So true it's laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Some of the school policies are shocking.

My friends son goes to a school where there is a policy preventing all physical contact. He can be expelled for playing a game of 'tag', or even tapping someone's shoulder/arm to get their attention.

Shouting & speaking loudly is also forbidden. Apparently these rules are to prevent bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

My friends son goes to a school where there is a policy preventing all physical contact. He can be expelled for playing a game of 'tag', or even tapping someone's shoulder/arm to get their attention.

Shouting & speaking loudly is also forbidden. Apparently these rules are to prevent bullying.

Jaysus, is the principal a germophobe or something?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Again, it is the parents who ultimately dictate these insane policies. In an establisment with such extreme rules, you can be sure there was a big-bucks compo case somewhere along the line.

The man isn't just making up rules to keep your friend's son down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Honestly, reading this just confirms it for me that teachers have one of the most stressful and demanding jobs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

kippy wrote: »
    Unfortunately schools have been sued before for this type of thing.

Have they though?
    It seems that this is less a reaction to schools being sued, more and excessively risk-averse response by schools to a perceived fear of litigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭kippy

drkpower wrote: »
    Have they though?
    It seems that this is less a reaction to schools being sued, more and excessively risk-averse response by schools to a perceived fear of litigation.

Honestly, I've heard of one occasion where a school/teacher has been sued for negligence due to an alergic reaction to something similiar to what is being discussed here.. However I am unable to back this up with any documentary evidence.

Honestly, I've heard of one occasion where a school/teacher has been sued for negligence. However I am unable to back this up with any documentary evidence.

For a plaster or for something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭kippy

drkpower wrote: »
    For a plaster or for something else?

I did a bit of a ninja edit there to clarify it was in relation to alergies around plasters...
    I have no idea of the outcome of the case btw.

I did a bit of a ninja edit there to clarify it was in relation to alergies around plasters...
    I have no idea of the outcome of the case btw.

Fair enough, stranger things have happened i suppose. If a school imposed a (totally reasonable) policy that obliged parents to inform the school whether their kid had any allergies/medical issues (and were obliged to tell the school of any new issues), I cant see any basis whatsoever for the school to be sued.

The only thing i could find on schools being sued for plaster reactions was this:
    http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/families/article723013.ece
    It sugggests that there is no evidence of an increase in legal actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Erica<3 wrote: »
    If it was serious enough they would have consulted you before taking any medical action incl plasters.

It's to do with allergies you see, and a kid can't memorise all that stuff and spew it out when they're already panicked and shocked from a fall.

I remember when i was in secondary school and suffering with period cramps and my maths teacher, who was very nice, couldn't give me an anadin for fear i'd be allergic and have a reaction, it'd be her fault, even though i assured her i had no such allergy.

As a crampy 16 year old that REALLY pissed me off.

Eh as a crampy 16 year old why would you not bring your own Anadin into school (even keep some spare in your schoolbag)

Why would you expect your teacher to provide/give you some :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

amdublin wrote: »
    Eh as a crampy 16 year old why would you not bring your own Anadin into school (even keep some spare in your schoolbag)

Why would you expect your teacher to provide/give you some :confused:

It was one incident, and forgive me for making a human error and not carrying around a medicine cabinet in my schoolbag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

It was one incident, and forgive me for making a human error and not carrying around a medicine cabinet in my schoolbag!

I just finished up in secondary school... Pretty much every girl I know had at least the one pack of panadols in their bag at all times, because they couldn't get them in the medical room.

A few years back a fella fractured his shin bone or something similar whilst cycling into the school ground. To do so he had to go through a GAA car park for the local sports field. There was a thin layer of loose gravel for where the cars were meant to park. Yer man went across the gravel, lost traction and came flying off the bike and messed his leg up, there was a lawsuit against the GAA and school, who shared a joint payout of something like 9,000 euro. Pretty ****ing ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Asha

This plaster incident happened to my daughter as well.

She was in Junior infants & had a fall.

When I collected her she was really upset & pressing a raggy piece of tissue to her(deep enough) cut knee.
    The teacher said we're not covered to put plasters on etc.
    She had been going around like that for most of the day.

I was seriously p***ed off. I mean they could of rang me & I would of gone down & did it myself!

Fair enough they're not insured or whatever but if that's the case they should give me an option to look after at if it's more than a graze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Asha wrote: »
    This plaster incident happened to my daughter as well.

She was in Junior infants & had a fall.

When I collected her she was really upset & pressing a raggy piece of tissue to her(deep enough) cut knee.
    The teacher said we're not covered to put plasters on etc.
    She had been going around like that for most of the day.

I was seriously p***ed off. I mean they could of rang me & I would of gone down & did it myself!

Fair enough they're not insured or whatever but if that's the case they should give me an option to look after at if it's more than a graze.
    Quite frankly, why don't you just file a lawsuit against them for the thing they were doing to protect them from a lawsuit?

Once you've done that, give them a couple minutes to scrape their brains off the ceiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Asha

Quite frankly, why don't you just file a lawsuit against them for the thing they were doing to protect them from a lawsuit?

Once you've done that, give them a couple minutes to scrape their brains off the ceiling.

HaHa:D

I have to face them for the next few years!

But i did have a "chat" with the principal so I don't think it'll happen again:pac:

forgive me for making a human error and not carrying around a medicine cabinet in my schoolbag!

One or two anadins does not a medicine cabinet make. Hey you were the one who was whinging about it not me. I just think if it was that of a big deal you wouldn't forget.
    I just finished up in secondary school... Pretty much every girl I know had at least the one pack of panadols in their bag at all times, because they couldn't get them in the medical room.

Yeah true. Erika could have asked another girl.

But no it's the teacher and the schools rules fault that you had cramps and forgot your anadin.

I was chaperone for a school trip to India last year (group of 20 4th years)

I was the First Aid person for the trip. I had no problem applying plasters etc.

For medicines (Delhi belly!) most of the kids had Arret & Immodium etc themselves but if they did not I simply used to lay one on their locker and say it was up to them if they wanted to take it or not (therefore I was not technically "giving" it to them).

Same with headache tablets etc.

It was a pretty cool school, students, parents etc. I think the parents just wouldn't be bothered suing etc - pretty much what my parents were like when I was in school.

Oh to be back in simpler (non pc) times!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

I was chaperone for a school trip to India last year (group of 20 4th years)

I was the First Aid person for the trip. I had no problem applying plasters etc.

For medicines (Delhi belly!) most of the kids had Arret & Immodium etc themselves but if they did not I simply used to lay one on their locker and say it was up to them if they wanted to take it or not (therefore I was not technically "giving" it to them).

Same with headache tablets etc.

It was a pretty cool school, students, parents etc. I think the parents just wouldn't be bothered suing etc - pretty much what my parents were like when I was in school.

Oh to be back in simpler (non pc) times!!!!!

India!? :eek:
    Feck sake. All we got was a crappy day long tour of London (already knew the place well) and a half a day at eurodisney in France.

India!? :eek:
    Feck sake. All we got was a crappy day long tour of London (already knew the place well) and a half a day at eurodisney in France.

I know!

Hey at least you got out of the country.....and to mainland Europe.

In my day we got Dublin Zoo..........every year!!!!!! (We were really near to it!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seems bizarre. What could the refusal be for? I know allergic reaction was mentioned - as in, there is possibly one case of a suing for the child having an allergic reaction to a plaster, which then set a precedent? Pretty mad if so. Presume there are lots of do's and don'ts (outside of the obvious) in relation to touching when administering healthcare at school.
    Bobby42 wrote: »
    absolutely insane, and an example how politically correct/paranoid society has gone!
    I don't think OTT litigiousness (?) and political correctness are the same thing to be fair.
    eimearcmh wrote: »
    Honestly, reading this just confirms it for me that teachers have one of the most stressful and demanding jobs :eek:
    No they don't - they get loads of holidays and finish really early in the day and don't even have to think about or do any prep for their job (being responsible for the education of 30 children) til they go back. Duh...
    One or two anadins does not a medicine cabinet make.
    Agreed, but...
    But no it's the teacher and the schools rules fault that you had cramps and forgot your anadin.
    What if she didn't get a cramp until during school? A girl isn't necessarily gonna think "I might get a cramp today, better bring some painkillers" even if she's on the blob. I'd have thought there'd be painkillers in the school first aid kit which can obviously be administered under strict control. At the same time though, you can develop an allergy to paracetamol - as I did. Only a mild one, but an allergy nonetheless. But it's as if allergies are a new thing...

Dudess wrote: »
    What if she didn't get a cramp until during school? A girl isn't necessarily gonna think "I might get a cramp today, better bring some painkillers" even if she's on the blob. I'd have thought there'd be painkillers in the school first aid kit which can obviously be administered under strict control. At the same time though, you can develop an allergy to paracetamol - as I did. Only a mild one, but an allergy nonetheless. But it's as if allergies are a new thing...

I would have thought if you tend to get cramps at your time of the month you would tend to carry painkillers....

Or if it was your time of the month I would have thought your painkillers might have been included in your "supplies" for that day.

Plus she could have asked how many other girls in her class. Am sure at least one of then would likely have at least one painkiller.

Hey maybe it is to do with physically touching a child by putting on a plaster???

Or the risk of infection if you touch the white pad on the plaster etc????

Any teachers out there who have this in their guidelines? Care to give us an insight why?!

Hey maybe it is to do with physically touching a child by putting on a plaster???
    No they're allowed to clean the wound, just not dress it.

I guess nobody has heard of cotton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Pardon me, I'm only a foreigner, but doesn't the school have access to that sort of information? Emergency contact number, next of kin, known allergies, etc. ?

This be Ireland - and there's no good samaritan act/law to protect anyone doing anything out of good will. You stop to help someone at a car accident - chance you'll get a lawsuit for something you didn't do. Try to save someones life if they're having a heart attack or some such - you could be sued for not doing enough, or some other crap. For example - CPR uses a lot of force, and there's a good chance of breaking ribs doing it... You'd think they'd be happy to be alive and be thankful... :rolleyes:

Thankfully, I don't think a judge has ever ruled in favor of one of these cases.
    Nevore wrote: »
    Silly foreigner, this is Ireland. If you have a "No trespassing" sign on your land and someone trespasses and breaks their leg coming off a scrambler bike, you can be sued for not taking all reasonable measures to prevent someone coming to harm or some such bullshít. Happened to an older farmer neighbour of mine years ago.

Or someone robbing your house trips on the way out....same story. All a load of shíte tbh.

This be Ireland - and there's no good samaritan act/law to protect anyone doing anything out of good will.
    And why the hell not?

Surely there is a process whereby an ordinary citizen can get a bill written with the intention of having it submitted and passed as law?