Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Policy not to give a child a plaster. WTF ?

• 01-09-2010 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭

My daughter had a fall today in school and grazed her knee. Nothing too major thankfully. However the school did not put a plaster on her apparently because it is policy across the board not to. They can clean out a cut but seemingly applying any sort of dressing is forbidden by guidelines. Has anyone else come across this ?

Are things that bad from a litigation point of view that teachers are forbidden to treat a childs cut or is it a cost cutting measure (pardon the pun) Either way its ridiculous. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

a cost cutting measure (pardon the pun)

Banned aid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

applying any sort of dressing is forbidden by guidelines. :

Nobody wants to be seen dressing someone elses child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

If it was still bleeding after it was cleaned, they'd have put on a plaster I'm sure.
    If it wasn't still bleeding wtf was a plaster needed for in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its cos the plaster is pink and therefore to apply it would be to make assumptions about racial identity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

My daughter had a fall today in school and grazed her knee. Nothing too major thankfully. However the school did not put a plaster on her apparently because it is policy across the board not to. They can clean out a cut but seemingly applying any sort of dressing is forbidden by guidelines. Has anyone else come across this ?

Are things that bad from a litigation point of view that teachers are forbidden to treat a childs cut or is it a cost cutting measure (pardon the pun) Either way its ridiculous. :rolleyes:

Some people are allergic to the adhesive on most plasters. I am for one.

Could be a scenario where guidelines say don't do it in case some kid has a reaction and the parents take action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Drake66

You don't need to use an adhesive plaster; you could just put a small dressing on it. Crass policy by the school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Could be a scenario where guidelines say don't do it in case some kid jas a reaction and the parents take action.
    Probably this. When you hear of seemingly ridiculous measures like the above, it's not a case of health and safety gone mad. It's because unscrupulous, cash-hungry parents have filed large compensation cases against the schools time and time again, and they have to cover themselves from all angles to protect against such occurrences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Drake66 wrote: »
    You don't need to use an adhesive plaster; you could just put a small dressing on it. Crass policy by the school.

Apparently it is policy from higher than the school. I'm just wondering is there any teachers out there who could confirm if it's a dept of education policy. I might ask Feeky to check it out with his contact ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Most cuts and grazes that kids get don't need a plaster. I'll bet OP's daughter is OK and has survived quite nicely without the Elastoplast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Elliejo

It's to do with allergies. Can't take any risk in this day and age with some people hell-bent on litigation at the slightest excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Reminds me of when I worked in hotels.
    Residents calling reception every morning looking for painkillers for their hangovers/
    Not a chance were they given as if the resident has a bad reaction, the hotel can get sued.

If something goes wrong with the first aid dressing, maybe there is an infection or allergic reaction then the parents may sue.
    Unqualified teacher giving medical care, $$$$

And this is why some schools ban football and running in the schoolyard, kids trip, fall and cut themselves on tarmac and concrete, it's inevitable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

If your child gets sick & can't be collected but can be dropped home then a teacher can bring him/ her home but only if there is two other children in the car in case there is a claim that they were subjected to something inappropriate.
    Two children need to be in the car with the sick child so that one child isn't alone when the sick child is dropped off.
    AFAIK children on a hurling team in training can't be changed if they pee in their pants or they can't be comforted by a hug if they get injured by the trainer. Not sure how true this one is but it just goes to show you how strict things have become.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    children on a hurling team in training can't be changed if they pee in their pants
    Psh. That's just the gahs way of teaching kids not to piss themselves. Kids these days need to htfu. :pac:

If your child gets sick & can't be collected but can be dropped home then a teacher can bring him/ her home but only if there is two other children in the car in case there is a claim that they were subjected to something inappropriate.
    Two children need to be in the car with the sick child so that one child isn't alone when the sick child is dropped off.
    AFAIK children on a hurling team in training can't be changed if they pee in their pants or they can't be comforted by a hug if they get injured by the trainer. Not sure how true this one is but it just goes to show you how strict things have become.

What a dumbass, hyperreactive society we've become. Lunacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've done GAA coaching in schools.
    You can enter the changing rooms alright but bring a teacher with you, never put yourself on your own in there.
    It's not a policy, just to protect yourself as a comment passed and your name is ruined.
    Same goes if you take the kids to the swimming pool, two adults at any one time in the changing room

Yeah, you can change children or give them a hug, it's not gone that bad.
    Just have a teacher with you
    And yes, you need garda vetting which takes aaaaaaages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

absolutely insane, and an example how politically correct/paranoid society has gone! all teachers should be first aid trained. putting on a plaster is not medical treatment. its just aid. how could any one have a problem with first aid being provided to their child? alergic reactions to plasters/dressings are rare and mostly mild.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I just asked my mum (a vice principal), she says that the policy is there alright, they're not supposed to put on plasters on the kids in case of an allergic reaction.

However their school gets round it by mentioning it on the enrolment form - when the kids are enrolling, the parents have to sign giving permission for the teachers to use plasters if necessary.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Sadly schools have been hit badly, so many schools no longer use plasters or alcohol wipes etc. If a child wets themselves two teachers are supposed to supervise them getting changed(as if the child is not embarrassed enough.)
    In one of my first jobs, I used to pick up the only infant in the school and his sister and bring them with me. if one were to be sick I'd just bring the other(pre seat belt for kids and booster seats.)Their mom told me laughingly one day that I must have been "tipping on" in the car, becasue the little fella said "Janey Mammy, the teacher do drive quare anf fast of a mornin' "No way you could do it now,even driving at 10km/h
    Another day a small child fell and split his head, so I took him to the dr. and he sat on my knee while being treated,as we couldn't get his mum-pre-mobile days,again you'd not do it now.

A girl left our school a year ago to go to another locally and she came back on a visit to our school for some happening or other. I was very fond of her and she ran to me and I gave her a big hug. I suddenly remembered myself and said to her mom that I hoped it was ok. We both agreed that things have gone way too far if you cannot hug a child without wondering if you are thought to be suspect for doing so.It only takes an unfounded allegation to get a teacher suspended and investigated. People will never look at the teacher the same way even if they are cleared, "No smoke without fire" etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Bobby42 wrote: »
    absolutely insane, and an example how politically correct/paranoid society has gone! all teachers should be first aid trained. putting on a plaster is not medical treatment. its just aid. how could any one have a problem with first aid being provided to their child? alergic reactions to plasters/dressings are rare and mostly mild.

Unfortunately schools have been sued before for this type of thing. Even if the teachers are "first aid" trained.........
    It's a sad indictment of how the actions of a few (suing schools for this type of thing) impact on many.
    This country has gone way to litigious with a legal system which is easy to abuse and some solicitors who specialise in this sort of thing.
    There are lots of people out there who have problems with almost anything happening their child whether it be in the childs best interests or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Why not just give one of the parents a quick ring to ask if the child is allergic? Surely that'd cover the school from a legal point of view?

Grazed knees are srs business.

Bazzo wrote: »
    Why not just give one of the parents a quick ring to ask if the child is allergic? Surely that'd cover the school from a legal point of view?
    Not unless all calls were recorded and even then......
    You'd be surprised.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

If it was serious enough they would have consulted you before taking any medical action incl plasters.

It's to do with allergies you see, and a kid can't memorise all that stuff and spew it out when they're already panicked and shocked from a fall.

I remember when i was in secondary school and suffering with period cramps and my maths teacher, who was very nice, couldn't give me an anadin for fear i'd be allergic and have a reaction, it'd be her fault, even though i assured her i had no such allergy.

As a crampy 16 year old that REALLY pissed me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Paedophilophobia is the new witch hunting.

It appears I'm lucky to be alive. Especially as I had numerous plasters applied and was given anadin when I was in school.

I'll set up a meeting with my solicitor tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

I just asked my mum (a vice principal), she says that the policy is there alright, they're not supposed to put on plasters on the kids in case of an allergic reaction.

However their school gets round it by mentioning it on the enrolment form - when the kids are enrolling, the parents have to sign giving permission for the teachers to use plasters if necessary.

Is this the policy in all schools or is it up to the school itself? I did a bit of subbing 2 yrs ago and one of the infants fell in the playground and was brought into the staff room where one of the teachers put a plaster on the child.
    A lot can happen in 2 years of course.

Confab wrote: »
    Paedophilophobia is the new witch hunting.

It's not just about paedophilia.

A small number of over protective parents make it difficult for all the reasonable, sane ones.

It probably not a parent thing either, just a people thing.

I remember working in football camps from when I was in university. Some of the complaints and demands were just mental.

I agree with however said plaster allergies are minor. I come out in a minor rash for a couple of days wherever I apply one and it is no big deal at all. Tell that to a fussy parent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Could be a scenario where guidelines say don't do it in case some kid has a reaction and the parents take action.
    Pardon me, I'm only a foreigner, but doesn't the school have access to that sort of information? Emergency contact number, next of kin, known allergies, etc. ?

Overheal wrote: »
    Pardon me, I'm only a foreigner, but doesn't the school have access to that sort of information? Emergency contact number, next of kin, known allergies, etc. ?

They probably do but just have a very strict policy to completely remove any chance of action against them.

I'm not arguing that this is a good or sensible policy. I was just stating why it was probably there.

I wouldn't blame the school or the authorities though. Rules and legislation like this because of the public attitude really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Yep, it is policy alright! Schools will be brought to court for anything...
    You used be able to get paracetamol in my old school if you had a headache (handy as you could stay in school, rather than go home...) but about 2 years ago they stopped all that for fear of a lawsuit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Its a total joke, but whats happening is that less and less people are volounteering to train children at sports nowadays. there are so many regulations and rules for health and safety and just to cover yourself.

i helped train u10s at gaa, if one of them needed to go to the bathroom what did you do? let them off by themselves ( we were at the far end of the club grounds) or go with them on your own you couldnt win.

parents forgot to pick up their kid one night and two of us had to wait and then drive to his house, not even a thank you or sorry from the parent.

sad to say i packed it up shortly after that. too many rules and regulations , not enough common sense.

Silly foreigner, this is Ireland. If you have a "No trespassing" sign on your land and someone trespasses and breaks their leg coming off a scrambler bike, you can be sued for not taking all reasonable measures to prevent someone coming to harm or some such bullshít. Happened to an older farmer neighbour of mine years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Elliejo

They do have access to all that on the profiles of the children - but you would be amazed, or maybe you wouldn't, at the amount of parents who can't be bothered to update the original information when circumstances change. What was relevant in Junior Infants (contact numbers, contact people etc) often change in the intervening years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 legsalita

I'm a Primary teacher in Derry and it's policy from above up here too. I do think however, it's up to the school's own discretion to obtain written consent from parents. It's the same with taking their pics, allowing them to use the internet...everything. They are not allowed online until we have written consent.

It seems mad I know, but then again, I know of too many cases where parents see a 'cheap buck' to be made, even excellent teachers losing their jobs.

I know allergies are very rare, but they do exist and I for one do not want to be the person putting on a plaster, without consent, then the child to have an allergic reaction. Nothing to do with my legal stance, but more to do with the child's health.
    (But the legal stance admittedly features quite strongly too.

Nevore wrote: »
    ......or some such bullshít......

You nailed it there. So true it's laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Some of the school policies are shocking.

My friends son goes to a school where there is a policy preventing all physical contact. He can be expelled for playing a game of 'tag', or even tapping someone's shoulder/arm to get their attention.

Shouting & speaking loudly is also forbidden. Apparently these rules are to prevent bullying.

My friends son goes to a school where there is a policy preventing all physical contact. He can be expelled for playing a game of 'tag', or even tapping someone's shoulder/arm to get their attention.

Shouting & speaking loudly is also forbidden. Apparently these rules are to prevent bullying.

Jaysus, is the principal a germophobe or something?:confused:

Again, it is the parents who ultimately dictate these insane policies. In an establisment with such extreme rules, you can be sure there was a big-bucks compo case somewhere along the line.

The man isn't just making up rules to keep your friend's son down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Honestly, reading this just confirms it for me that teachers have one of the most stressful and demanding jobs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

kippy wrote: »
    Unfortunately schools have been sued before for this type of thing.

Have they though?
    It seems that this is less a reaction to schools being sued, more and excessively risk-averse response by schools to a perceived fear of litigation.

drkpower wrote: »
    Have they though?
    It seems that this is less a reaction to schools being sued, more and excessively risk-averse response by schools to a perceived fear of litigation.

Honestly, I've heard of one occasion where a school/teacher has been sued for negligence due to an alergic reaction to something similiar to what is being discussed here.. However I am unable to back this up with any documentary evidence.

Honestly, I've heard of one occasion where a school/teacher has been sued for negligence. However I am unable to back this up with any documentary evidence.

For a plaster or for something else?

drkpower wrote: »
    For a plaster or for something else?

I did a bit of a ninja edit there to clarify it was in relation to alergies around plasters...
    I have no idea of the outcome of the case btw.

I did a bit of a ninja edit there to clarify it was in relation to alergies around plasters...
    I have no idea of the outcome of the case btw.

Fair enough, stranger things have happened i suppose. If a school imposed a (totally reasonable) policy that obliged parents to inform the school whether their kid had any allergies/medical issues (and were obliged to tell the school of any new issues), I cant see any basis whatsoever for the school to be sued.

The only thing i could find on schools being sued for plaster reactions was this:
    http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/families/article723013.ece
    It sugggests that there is no evidence of an increase in legal actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Erica<3 wrote: »
    If it was serious enough they would have consulted you before taking any medical action incl plasters.

It's to do with allergies you see, and a kid can't memorise all that stuff and spew it out when they're already panicked and shocked from a fall.

I remember when i was in secondary school and suffering with period cramps and my maths teacher, who was very nice, couldn't give me an anadin for fear i'd be allergic and have a reaction, it'd be her fault, even though i assured her i had no such allergy.

As a crampy 16 year old that REALLY pissed me off.

Eh as a crampy 16 year old why would you not bring your own Anadin into school (even keep some spare in your schoolbag)

Why would you expect your teacher to provide/give you some :confused:

amdublin wrote: »
    Eh as a crampy 16 year old why would you not bring your own Anadin into school (even keep some spare in your schoolbag)

Why would you expect your teacher to provide/give you some :confused:

It was one incident, and forgive me for making a human error and not carrying around a medicine cabinet in my schoolbag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Erica<3 wrote: »
    It was one incident, and forgive me for making a human error and not carrying around a medicine cabinet in my schoolbag!

I just finished up in secondary school... Pretty much every girl I know had at least the one pack of panadols in their bag at all times, because they couldn't get them in the medical room.

A few years back a fella fractured his shin bone or something similar whilst cycling into the school ground. To do so he had to go through a GAA car park for the local sports field. There was a thin layer of loose gravel for where the cars were meant to park. Yer man went across the gravel, lost traction and came flying off the bike and messed his leg up, there was a lawsuit against the GAA and school, who shared a joint payout of something like 9,000 euro. Pretty ****ing ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Asha

This plaster incident happened to my daughter as well.

She was in Junior infants & had a fall.

When I collected her she was really upset & pressing a raggy piece of tissue to her(deep enough) cut knee.
    The teacher said we're not covered to put plasters on etc.
    She had been going around like that for most of the day.

I was seriously p***ed off. I mean they could of rang me & I would of gone down & did it myself!

Fair enough they're not insured or whatever but if that's the case they should give me an option to look after at if it's more than a graze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Asha wrote: »
    This plaster incident happened to my daughter as well.

She was in Junior infants & had a fall.

When I collected her she was really upset & pressing a raggy piece of tissue to her(deep enough) cut knee.
    The teacher said we're not covered to put plasters on etc.
    She had been going around like that for most of the day.

I was seriously p***ed off. I mean they could of rang me & I would of gone down & did it myself!

Fair enough they're not insured or whatever but if that's the case they should give me an option to look after at if it's more than a graze.
    Quite frankly, why don't you just file a lawsuit against them for the thing they were doing to protect them from a lawsuit?

Once you've done that, give them a couple minutes to scrape their brains off the ceiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Asha

Quite frankly, why don't you just file a lawsuit against them for the thing they were doing to protect them from a lawsuit?

Once you've done that, give them a couple minutes to scrape their brains off the ceiling.

HaHa:D

I have to face them for the next few years!

But i did have a "chat" with the principal so I don't think it'll happen again:pac: