English absentee landlords look to claim Irish lands back !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

It appears that for this vicar, thieving is next to godliness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

steddyeddy wrote: »
    the irish on a par with the germans and the vikings, What????

German and Scandinavian immigrants into 19th century America. Don't know where you got Vikings from...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

For certain a lot of Irish soldiers in the US army were involved in massacres and shameful treatment of American Indians.

Realy, the Irish immigrants were the lowest of the low and fought to move upwards. And did it very well through Tammany Hall and the Democratic Party.
    Well if you are down at the bottom you aren't realy going to care about Indians.

As we see in the New York draft riots, if you are the bottom why would you fight in the name of freeing slaves who will just end up competing for your jobs when the war is over.

Yes, there were Irish generals and officers in the US Army but very few.
    Irish soldiers and immigrants did shameful things in the British and US army but it wasn't done in the name of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

For certain a lot of Irish soldiers in the US army were involved in massacres and shameful treatment of American Indians.

Realy, the Irish immigrants were the lowest of the low and fought to move upwards. And did it very well through Tammany Hall and the Democratic Party.
    Well if you are down at the bottom you aren't realy going to care about Indians.

As we see in the New York draft riots, if you are the bottom why would you fight in the name of freeing slaves who will just end up competing for your jobs when the war is over.

Yes, there were Irish generals and officers in the US Army but very few.
    Irish soldiers and immigrants did shameful things in the British and US army but it wasn't done in the name of Ireland.

I'm not saying it was done in the name of Ireland (although let's not fool ourselves, we'd have jumped at the chance at a colonial empire if it had presented itself), but just countering the rather simplistic notion that Irish people were never involved in the persecution of indigenous populations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Of course the claimants should be told to eff off and no doubt they will,but it could be said that ,generally,the resident non native landowner in Ireland did not erect tasteless ugly edifices and had some respect for the natural environment if not,in many cases,the local natives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭deravarra

Stinicker wrote: »
    After reading this I took out the deeds to my own land, and amazingly some landlord actually owns the rights to the mineral underneath my own land!!! :eek:

My family received the land from the Irish land commision after the foundation of the Irish state but had been living on the land and paying rent to British landlords for about 100 years before under British rule. If this British guy ever turns up to my doorstep giving me grief about minerals underneath so help me but he will be in big trouble. As for the families in Sligo, they should just ignore him and take no notice of a such a fool.

The English people today are a fine secular liberal race of people, and I have no problems with them, however when a person comes into your country trying to steal your land and property they deserve the full contents of natural justice and whether this guy is a Vicar or a Hindu monk makes no difference he is a knobhead and should not be allowed to stir up such crap. The British lost everything after the Irish defeated them in the War of Independence and people like this guy are only sh!tstirrers.

At the end of the day the land belongs to the Irish people and the strongest law of all is the law of the land, and if anyone tried to ever evict me of my own land especially a British vicar I would simply blow their heads off.

Good man!

Please let me know where to send the christmas cards.... e.g. the 'joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Just after reading the article in the Indo-scanned through the thread,the majority of people have the same feelings as me,disgust.I thought the day's of colonialism,imperialism and absentee landlords was over but obviously not!
    There's still a part of British society that think they have the divine right to ownership of the world and want the days of the Empire brought back.
    This situation could rear it's head in Kerry as parts of the best fishing rivers and hunting lands are still under the control of British Estates-not many people know that, and the Government choose to ignore it.These instances of British Estates claiming ownership of Irish land should be dealt with by the Government here-we are a Republic and no foreign state can lay claim to our land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

if anyone recieved a solicitors letter just burn it and forget about it

There's an Irish solution to an Irish problem.

We've 28 days to turn this land into the biggest halting site in the country.. See how they like the land then.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

steddyeddy wrote: »
    What???? im not saying that the irish were blameless but it was certainly not done in the name of our country
    It depends on what you defined as our country at the time. At the time we were part of the UK, just like Scotland and Wales and England. We were the "British empire" and made up many regiments of their armed forces. Now you can say that the average peasant type was not, but you could say that of the average peasant type in Scotland Wales and yes England too. The ruling class offed a load of stout english yeoman types when they saw fit. Which the descendants of the same stout english types seem to forget today, while they wave little union jacks and say of their queen, "gaaawd bless her". Even with their monarchy, it's been a long time since an actually English person occupied the position. After 1066, it was Viking French and it was nigh on 3 centuries before one of their monarchs could even speak english or married a local. In contrast to Ireland where they got jiggy with locals off the bat(more Irish than the Irish themselves). Hence we got way more fitz's than in Britain. Richard the Lionheart, that so "english" king, could barely string two words together and only lived in the place for 6 months of his life, the rest of the time indulging his hobby of chopping up Saracens for shíts and giggles. The Tudors were mostly welsh and celtic(hence henry the 8th with his red hair, which Lizzy the first inherited) then it was a bunch of austrohungarian types all the way to today. You'll hear english people even reckon they have a constitution, when the only time they had one was under Ollie Cromwell. They've been bullshítted about their history as much as we have and the "common man" has been shat upon nearly as much.

The average two people in these two islands has more in common with each other than they realise. They also share a very long genetic and cultural history too. Why do you think scots gaelic is an Irish dialect? We brought it there, along with christianity and renewed culture(Augustine was well after st Paddy). Crap like this eejits claim only serve to remind us of the BS all of us have been fed for way too bloody long.

Treat it with the contempt it deserves. Its feck all to do with his brand of religion or that he's a vicar either. I seriously doubt much will happen. People would be very much on edge and if the recourse of the law fails, then it may get more vicious.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Now that the outrage bus is full, I was wondering do they have a legal leg to stand on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is he actually going to evict people, because in the Irish Times article they say that they have not authorised any letters to go out that say that.

There has been a big problem on an estate near where i live and there are now several houses that are potentially built on land that they shouldn't have been. The **** storm happened when the new residents tried to stop an existing elderly resident having right of access through their new swanky estate, claiming they owned the private road. Turns out they don't and now several houses may have been built on land belinging to someone else, or only have access through someone else's property.http://cedarlounge.wordpress.com/2007/07/21/this-ireland-1/

If the vicar is trying to make money out of this, then (as said) he is a cnut, if he is just trying to sort out something that wasn't fully resolved 40 years ago, then what is the problem. If this isn't sorted out, then there is the potential that someone could come along in years to come and actually evict these people.

I would hazard a guess and say that there is a lot more to this, but all that is being reported is the senationalist stuff.

Maybe if anyone cares enough, they should contact the couple's solicitor Pat O'Connor (now that's an English proddy bastard name if ever I heard one) and find out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

He quite rightly should be told where to go. There's no danger in this what so ever. Who would uphold such a thing, even in this banana republic? The buck would firmly stop at Biffos door, if he was still there. Judicial separation or not.

Nothing to see here really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

To everyone pushing the "no foreign state can lay claim" etc, it's one person. One. It's not like the queen, or Gordon Brown told him to start this, and they'd follow with the army, and they'd all be drinking tea in Dublin by tea time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

this is not an unusal case. it happenes all the ime. its unsual that the national media publicise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Instead of giving back that land , lets send them a bill for hundreds of years of exploitation where they extracted our natural resources while our people rotted in the gutter and they grew rich. They would probably never be able to pay it back in our lifetime its so large.

Also, the scary thing about this is that our leaders and judiciary are so weak and un-patriotic that I wouldnt be surprised if their claim was upheld!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Instead of giving back that land , lets send them a bill for hundreds of years of exploitation where they extracted our natural resources while our people rotted in the gutter and they grew rich. They would probably never be able to pay it back in our lifetime its so large.

They might send us a bill back for all them slaves we took

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Id like to think our Government ‘the republican party’ FF would tell this vicar to basically **** off and cop on, it isn’t his land, he has no chance of claiming it, it wasn’t theirs to begin with.

But i doubt this will happen, wouldn’t be surprised if FF handed over the keys to the country along with this land to be quite honest!

Also whats with all the protestant bashing, it isn’t about religion so not sure why people keep referring to proddy bastards, that attitude isn’t getting this country anywhere and its not the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I'm investigating the possibility that this vicar does not epitomize, characterize, represent, or speak for all British people.

I'll get back to ye when my research is complete.

Parallel research is being carried out in the UK to establish if Fr. Neil Horan of County Kerry holds a similar status amongst the Irish nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

They might send us a bill back for all them slaves we took

Yeh, and we'd return the bill with one of our own that Cromwell left...

This is despicable of them. I wonder would people like these try the same shit if this was Somalia, Sudan, Zimbabwe?

Folks, we really shouldn't bash the Protestants, remember who sold us out in the first place, and who started Irish Republicanism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

El Siglo wrote: »
    Yeh, and we'd return the bill with one of our own that Cromwell left...

This is despicable of them. I wonder would people like these try the same shit if this was Somalia, Sudan, Zimbabwe?

Just had a quick look at that. Found this bit fascinating
    In 1641, Ireland's population was 1,466,000 and in 1652,
    616,000. According to Sir William Petty, 850,000 were wasted by
    the sword, plague, famine, hardship and banishment during the
    Confederation War 1641-1652.

Those numbers are unbelievable, no wonder we have such a small population with that sh*t going on:mad:

Just had a quick look at that. Found this bit fascinating

Those numbers are unbelievable, no wonder we have such a small population with that sh*t going on:mad:

Didn't help that women and children were sold off as slaves to the West Indies either to pick sugar cane. Robert Fisk wrote a good article in the Indo there last Saturday (I like the caption of this version, even though I read it in the Irish one), it's well worth a read.

Instead of giving back that land , lets send them a bill for hundreds of years of exploitation where they extracted our natural resources

On behalf of the British people, i would like to say sorry for taking all your oil, gas, coal, Tin, copper, diamonds. If you send me and my Nigerian cousin (Who is a real prince) your bank account details, i will send 50 quid for your hardship.

PS, can you please repay some of the €50Bn euro in EU hand outs you received now.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

I hope the residents in the middle of this mess are getting better advice than is being offered here (wipe your arse with the letter, remind the vic. of the 800 years of blah blah etc.).
    That it would be grossly unfair if legal right were on the side of the vicar doesn’t mean that it isn’t. I certainly hope not, but the law is not about being fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

can you please repay some of the €50Bn euro in EU hand outs you received

Why should we repay a handout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

On behalf of the British people, i would like to say sorry for taking all your oil, gas, coal, Tin, copper, diamonds. If you send me and my Nigerian cousin (Who is a real prince) your bank account details, i will send 50 quid for your hardship.

PS, can you please repay some of the €50Bn euro in EU hand outs you received now.

Thanks.

There’s a difference between grants and being robbed.

Thanks.

No.

Why should we repay a handout?

Because that is the general idea of the EU handouts.

They give you money, you use that money to create wealth, you then start contributing to the EU funds so that poorer nations can benefit in the same way.

Not, the EU give you money, you waste it on spending five times more than you should building a few roads, you then ask the EU for more because the property bubble you created has gone bust.

that's not how it works.