Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Tubs Dislikes Boards.....shock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Mcsavages Tv show, was by all accounts.....very good

I disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

DeVore wrote: »
    I take it poorly that he denigrates a site I have put nearly 11 years of my life into, publically on his state-sporsored radio show. Why tar all 1100 forums with the same brush. Unbiased reporting? Fair?
    Will Mr Tubridy allow us a chance to reply? pfffff

DeV.
    go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Sure, the Chess forum is notorious for broadcaster hating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

No it wasnt and teh only reason he got a show in the first place was because of his Fianna Fail connections..just like Gerry Ryan and Tubridy..all snouts in the same rotten trough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

Oh God not the licence fees again. I have to laugh when people moan about their TV licence fee being wasted paying the wages of someone like Ryan Tubridy. When you break it down proably only a few cents of your TV licence goes into Tubs pocket. And if it really means that much to ye please PM me your name and address and I'll personally send on the 20cent of your fee that was wasted on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Was Tubridy referring to boards.ie in particular or all message boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I take it poorly that he denigrates a site I have put nearly 11 years of my life into, publically on his state-sporsored radio show. Why tar all 1100 forums with the same brush. Unbiased reporting? Fair?
    Will Mr Tubridy allow us a chance to reply? pfffff

DeV.

Tweet him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

It was God-awful crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I've never really gotten the Tubs-bashing thing, though now boardsies have a valid reason I'm sure it's going to be stepped up a notch.

I like the guy, so shoot me.

I was an avid 2fm breakfast show listener way back when he came on the scene and it took me a while to warm to him, but I've found great entertainment value in his take on topics and his interviewing style, banter with guests etc. RTE is rife with nepotism, always has been, always will be, but ratings are what keeps Tubs where he is - same with Duffy, Kenny, the Deceased Gerry Ryan.

Bit disappointed to hear about his comments about boards, but then I think it's human nature to shut yourself off from the idea that a medium which constantly berates you in often the most immature and callous of ways (talentless wanker...nice) could actually be a great place. Not the most objective judgement call, but I'd doubt a single poster here would be waxing lyrical about boards.ie if they were subjected to the same level of utter contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Listened to Ryan Tubridy this morning & thought the show was grand.
    It's his second morning doing the show so give him a chance instead of running him into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Dev, you should mail him and ask for right of reply.
    Boards.ie services about 2 Million unique, distinct people in a 90 period. Do we really want to give *them* the ratings bump? :):)

To be fair, I would be happy to debate with him, as I was with Gerry Ryan before him but we made many approaches to them before and they had the nerve to go on air and say they "couldnt contact us for comment" which was baloney.

I'm happy to debate with anyone, I'm proud of Boards and what it has achieved, but I'm not going to waste my time chasing them.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Anybody care to quote what he said or what his actual opinion was?

Did the poor fella click into the Thunderdome?
    And can we sue him for calling us nasty? Since apparently he could do the same to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Did the poor fella click into the Thunderdome?
    You have to be a registered user to view the thunderdome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Gaspode

?? Who is Tubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

To be fair alot of me friends dont like Boards. Not sure why as they have no reason to dislike its but thats their opinions.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason and now ye are actually slating him because he said he doesnt like Boards and thinks its nasty. Can you blame the man?

Not everyone has to like boards. Most people who dont like it dont even have a reason but Tubs certainly does. He is entitled to his own opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bm365 wrote: »
    To be fair alot of me friends dont like Boards. Not sure why as they have no reason to dislike its but thats their opinions.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason and now ye are actually slating him because he said he doesnt like Boards and thinks its nasty. Can you blame the man?

Not everyone has to like boards. Most people who dont like it dont even have a reason but Tubs certainly does. He is entitled to his own opinion.

In a country where you could be met with the greeting 'howye gee-features', its par for the course, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

mstan wrote: »
    Oh God not the licence fees again. I have to laugh when people moan about their TV licence fee being wasted paying the wages of someone like Ryan Tubridy. When you break it down proably only a few cents of your TV licence goes into Tubs pocket. And if it really means that much to ye please PM me your name and address and I'll personally send on the 20cent of your fee that was wasted on him.

thats a few cents too much, pm on the way :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Biggins wrote: »
    Any thoughts? Yea, he's full of schite.

Boards is conversation - Tweets is one minute sound-bites.
    He's talking through his ass again.

lol no, in conversation you are allowed change the topic of conversation whenever you want, and you're don't have someone standing over you waiting to shut you up because they think the conversation has "run it's course"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

thats a few cents too much, pm on the way :cool:

Back of envelope time.

Total number of licence fee payers: around 1.25 million.

20c multiplied by 1.25 million: Euro 250,000.

Tubs salary: around Euro 300,000 (not sure about this, but I think it's about that after his agreement to take a pay cut)

However, I understand that 2FM is pretty much self-funding through advertising, and in any case RTE gets around half its income from non-licence fee sources.

Conclusion: Ditching Tubs would not necessarily lead to a 20c reduction in the licence fee.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason

Er...oh, never mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I like Ryan Tubridy. He seems a good sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

tubs said that boards.ie is nasty? maybe he was reading this thread over his cocoa last night

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056007688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

So he's entitled to call the site "nasty" but other people arent entitled to their opinions of him?

Look what they have done to you, you accept their "higher status". He's just one person with a megaphone.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Scarecrow Tubridy needs to stop his campaign against boards. Of course everyone is nice on Twitter, they're all desperately looking for people to follow them, especially 'famus peepl'.

In any case Tubridy needs to end this hunger strike he's on.

Wait....what were we talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Boards.ie services about 2 Million unique, distinct people in a 90 period. Do we really want to give *them* the ratings bump? :):)
    So technically since boards reaches a bigger audience than he does, you are more famous than him. :pac:

So he's entitled to call the site "nasty" but other people arent entitled to their opinions of him?

What exactly did he say? Did he really call boards.ie 'nasty'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Gaspode wrote: »
    ?? Who is Tubs?

I wondered that too, thought it was a nickname for a fat person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Poly

What exactly did he say? Did he really call boards.ie 'nasty'?

He said boards are mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You would think he has enough to do what with the late late show etc. Why the feck would I want to listen to him on the radio as well? RTE need to invest in some new talent instead of trying to oversell their current dreary presenter lineup and rehashing the same **** over and over.