Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tubs Dislikes Boards.....shock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Abigayle wrote: »
    Never mind them bastards Tubz! :mad:

I'd leave boards for yoo <3

I gotz somefings stuck in my teef. you can helps?
    What? :confused:

Bonito wrote: »
    What? :confused:

I have a feeling she's calling him skinny/toothpick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

bluewolf wrote: »

With a dash of sarcasm :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

DeVore wrote: »
    my only issue is that he voices it against an irish company who are just trying to get by on a national platform....
    How do you know he was referring to boards.ie directly and not internet message boards in general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,490 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The first time I saw Tubridy was in person at a corporate gig just after I moved to Ireland about six years ago. He was pretty good, made a great first impression.

Since he got the Late Late Show, I have seen a couple of his interviews that have been utterly execrable. The one with Dawkins was possibly the most inept, biased, cringeworthy interview I've ever seen on national television. He managed to make me feel sympathy for the man.

I cannot believe that Ireland is so short of talent that Tubridy is employed at RTE at anything above tea-boy level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Its not just Tubridy

Most people who cant understand or take constructive criticism have an issue with this public forum. Yeah sometimes it goes overboard (e.g I think Tubridy should go suck a lemon) but generally the people speak the truth.

A one-liner twitter-style feedback appeals to moronic followers. You learn alot more from your critics than your fans. Far too used to people kissing his bony backside in my opinion.

How does he sleep at night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Its not just Tubridy

Most people who cant understand or take constructive criticism have an issue with this public forum. Yeah sometimes it goes overboard (e.g I think Tubridy should go suck a lemon) but generally the people speak the truth.

A one-liner twitter-style feedback appeals to moronic followers. You learn alot more from your critics than your fans. Far too used to people kissing his bony backside in my opinion.

Makes a lot of sense.

I spent half a second thinking about that, I want it back :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

*Obligatory Simpsons reference*

/Awaits thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Its not just Tubridy
    He's in the ha'penny place compared to Gay Byrne. Now there was a man who could not take criticism!
    Beside the lovely Aoibhinn no doubt! :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TMy objection is when they say we arent available to be contacted or when they say that its all anonymous and isnt policed etc. Thats unfair.
    And its a constant meme that. One Ive heard more than once and I dont listen to much radio. Funny how they say the website is a free for all, yet a fair few who use it say it's akin to the east German Stasi.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

My beef with Tubridy is the fact that he is a very public cultural representative to all celebraties who visit Ireland. Now to make things clear I persoanlly don't really give a flying about what a lot of these peoples opinions of us are, however I do have take pride in our country reputation as conversationalists.

Ryan has a poor understanding of the art of conversation. He does not have the nunces that involve the art of getting an individual to comfortably open themself up, and conduct a two way free flow of ideas, stories and experiences. He is really really bad at it. Not as bad as Pat Kenny, but from a nation that has a reputation as recontours and conversationalists, I really really feel that Ryans performances are relatively inept and embarresing to our reputation.

The primary reason for this is due to his raging ego, which gets in the way of everything. Like a person with any extreme insecurity, he constantly feels a need to prove how funny, witty or cultured he is. This is a huge impediment to any level playing field where meaningful interesting exchange of views can take place. What he doesn't realise is the fact that most people see through his greenhouse facade, and see him for the small person he comes across as.

Listen fair play to him, I only have reservations in regard to the damage he is doing to a few foreign famous people abroad, but I do reserve actual distain for RTE, but thats a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

bluewolf wrote: »

...and here was me thinking it was a reference about fellatio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭GTE

With compete respect for the man Im not going to insult him about anything silly but I will give my observation on what he thinks.

Ive never heard the man really give an opinion on something.
    Ive never heard the man be on one side of an argument and genuinely fight that corner.
    What I think is he is deep down uncomfortable looking at a thread, taking his view and expressing it because its not only his fans reading it. People are there ready to disagree if they feel the need. Something which I dont think he is comfortable dealing with. He cant defend his position despite what he may like us to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

On top of a big pile of money with many beautiful ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Lumen wrote: »
    The one with Dawkins was possibly the most inept, biased, cringeworthy interview I've ever seen on national television. He managed to make me feel sympathy for the man.

That was hard to watch. It was a total attempted appeasement to a (slowly) dying mentality in Ireland that he sees it's his duty to protect for the sake of not rocking the boat. Of course it'd be far too shocking to acknowledge any part of a totally logical argument such as evolution that the 'aul ones down at the church might find upsetting :eek:

What kind of conversation was that? Dawkins laying out common sense viewpoints, and all Tubridy can respond with is 'Sure why would ye say that when we all think this?'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Cianos wrote: »
    That was hard to watch. It was a total attempted appeasement to a (slowly) dying mentality in Ireland that he sees it's his duty to protect for the sake of not rocking the boat. Of course it'd be far too shocking to acknowledge any part of a totally logical argument such as evolution that the 'aul ones down at the church might find upsetting :eek:

What kind of conversation was that? Dawkins laying out common sense viewpoints, and all Tubridy can respond with is 'Sure why would ye say that when we all think this?'.

I watched tubridy and dawkins a few times and found it sickening. I'm sure dawkins must realise that tubridy wasn't speaking for the nation.
    "and what's the vatican......toytown???" yes very clever question there.

It's funny how Gay byrne could interview the KLF about burning a million quid and come accross as a fair unbiased interviewer, and here we have a man in his 30's who seems to have quantam leaped from 1922..."

He thinks he's edgy cutting in on people and asking them odd questions, when to us the viewer he comes accross as poorly researched and ignorant.

"that's not my current book, that was my previous book the God delusion"

"yes but Richard i'm asking the interesting questions....."

cock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

To be honest, I think he's entitled to his opinion... my only issue is that he voices it against an irish company who are just trying to get by on a national platform....(imagine if he went on and described "Guinness" as mean and unpleasant.... do you think Diageo might sue them?? :) ).

But Tubridy has no reason to say that about Guinness. But he does have a motive for saying it about Boards. You have to admit that some people hear throw about silly and stupid remarks about "celebrities" out of pure spite towards that person. So I was only inevitable that it was going to result in Boards getting negative feedback in the media.

That sounds like something Glenn Beck would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I watched tubridy and dawkins a few times and found it sickening. I'm sure dawkins must realise that tubridy wasn't speaking for the nation.
    "and what's the vatican......toytown???" yes very clever question there.

It's funny how Gay byrne could interview the KLF about burning a million quid and come accross as a fair unbiased interviewer, and here we have a man in his 30's who seems to have quantam leaped from 1922..."

He thinks he's edgy cutting in on people and asking them odd questions, when to us the viewer he comes accross as poorly researched and ignorant.

"that's not my current book, that was my previous book the God delusion"

cock

Tubirdy=non league
    Byrne=Premiership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭doc_17

Sorry if someone else mentioned but I think Ian Dempsey had a pop at him in the Star today. Said he wouldn't be a success and thus far he has been insulated by RTE. From listening to his show this morning I didn't think it was great to be honest. But I suspect it'll get better.

So in the meantime boardsies be nice to the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

doc_17 wrote: »
    Sorry if someone else mentioned but I think Ian Dempsey had a pop at him in the Star today. Said he wouldn't be a success and thus far he has been insulated by RTE. From listening to his show this morning I didn't think it was great to be honest. But I suspect it'll get better.

So in the meantime boardsies be nice to the man!

and Pat Kenny agrees with Dempsey!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

M'eh he's been bringing out this kind of stuff before going on about people wirting blogs!!!

He interviewed a couple of bloggers about a year ago, and tbh he came across as really arrogant, egotistical, know nothing eejit*. He even told one of those bloggers to write stuff in a diary instead and put it in the attic rather than publish it.

He's bought into that whole old media thing that no-one bar the appointed ones should ever be able to address the general public.

Ash Williams quote about him having quantum leaped from 1922 is spot on, that kind of outlook might have washed with Radio One's older demographic but anywhere else . . . . hmmm I think he's going to find that it doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

The last time I watched/listened to him was his most recent interview with Gerry Adams on the Late Late. Put your political views aside; it was an absolute disgrace. He reduced himself to a tabloid interviewer, let his biast political view colour the interview.
    Tryed to degrade him regarding family issues and as usual Adams didnt take the bait. Will never listen to the little prick again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Wibbs wrote: »
    So the measured responses in this thread will be ignored and the "X is a knob" posts will be given up as an example of how bad it all is. People will believe it too.
    Too true. Still.. 'X' is a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Cianos wrote: »

Yes basically irish parochialism at its finest just like rte, tubs was rude an aggresive " HANG ON WE HAVE A PRIEST IN THE AUDIENCE AND HE DISAGREES WITH YOU!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

What offended me as a irish man is after a interview with gordon ramsey he stated " ramsey was a little too british for me liking"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

tubridy usually does most of the talking in interviews, he should shut up more and let the guest speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

moonpurple wrote: »
    tubridy usually does most of the talking in interviews, he should shut up more and let the guest speak

I'm sure he gives them enough airtime to plug their latest product. What else do you want to know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

sometimes he gushes non stop

the rapid fire of the ucd main restaurant

or as poet thomas kinsella observed in the 1970/1980's

'dublin umpteenth city of confusion
    the agonized genteel
    theatre for the quick articulate'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Poly

poet thomas kinsella observed in 2009

'dublin umpteenth city of confusion