Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubs Dislikes Boards.....shock!

• 23-08-2010 10:09am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Heard him on air this morning saying he disliked boards as they are just nasty.
    He prefers to tweet, its so nice and he gets intelligent reaction.

Your thoughts?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tweeting is for fags.....boards is where it's at (as I'm here :D)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Any thoughts? Yea, he's full of schite.

Boards is conversation - Tweets is one minute sound-bites.
    He's talking through his ass again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

if television adds 10 pounds, does Ryan tubridy really exist..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

And that's why he prefers Twitter - the only people to comment on his ramblings are his fans (followers) :)

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

And you started this thread to insult him,

you proved him right

clived2 wrote: »
    And you started this thread to insult him,

you proved him right
    He don't need us to put him down.
    He'd doing a grand job of that himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Why doesn't he just feck off back to Radio 1.
    The blue rinse brigade can't find him on 2FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

lol, no Irish celebrity can deal with boards can they?
    if they only came on to defend themselves then people might respect them more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Well if he don't like it, don't read it. Count your money Ryan. Anyone who relentlessly pursues a path on the national airwaves as Tubbers has done really cannot complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

MidlandsM wrote: »
    He's such a wimp is Tubridy ..........heard him on air this morning saying he disliked boards as they are just nasty.

Your thoughts?

Because his Twitter following are his fans. Who doesn't like a bunch of yes men hanging on your every pointless and boring word. As for Ryan, I find his personality comparable to a wooden plank when both on TV and Radio. His wages are not directly comparable to his talent, viewer figures or workload.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

MidlandsM wrote: »
    He's such a wimp is Tubridy ..........heard him on air this morning saying he disliked boards as they are just nasty.

Your thoughts?

......it must be great to be surrounded by people that never disagree with you - it must be mean you're always right.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Kasabian wrote: »
    Why doesn't he just feck off back to Radio 1.

We don't want him on Radio 1. I am glad he has ****ed off back to 2FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kasabian wrote: »
    Why doesn't he just feck off.

fixed your suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Did he give a reason for why he thinks it's nasty? I mean obviously some comments about him are harsh but that reflects more on the person making them than himself.

Just another case of a celeb that doesn't like any negative discussion really

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    We don't want him on Radio 1. I am glad he has ****ed off back to 2FM

Just when you think ya got rid of him, others try to dump him back!
    Pass the unwanted parcel. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

he'll really like this thread then.

Was that a plug for Tony Blair and the Late Late he done as well, or was in genuine that he first heard about it from one of the Redtops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Did he give a reason for why he thinks it's nasty?

Probably because of all you evil internet bloggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The IFI sent out a message on Facebook about Movie Heritage Day, being presented by Tubridy. Most of the replies were in the vain of 'you had me until Tubridy.'

Ah sure these Irish celebs can't take a bit of overly harsh criticism these days. You've put yourself in the public eye so expect some harsh comments, hate mail and begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Nasty, you ain't seen nothing yet.

FAO Tubs:
    Moncrieff covered the red hair conference in Cork on his show on Friday, he was funny, entertaining and charming.
    You covered it today and had to resort to the usual bullying stereotypes and name calling.
    Very poor show today. We look forward to the new season Late Late.

How many times will Twink be on this year btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

no its more of a shock that he's so in demand by rte ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

It's not that much of a shock. RTE is a closed shop. You get a job by being related to or in the pocket of the higher-ups. And being related to Fianna Failers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

so what, i hate this **** aswell,

but its better than "tweeting"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Why? Do you think that any private broadcaster in Ireland would pay him even 40% of his salary in a comparable role? RTE have a long standing tradition of paying extortionate wages for "Stars" regardless of their actual worth. Remove the government subsidy and see how they get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Just tuned in. Is he finished at 11?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Did he give a reason for why he thinks it's nasty? I mean obviously some comments about him are harsh but that reflects more on the person making them than himself.

Might have something to do with the "Tubridy Depreciation Group" thread in the television forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    And that's why he prefers Twitter - the only people to comment on his ramblings are his fans (followers) :)

Are you seated comfortably children?
    Yes.... well then I'll begin
    Once upon a time there lived a vain Emperor whose only worry in life was to dress in elegant clothes. He changed clothes almost every hour and loved to show them off to his people.

Word of the Emperor's refined habits spread over his kingdom and beyond. Two scoundrels who had heard of the Emperor's vanity decided to take advantage of it. They introduced themselves at the gates of the palace with a scheme in mind.

"We are two very good tailors and after many years of research we have invented an extraordinary method to weave a cloth so light and fine that it looks invisible. As a matter of fact it is invisible to anyone who is too stupid and incompetent to appreciate its quality."

The chief of the guards heard the scoundrel's strange story and sent for the court chamberlain. The chamberlain notified the prime minister, who ran to the Emperor and disclosed the incredible news. The Emperor's curiosity got the better of him and he decided to see the two scoundrels.

"Besides being invisible, your Highness, this cloth will be woven in colors and patterns created especially for you." The emperor gave the two men a bag of gold coins in exchange for their promise to begin working on the fabric immediately.

"Just tell us what you need to get started and we'll give it to you." The two scoundrels asked for a loom, silk, gold thread and then pretended to begin working. The Emperor thought he had spent his money quite well: in addition to getting a new extraordinary suit, he would discover which of his subjects were ignorant and incompetent. A few days later, he called the old and wise prime minister, who was considered by everyone as a man with common sense.

"Go and see how the work is proceeding," the Emperor told him, "and come back to let me know."

The prime minister was welcomed by the two scoundrels.

"We're almost finished, but we need a lot more gold thread. Here, Excellency! Admire the colors, feel the softness!" The old man bent over the loom and tried to see the fabric that was not there. He felt cold sweat on his forehead.

"I can't see anything," he thought. "If I see nothing, that means I'm stupid! Or, worse, incompetent!" If the prime minister admitted that he didn't see anything, he would be discharged from his office.

"What a marvelous fabric, he said then. "I'll certainly tell the Emperor." The two scoundrels rubbed their hands gleefully. They had almost made it. More thread was requested to finish the work.

Finally, the Emperor received the announcement that the two tailors had come to take all the measurements needed to sew his new suit.

"Come in," the Emperor ordered. Even as they bowed, the two scoundrels pretended to be holding large roll of fabric.

"Here it is your Highness, the result of our labour," the scoundrels said. "We have worked night and day but, at last, the most beautiful fabric in the world is ready for you. Look at the colors and feel how fine it is." Of course the Emperor did not see any colors and could not feel any cloth between his fingers. He panicked and felt like fainting. But luckily the throne was right behind him and he sat down. But when he realized that no one could know that he did not see the fabric, he felt better. Nobody could find out he was stupid and incompetent. And the Emperor didn't know that everybody else around him thought and did the very same thing.

The farce continued as the two scoundrels had foreseen it. Once they had taken the measurements, the two began cutting the air with scissors while sewing with their needles an invisible cloth.

"Your Highness, you'll have to take off your clothes to try on your new ones." The two scoundrels draped the new clothes on him and then held up a mirror. The Emperor was embarrassed but since none of his bystanders were, he felt relieved.

"Yes, this is a beautiful suit and it looks very good on me," the Emperor said trying to look comfortable. "You've done a fine job."

"Your Majesty," the prime minister said, "we have a request for you. The people have found out about this extraordinary fabric and they are anxious to see you in your new suit." The Emperor was doubtful showing himself naked to the people, but then he abandoned his fears. After all, no one would know about it except the ignorant and the incompetent.

"All right," he said. "I will grant the people this privilege." He summoned his carriage and the ceremonial parade was formed. A group of dignitaries walked at the very front of the procession and anxiously scrutinized the faces of the people in the street. All the people had gathered in the main square, pushing and shoving to get a better look. An applause welcomed the regal procession. Everyone wanted to know how stupid or incompetent his or her neighbor was but, as the Emperor passed, a strange murmur rose from the crowd.

Everyone said, loud enough for the others to hear: "Look at the Emperor's new clothes. They're beautiful!"

"What a marvellous train!"

"And the colors! The colors of that beautiful fabric! I have never seen anything like it in my life!" They all tried to conceal their disappointment at not being able to see the clothes, and since nobody was willing to admit his own stupidity and incompetence, they all behaved as the two scoundrels had predicted.

A child, however, who had no important job and could only see things as his eyes showed them to him, went up to the carriage.

"The Emperor is naked," he said.

"Fool!" his father reprimanded, running after him. "Don't talk nonsense!" He grabbed his child and took him away. But the boy's remark, which had been heard by the bystanders, was repeated over and over again until everyone cried:

"The boy is right! The Emperor is naked! It's true!"

The Emperor realized that the people were right but could not admit to that. He though it better to continue the procession under the illusion that anyone who couldn't see his clothes was either stupid or incompetent. And he stood stiffly on his carriage, while behind him a page held his imaginary mantle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

kfallon wrote: »

This for some reason came to mind.

Twitter, the only use I've ever found about it is finding out about a bomb going off in Belfast. Other than that, it's a pile of monkey spunk.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty much this alright. The "great and the good" in this country have pretty much had an easy ride in the media since the foundation of the state. There was quite a bit of control exercised on news. No tin foil hattism required either. If you were a member of this circle you had to really screwup to have the beady eye put on you. Look at all the scandals and cover ups that have come to public knowledge. Mr Tubridy would certainly have grown up within that older group. The FF/DeValera/Im related to the Kennedys you know? crowd. The reactions to critique may well be an echo of that.

The internet is an area where their control is a lot less than some may feel comfortable about. So they hone in on the "what about the children/it's nasty stuff" to attack it. The older generation who dont know much about the web, will tend to agree with them. Plus the same people were only to happy to turn a blind eye themselves. So the measured responses in this thread will be ignored and the "X is a knob" posts will be given up as an example of how bad it all is. People will believe it too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Rubik. wrote: »
    Might have something to do with the "Tubridy Depreciation Group" thread in the television forum.

Clare Duignan is going to depreciate all RTE divas hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Poly wrote: »
    Moncrieff covered the red hair conference in Cork on his show on Friday, he was funny, entertaining and charming.

Moncrieff understands & likes boards, also he is actually intelligent and witty

RTE = Ryan Tubridy Everyday:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Poly wrote: »
    Clare Duignan is going to depreciate all RTE divas hopefully

Yeah, hopefully so. But it will take a couple years for all the current contracts to be up. Then it will be another 2 years until the new salaries are published. So we will be waiting a while to find out if she does.

Rubik. wrote: »

Had he watched the infomercial "Testicular Fortitude" he might have dealt with it better.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Nodin wrote: »
    Had he watched the infomercial "Testicular Fortitude" he might have dealt with it better.....

He's probably too busy 'researching' the Kennedys and talking to Bono about his back trouble.

parasite wrote: »

Attributes which all boardsies display in abundance, that's why we like his radio show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

So who's this we're talkin' about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tubbriday, Kenny, Whelan, Mooney & the likes of Duffy are the reasons why I'll never pay a TV Licence again.....they can ask me arse and call tomorrow!

Sykk wrote: »
    So who's this we're talkin' about?

Tubs, we are just trying to wind him up to see if we get a mention tomorrow:D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

first they mock us,
    then they ignore us,
    then they attack us,
    then they join us....

thus it has always been.... :)

DeV.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

can we keep it civil please people.... no need for name calling. kthxbai! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

parasite wrote: »

love him on his newtalk show...nice and relaxed and it's great to listen to a show where you can laugh at whatever he brings up..
    Got sick of listening to Matt Cooper and in general about those díckheads in the dail etc..I just get too angry at what they've done to this country.

He's a nice lad really. He can clean my toilet-bowl anytime.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

OK Folks I'll have to point to this sticky here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055985023
    posted by Dav which reflects the stance we mods must take on posts like this. Discussion is OK but out and out abuse is not. I have snipped a few posts with unnecessary insults and a few quoting them too as a result of this. If you have any questions PM me. "His show is terrible, he can't present" alright "Talentless wanker / knob end" type stuff is not.
    PM for clarification.

Tubbriday, Kenny, Whelan, Mooney & the likes of Duffy are the reasons why I'll never pay a TV Licence again.....they can ask me arse and call tomorrow!

Kenny is grand on the radio, and even the TV, as long as hes dealing with serious stuff. They ditched Marty whelan more than once at short notice, and he's fully aware of his 'mortality'.

Its the sheer arrogance of Duffy, Byrne (who still hasn't entirely fucked off), Brendan O'Poxy Connor and Tubs (who adds smugness to the bill), plus a few others in the media. They might be able to perform in front of a camera (along with other performers like Bonzo and Ron Jeremy), but when it comes to pronouncements about society in general, they just don't have the intellectual wherewithal to carry it off. Faced with critcism or worse - having to debate with someone when they aren't in control - they whinge and run.

Plus they can't take a slagging, which is always a bad sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I dislike Tubridy as I don't feel he represents the country well when interviewing visitors from abroad, also i feel he is very ignorant on subjects out of his comfort zone and unwilling to listen. He has also failed on every attempt a guest has made to be spontaneous. Boring, condecending (beardyman), and extremely overpaid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

if television adds 10 pounds, does Ryan tubridy really exist..?

*waves at Ryan*

If your going to insult somone, try to do like Ash here, who provides his
    own insights on why he dislikes Tubridy, and not just flat out insults of peolple, who have seen a bandwagon and just want to hop on
    I dislike Tubridy as I don't feel he represents the country well when interviewing visitors from abroad, also i feel he is very ignorant on subjects out of his comfort zone and unwilling to listen. He has also failed on every attempt a guest has made to be spontaneous. Boring, condecending (beardyman), and extremely overpaid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

you're doing it wrong.

Twitter can be very handy for communication with companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

fecking twitter!