Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

VIS VIRES wrote: »
    So would i..

There was an U90kg comp held in NI this year..
    I read on one of the strongman pages on facebook that they were looking at holding one in the republic next year..

Yeah I remember hearing something about that. Any idea what the events were?! I'll have to look around and see if I can find them.

<<DJ Yo-yo-yo-yo-yoda...>>

Military Press:
    40kg x5
    60kg x5
    67.5kg 2x5

Push Press:
    82.5kg 2x5

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg 2x5

C2B Pull Ups:
    bodyweight 2x5

Barbell Curls:
    42kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack x5
    stack +15kg 2x5

Happy out. Flew threw everything today. Not a whole lot of rest between anything... just flowed thru it all. The push presses were ridiculously comfortable.

Hanley wrote: »
    Yeah I remember hearing something about that. Any idea what the events were?! I'll have to look around and see if I can find them.

Here we go;

• Farmers Walk, Yoke & Carry Medley - This event started the competition - the competitors had to lift & carry a cast iron disc weighing 90kg 15m, run back and pick up 2 x farmers walk 100 kg in each hand and carry them the length of the course, run back and pick a massive 260kg Yoke and carry the length of the course. Fastest time wins!

• Steel Log Lift – Maximum weight overhead - Heaviest weight pressed wins!

• Arm over Arm rope pull - Each competitor had to pull a bunch of heavy chains with added weights totally 350kg (over 55 stones) 15m from a seated position arm over arm for the fastest time or furthest distance

• Stones of Strength – 4 massive atlas stones ranging from 90kg to 126kg - Fastest time to find the winner

• Deadlifting – Repititions in a frame lifting a massive Cast iron Axle - Most reps wins!

• Beer barrel loading – 4 Barrels loaded onto platform - Fastest time or most barrels loaded = the winner!

<<Welcome to the hotel california>>

Bench:
    60kg x8
    80kg x8
    102kg x8
    112kg x8
    122.5kg x8 - WOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!! Motherf*ckin' bench PR!!!

HS Bench:
    70kg x15
    80kg x12
    90kg x10
    100kg x7
    110kg x6
    120kg x4

Preacher Curl:
    20kg x15
    25kg x12
    30kg x10
    35kg x6
    40kg x4
    45kg x2

Seated Dumbbell Curl:
    15kg 'bells 3x12

Military Press:
    20kg x15
    30kg x12
    40kg x10
    50kg x8
    55kg x6
    60kg x4

Hello bench PR!! I HAVEN'T been expecting you. That was wild... Dunno where it came from. Esp after a tough training week. It's a cheap PR, just by 2.5kg, but I'm 15kg lighter than 120 x8 so I'll take it!! Not sure where I'll go from there... the plan was 100 x8, 110 x5 and 120 x3 today. So ehhhh.... yay? Maybe 105 x8, 115 x5 and 125 x3 next week and add 2.5kg per week to the top set per week from there.

HS benching was alright. Chest was firing weird on it - I assume because my shoulders are in good shape and decently strong now, my chest is FINALLY the weak link. I'll add 5kg next week to each set.

Preacher Curls were gas. I swear the lower rep sets were pumping me more. Gonna stick with those weights til I go 15-12-10-8-6-4 all the way thru.

Seated dumbbell curls were grand. To 17.5kg next week.

Military Press was horrifically hard. I suppose my front delts got a pounding all the way thru, but still. I'll go to 60 x6 and 65 x4 next week, working towards 70 x4 at the end of the session.

<<I wander out where I can't see...>>

Hip Mobility - 5 movements

Power Cleans:
    60kg 3x2
    80kg x2
    90kg x2
    100kg x1
    110kg x1
    115kg x1
    120kg x1

Military Press:
    50kg x5
    67.5kg 2x5

Fat Bar/Axle Push Press:
    50kg x3
    70kg x3
    80kg x1
    90kg x1
    100kg x1
    110kg x1
    115kg x1
    120kg - 3 misses

Squat (beltless):
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x2
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    200kg x1 - PR

Fat Bar/Axle clean and press:
    50kg x2
    60kg -miss, then x1
    70kg x1
    80kg x1
    90kg x1
    100kg x1
    110kg x1
    120kg - 2 misses

Prowler Push:
    +40kg - 3 trips of 30 meters, 7 trips of 20 meters, 1 trip of 30 meters

SERIOUS session in Raw today with L, G86, Cardio and COH. The gym's savage. Really, REALLY like the place. Would love to train there regularly but it's just too awkward to get to.

My lifting went great. Haven't power cleaned in 2-3 months and I'm still at 93% of my PR while weighing slightly less.

Pressing was grand, even tho I'd a big session yesterday and the day before I didn't feel hindered.

Decided to play with the fat bar cos it was there.... it's really nice putting it over head. Tried 120kg 3 times and just couldn't get it thru. I suppose I'm not at 100% cos of all the volume recently so I shan't complain.

Squatting was incredible. Dunno where it came from. Again, first time in about 2-3 months I've actually back squatted... and even during that time it's been all moderate front squats and no real heavy lower body work, just ultra high frequency with the thrusters and front squats. Guess the break from heavy stuff was beneficial. Couldn't go fully low bar cos of my shoulder, but am confident I could hit 210+ with a bit of actual training.

There was a strongman competitor in doing fat bar clean and presses (2 inch bar - the same size as the olympic bar sleeves) so I had to try them. Failed miserably with 60kg, asked him how to do it and I just kept going. Definitely like the movement.

The prowler's a disgrace. Disgusting piece of equipment.

I did various bar muscle ups, C2B pull ups and ring pull ups all the way thru as well...

Everyone lifted well too, gratz to G86 on finally sacking up and DL'n near PR weights again.

Also a huge shout to COH for sorting us out today. Really appreciated buddy, we'll have to get together and train soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

that sticking point on the push press was unbelievably high, well sorted for it.

squats where very fast btw.

that sticking point on the push press was unbelievably high, well sorted for it.

squats where very fast btw.

What did I say to you about not forcing thru and pushing back on presses?! Pot..kettle much?

The 200kg didn't feel too bad tbh, my hamstring's just flexed too hard for my liking and they were already tender from CP earlier in the week so I left it cos there was no point injuring myself after already hitting a PR.

And after all that.... only my abs are sore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Ha! we will see whats sore after your session today!

<<BREEEEEEEAK>>

Yoke Walks (plus the yoke itself):
    30 meter walks
    90kg
    130kg
    160kg
    190kg

Famers Walks:
    30 meter walk
    70kg per hand - 2 trips
    100kg per hand - 1 trip

Clean and Push Press:
    60kg x10
    80kg 2x10

Log Press:
    75kg 2x6
    85kg 3x3

Stones:
    140kg - 1 attempt, lapped it, but FML

Car Pull:
    slight incline - about 25 meters

Oh sweet jaaaaaaaaaysus. 3 hours of pain.

The yoke is f*cking awful. I hate it. It's awkward. It's uncomfortable and it just doesn't make sense. I couldn't get the hang of it at all. Was flopping all over the place on me and smacked me HARD in the back of the head a couple of times.

The farmers walks were grand, was expecting them to be any trouble really.

More pressing... seems to be all I do.

The log press was funky. The one we were using is A LOT thicker than a comp standard log, so a lot more difficult too obviously. Happy enough with the weight, confident it'll move up as I use it more.

The stones... FML the stones. I got the 140kg one to my lap and started to extend but it just wasn't in the right place. My back was fooooooked after it. Could barely stand. Felt like I'd done serious damage, then one of the lads told me he remembered his first try with the stones and it was similar. Started to loosen up again after that so should be alright.

The car pull was brutal. So difficult on an incline, there was no chance to rest.

Amazing fun tho. Can't wait for next week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

The yoke is f*cking awful. I hate it. It's awkward. It's uncomfortable and it just doesn't make sense. I couldn't get the hang of it at all. Was flopping all over the place on me and smacked me HARD in the back of the head a couple of times.

Was the super yolk a solid frame, or one of Garry K's yolks with chains on either side?

_JOE_ wrote: »
    Was the super yolk a solid frame, or one of Garry K's yolks with chains on either side?

Solid frame dude. Still a beach to control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Where did you do all this? sounds cool/sore :)

JJayoo wrote: »
    Where did you do all this? sounds cool/sore :)

I just know the right people dude!! I was training w/ a WSM competitor, the guy who came second in Ireland's strongest man and the guy who won the u105's. Unbelievable group of guys. So so lucky that I got in.

Ironside's gonna have everything and more when it eventually opens so be patient!!

<<America... baseball bat>>

Military Press:
    50kg x5
    72.5kg 2x5

Push Press:
    87.5kg 2x5

Bench:
    60kg x5
    85kg x5
    110kg 2x5

C2B Pull Ups:
    bodyweight 2x6

Pulldown Abs:
    plate 60 outside 2x5

Barbell Curls:
    50kg 2x5

Decent session. Just wanted to do something to loosen out.

The pressing was grand... push press was easy... bench was fine.

Everything else... mneh not gonna waste my time commenting cos it's just what it was.

<<The club can't handle me right now...>>

Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg x15
    35kg x12
    42.5kg x10
    45kg x8
    50kg x11

Incline Bench:
    52kg x15
    62kg x12
    72kg x10
    77kg x8
    82kg x6
    87kg x6

Barbell Curls:
    32kg x15
    37kg x12
    42kg x10
    47kg x8
    50kg x6
    52kg x4

One Arm Barbell Curls:
    22kg x11-6-4rp

Hammer Strength Jammer:
    40kg x5
    50kg x5
    60kg x5
    70kg x5
    80kg x5
    90kg x5

Good solid session.

Dumbbell bench went from 5 reps last week to 11 this week... Sometimes I think my body doesn't know what it wants to do. I just pushed harder this week and stopped being a coward. Probably go to the 55's next week and start on the 35's. Work down from there.

Incline bench was solid, I'll go +5kg across the board next week. My chest was riddled with soreness after it. Seems to be getting my shoulder strength up has revealed that there's a big weakness in my chest....

Curls were exceedingly ghey as usual but strong biceps will be important for strongman so it's ok. Was actually a bit tough on my shoulder, but whatev's.

The jammer was great craic. I've sorted a good position off it. Basically like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evpV3YdDcKA Should carry over well to log pressing, push presses etc

The motivation's back. I'm training hard and loving it. Watch this space.

<<Pop ya collar...>>

Coan-Phillipi Week 2

Deadlift (beltless):
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x2
    140kg x2
    170kg x2
    190kg x1
    210kg x2

"Speed" Pull (beltless):
    170kg 8x3 - 90 seconds between sets

---GIANT SET, 3 ROUNDS W/ 60 SECONDS BETWEEN EXERCISES---

SLDL:
    130kg x8

Bent Over Row:
    85kg x8

Chins:
    bodyweight x8

Good Mornings:
    75kg x8

Happy out. Still not recovered full from Strongman on Sunday. Little bit sluggish thru everything today. The 210kg moved smoothly. Wouldn't be "fast" but not a grinder either. 220kg x2 next week'll go alright.

The circuit was grand, +10 on the SLDLs and GM's, +5 on the rows. Might move up +5kg on the chins too.

Back's feeling ok after it nearly exploded lapping the 140kg stone on Sunday, but there feels like there's some SERIOUS knots around my left scap/trap. Damn thing felt like it was gonna tear right off today. I'll get rolling on it tonight.

<<Sorry you're not....>>

One Arm Dumbbell Push Press:
    17.5kg x3 (each set per arm)
    22.5kg x3
    27.5kg x3
    32.5kg x3
    37.5kg x3
    42.5kg x3

Military Press:
    50kg x5
    72.5kg 2x5

Push Press:
    87.5kg x5

Bench:
    62kg x5
    82kg x5
    102kg x5

Lots of rolling, stretching etc

Short, sharp and sh!t. Big improvement since the last time I tried dumbbell push pressing. Awkward, but alright like.

Pressing was grand, push pressing was wrecking my upper back - everything feels compressed up there, I'm blaming the yoke from Sunday. Rolled, had people cracking and walking on my back, but no relief. Ugh!!

Left early so I could live to fight again another day. Benching tomorrow. Funnage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

<<Sorry you're not....>>

One Arm Dumbbell Push Press:
    17.5kg x3 (each set per arm)
    22.5kg x3
    27.5kg x3
    32.5kg x3
    37.5kg x3
    42.5kg x3

IDIBISPDI??! :pac: :pac: :pac:

Parsley wrote: »
    IDIBISPDI??! :pac: :pac: :pac:

IDIBISG(rahamer)DI

<<You know I know how...>>

Bench:
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    105kg x8
    115kg x5
    125kg x3
    105kg x8
    115kg x5
    125kg x6 - sh!te

Hammer Strength Bench:
    75kg x15
    85kg x12
    95kg x10
    105kg x8
    115kg x6
    125kg x4

3OH!3 Preacher Curls:
    15kg barbell 3x12

Machine Preacher Curls:
    started with stack minus 5 plates, added a plate per set and went;
    15-12-10-8-6-4

HS Seated Shoulder Press:
    50kg x15
    60kg x12
    70kg x10
    80kg x8
    90kg x6
    100kg x8

FCUK.MY.LIFE the pain I was in all the way thru was unbearable. My upper back is absolutely DESTROYED. The only time I've ever exp'd pain this bad was prep for this years nationals with my elbows. Had to stop training 2x and make my way to a bin cos I thoguht I was gonna spew from the pain.

Benching was mneh. Shoulda got more with 125 but I guess I was in a serious amount of pain and had done a good bit of work beforehand. Up 2.5kg next week.

HS bench was grand. Piece of cake. 5kg more next week.

Had to take easy weight curls this week in the hopes of protecting my upper back a bit. Felt alright on them. The machine curls were sh!t form wise but whatever.

HS seated press was grand. Horrible getting into position, but alright after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

would you ever **** off benching for a few months!!

I tried that.... it only got stronger.

OW MY ****ING NECK.

3 hours of sleep because of it. That is all.

<<I bust the windows out your car...>>

Bradford Press:
    42kg 3x12

Arnold Press:
    20kg 'bells 3x10

Preacher Curls:
    25kg x30-16-10 - 30 second rest periods

Incline Dumbbell Curls:
    15kg 'bells 2x10

Seated Dumbbell Curl:
    15kg 'bells x13-9-11

Kev M programmed for me today. I did my Bradford Presses and had no idea what else to do so I left it up to him. Nice pump from everything and my upper back got thru it alright as well. Lil bit stiff to one side now, but seems to be easing out daily so hopefully that'll continue.

Went to watch the lads event train afterwards, cleaned and pressed a 75kg log to see how I felt, "stiff" was the answer. Glad I didn't try to train wit them today.

This week'll be relatively easy training wise. Well, the next 4 days will anyway. FAE's start tomorrow and I'm trying to avoid f*cking up my neck further for them. 4.5 hours looking down at an exam paper with a sore neck would not be ideal.

<<Now I'm down in Tribeca>>

Military Press:
    40kg x5
    60kg x5
    72.5kg x5

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    110kg 2x5

Rolling Dumbbell Extenstions:
    17.5kg 'bells 3x12

Pushdowns (outside w/ straight bar):
    stack 3x10

Pushdowns (outside w/ rope):
    half stack x20

Kneeling Pulldowns:
    3x12

Not a whole lot done, just getting some movements in. Benching was REALLY easy today. Woulda loved to get a tight set up and take a crack at 130 x5+

Decided to do some triceps today to compliment my bicep workout yesterday.

Pulldowns were aggravating my neck a lil so I left them alone.

Woulda loved to get a tight set up and take a crack at 130 x5+

Seriously, PISS OFF!!!

If I take a break and go hard at my over head press for 3 weeks would that be ok?

that's very acceptable.