what have you found after you moved into a new gaff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Dean820 wrote: »
    My friend found a black dildo in the drawer next to his bed when he moved in.

hahahahah I'd say that was gas craic altogether, I'd crack up if I found somehing like that

would feel sorry for the person/s who were hiding alcohol around the house and delighted for the ones who find forgotten savings hidden away. I always have a good scour around in a new place. ya never know what ya might find like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Just dust and ciggy butts do they count! Relatively new apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Just dust and ciggy butts do they count! Relatively new apartment.

meh

Elevator wrote: »
    meh
    meh?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Ush1 wrote: »
    I didn't but I'm sure I can, might be round there later.

please do,youve got our interest now:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

A rather nice pair of expensive ladies underwear in the hotpress. That was the best treasure I have found in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

ciano1 wrote: »
    I found maddie!

not funny.

True.

Some of us don't have skeletons in the closet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Elevator wrote: »
    Anybody find anything significant, illegal, dirty after you moved into your new place

be it in the attic, under floorboards, hidden stash spot in a wall etc

spill the beans :)

I bought a house in East Wall, and old Dublin Corporation house built around 1935 and in an old cubbyhole I found an Irish Times from Easter Week 1916.

My father has it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Fizgig Bandicoot

Nothing more than loads of condom wrappers under the bed and a few old shoes.
    Also an extremely realistic looking plastic spider that I approached with caution (quaking in boots) and a hoover. Man, i felt silly!.:)

Nothing more than loads of condom wrappers under the bed and a few old shoes.
    Also an extremely realistic looking plastic spider that I approached with caution (quaking in boots) and a hoover. Man, i felt silly!.:)

you're afraid of spiders but not afraid of used condom wrappers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Fizgig Bandicoot

They weren't used condoms, just the wrappers. So, no I'm not afraid of them. Spiders, on the other hand.....shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I bought a house in East Wall, and old Dublin Corporation house built around 1935 and in an old cubbyhole I found an Irish Times from Easter Week 1916.

My father has it now.
    That's pretty cool. My neighbours found a paper reporting the sinking of the Titanic when they were cleaning out their attic.

They weren't used condoms, just the wrappers. So, no I'm not afraid of them. Spiders, on the other hand.....shudder.

Ok thats fair enough! Wrappers are ok then...spiders?? thought was only girls who were afraid of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

One summer we rented a horrible student gaff for a 3 month partying session. When we were moving out, we hid cheese EVERYWHERE. in the fully rolled out blinds, behind the fridge, in the fire blanket, under the tv, in the shower head, in the toilet cistern, under mattresses etc etc. (we were horrible little sh1ts).

The next summer for some idiotic reason we decided to rent the same place again. we found all our cheese. All of it, not one piece had been discovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Nothing exciting but the previous tenants of my apartment were Polish and the cupboards contained loads of empty food tubs. It's great fun trying to guess what used to be in them, the labels suggest various rancid, kebaby looking meat :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

zuroph wrote: »
    One summer we rented a horrible student gaff for a 3 month partying session. When we were moving out, we hid cheese EVERYWHERE. in the fully rolled out blinds, behind the fridge, in the fire blanket, under the tv, in the shower head, in the toilet cistern, under mattresses etc etc. (we were horrible little sh1ts).

The next summer for some idiotic reason we decided to rent the same place again. we found all our cheese. All of it, not one piece had been discovered.

Ahh the days when you could afford to hide money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

I found a Bose surround sound system worth around €2K under my stairs in my current place.

I rented a gaff in the US that had a sh!t load of blood stains all over the place! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

A mate of mine found a few old photos of the previous owner and his wife in the attic when he moved in a few years ago. They were bollock naked, fat, pale and rather hairy. The photos were fairly kinky aswell, I'll leave it at that.

Your man still lives in the same town and hasn't a clue about the photos, lucky for him my mate hasnt really shown them around.
    But if that kinky fecker ever wins the lotto Im sure my mate will be somehow getting a share of the winnings too :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

Underneath a bedroom desk "my password is mammy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

In an apartment I rented a few years ago I found karma sutra book along with empty bottles of durex play and 200 duty free cigarettes unopened :D they were on top of a build in wardrobe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Makicomi wrote:

My father has it now.

You bettered mine. I found a paper from sept 5th, 1939!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Dean820 wrote: »
    My friend found a black dildo in the drawer next to his bed when he moved in.

Did he sniff it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I found a pretty gold braclet.... :)

I also stole a full length mirror from one of the last places I lived in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kylith wrote: »
    That's pretty cool. My neighbours found a paper reporting the sinking of the Titanic when they were cleaning out their attic.

I'll try get my father is scan some of the front page - if it doesn't damage it.

He got onto The Irish Times when I gave it to him, they asked for it, but he's a bit of an amateur Dublin historian so wanted to keep possession of it so the people in The Times gave him instructions on storing it and some special paper to wrap it.

Its brilliant reading, with some reports of the fighting and people killed, wounded & arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

• A display box of ky jelly (one tube was opened)
    • an engineering degree
    • a Box Brownie camera
    • Several newspaper clippings from the 1940's about the Irish car industry ... I think it was a Ford factory somewhere in Cork
    • a push bike, of the high nelly type, with the name "Duff" written on the saddle
    • a wooden leg (used), with two interchangeable right feet, size 9
    • men's magazines from the 1950's ... I think they were called "Stag" ... they were very soft porn, might have been really racy at the time, but

These all were found in the same house, and I often wonder about the person who lived there ... some people lead a really full life

trout wrote: »
    • A display box of ky jelly (one tube was opened)
    • Several newspaper clippings from the 1940's about the Irish car industry ... I think it was a Ford factory somewhere in Cork
    • men's magazines from the 1950's ... I think they were called "Stag" ... they were very soft porn, might have been really racy at the time, but
    These all were found in the same house, and I often wonder about the person who lived there ... some people lead a really full life

Did that really exist in the 1940's/1950's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

Did that really exist in the 1940's/1950's?

From memory, the ky jelly box was from the 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

kylith wrote: »
    I found about 40 used condoms behind the bed. What's worse is I know the guy who had the room before me, and rather fancied him until I had to spend an evening cleaning up his spooge filled litter.

Do you reckon he got his end away quite regularly or he liked to indulge in 'posh ****'???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Truley wrote: »
    Nothing exciting but the previous tenants of my apartment were Polish and the cupboards contained loads of empty food tubs. It's great fun trying to guess what used to be in them, the labels suggest various rancid, kebaby looking meat :P

Swan perhaps???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

kfallon wrote: »
    Swan perhaps???

ah not this one again