Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCUFM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 naturejinx

Benny Lava wrote: »
    Tune into DCUfm today at 5 o'clock. You can win a bottle of wine!!!!!!!!!

Are you allowed offer alcohol as prizes on campus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Wine? These are college students!

Also one bottle? Honestly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Don't worry that was all double-checked through the appropriate channels, there was no problem with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

robby^5 wrote: »
    Did you people make that bottle of wine yourselves?

If not I will have nothing to do with you and am appalled.

Right Robert, I don't know what the hell you're on about but if you are appalled by shameless attempts to get people to listen then us at DCUfm are glad you want nothing to do with us.
    phasers wrote: »
    Wine? These are college students!

Also one bottle? Honestly...

We would offer a six pack of Dutch Gold but that would involve spending money. The wine was free, so why not?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Right Robert, I don't know what the hell you're on about but if you are appalled by shameless attempts to get people to listen then us at DCUfm are glad you want nothing to do with us.

TARGET FAILURE TO DETECT SARCASM.

ABORTING ATTEMPT AT HUMOUR.

robby^5 wrote: »
    TARGET FAILURE TO DETECT SARCASM.

ABORTING ATTEMPT AT HUMOUR.

My response was also quite sarcastic.

Anyway, the OP (a person I know) created this thread to criticise the hell out of DCUfm and all he has done is caused more attention to be directed at DCUfm.

Oh trolls, when will ye learn?

We would offer a six pack of Dutch Gold but that would involve spending money. The wine was free, so why not?!
    Gotta spend money to make money :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

Gotta spend money to make money :cool:
    I agree.
    If the prize were a six pack of dutch gold I would be slightly interested, sadly it's wine :(

Tune into today at 5. There won't be a six pack of Dutch Gold on offer, but you will get to hear a two hour World Cup special of Action Replay featuring interviews with Jimmy Magee, George Hamilton and Stephen Alkin.

Let the belittling of the guests by trolls commence.

Well I've never heard of them, but I know feck all about sport so for all I know they could be the leading sport...ists in the country.

I refuse to tune in until you do a Dutch Gold competition.

Well I've never heard of them, but I know feck all about sport so for all I know they could be the leading sport...ists in the country.

I refuse to tune in until you do a Dutch Gold competition.

Well, we're done for this academic year but the Dutch Gold competition will be top of the agenda next October.

Good man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

a two hour World Cup special of Action Replay featuring interviews with Jimmy Magee, George Hamilton and Stephen Alkin.

Let the belittling of the guests by trolls commence.

Pity I missed it, is it available to listen to anywhere?

It will be in a week or two. I have both Tuesdays and Wednesdays show recorded but I'm not going to get a chance to upload them to our podcast until the next time I'm home from college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Slobodan Milosevic

Having listened to a number of DCUfm shows, one must remark on the low level of broadcasting capabilities.
    It appears the mojority of presenters are in-ept in the skills required to interview another of the human race.
    While i do accept, they are only students, I see this as a radio statuion drawn up on the back of a cigarrete box.
    Why don't presenters have to complete a certain level of training before they throw them a microphone?

XXX

Mr. Milosevic (I could just as easily call you by your real name but I won't) you are more than welcome to present a show next year if you believe you can improve the standard of DCUfm.

Ok turns out we've managed to get our podcasts uploaded far quicker than I thought! All the interviews during our 2 shows this week can be found here, GAA guests at the top, soccer guests underneath.

Don't mind him Benny, he was banned for trolling

I find it depressing that DCU has a "School of Communications" and its college radio station isn't even on the radio.

Cork Campus Radio: 97.4 FM (UCC)
    Flirt FM: 101.3 (NUIG)
    Wired FM: 96.8 FM (UL)
    Trinity FM: 97.3 FM (Trinity, obviously)

None of these Universities have as many media-related courses as DCU, yet they have all managed to make their way onto the old FM. There could well be others as well, but I think the list is daunting enough as it is. The awards season has shown that there is quality in the broadcasting on DCUfm but the fact that it's still a stream-only station sort of makes a mockery of "Ireland's Best College Radio Station".

I find it depressing that DCU has a "School of Communications" and its college radio station isn't even on the radio.

Cork Campus Radio: 97.4 FM (UCC)
    Flirt FM: 101.3 (NUIG)

None of these Universities have as many media-related courses as DCU, yet they have all managed to make their way onto the old FM. There could well be others as well, but I think the list is daunting enough as it is. The awards season has shown that there is quality in the broadcasting on DCUfm but the fact that it's still a stream-only station sort of makes a mockery of "Ireland's Best College Radio Station".

The reason why this has happened was already discussed at the start of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

Having listened to a number of DCUfm shows, one must remark on the low level of broadcasting capabilities.
    It appears the mojority of presenters are in-ept in the skills required to interview another of the human race.

XXX

As crude as this may sound, I like it very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Those two are on temporary licences from the BAI, so only operate for a week or two per year.

I just came to say hello.

Sup Slobo

And you'll be saying goodbye if you don't start posting anything constructive.

Hello.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

HI :D

No need to be so argumentive Daysha, maybe the stress of this semi-final with Tipp is getting to ya. BTW any chance of getting me back on the aul-GAA forum?

On the issue of DCUfm, I think the station is fantastic. Theres nothing I like better after a hard days lectures then to listen to the homies on the wireless.
    I'd like to congratulate them on the successful year and wish them continued success for the forthcoming year.

Benny, you seem very intersested in the development of this wireless station. Is there any reason for that now?

Phasers, hows all in hell? Hitler behaving himself down there yeh :D

SLOBO
    xxx

Benny, you seem very intersested in the development of this wireless station. Is there any reason for that now?

I'm just a little frustrated about the problems that have prevented this station from making it onto the radio. I'm not trying to criticise the presenters or anything but I just would find it embarrassing to admit to people that I have featured on a "radio" station that isn't even on the radio.

Not bad slobo, You wouldn't believe how close to the mark South Park is about this place ;)