Attack on students in Gaeltacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In fact many of the Munchies were Scottish, the nephews and cousins of people from the area whose families had emigrated to Scotland and who would come back for the summer.

I thought the munchies came from smokin' de weed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

bit of a crack sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Skangers in Donegal? Who'd a thunk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Skangers in Donegal? Who'd a thunk it.

Says the man from Dublin 15.

No skangers in Blanchardstown & Balbriggan these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Poor kids, was the attack completely unprovoked though? The newspaper seems a bit sketchy on the details leading up to the fight. I wodner were these victims just randomly chosen. I'm not attempting to condone the horrific attack by any means but there's usually two sides to every story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Says the man from Dublin 15.

No skangers in Blanchardstown & Balbriggan these days?

Ye startin' buddy????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

Poor kids, was the attack completely unprovoked though? The newspaper seems a bit sketchy on the details leading up to the fight. I wodner were these victims just randomly chosen. I'm not attempting to condone the horrific attack by any means but there's usually two sides to every story.

I dont know the details either, but I live not too far from there, and the local lads are known for startin random fights.

Now for all I know, they were provoked by the students ( not that that would make it ok) but I somehow dont think it would have taken much for them to start attacking them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭happyfriday74

I remember the munchies, local lads who thought they were it.

They chase after all the women in the irish college, you'd have 18 19 year old munchies chasing birds well younger then them. If you were with a girl they liked they would often tell you to break her and threaten you with a beating if you didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Donegal has it's fair share of scum bags , I always put it down to the fact that no one wants them. Even the Brits couldn't be arsed pulling them in. They are just isolated .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

my girlfriend is from the far north of donegal, and because of the locals i fcuking hate going up there. they have this poxy chip on their shoulder about people from dublin, and i've often been started on because some prick heard my accent at the bar or while ordering in the chipper. i was once talking to a lad in a bar about how far away the bar was from my girlfriend's house, and some cnut came up and started giving me grief about how i "probably only have to walk up the road for milk". well, excuse me for choosing to live in a county with reasonably modern infrastructure.

personally i get more annoyed than worried by such pricks, but it's tiresome and i just don't have the time of day for anyone of the boy-racer age bracket up there. every last one of them is a boy-racer too.

the lesson kids, is stay out of donegal. it's a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

I was at Ranafast about 7/8 years ago. Encountered the 'munchies' once or twice. Knuckle-dragging red necks for the most part.
    Anyway, a group of us were walking home around 9.30-10 when a gang of mutants, a good bit older than us jumped out from behind a wall. Started shouting insults and pushing us and stuff. Anyone who tried to defend themselves got turned on by two or three. Then the glass bottles started flying so we decided fu`ck this, and legged it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Blindside87

Why don't we start our own gangs around the country and find these skobes...vigilante groups are the way forward at this rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

genericguy wrote: »
    some cnut came up and started giving me grief about how i "probably only have to walk up the road for milk"
    :D Scraping the barrel for reasons to start a fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

If I know Donegal Mothers....and I do, those lads who used Hurls in a fight will not be able to walk for a week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭happyfriday74

THe dublin chip on the shoulder thing was true, everything was blamed on "the dublin lads", mind you a few cavan lads ended up getting a battering for no reason as well. Final disco in Irish college their numbers seemed to swell, was walking home in the dark and got a ottle thrown at me, missed by inches.

When they started threatening beatings on lads who were going out with pretty girls it was funny though. IN most cases the girls would be happy to go out with the munchie in the end. Gas thing is most of these girls wouldn't be seen dead with blokes like these in their home towns!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

There are some interesting viewpoints expressed here!

I don't live in, or near, either Loughanure or Ranafast, therefore I can offer no valid opinion on the facts surrounding this case.

I can say, however, that a number of times while driving through Loughanure, I have experienced some poor attitudes from "Irish Language" students.
    There does seem to be an attitude among some students that they can misbehave to their little thuggish hearts content - with impunity.

This has varied from students walking 4-5 abreast on the road, causing inconvenience to drivers, to some thugs throwing stones at passing cars.
    I have had a windscreen cracked by one of these little thugs in the past - which didn't endear said students to me in the least!:mad: Needless to say, when the Gardai were called, the lad in question denied throwing the stone, backed up by all his little thuggish friends!

This experience leads me to wonder what the motivation was for the attack? Since I've never seen the local lads wandering around Loughanure carrying hurley sticks, I have to conclude that this attack was pre-planned. Then I have to wonder why?

I don't, and wont, condone an attack on a bunch of kids with Hurley sticks - but I have a feeling that there is more to this story that meets the eye.
    Whatever the case, I hope the kids who were injured make a good recovery.

Noreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I'd get Mossad after these little fuckers.:pac:

I went to the Gaeltacht on one of those courses as well back in the day, didn't encounter any local youths because they had the sense to head to Mary I or St. Pat's and become primary school teachers.

It's like something out of the deep south in America, fucking degenerates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

recent donegal news

2 cents worth:

mcbreartys
    no to lisbon twice
    taliban catholic haters (Dana)
    sectarian
    narrow view of world
    beat dubliner youngster with hurley until skin broken
    homegrown view of road law
    men jailed for exploiting 12 year old girl who had no family therefore: unprotected because in Donegal it is 'de family' and civil law does not apply
    Current minister for education

/shuts down computer and runs out into street:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

:D Scraping the barrel for reasons to start a fight!

honest to god, this is the type of shít i get up there. i was at a wedding last year, and i got "look at the dub with his pointy shoes and his suit", by some prick who was also wearing a suit. arsehole. later when i was in the toilet, some cnut at the pisser beside me asked me why i bother coming where my type are not wanted. said cnut, i have been informed this week, is moving to dublin because it's the only place where there are jobs. i wonder fcuking why?

girlfriend's brother asked how my work was going, when another 20-something family member interjected and said "shoor dohmind that hi, tis not work unless you get darty". yep, only in that hole can you be a second-class citizen if you don't do menial labour to make a living.

the attitude of donegal's youth to outsiders is fcuking ridiculous, and can be nothing other than jealousy in my view. they're nothing but redneck apes with no prospects having never left mammy's house, and who spend the day racing around they're little villages of 50 people with 50 pubs.

and, btw, i am aware that i'm generalising, and that there are some good people in donegal. however, the concentration of pricks up there is extraordinarily high compared to anywhere else i've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Blindside87

Was down in Cork last weekend with a few m8's and one of them was getting a bit of abuse from being from Dublin. Only 2 of the lads out of 5 of us were from Dublin the rest of us being near enough Dublin...what is the story with Dublin people getting abuse everywhere outside Dublin?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

Was down in Cork last weekend with a few m8's and one of them was getting a bit of abuse from being from Dublin. Only 2 of the lads out of 5 of us were from Dublin the rest of us being near enough Dublin...what is the story with Dublin people getting abuse everywhere outside Dublin?

Jealousy.;) But still they tend to brag on too people, not that i'd get jealous of dublin like, its personally rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

horrific attack using hurley sticks very brave men.

culchies decades behind proper city folk.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

major bill wrote: »
    horrific attack using hurley sticks very brave men.

culchies decades behind proper city folk.:)
    It was the city folk who had the hurley sticks which were then taken off them. Im from the area and while I dont condone what happened, theres always two sides to every story.

Noreen1 wrote: »
    There are some interesting viewpoints expressed here!

I don't live in, or near, either Loughanure or Ranafast, therefore I can offer no valid opinion on the facts surrounding this case.

I can say, however, that a number of times while driving through Loughanure, I have experienced some poor attitudes from "Irish Language" students.
    There does seem to be an attitude among some students that they can misbehave to their little thuggish hearts content - with impunity.

This has varied from students walking 4-5 abreast on the road, causing inconvenience to drivers, to some thugs throwing stones at passing cars.
    I have had a windscreen cracked by one of these little thugs in the past - which didn't endear said students to me in the least!:mad: Needless to say, when the Gardai were called, the lad in question denied throwing the stone, backed up by all his little thuggish friends!

This experience leads me to wonder what the motivation was for the attack? Since I've never seen the local lads wandering around Loughanure carrying hurley sticks, I have to conclude that this attack was pre-planned. Then I have to wonder why?

I don't, and wont, condone an attack on a bunch of kids with Hurley sticks - but I have a feeling that there is more to this story that meets the eye.
    Whatever the case, I hope the kids who were injured make a good recovery.

Noreen
    Very well said its a serious pain in the arse when driving. A lot of Donegal bashing on this thread. As if Donegal people never get attacked in Dublin or Belfast. Also the students in that area often come from the rougher areas of Belfast. They aint all angels themselves.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I have worked in a number of Irish colleges. There are sometimes tensions between local lads and students. I have seen students knock hay, light reeks of turf and out in the middle of the road ,refusing to move for any traffic. Some students feel they can do what they want because they are away from home. I'd love to get the full background to this whole story.

It was the city folk who had the hurley sticks which were then taken off them. Im from the area and while I dont condone what happened, theres always two sides to every story.

still its a horrible part of the country.

major bill wrote: »
    still its a horrible part of the country.
    Its one of the most beautiful parts of the country actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

I went to a donegal gaeltacht in brinaleck, gweedore not too far from where this happened.

I remember the local CÚNTS , or munchies as the were called.. this was only 8 or 9 years ago.

Absolute scum up there the local lads, they were older and went out of the way to try drive as close to us as possible as fast as possible when passing us on or walk to and from hall/beach/etc.. Jumped on a few of the lads the years i went aswell. im remembering now how much i hated and wanted to knock the ****e out of them losers..

Cant believe they are still getting away with it.

Its one of the most beautiful parts of the country actually.

thats your opinion ive worked all over ireland and can say parts of claire go untouched for beauty i never saw what the fuss was about when it comes to donegal the people put me off aswell not having a go at you but 8 out 10 donegal people i have had the unfortunate pleasure of talking to are pr1cks some people might say this about cork/dublin people but nowhere on a scale to some of the hicks up there.

*must be an ulster thing*