Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack on students in Gaeltacht

• 05-08-2010 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭

Just saw this disturbing report in the Irish Times.

A group of teenage students at Irish college in the Loughanure Gaeltacth of Donegal were assaulted by a gang of locals wielding hurleys and suffered quite severe injuries.

I remember in my day (the 70s) in the neighbouring Gaeltacht of Rannafast that there were, er, tensions between the male students and those whom we dismissively called the Munchies, a corruption of muintir na h-aite, or local people.

In fact many of the Munchies were Scottish, the nephews and cousins of people from the area whose families had emigrated to Scotland and who would come back for the summer. Mostly, it was all talk and no action, but occasionally it would break out into scuffles.

Never anything as bad as this though.

Anybody had any violent experiences in Irish college, in recent years or times long past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

the people responsible for that are a shower of cowardly scumbags, and i hope they get caught, named and shamed and punished appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

That's a horrific read.

I was at the Gaeltacht in Donegal once, the year before the Leaving, and while it was mostly brilliant three of us did get our heads kicked in by a bunch of local kids one night- no hurls or anything, just relentless kicking...although, in fairness, we were after escaping from the house by jumping out the upstairs bathroom window (it was 3am) so maybe it was karma.

maybe it was karma.

that's not karma man, karma is what happens to bastards like this in the prison showers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I was at the Gaeltacht in Rinne, Waterford a few years ago and I remember one of the lads in the Gaeltacht scored a local girl and let just say her local boyfriend was not happy at all! He didn't fight the lad one on one, oh no he wasnt man enough for that, he had to get all his local friends to jump the guy after a ceili, very sad indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Maybe they heard them speaking English instead of Irish...

Disturbing reports killed my father and raped my mother.. Down with this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Damn forridners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Daniel O'Donnell supporters... they're a rough lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

WTF was this for? just thugs looking for kicks?

The fact they used hurleys kind of implies that they aren't adverse to a bit of Irish culture, so why give people learning da lingo a kicking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

genericguy wrote: »
    that's not karma man, karma is what happens to bastards like this in the prison showers.

True, no dinner for one night would probably have been sufficient. Problem is, we were afraid to tell the bean an tí or the college heads about it, cos we thought they'd go mental about us escaping. Silly, looking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Pfft, when I was in the Gaeltacht it was a glorified orgy! :D Cape Clear rules! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anybody had any violent experiences in Irish college, in recent years or times long past?

I was raped by the Modh Coinníollach once, if that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Donegal is the least wealthy county, but a good sliothar is €10 ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Maybe they were startled by the Northern lights last night and saw it as a bad omen which required a sacrifice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Maybe they were startled by the Northern lights last night and saw it as a bad omen which required a sacrifice.

Should have toked some Northern lights......... might have calmed them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I'm from that part of donegal.

I'm just astounded nothing has been put in place to protect the kids coming to learn Irish.

They have to walk from their surrogate homes to the college, they're basically main roads wit stereotypical donegal drivers.

And apart from drivers you have to worry about pricks like that. Madness.

They'll have to start giving the kids weapons.
    And the attackers will only get a slap on the wrist that won't require stitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

WTF was this for? just thugs looking for kicks?

The fact they used hurleys kind of implies that they aren't adverse to a bit of Irish culture, so why give people learning da lingo a kicking?

I can virtually guarantee you that whatever this was about, it was not about differing views on the importance of Gaelic culture.

I'm betting it was a lot more primeval than that.

Almost at the level of territorial pissings.

Just my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Thats really fecking awful. Hope they get what is coming to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

They were probably just practising for the Limelight this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

They'll have to start giving the kids weapons.

That would just cause many many more problems...

I'v been to Irish College almost 6 times in the last few years and I worked there as well and I never encountered something like this. From what I can remember there was only one fight and that was between some students over something stupid and got sorted out immediately..

The cheek of the locals worrying that this will damage the industry for them up there - in a small town like that , the chances are that the scumbags involved are their children are quite high!

PARARORY wrote: »
    That would just cause many many more problems...

I'v been to Irish College almost 6 times in the last few years and I worked there as well and I never encountered something like this. From what I can remember there was only one fight and that was between some students over something stupid and got sorted out immediately..

The cheek of the locals worrying that this will damage the industry for them up there - in a small town like that , the chances are that the scumbags involved are their children are quite high!

I was not being serious.

And why shouldn't they be worried about this industry closing up shop as a result of this.

It's one of the only industries in that area of the world. When everything is shutting up you hold on to what business you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

And why shouldn't they be worried about this industry closing up shop as a result of this.

It's one of the only industries in that area of the world. When everything is shutting up you hold on to what business you can.

Well If I had kids and I was sending them to the Gaeltacht I would definitley steer clear of this one after hearing the story - of course It could happen anywhere but I've been to the Gaeltacht many times , both as a student and working and I've never had to deal with a situation like this.

Also , Irish College isn't cheap at all - when your paying alot of money for your kids to go learn irish,have fun etc you would presume that they would be safe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Is there a lot of random violence in rural Ireland that we don't hear about? I know the worst offenders when it comes to fighting on the streets in the wee hours in Galway definetely wandered in from the hinterlands, and treat the city like a gladiatorial arena, but I assumed that was just the locality.

You said 'the cheek of them'. Cheek to be worried about their families income? Money for the basics like sending their own kids to school, food, bills etc.

I'm asking why shouldn't they be worried.

I think safer practice should have been introduced years ago. Parents are under the impression that their kids are minded. They're not supervised for a good while during the evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

At least they were attacked with hurleys and not British-themed weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

In my day it was the trusted shillalegh..times change, sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I fail to see the relevance of whether it was a Gaeltacht area or not. I see lads getting the complete and utter tripe kicked out of them here in Waterford on a regular basis. Never a mention in the papers.

Scum will be scum. It's sad that it happened there, as I've always found the Gaeltachtaí to be friendly places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

only in

donegal

again:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

moonpurple wrote: »
    only in

donegal

again:pac:

Did anyone try look for a hidden message in this post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In fact many of the Munchies were Scottish, the nephews and cousins of people from the area whose families had emigrated to Scotland and who would come back for the summer.

I thought the munchies came from smokin' de weed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

bit of a crack sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Skangers in Donegal? Who'd a thunk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Skangers in Donegal? Who'd a thunk it.

Says the man from Dublin 15.

No skangers in Blanchardstown & Balbriggan these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Poor kids, was the attack completely unprovoked though? The newspaper seems a bit sketchy on the details leading up to the fight. I wodner were these victims just randomly chosen. I'm not attempting to condone the horrific attack by any means but there's usually two sides to every story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Says the man from Dublin 15.

No skangers in Blanchardstown & Balbriggan these days?

Ye startin' buddy????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

Poor kids, was the attack completely unprovoked though? The newspaper seems a bit sketchy on the details leading up to the fight. I wodner were these victims just randomly chosen. I'm not attempting to condone the horrific attack by any means but there's usually two sides to every story.

I dont know the details either, but I live not too far from there, and the local lads are known for startin random fights.

Now for all I know, they were provoked by the students ( not that that would make it ok) but I somehow dont think it would have taken much for them to start attacking them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭happyfriday74

I remember the munchies, local lads who thought they were it.

They chase after all the women in the irish college, you'd have 18 19 year old munchies chasing birds well younger then them. If you were with a girl they liked they would often tell you to break her and threaten you with a beating if you didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Donegal has it's fair share of scum bags , I always put it down to the fact that no one wants them. Even the Brits couldn't be arsed pulling them in. They are just isolated .

my girlfriend is from the far north of donegal, and because of the locals i fcuking hate going up there. they have this poxy chip on their shoulder about people from dublin, and i've often been started on because some prick heard my accent at the bar or while ordering in the chipper. i was once talking to a lad in a bar about how far away the bar was from my girlfriend's house, and some cnut came up and started giving me grief about how i "probably only have to walk up the road for milk". well, excuse me for choosing to live in a county with reasonably modern infrastructure.

personally i get more annoyed than worried by such pricks, but it's tiresome and i just don't have the time of day for anyone of the boy-racer age bracket up there. every last one of them is a boy-racer too.

the lesson kids, is stay out of donegal. it's a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

I was at Ranafast about 7/8 years ago. Encountered the 'munchies' once or twice. Knuckle-dragging red necks for the most part.
    Anyway, a group of us were walking home around 9.30-10 when a gang of mutants, a good bit older than us jumped out from behind a wall. Started shouting insults and pushing us and stuff. Anyone who tried to defend themselves got turned on by two or three. Then the glass bottles started flying so we decided fu`ck this, and legged it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Blindside87

Why don't we start our own gangs around the country and find these skobes...vigilante groups are the way forward at this rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

genericguy wrote: »
    some cnut came up and started giving me grief about how i "probably only have to walk up the road for milk"
    :D Scraping the barrel for reasons to start a fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

If I know Donegal Mothers....and I do, those lads who used Hurls in a fight will not be able to walk for a week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭happyfriday74

THe dublin chip on the shoulder thing was true, everything was blamed on "the dublin lads", mind you a few cavan lads ended up getting a battering for no reason as well. Final disco in Irish college their numbers seemed to swell, was walking home in the dark and got a ottle thrown at me, missed by inches.

When they started threatening beatings on lads who were going out with pretty girls it was funny though. IN most cases the girls would be happy to go out with the munchie in the end. Gas thing is most of these girls wouldn't be seen dead with blokes like these in their home towns!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

There are some interesting viewpoints expressed here!

I don't live in, or near, either Loughanure or Ranafast, therefore I can offer no valid opinion on the facts surrounding this case.

I can say, however, that a number of times while driving through Loughanure, I have experienced some poor attitudes from "Irish Language" students.
    There does seem to be an attitude among some students that they can misbehave to their little thuggish hearts content - with impunity.

This has varied from students walking 4-5 abreast on the road, causing inconvenience to drivers, to some thugs throwing stones at passing cars.
    I have had a windscreen cracked by one of these little thugs in the past - which didn't endear said students to me in the least!:mad: Needless to say, when the Gardai were called, the lad in question denied throwing the stone, backed up by all his little thuggish friends!

This experience leads me to wonder what the motivation was for the attack? Since I've never seen the local lads wandering around Loughanure carrying hurley sticks, I have to conclude that this attack was pre-planned. Then I have to wonder why?

I don't, and wont, condone an attack on a bunch of kids with Hurley sticks - but I have a feeling that there is more to this story that meets the eye.
    Whatever the case, I hope the kids who were injured make a good recovery.

Noreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I'd get Mossad after these little fuckers.:pac:

I went to the Gaeltacht on one of those courses as well back in the day, didn't encounter any local youths because they had the sense to head to Mary I or St. Pat's and become primary school teachers.

It's like something out of the deep south in America, fucking degenerates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

recent donegal news

2 cents worth:

mcbreartys
    no to lisbon twice
    taliban catholic haters (Dana)
    sectarian
    narrow view of world
    beat dubliner youngster with hurley until skin broken
    homegrown view of road law
    men jailed for exploiting 12 year old girl who had no family therefore: unprotected because in Donegal it is 'de family' and civil law does not apply
    Current minister for education

/shuts down computer and runs out into street:pac:

:D Scraping the barrel for reasons to start a fight!

honest to god, this is the type of shít i get up there. i was at a wedding last year, and i got "look at the dub with his pointy shoes and his suit", by some prick who was also wearing a suit. arsehole. later when i was in the toilet, some cnut at the pisser beside me asked me why i bother coming where my type are not wanted. said cnut, i have been informed this week, is moving to dublin because it's the only place where there are jobs. i wonder fcuking why?

girlfriend's brother asked how my work was going, when another 20-something family member interjected and said "shoor dohmind that hi, tis not work unless you get darty". yep, only in that hole can you be a second-class citizen if you don't do menial labour to make a living.

the attitude of donegal's youth to outsiders is fcuking ridiculous, and can be nothing other than jealousy in my view. they're nothing but redneck apes with no prospects having never left mammy's house, and who spend the day racing around they're little villages of 50 people with 50 pubs.

and, btw, i am aware that i'm generalising, and that there are some good people in donegal. however, the concentration of pricks up there is extraordinarily high compared to anywhere else i've ever been.