Boards Betting Brains Trust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Days Ahead would have won of course! :p lost 10 cent on that bet :)

• Moderators Posts: 8,932 ✭✭✭x PyRo

3:30 Brighton - Licence To Till - @ 9/2 (Bet365)

From the Mark Johnston yard, looks like one of his typical horses who win easily in a maiden then go into handicap company and run poorly until they go for a decent race and start to get good again. After he won his maiden by 8 lengths he went into a handicap off a mark of 83, ran poorly 4 races in a row, dropped to 78 and came third, was dropped another pound for that race and came second in a good race at Epsom when being collared late on, hit 1/20 in running and should of won but didn't handle the tough Epsom track that well and I reckon that cost him, although Brighton is an extremely tough course too I reckon he'll come on for that experience and prove his worth. Runs here off that mark again and looks to have a very solid chance. Kieran Fallon is on board for the first time and he should be an ideal ride for him. It's one of only two rides for him at Brighton before heading off for Kempton, he hasn't ridden here for 6 years so it's interesting to see him make the trip here.

Johnston is in flying form over the last few weeks with winners left right and center and he won this race last year with My Gacho from a similar draw so hopefully he'll know what tactics to use to get this fellow to follow in his footsteps. He doesn't often venture to Brighton but has an impressive 23% strike rate and is usually amongst the winners enclosure when he comes here. It's only the second time he has horses here all year and this is the only one he sends out here. License To Till will be suited by the fast tempo likely to be set in this race and if he handles the track he has a seriously good chance, the ground should be ideal and the draw will be no hindrance at all. I expect him to win, but I'm going each way just to be safe at generous odds, wouldn't be surprised if he went off 5/2>3/1 which would more so reflect his chances here. All roads point to Johnston winning this race again and if he doesn't I'll be surprised.

Ocean Drift 19:05 Kempton

Ran well enough on handicap debut finishing second to Richard Hannons Byrony in class 4 at Newmarket but did hang head so cheekpieces doned today for first time, that is often a reason to take notice in itself. The draw bias over 6f is on the high side so he well berthed in stall 7 with a good speed rating to boot. Ahmed Ajtebi is a rider who is quietly having a very good season as is trainer Mahmood Al Zarooni who is well in profit at Kempton Park. This is competitive race with only 7 runners but thats why my pick is also backable e/w at 4/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

19.00 Sligo Cape Vale 1pt e/w

Trappy handicap racing in Sligo tonight and I am probably picking one of the more difficult ones. Cape Vale however was a smart performer for Dandy Nicholls and he had by far his best rest for Prendergast last time out over 7 furlongs. The drop back to 6 will suit and he is not badly drawn in stall 9. He had won on ground ranging from soft to g/f so the yielding ground shouldnt cause a problem. Although conceeding weight to most of his rivals he is running off his last winning mark of 85.

Not sure I can put up a second but:

15.50 Newcastle Casela Park also catches the eye. This horse recently moved to Eamonn Tyrell's yard coming on the back of some excellent form on the all weather. Its first run back on turf at Leopardstown was a real eye catcher especially considering the trainer did not fancy it on the day (based on conversation prior to the race with a racing colleague of mine). The yard hardly inspires confidence but the move over to the UK makes this a bet of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Gdep

Not a huge follower of the flat and that will probably be proven by my selection but one did catch my eye...

18.05 Kempton

Resentful Angel won last time out at the same course and distance and the form seems to hold up from that race.stiff competition in speed dating but i reckon she will hold them off. Up in the ratings 7lbs from the last day but the jockey has 5lbs off so that should help that. She has won 4 times on the all weather now and I think Pat Eddery had her saved for this one.

15.50 Newcastle Casela Park also catches the eye. This horse recently moved to Eamonn Tyrell's yard coming on the back of some excellent form on the all weather. Its first run back on turf at Leopardstown was a real eye catcher especially considering the trainer did not fancy it on the day (based on conversation prior to the race with a racing colleague of mine). The yard hardly inspires confidence but the move over to the UK makes this a bet of interest.[/QUOTE]

Have never see a worse ride or else a case of the pulls - put this horse into your notebook:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

theres an inquiry about the ride, ****ing hilarious, jockey pulling it left to right in and out, if he just went straight he would have won by about 3 lenghts imo.

Ah Jaysus - his other horse in the last - drifts across the whole track when looking like a winning run... and then the saddle slips!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

i just did the 3 horses that are selected this evening in an e/w treble and also an e/w trixie just for a bit of intrest....great thread and idea guys!

deewhy wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus - his other horse in the last - drifts across the whole track when looking like a winning run... and then the saddle slips!!

deewhy goes on my ignore list! :pac:

mike65 wrote: »

At least I didnt tip that one:pac: -Casela Park was the worst pull job I have seen in a long long time - Cape Vale wont let us down!!:rolleyes:

mike65 wrote: »

Now you can...Cape Vale 5th!:(

Mine uplaced, you can put me on yours! Jasus this is going to be hard work, we'll all end up picking obvious even money NAPs

Yesterdays results

KEMPTON 7:05 DIGIBET NURSERY 6f
    Ocean Drift @ 4/1 (GP) Lose

SLIGO7:00 HANDICAP (60-90) 6f 110yds
    Cape Vale @ 6/1 (GP) Lose

KEMPTON 6:05 APPRENTICE HANDICAP 1m 3f
    Resentful Angel @ 3/1 (GP) Win

NEWCASTLE 3:50 HANDICAP (0-75) 7f
    Casela Park @ 17/2 (GP) Lose

BRIGHTON 3:30
    Licence To Till @ 3/1 (GP) Win (Dead Heat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Just have a look through all the cards, nothing really stands out except

Gortnacoille @ 8.20 in Sligo. Muck form but B J Geraghty is riding him so imo stands a decent chance.

Could be anywhere up to 50/1 so a decent e/w bet.

3:30 Brighton - Ethics Girl - 1pt e/w @ 7/1 (Bet365)

Very interested in this one and I think she has an excellent chance of gaining her first win since this time last year, just 5lbs above that mark but she has been improving but rarely gets luck in running, partly due to some of the jockeys she has had on board. That shouldn't happen now that George Baker is up today. She has only had three runs since coming back after a 6 month break and has run respectably on all three occasions, it took her three runs before she won last season and also the likely quick ground at Brighton tomorrow will be ideal for her. Her GF form reads; 1-2-2 and with George Baker on board I feel she could be adding another '1' to that form if the ground stays the same.

Her trainer, John Berry, has been firing in the winners of late and his yard is in obviously fine fettle after 4 winners from 15 sent out over the last month, this is the only horse he sends out today and it's to a track he rarely visits so I assume he feels the track will suit her style. George Baker doesn't often ride for this trainer, he has had 15 rides for him in the past 5 years and it's interesting that Baker is travelling to Brighton for only two rides at a course where he is also 4 wins from 15 rides this year. He has a 10% strike rate whenever he visits the course and rides it well. Ethics Girl only managed 5th last time out over 10 furlongs and was staying on well near the finish, she's upped to 12f now and that could be just what she needs along with the quick ground.

Her form over 12f+ is 2-3-3 and one of those seconds was last year on quick ground over this distance at Epsom where she stayed on better than most but just couldn't reach the winner despite closing with every stride, Epsom is probably the most similar track to Brighton and I'm interested in that form. She's also down in grade here and looks on a grand mark and carrying only 2lbs more than she did in a higher grade last time out, she was also hampered at the start in that race and was under pressure after that. There are two front runners in this race who may end up setting up the race for her, Aestival will more than likely try and make the running and although he rattled up an 8 day hat-trick I feel he could be vulnerable to horses closing in on him during the run in up the steep hill, at this stage I reckon Ethics Girl's stamina will be kicking in and she could prove to have too much for the Prescott horse and hopefully take all the beating from there. This looks an ideal opportunity for the John Berry trained filly to get off the mark this season and she has everything going for her and is overpriced at 7/1. I'd have her closer to half that or possibly 4/1. She's worth a small each way bet at tasty odds which I don't think will be there come race time.

Offspring 3.10 Haydock Park

Top rated horse in this race, finished with more in hand last time at Ripon than the near 3 lengths. Jockey Duran Fentiman who rides again today didn't raise the whip in the second last furlong being content to sit as Offspring took the lead then a few reminders in the closing half furlong as he maintained his advantage crossing the line. Speed rating is good but there is one potentially fly in the ointment - the ground is described at good-soft for the 6 furlongs all previous runs bar debut have been on good-firm so a there is small chance he won't cope but if he isn't withdrawn trainer Tim Easterby must be content he still has a good chance. About 9/2 at the moment.

18.05 Sligo City Hustler

Wide open affair here in this 2 mile handicap hurdle. at least 3 or 4 in with a good claim. But iv gone for City Hustler here. regularly churned out since the beginning of May, today will be his 9th race since then. He has finished in the top 4 in the previous 8 and has had 2 wins including a good win at balinrobe last time out.

Top of the weights for the first time in his career so it will be interesting to see how he copes. Eddie O connell on board and he is in good form of late with a win on board City Thunder 2 weeks back.

Available at around 6's at the moment.

Leopardstown: 20.10 Sandymount Lady 1 pt e/w 12/1 at the moment

A difficult meeting at Leopardstown tonight and I am looking for some e/w value. Sandymount Lady is coming off the back of a poor run over hurdles in Galway but excuses can be offered not least not handling the track. She has however been running consistantly well on the flat - her last run at the Curragh, she was a fast finishing 4th of 27 when well gambled on in a competitive handicap. Paying 1/4 for 4 places I am confident that at worst this can be achieved. She is getting weight from a number of the market principals and coming off a decent draw with Declan McDonagh on board, she should run a good race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Not offering this as a tip since I'm not good enough for anyone to follow when it comes to this kind of thing but just for the interest I fancy a small (very small) e/w bet on Hayley Fern at Yarmouth 2.50 or better yet a PP insurabet (16-1 consistent price across the board atm). I suspect Oh So Spicy will take it but it seems enough of an open race for a value bet. The money is behind Picansort but the form does not seem to back it up. Anyway just my 2 cents if you have a handy euro or two you'd like to lose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I'm very late but heres one for later...The price is gone but anyway....

Sandown 7.55

Jet Away 3pts @ 9/4 PP

I shamefully was on this one in his maiden at odds on. I try to keep clear of anything odds on but Jet Away looked good. He looks a nice horse and by Cape Cross will have plenty of speed mixed with the stamina on his damsire (got Kasbah Bliss). Looks almost Sea The Stars-ish though probably not :pac:. He beat the second and third pretty comfortably come the line that day and Queely didn't need to go for the persuader. He went 3/4 horse widths wide throughout the race and didn't have the rail to help as young inexperienced horses usually need. He's got a beautiful long stride and eats up ground. Pushed out he beat horses from the Stoute and Johnston stables who inturn went out and strengthened the form by winning on their next starts. I'm quite comfortable backing a Cecil horse that looks the part, he tends to get the most out of them and although this is a pretty good race Jet Away was still learning and ought to have much more to offer over the extra furlong seeing how he got on top in the last half furlong. I may go in again depending on how the market shapes when the other firms get involved.

Unfortunately last selection from Nulty was in too late for the multiple bet as it was a winner! Selections in by 13.30 please

From the 5 selections:

City Hustler - win @ 6/1 (nice selection)
    Sandymount Lady - placed @ 12's
    Ethics Girl - 4th
    Offspring - 4th
    Gortnacoille - 7th

Another losing day!:(

Friday Racing:

Mussleburgh 18.30 Casela Park!! (see earlier posts) 3 pts win

2 days after the biggest pull of the year, there is a quick reappearance. I have only 2 reservations - 1. They made the pull so obvious would they dare to go out and win 2 days later? 2. Same Jockey/Trainer - any other yard and this would be money on. He probably wont be far off that but should win.

If there is no value in his price tomorrow:

20.15 Tipperary My St Clair 2 pts e/w

Has recently joined Marnane's yard and has run really well to finish 4th on ground he would not favour (g/f) and duly followed up with a win in Dundalk. Racing off a 5lb penalty and now running on his more favoured slower surface (assuming forecast rain gets into the ground), I expect a big run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Friday Racing:

Mussleburgh 18.30 Casela Park!! (see earlier posts) 3 pts win

2 days after the biggest pull of the year, there is a quick reappearance. I have only 2 reservations - 1. They made the pull so obvious would they dare to go out and win 2 days later? 2. Same Jockey/Trainer - any other yard and this would be money on. He probably wont be far off that but should win.

If there is no value in his price tomorrow:

20.15 Tipperary My St Clair 2 pts e/w

Has recently joined Marnane's yard and has run really well to finish 4th on ground he would not favour (g/f) and duly followed up with a win in Dundalk. Racing off a 5lb penalty and now running on his more favoured slower surface (assuming forecast rain gets into the ground), I expect a big run.

3pts and 2pts - pretty confident bets I take it? Wonder what kind of odds C Park will get.

I need a win :( (I mean for my own confidence on this thread not the bank balance, though for that as well!)

I'm still not going to pick a penalty kick selection though - 3:50 Worcester - Changing Lanes Summer jumping alert!

A class 3 hurdles over 3 miles. Changling Lanes made a winning re-apperance a week ago over 3 at Utoxetter beating Filippo Lippi by 5 lengths, he stayed in the pack until the final furlong when jockey Rhys Flint pushed the button and he moved quickly clear. Proven over the distance and the good/good-to-firm. Changing Lanes is running off bottom weight having been bumped 7 lbs, 3 of which is offset by Donal Devereux.

Danimix is an obvious threat on form but has never raced beyond 2m 4f while Boxhill Brownie is a C&D LTO, this will be his 6th outing of the summer under a penalty of 7 lbs though Giles Hawkins takes off 5. Its quite competitive, as my selection is only back for his 2nd run I reckon he'll have that bit more left in the tank come the jamstick, he'll certainly run his race. the early price for my pick is 5/1

Danimix is now a non-runner thta makes things a bit clearer.

4:00 Brighton (4) 5f 213yds

Piazza San Pietro - Career high mark, top weight and not the best drawn. He has raced 8 times in the last two months and is probably due a break! Got beat in a lower grade off a mark 10lbs lower and this is much tougher, also beaten on two other occasions in weaker races. 10/3 at the moment and definitely opposable here, I'll more than likely lay it. Rating - 2/5

Hand Painted - Two time C&D winner off marks of 65 and 70, both races were in the space of two weeks, this will be the first time Travis Block doesn't ride him and instead Seb Sanders comes to a course he has an excellent 19% strike rate and when he rides for PJ Makin he's 5 from 25 at Brighton. Still lightly race with only 13 career starts and he's a 4 year old. Won off this mark this time last year at Folkstone and should strip fitter for his two starts this season in which he wasn't beaten far. Given a month off the track and should be fit and raring to go. 5/1 at the moment and one for the shortlist. Rating : 4/5

Billy Red - Won over 5f here two days ago when making all under Fergus Sweeney, that was in a weaker race than this and carrying a 6lb penalty, upped in grade and over 1f extra would lead me to avoid him. Jim Crowley isn't in great form of late and the trainer has had him as his only winner in his last 50 odd runners. It would take a career best performance on turf to win this and I feel he's definitely opposable at odds of 15/2. I doubt he'll figure unless there's some divine inspiration and he'll not get an easy lead. Rating : 1/5

Highland Harvest - Two time course winner, one time C&D winner. Dropped in grade and his win here came from a mark 2lbs higher. Although it was in a weaker grade carrying more weight. He has raced here 6 times with form reading : (1-2-0-2-2-1) including a place in a tougher race off a mark 6lbs higher of 73. That was on softer ground but he likes it quick also, as he'll get tomorrow. Stevie Donehoe takes the ride and he has been on board 3 times, winning once and second on both other occasions. He also rides the track well and has won on 3 of his last 6 rides here, with the other 3 coming second. He comes here for two rides tomorrow and this is his best chance. The trainer isn't in great form but this is the only one he sends out tomorrow to a track he rarely visits. 8/1 at the moment which is massive based on his course form and ability, should be half that. Rating : 5/5

Dvinsky - Won last time out on the AW, far better on that surface than the turf, 1lb above last winning turf mark (Grade6) but before that he hadn't won on turf for 4 years. Never won at this course despite 6 runs here although he came 2nd twice albeit back when he was a 4 year old, 9 years old now and likely to find at least one too good. The jockey hasn't rode a winner here for a long time and I don't see that changing. Currently second favourite and at 7/2 I wouldn't want to get involved with him. Certainly opposable. Rating : 2/5

Musical Script - Raced here on Wednesday in a hot race, stayed on late to grab 3rd, that was over a mile and he's interestingly dropped back to 6f now. He's another that's better on the All-Weather than he is on turf and has only ever won once on turf from 30 attempts, although that was at this course but from a 3lb lower mark. It might be a bit much to expect him to run two good races in 2 days and he only won once over 6f, 4 years ago on the AW. Will get a good gallop to suit and could come on late to grab 3rd but with only 2 places paid he's opposable but at 8/1 he's a better betting proposition that some of the shorties. Rating : 3/5

Starwatch - Made all to win at Epsom last time out in a similar contest when the 20/1 outsider of 6. Won quite handily when causing that shock, showed little in many races before that and despite weight allowances for being a 3 year old I don't fancy him to win again. Raced here twice before coming 2nd of 5 and 4th of 5 from 7&4lb lower marks, on a career high turf mark now on very quick ground that I'm not sure suits him and on a tough track. Currently 7/2 and has a poor enough, albeit, in form jockey on board. Certainly opposable and no value at that price and I think he'll end up setting it up for my eventual selection. He'll face a battle with Musical Script for 3rd place. Rating : 3/5

Conclusion:

My ratings suggest the 8/1 outsider is the likely winner of this race and I think he'll give it a damn good go so I'm having a large enough win bet on him to continue his impressive course form on a course that they say previous form is vital. He'll be fit and ready to give a bold showing and I think he's severely good value at 8/1. I think he's more likely a 4/1 shot and could go off a lot shorter tomorrow.

1st : Highland Harvest 2nd : Hand Painted 3rd : Musical Script

4:00 Brighton - Highland Harvest - 3pts

15.50 Newcastle Casela Park also catches the eye. This horse recently moved to Eamonn Tyrell's yard coming on the back of some excellent form on the all weather. Its first run back on turf at Leopardstown was a real eye catcher especially considering the trainer did not fancy it on the day (based on conversation prior to the race with a racing colleague of mine). The yard hardly inspires confidence but the move over to the UK makes this a bet of interest.

Have never see a worse ride or else a case of the pulls - put this horse into your notebook:mad:[/QUOTE]

From Hugh Taylor
    It’s not often that a 0-75 handicap is the most interesting race of the day, but all eyes will be on Musselburgh at 6.30 tonight. Casela Park was the subject of one of the more remarkable rides I’ve seen in my lifetime at Newcastle on Wednesday and it will be fascinating to see how he gets on tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Christmas Carnival 7.55 Haydock 3/1
    Finally got off the mark in a better handicap at Notingham 3 weeks ago over this distance.
    The stable is in absolutely tremendous form and only upped 4 pounds for its last win and looks a reasonable opportunity to add to its last win.The danger looks like Miss Antonia or Tamarillo Grove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Its a bit of a head-scratcher day for me. Can't make up my mind about anything so I'm gonna sit on the bench today

18.35 Tipperary Bank On Black

Had no chance to look thru the cards last night but i have had a brief look this morning while in work. I like the look of Bank On Black in this tough handicap. Won on his last visit to the track over the same distance. Beaten favourite last time out to another in this race (Bold Thady Quill) but just missed out at the end in that one.

Available at around 6/1.

Sorry for the lateness and the poor back up to my selection.....i sense the end of my winning run!!

greetings wrote: »
    Christmas Carnival 7.55 Haydock 3/1
    Finally got off the mark in a better handicap at Notingham 3 weeks ago over this distance.
    The stable is in absolutely tremendous form and only upped 4 pounds for its last win and looks a reasonable opportunity to add to its last win.The danger looks like Miss Antonia or Tamarillo Grove.

Thats the 7.25 btw! :)