Carnage on the Roads - tis no surprise with lads like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

what video are they talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

jesus, what a bunch of plebs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Snake Pliisken

I'm glad I grew up where there was actually something to do other than drive like a spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A fiver's worth of petrol and a box of matches needed for their cars. I spend a lot of time on the roads and have witnessed some crazy stuff-usually by younger lads in sh1te cars who believe they're the Stig. The guys with decent cars don't tend to drive like lunatics and have a bit of respect for themselves and other road users.
    Recently a guy in a '93 Golf passed me and the car in front ON THE INSIDE on a national road and proceeded to run several cars off the road while overtaking coming up to a blind crest.Even if yer man on iTalk was a set up there's plenty of morons out there who treat the roads as a playground.

They realise their registrations and faces are visible, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Denying that a lot of young male drivers are not responsible and reckless, like the eejits in the post above, will certainly do nothing to improve safety on the roads.

I'm not trying to deny that some young male drivers are a living danger on the road but not every young male driver is a danger is what I'm trying to say..

We don't all drive at a million miles an hour and do handbrake turns and doughnuts for the craic in the middle of a main road etc etc etc...

It's just unfair on us sensible young male drivers that we're left footing the bill for the other eijits like this lad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    No Death on the roads is tolerable and we need learn from every one and keep up trying to improve safety. But to claim there is carnage on the roads is a misrepresentation.

Look at the list of things people die from in Ireland. Road traffic accidents would be near the bottom of the list.

I would be happy to see the same effort put into Road Safety be put into other areas like suicide or obesity.

It might sound harsh but if I commit suicide it's me that dies or if I'm obese and die of a heart attack it's me that dies and it's me that suffers.. Also people can see signs for these and act to prevent them somewhat...

If i'm driving at 100 mph and come round a corner and mow a child down or crash into another car and kill the other driver it's not me that's dead... it's the unfortunate victim who had nothing to do with the accident...

that's the harsh reality of it... it's not always gonna be the driver that dies... that's why road safety needs so much attention compared to other things...

I know it might sound harsh but it's the truth...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Inbred dopes like these are the reason i can't afford to drive.

The white car was grand.. Didn't do much as far as I can see but the other two should be off the road for a fair few years.

It's true about older lads with proper nice cars.. Get a spin in a nice Gti every day and the lad is an unbelievably careful driver. He doesn't need to act the tit to enjoy his driving unlike these lads who do it to be hard.

The white car was grand.. Didn't do much as far as I can see but the other two should be off the road for a fair few years.

It's true about older lads with proper nice cars.. Get a spin in a nice Gti every day and the lad is an unbelievably careful driver. He doesn't need to act the tit to enjoy his driving unlike these lads who do it to be hard.
    The only way lads like those will be hard is lying on a slab going into rigormortis.

Maybe they should tune into TV3 right now and see what can happen,thats if they're not out terrorising the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

ScumLord wrote: »
    I think a big problem with Driving in Ireland is that no one is on the same page, we all do whatever speed we see fit. Some of us drive fast, others drive slow and each side thinks the other side are terrible drivers.

I'm guilty of speeding, I'm trying to control it but slow drivers just drive me insane I feel like I'm loosing time every time I'm stuck behind someone doing 60 to 70klm on a public road, Irish roads can't handle slow drivers because they just hold everybody up.

There is no rush,you want to get there on time leave fifteen mins earlier.
    I cant tell how many times i have been doing a hundred and people have flashed me for not speeding:confused: also tailgated me to the point of bumber touching,Luckily i am not intimidated by these people.If you can pass them out but if you cant and they are doing speed limit you are in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

mooman wrote: »
    You have a "don't buy the Sun" website in you're sig and come out with the most Sun-like statement Boards has ever seen:rolleyes:
    Proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    It might sound harsh but if I commit suicide it's me that dies or if I'm obese and die of a heart attack it's me that dies and it's me that suffers.. Also people can see signs for these and act to prevent them somewhat...

If i'm driving at 100 mph and come round a corner and mow a child down or crash into another car and kill the other driver it's not me that's dead... it's the unfortunate victim who had nothing to do with the accident...

that's the harsh reality of it... it's not always gonna be the driver that dies... that's why road safety needs so much attention compared to other things...

I know it might sound harsh but it's the truth...

Well this might sound harsh but more lives could be saved elsewhere if they were given the same media publicity and money road safety gets.
    I don't see how it makes a difference if there innocent victims or not a live saved is a live saved and there is plenty of innocent victims suffering after a suicide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

oldyouth wrote: »
    And you don't see that YOU have the problem there? If it is safe to pass legally, do it. If it is not, CALM DOWN
    caseyann wrote: »
    There is no rush,you want to get there on time leave fifteen mins earlier.
    I cant tell how many times i have been doing a hundred and people have flashed me for not speeding:confused: also tailgated me to the point of bumber touching,Luckily i am not intimidated by these people.If you can pass them out but if you cant and they are doing speed limit you are in the wrong.
    The point is you can't pass them out and they're more interested in having a conversation with their passenger than driving the car. People shouldn't drive to slow or to fast, in other counties you have to stay within 10klm of the speed limit, I think in many cases if you can't drive at a reasonable speed you shouldn't be allowed to drive at all.

I don't understand tailgating either, it doesn't make any sense, you can barely see around the car in front to be able to over take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

The point is you can't pass them out and they're more interested in having a conversation with their passenger than driving the car. People shouldn't drive to slow or to fast, in other counties you have to stay within 10klm of the speed limit, I think in many cases if you can't drive at a reasonable speed you shouldn't be allowed to drive at all.

I don't understand tailgating either, it doesn't make any sense, you can barely see around the car in front to be able to over take.

I agree to slow and to fast is a big problem.But how do you make people listen?

I have had it alot it is very annoying luckily i laugh.They dont want to over take you they want to intimidate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Does anyone know the name of the song in the video?

caseyann wrote: »
    I agree to slow and to fast is a big problem.But how do you make people listen?

I have had it alot it is very annoying luckily i laugh.They dont want to over take you they want to intimidate you.
    Do what the Americans and other countries do, teach kids how to drive in school. That way all drivers get the same tutelage and learn the same best practices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Some people are ridiculous.
    I remember hearing two lads say that it was safer driving down a country road at night with lights off, because you can see the oncoming cars lights from further off.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,053 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

One thing that gets my goat, this is on a regular roads now,not dual carriage ways or motor ways, good wide roads with a hard shoulder. I'd usually be cruising along anywwhere from 60-70mph,(limit 60), I know i speed but i don't think it's to the point of being dangerous,very rare i'd reach 70 or above, and this is on a good straight road. anyway,waht annoys me is when you get people coming right up behind you expecting you to move in on the hard shoulder so they can pass, normally i wouldnt have a problem with this, but when i'm at or just above the speed limit i really dont think they have any right to be flashing their lights or honking at me to get out of their way. aaargh.

Anyhoo, I was listening to matt cooper last week and they were talking about the new set up for the driving test, but the guy who was on said that our road safety record is actually miles ahead of the rest of europe even though our roads are much worse. CAn anyone confirm this? I was pretty surprised i have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Perhaps some of the problems relate to people getting lessons from others who never had any proper lessons themselves. Add to this that only recently, professional driving instructors have to have proper qualifications.

I haven't a clue how some people dare to get behind the wheel, or how they managed to get a licence in the first place. There's a regular in these parts who never goes above 50kmph, even on a straight dry road. When I first followed her, I assumed it was some old crock behind the wheel, but on overtaking realised that it was a women who looked like she was in her mid 30s. She must be absolutely feckin petrified. People have actually seen the Guards pull her in a couple of times, but whatever they say to her doesn't make a blind bit of difference.

I find people like her just as annoying as some twat in a Micra leaving me in a cloud of burning oil from his ****ed up engine, as he melts his way up the road in front of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Evaluation: i102-104, or whatever it is, is a bogger radio station. The reason why they're complaining is because all they have is shítty back arse roads.

We all know if you wanna hit the ton, you don't do it on narrow back arse roads or housing estates. You do it at 1 in the morning on the dual carriageway or motorway.

It's much safer doing 100 mph on a motorway that has no cars than doing 100 mph on a back arse roads that has ridiculous camber and pot holes and is 10 feet wide.

The Aussies do good anti-speeding ads:

:(

Jesus Christ... That one hits hard doesn't it... :(

Mickeroo wrote: »
    One thing that gets my goat, this is on a regular roads now,not dual carriage ways or motor ways, good wide roads with a hard shoulder. I'd usually be cruising along anywwhere from 60-70mph,(limit 60), I know i speed but i don't think it's to the point of being dangerous,very rare i'd reach 70 or above, and this is on a good straight road. anyway,waht annoys me is when you get people coming right up behind you expecting you to move in on the hard shoulder so they can pass, normally i wouldnt have a problem with this, but when i'm at or just above the speed limit i really dont think they have any right to be flashing their lights or honking at me to get out of their way. aaargh.
    I'd always let them by, I don't want that kind of driver near me.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,053 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'd always let them by, I don't want that kind of driver near me.

Fair point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

People shouldn't drive to slow or to fast, in other counties you have to stay within 10klm of the speed limit, I think in many cases if you can't drive at a reasonable speed you shouldn't be allowed to drive at all.

but what if the road is ill-suited for driving at the optimum speed allowed. there are roads in ireland where the speed limit is unnecessarily slow in sections, yet in other places, where 60mph is allowed, it really shouldn't be.

i don't blame people for driving at the speed their comfortable at on roads such as these.
    however, i agree if you are on a primary route and someone in front is doing 40 mph on a straight stretch and refuses to pull into the hard shoulder that is infuriating and just thoughtless of them

although, it wouldn't surprise if in some cases they get a kick out of not moving in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

That male radio presenter is almost as big a twat as the caller. Who the hell let him near any piece of broadcasting equipment? Insulting your caller and then hoping they crash into a brick wall - real professional. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

but what if the road is ill-suited for driving at the optimum speed allowed. there are roads in ireland where the speed limit is unnecessarily slow in sections, yet in other places, where 60mph is allowed, it really shouldn't be.

i don't blame people for driving at the speed their comfortable at on roads such as these.
    however, i agree if you are on a primary route and someone in front is doing 40 mph on a straight stretch and refuses to pull into the hard shoulder that is infuriating and just thoughtless of them

although, it wouldn't surprise if in some cases they get a kick out of not moving in.

In my opinion, there should be a law that says you must pull in to allow a queue of traffic to overtake you. It's ridiculous that someone can allow a queue of 20 to 30 cars to build up behind them and not be required to pull in at the next opportunity to leave that traffic on its way.

Irish people are way too polite with these people as well. Only once did I see someone getting beeped off the road and that was a guy in a camper van who had held up traffic for 40km driving at 50km/hr passing several petrol stations and villages until finally he was forced to pull in by irate drivers at the next village. There have been other times where I've been stuck in a queue behind someone like that for over 2 hours with nothing happening until they finally decided to turn off somewhere of their own accord. Once was 2 hours from before Abbeyleix to Urlingford on a day with no tailback in Abbeyleix, all thanks to one driver who would slam on the brakes any time he got over 50km/hr. While I appreciate that driving becomes very difficult once you reach a certain age and people still need to get around, he still had Abbeyleix, Durrow, Cullahill and Johnstown in which to pull in and minimise the disruption to other people. Another time was 2 and a half hours from Galway to Clifden thanks to camper vans. (I know, I know, should have left earlier!). In any other country, the police would pull those people off the road.

It's amazing how many people are driving that seem to lack a basic knowledge of the rules of the road and see them as just a means to pass the driving test,once they get a license it's all forgotten.
    Another gripe is to where Gardai place speed traps-usually in areas to nab easy targets and seem revenue driven-the dogs in the street know where the roads are that are being used as racetracks and prone to dangerous driving but are never patrolled.Near where I live you can hear the cars racing up and down the roads at night but the speed checks are out in the middle of the day to catch the easy targets going 5 miles an hour over the limit.