Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carnage on the Roads - tis no surprise with lads like this

• 26-07-2010 6:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

not sure if this is the right section for this rant but anyways...

http://soundcloud.com/italk/skilled-drivers-will-never-crash-even-if-they-go-too-fast-and-hang-out-the-window

have a listen to this buck that reckons that only bad drivers will ever crash and good drivers will never be involved in an accident...:mad::mad::mad:

Is it any wonder there's such carnage on our roads when you see lads like this on our roads... The governments plans for 20 driving lessons etc etc are never gonna be effective when this sort of lads is on our roads...

It's also lads like this fault that insurance for young males like myself is absolutely astronomical...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I'm flabbergasted by how thick he is.

Would have helped if your man Peter didn't keep saying moran over and over again and let the caller get a word in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Was there any point in letting him get a word in? He had absolutely NOTHING of worth to contribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

The guys an idiot.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I'm flabbergasted by how thick he is.
    I'm not. Most of the young drivers in Ireland are like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Mister men wrote: »

Rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Rubbish.
    Fantastic input. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

They are in me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Wagon wrote: »
    They are in me bollix.

yes there's a percentage of drivers like this - but there's a lot that aren't...

I personally don't know anyone who drives around and starts sticking their legs out the window of the car going round bends "knowing" that no one is coming round the bend...

I've been driving for a year now and I've never participated in any form of dangerous driving yet - why because I'm afraid of messing up and writing the car off and getting busted and breakin bones basically.. it'd hurt like f**k, so I don't do it.... why I don't speed and stick my feet out the window is really irrelevant but it proves that their are some young lads that mightn't be "GREAT" drivers as this lad says or whatever he's on about... but lads like me are at huge risk because we're expected to avoid hitting lads coming at 20000000 million miles an hour down the wrong side of the road with their feet out the window... and when I crash into a tree to avoid someone like these this lad will be proven right that it's only young sh*t drivers that crash...

it's so unfair that so many young male drivers are branded with the same brush as tools like this and have to be subjected to so much scrutiny when it comes to driving... my insurance is going to be such a financial burden on me for the next couple of years because of lads like this despite me never wanting to participate in any of their childish antics...

when I want to feel like a big boy and drive at 100 miles an hour down a main road I get Need For Speed out on the Playstation and do it their where I'm not risking killing myself or god forbid someone else...

as for this lads attitude.. this attitude is the exact reason why the 20 lessons for learner drivers scheme won't work... will 20 driving lessons change this lads opinion on drink driving and speeding and angels as he calls them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    my insurance is going to be such a financial burden on me for the next couple of years because of lads like this despite me never wanting to participate in any of their childish antics...
    This is why i don't drive and never bothered to learn, at least in Ireland. What's the point if im gonna be paying something like €2500 a year to pay for someone elses accidents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

What a feckin eejit

Feel embarassed listening to him, so bloody deluded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Richard Hammond is a skilled driver.

Need I say more?

Fantastic input. Thanks.

Not as good as your sweeping moronic statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

You have a "don't buy the Sun" website in you're sig and come out with the most Sun-like statement Boards has ever seen:rolleyes:

wanker

It's times like these I wish we were like 4chan.. Ya know, find out who he his, where he lives, what he drives and smash the fuk out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

driver is an idiot but these two presenters are biggers ****, using the caller to get publicity for their stupid radio station. cannot listen to these two going on and on. peter saying he hopes the caller drives into a brick wall is not really profesional. we see kids hanging out of cars after football matches driving like mad on country roads and no one takes any notice. adults do crazy things also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

yes there's a percentage of drivers like this - but there's a lot that aren't...

I personally don't know anyone who drives around and starts sticking their legs out the window of the car going round bends "knowing" that no one is coming round the bend...

I've been driving for a year now and I've never participated in any form of dangerous driving yet - why because I'm afraid of messing up and writing the car off and getting busted and breakin bones basically.. it'd hurt like f**k, so I don't do it.... why I don't speed and stick my feet out the window is really irrelevant but it proves that their are some young lads that mightn't be "GREAT" drivers as this lad says or whatever he's on about... but lads like me are at huge risk because we're expected to avoid hitting lads coming at 20000000 million miles an hour down the wrong side of the road with their feet out the window... and when I crash into a tree to avoid someone like these this lad will be proven right that it's only young sh*t drivers that crash...

it's so unfair that so many young male drivers are branded with the same brush as tools like this and have to be subjected to so much scrutiny when it comes to driving... my insurance is going to be such a financial burden on me for the next couple of years because of lads like this despite me never wanting to participate in any of their childish antics...

when I want to feel like a big boy and drive at 100 miles an hour down a main road I get Need For Speed out on the Playstation and do it their where I'm not risking killing myself or god forbid someone else...

as for this lads attitude.. this attitude is the exact reason why the 20 lessons for learner drivers scheme won't work... will 20 driving lessons change this lads opinion on drink driving and speeding and angels as he calls them...

The thing is though, the vast majority of accidents you hear about involve young male drivers. Just look at those poor young lads in Donegal the other week.

An awful lot of young men think they are invincible and they can drive a ridiculous speeds without harm. I think part of it is showing off too. Drink is often a factor too.

Denying that a lot of young male drivers are not responsible and reckless, like the eejits in the post above, will certainly do nothing to improve safety on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

What video are they talking about?

it was on you tube but not anymore, hav you got yesterdays sunday world its there also. young lads in nenagh been idiots. listen to the clip on the first post of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jasus this has been on the Motors forum for days now.

By the way "carnage on the roads" is a classic RTE type line of bull****. Road fatalities have never been lower. That doesn't take anything away from the morons like Tommy though a bit of me wonders if its a wind up.

ya thats why i cannot take these presenters serious, the are so stupid and unprofessional all the time. the are famous for their silly antics.

mike65 wrote: »
    though a bit of me wonders if its a wind up.

A real life troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

The sooner people realise that it is a tiny minority of YMDs that act like this, the easier it'll become for the rest of us.

I'd wager that a far higher proportion of drivers in their 40s and 50s drink and drive than those in their 20s - when we were brought up, it just wasn't acceptable.
    mike65 wrote: »
    By the way "carnage on the roads" is a classic RTE type line of bull****. Road fatalities have never been lower.

Ironically, organ donor queues have never been longer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Successful radio troll is successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

thats a proper gobsh!te!!
    Its ok to hang out of the car in places like the motorway??proper retard!

He used to drink drive too....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Judging by his accent, that guy "Tommy" is from Sligo, as are Peter and Mary (well she's from Dromahaire in Leitrim but went to school in Sligo), I used to listen to iRadio alot but on more than one occasion I have heard "callers" who sounded completely fake and scripted, and that there sounded like a prime example of one. I have a feeling that this was a stunt to garner publicity for their show, to show how much of a stand they were taking. It's not even vaguely believable that this guy rang in for real. They talk about "calling shenanigans"? I'm calling shenanigans on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

"Angel Wings"

What a loser!! :mad:

You were listening to something from iRadio and you were surprised they were talking about some tripe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

One of the young lads i knew i worked with in a school(17 years old),was killed two years back.His mate was driving the car.The same mate who survived the crash,over took me at about 80kph on a continuous line road couple of months ago(also speed limit is 60 there).And he put the foot down and vanished.Also this road is a small country winding road.With the likes of him on the road is dangerous for us all.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Judging by his accent, that guy "Tommy" is from Sligo, as are Peter and Mary (well she's from Dromahaire in Leitrim but went to school in Sligo), I used to listen to iRadio alot but on more than one occasion I have heard "callers" who sounded completely fake and scripted, and that there sounded like a prime example of one. I have a feeling that this was a stunt to garner publicity for their show, to show how much of a stand they were taking. It's not even vaguely believable that this guy rang in for real. They talk about "calling shenanigans"? I'm calling shenanigans on them.

I totally agree with you. I've heard a few bits and pieces on "Simon's Slappers" on i105107 and they've been totally fake and scripted. This one doesn't sound any different. Shame on iRadio for using this issue as a publicity stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Has anyone got a link to the clip they were talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What kind of radio show is this? :confused:

You call up and get called a muppet/asshole or braindead and then at the end "I hope you drive into a brickwall"

The guy is all those things but are these professional radio show hosts or what?
    You can have a debate or do you swear at your callers?
    If this was RTE, those two hosts would be sacked on the spot

I don't see a radio career with the national stations for those two

caseyann wrote: »
    One of the young lads i knew i worked with in a school(17 years old),was killed two years back.His mate was driving the car.The same mate who survived the crash,over took me at about 80kph on a continuous line road couple of months ago(also speed limit is 60 there).And he put the foot down and vanished.Also this road is a small country winding road.With the likes of him on the road is dangerous for us all.

Did you report him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭MiciG91

mooman wrote: »
    You have a "don't buy the Sun" website in you're sig and come out with the most Sun-like statement Boards has ever seen:rolleyes:

Thats probably something to do with Liverpool FC not about the way he thinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Did you report him?

I didnt know i could report him just like that.Can i?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Just a message to all the responsible young drivers out there (and they are in the majority). You're paying for that clown with your high insurance premiums and, sadly, many of you are losing friends because of his like

cournioni wrote: »
    I totally agree with you. I've heard a few bits and pieces on "Simon's Slappers" on i105107 and they've been totally fake and scripted. This one doesn't sound any different. Shame on iRadio for using this issue as a publicity stunt.

I'm part of the car scene in Sligo, if this "Tommy" has been driving for 7 years as he states, he's about my age, and anyone my age who might have found those kind of stunts funny at 16 or 17 would know better by now. I don't know anyone who fits his description nor do any of my friends. Obvious fake. If (in the unlikely chance) he is for real then I'll gladly eat my words but I'm confident that it won't be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

But Tommy's types are not fiction even if he is

I'm part of the car scene in Sligo, if this "Tommy" has been driving for 7 years as he states, he's about my age, and anyone my age who might have found those kind of stunts funny at 16 or 17 would know better by now. I don't know anyone who fits his description nor do any of my friends. Obvious fake. If (in the unlikely chance) he is for real then I'll gladly eat my words but I'm confident that it won't be happening.
    What does the 'scene' in Sligo involve Alaskimo-cake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I think that before everyone is giving a driving license they should be made attend the dun laoghaire rehabilitation centre to see what life is like for those that have been in serious accidents.

Might not be workable but then perhaps have them watch a few hours footage of what the after effects of accidents are like and then make them sit a test based on what they seen to see if they were paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭sealgaire

Bubble headed moran! :D Brilliant

he is some inbred tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I said it on the motors forum the other day.

Defo a Sligo sham and it's a dumbed down station for the youngsters, either a wind up troll or a total set up. I'd say the latter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

There isn't "Carnage on the Roads"

oldyouth wrote: »
    What does the 'scene' in Sligo involve Alaskimo-cake?

Sligo's a small town/county so anyone who's into cars at all knows pretty much everyone else.

There are of course the few obligatory 17 year olds in the micras/corsas/civics (if they're lucky!) who whizz about thinking they're the shiznit, but the majority are people genuinely into custom and performance motors. Most of the time all that happens are impromtu night-time meets in the usual hang-outs around town. From time to time there are organised diffing (or drifting) meets that are carried out safely, off-road. I'm not going to pretend like there's no diffing at roundabouts or crossroads late at night but it doesn't happen too often. By and large the genuine car fans are mostly level-headed enough although a few of us have penalty points for speeding. I'm pretty sure I can speak for all of us when we say we would never endorse the kind of sh1te-hawking those Nenagh lads were at.

Maybe this Tommy dude is for real but like I said, I'd be hard-pressed to think of any 23 or 24 year old round town (and he sounded straight outta town) who would be impressionable enough to think that "angel-wings" are safer than hand-brake turns, etc, etc...

Pure and utter trash radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i recall some posters on here displaying a similar view some time ago-
    "speeding on narrow country roads is only dangerous if you are not good at it" what this mentality fails to take into an account is that while you may be a good driver, there could be a car broken down at the most inappropriate place- a bend, or a cow could be loose on the road just around a corner, and at excessive speeds, while you may have quick reactionary time, it may not be quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The caller was obviously an idiot, but wtf @ the presenter telling him he hopes he drives into a brick wall and then getting stroppy when the guy swears. Bunch of arseholes the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭RachPie

What's worse is these lads are/were friends of the teenagers who were killed in a bad crash in a similar area for the same type of driving while intoxicated a year ago.

I can't believe the lack of brain cells. I really can't.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

The caller was obviously an idiot, but wtf @ the presenter telling him he hopes he drives into a brick wall and then getting stroppy when the guy swears. Bunch of arseholes the lot of them
    It's fake and scripted. iRadio is a brutal radio station trying to be a sensationalist to pull in listeners.

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    There isn't "Carnage on the Roads"
    There IS carnage on the roads. The saddest thing though, is that we, as a society, consider the current level of accidents that result in death or injury to be at a tolerable threshold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Wagon wrote: »
    They are in me bollix.

"Mister Men" thinks people doing 120km/hr on motorways are lunatics and will swerve out into to the overtaking lane to give them a fright if he sees them coming up behind him: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67098206&postcount=62 . So if the young drivers of Ireland are "lunatics" in his book, then it's probably a compliment.