Dublin Eye planned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Great our government are wasting more money!!
    Do ya know what
    People gave their lives so that we could have our own government and now its full of trained monkeys and greedy morons
    The lads from 1916 must be turning in their graves!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

This would have been way better suited where the spire is. At least them we would have had something that we could look at and go "Ah, sure tis a fine wheel, begorrah." rather than "So, what exactly is it?"

A giant trampoline would be way more fun down there.

The scumbags will have it owned in minutes. Honestly, i'm suprised the Luas lasted as long.

Edit: Guys, the Government aren't spending ?10m on it, its a private company thats spending ?10m on it, there's nothing to blame on the Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

And what do they think people are actually going to be interested in looking at whilst up there, not much to be seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Quazzie wrote: »
    Why would anyone want a birdseye view of Dublin??

To get into perspective just how low the banks and gov look down on us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

SO THATS WHY THEY CUTTING MINIMUM WAGE AGAIN :mad:
    HouseHippo wrote: »
    Great our government are wasting more money!!
    Do ya know what
    People gave their lives so that we could have our own government and now its full of trained monkeys and greedy morons
    The lads from 1916 must be turning in their graves!!!
    Like are you serious? Both of ye! The government has feckin nothing to do with this? It's feckin private investment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

bluewolf wrote: »
    10million for that
    but they can't spare 8 million for a cancer vaccine
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Its a **** world, but something like that would probably get private funding from some company for advertising rights

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Quazzie wrote: »
    Why would anyone want a birdseye view of Dublin??
    To spot the Fianna Fail heads in hiding.
    Extra admission discount could be allowed if you to bring your own snipers rifle.
    I could loan ye my two after I've finished with them! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

I doubt this has anything to do with the government it will be a private company shelling out the money and let them, its not going to takeaway from the city it cant do it any harm, Dont get me wrong i think its a **** idea with as much originality as a rocking horse. the one in london was the most boring experience of my life. and the one in melbourne has been shut down as a health hazzard. but if it works it will bring more tourists to the area and we can do with as many as possible i guess. even if it only creates 10 jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Hagar wrote: »
    How original.

But if we went for something original then we would have something like the Spire which everyone loves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

HouseHippo wrote: »
    sounds like some one who has a secure job and a bitta money to me....
    Intuition defo isn't your best feature, is it? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I live opposite this, the wheel is half completed now, is an imposing sight to say the least. They started the wheel this morning and are putting it together at quite a pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Here's a pic of it right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Such a bad idea, and the way people are talking on here you'd think London was the first place in Europe with an 'eye':rolleyes:(English-centric mentality aye?)

Make Bray or Dun Laoghaire better(build a boardwalk like Coney Island there along the pier, it would be awesome during the summer nights, live music on the pier and everything. Would be awesome)

They are trying to renovate the pier but that nutjob Richard Boyd Barrett and his cronies keep protesting about it for some bizarre reason :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

It wont be a waste. It's going to be a hell of a sight once the youfs set fire to it on Halloween night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Fairly grim looking in that photo. I couldn't see myself bothering to trapse down there to queue up for a go.

Plus at 60m it's not even half the height of the London Eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Hagar wrote: »
    How original.

Indeed. My thoughts exactly.

However, does it have to be unoriginal to constitiute a waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

tat cost 10 million euro..........

talk to the guys from funderland.
    they'll do it for 1000.
    and probably make a bigger one too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

It looks awful. Why would you want a view of Dublin, it's a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Well as long as it doesn't ruin the skyline.

Oh, wait. That's only about 40 foot in height.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Upgrade work on bus shelter cost same as small house.

In addition, the local authority had to spend an extra €70,000 on "co-incidental" works

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/upgrade-work-on-bus-shelter-cost-same-as-small-house-2271788.html

€60 million? The dublin eye will in reality cost ten times that amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

squod wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/upgrade-work-on-bus-shelter-cost-same-as-small-house-2271788.html

€60 million? The dublin eye will in reality cost ten times that amount.
    Who cares what it costs it's a private company.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Is that really the size of it?
    Has there been some 'Spinal Tap'-esque mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Kinda pointless in a low-rise city like Dublin.

Anyway there's already a good view of the skyline from the Gravity bar at St.James Gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

jumpguy wrote: »
    I don't see why people are complaining, sure, it's been done in London, but the yanks and tourists in general will go mad for it, even the Dubs will try it, it'd be an attractive site and rake in millions for the city.
    Shup will ye! :mad:

It is embarrassing that the fúckwits who hold our taxes cannot, between them all, come up with something original to achieve the same commercial end. Copying the Brits is cringeworthy inferiority complex lazy-arsed stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anyway there's already a good view of the skyline from the Gravity bar at St.James Gate.

And there's Guinness there! GUINNESS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Can they not learn from Belfasts' mistake and not go ahead? The Belfast one closed in April this year, I haven't read up on why exactly but I'm assuming if it was anyway viable they would have kept it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Cork_girl wrote: »
    Can they not learn from Belfasts' mistake and not go ahead? The Belfast one closed in April this year, I haven't read up on why exactly but I'm assuming if it was anyway viable they would have kept it going.

We don't learn from other's mistakes, we usually manage to do copy things in a more ****ed up manner.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

it's the same wheel. think it was planning issues up in belfast. they only had it for 2 years. it's a gamy location altogether. the o2 is on one side, and the port is on the other. you'll get a good view of the tunnel and the east link, that's about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I thought the Belfast one sort added to the city,closed down because it was blocking some architectural design on the side of city hall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

what should have happened was that the spire should have been constructed so as to get a view from the city up there for tourists. instead now we are going to have 2 silly looking things in the city