Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

If anyone wants me, I'll be in Tenerife walking around without a top on.

baaaack.bmp

Trained 2x on holidays, one was a bodyweight circuit in the hotel room, the other was in the hotel gym. It was as follows;

3 rounds, 1 minute each, on the minute every minute:
    22.5kg dumbbell thrusters
    25kg dumbbell swings
    sit ups
    rest

Dumbbell Curls s/s Pushdowns:
    20kg 'bells 3x12/3x12

Grand workout but I think I sweated 1,000,000 litres of pure alcohol.

<<L'Chaim>>

Foam Roll - 9 positions

Hip Mobility - 5 positions

3 rounds of:
    pull ups x8
    dips x8
    hypers x8
    hyper sit ups x8

Thrusters:
    20kg 2x5
    42kg x5
    52kg x5
    62kg x5
    72kg x5
    82kg 2x5

Military Press:
    22kg x5
    32kg x5
    42kg x5
    52kg x5
    62kg 2x5, 1x12

Kipping Pull Ups:
    bodyweight 2x15, 1x20

Stretching:
    glutes x3.5 minutes
    hamstrings x3.5 minutes
    ITB/Glutes x3.5 minutes

Tough as nails. I hate how quickly my conditioning levels drop off. Complete pain in the tits. I know it's there tho so should come back quickly.

The warm up circuit took a lot out of me. I'm not feeling great, but that's no excuse. Going to 3x10 tomorrow and aiming for 3x15 by Friday.

Thrusters were relatively solid. Happy with my strength at least. Hopefully my sustainability comes back soon.

Pressing was alright, no major drop off there. Basically gonna concentrate on shoulders, thrusters and pull ups for the next 2 weeks in preparation of Fran on Saturday and Kalsu 2 weeks later.

<<Look in my eyes...>>

Foam Roll - 9 positions

Baseball - feet and calves

Hip Mobility - 5 movements

3 rounds of:
    pull ups x10
    dips x10
    hypers x10
    hyper sit ups x10

Thrusters:
    22kg 2x5
    42kg x5
    62kg 2x5

Front Squats:
    62kg x5
    82kg x5
    102kg x5
    *drop*
    82kg x10
    *drop*
    62kg x15

HS Seated Shoulder Press:
    40kg x10
    80kg x5
    100kg x12-8-6rp

Kipping Pull Ups:
    -each set done on the minute
    21-15-9

Good session today. I rolled my calves and feet yesterday but forgot to log. They were really DOMS'd but went after them again today anyway. Gonna beat the sh!t outta them for the next while.

The warm up circuit was MUCH easier today. Incredible how quickly things pick back up. 3x12 tomorrow for sure.

Thrusters were insanely solid. HUGE drive off my shoulders and a really snappy push, so looks like all the pressing's doing me good. I'll go with a heavy set tomorrow probs around 90kg and then come back to 60kg 2x7.

Front squats because I'm worried about leg conditioning. The 100-80-60 combo was literally pull the weights off the bar and go again. Didn't feel especially tired after it, so all good there.

Shoulder strength was good on the HS presses, dunno how it compares to previous performances and I'm too lazy to check. I think it's either a PR or close to it tho.

VERY happy with the pull ups, went straight thru on all sets. 21 reps done in 26 seconds on the first set, 15 done in 21 seconds on the second set and 9 done in 12 seconds on the last set. Fancy my chances at a decent Fran time on Saturday. Gonna hit a 75%'er tomorrow, and do 21-15-9 thrusters w/ 45kg on the minute on Thursday and taper back then for Saturday.

<<You never close your eyes...>>

Session 1 - 10am

Hill Sprints @ The Pope's Cross:
    sprint up, jog down 3x5 (on the longer hill)

Circuit:
    3 rounds of...
    10 push ups
    Sprint 20 meters, run back
    10 sit ups
    10 air squats

Session 2 - 11.45am

Baseball - Feet and Calves

Foam Roll - 9 positions

3 rounds of:
    pull ups x12
    dips x12
    hypers x12
    hyper sit ups x12

Thrusters:
    22kg 2x5
    42kg 2x5
    62kg 2x5
    82kg 2x5

Front Squats:
    102kg 2x5

Military Press:
    22kg x3
    32kg x3
    42kg x3
    52kg x3
    62kg x3
    67kg x3
    72kg x3
    77kg x3
    82kg x3 - PR

Kipping Pull Ups:
    2x20

Well.. that was a suckfest of a day. Pretty horrific training tbh.

Took my friends younger bro out for a conditioning session in the phoenix park knowing full well that I had to lift after it. THe plan was just to get him to do sh!t but given the option of training or watching, there's only one thing I'll ever pick. Nice to get a bit of running in again tho. Even if it hurt.

The lifting was good. The circuit was pish today, even after the running an hour before hand.

Thrusters continue to progress. The 60kg'ers are RIDICULOUSLY snappy. The bar's flying off my shoulders. Even 82kg doesn't feel like any trouble anymore. Happy days.

Gonna basically try and front squat every time I'm in the gym between now and the end of the year. I'll just add like 2.5kg per week and keep it at 2x5 all the way thru.

Pressing continues to progress. Bodyweight can't be too far away now. 82.5kg x3, especially after all that work, should leave me set for 90+.

My kip's getting smooth now. I dunno how pretty it looks, but it's effective, and that's all I really care about. I'll take a moderate session tomorrow ahead of Fran on Saturday. Pray for me. The nerves are building already.

Delorentos tonight. WOOT!

Hanley wrote: »
    Bithday Fran:
    21/15/9 thrusters w/45kg and pull ups
    Time: 6 minutes dead

Oh yes I fcuking did!!!! STOKED with that. It's not often that I truly surprise myself, but today I did. I finally think I've gotten a respectable time (as in one that seperates me from normal gym goers, but is still no CF standard). So anyway... rock on!!

The progression;

3/5/09: 12 minutes 2 seconds
    19/6/09: 8 minutes 32 seconds
    24/7/09: 6 minutes dead

Cut my time in half in less than 12 weeks having only done the real Fran 3x in that time.

Non specific training FTW!!!

Well... it's that time of the year again. Tomorrow marks the 3rd anniversary of my 21st birthday, and the end of my career as a junior lifter.

I'm out to CRUSH Fran tomorrow. Based off how training has been going I'm on target for a very good time (~3minutes 45seconds), the only problem is a chest infection I spent all day in bed with today, but banging, drunk, broke or blitzed - Hanley never quits. So we'll see what happens.

I'll die after that... then begin to set up the BBQ and start into my bday beers :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Happy Birthday in advance! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Well... it's that time of the year again. Tomorrow marks the 3rd anniversary of my 21st birthday, and the end of my career as a junior lifter.

I'm out to CRUSH Fran tomorrow. Based off how training has been going I'm on target for a very good time (~3minutes 45seconds), the only problem is a chest infection I spent all day in bed with today, but banging, drunk, broke or blitzed - Hanley never quits. So we'll see what happens.

I'll die after that... then begin to set up the BBQ and start into my bday beers :D:D

sub-4 or no BBQ/beers/celebration! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Best of luck with it, I can't think of a more disgusting birthday present :)

Parsley wrote: »
    sub-4 or no BBQ/beers/celebration! :P

Sub-4 or I'm canceling my life.
    Molly wrote: »
    Best of luck with it, I can't think of a more disgusting birthday present :)

Thanks!!

11 hours til I leave for the gym. I have butterflies in my tummy. I hate this feeling.

Im scared, I feel sick and my entire body is shaking.

Most nearly be time to go after Fran. It's not funny how cripplingly terrifying this workout is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Weird.

Just back from the gym and I'm about to get ready for my birthday bbq today.

Sangre wrote: »
    Weird.

Just back from the gym and I'm about to get ready for my birthday bbq today.

Happy Birthday!!

<<Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me... Happy Birthday dear Hanley, Happy Birthday to me...>>

I'M NO LONGER A JUNIOR LIFTER :(

Baseball - calves and feet

Foam Roll - 9 positions

Thrusters:
    40kg x5
    60kg x5
    80kg x4
    90kg x3
    100kg x2

Fran:
    21/15/9
    45kg Thrusters
    Pull Ups
    TIME: 3 minutes 12 seconds - 60 second PR

Thrusters were real easy. Coulda gone to 100kg x5 but wanted to save energy.

I bossed Fran. The thrusters were P!SS. So easy. Like disgracefully simple. Straight thru em all. First round of pull ups unbroken, actually did 22. Second round of pull ups in 10 + 5. Last round I broke down and my shoulder fell apart. Popped twice but I just gritted my teeth and finished out.

Not happy with a lot of the pull ups. Had to shorten the ROM and not hit full extension to preserve shoulder health, but they're to the same standard as last time I did it, so it's a legit PR anyway.

Now... BBQ, beer and copious amount of vodka, jager and red bull. NYOM NYOM NYOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Well done. Serious time there.

I'll be out for vodka and red bulls later as well I'd say.
    Prob in coppers after I go to cage contender.
    Might see ya in coppers!

Well done. Serious time there.

I'll be out for vodka and red bulls later as well I'd say.
    Prob in coppers after I go to cage contender.
    Might see ya in coppers!

Thanks dude. Tryna get a video up, but youtube doesn't like me.

And foorgive me, but Coppers'll be a total culchie-fest later with the matches on!! :D

I'm heading to Propaganda in The Academy so if anyone's around look out for me. I'll be the out of control moderately big guy L'Chaim'n jagerbombs. That being said, I wouldn't be all that surprised if the night ended in Coppers. Hopefully it doesn't tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Savage time on fran, sub 3 soon...
    Enjoy your birthday drinks tonight, have a good one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Fran:
    21/15/9
    45kg Thrusters
    Pull Ups
    TIME: 3 minutes 12 seconds - 60 second PR

Legend. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Happy Birthday!!
    You too! Cleaning and g etting ready for bbq was more tiring than gym today!

Sangre wrote: »
    You too! Cleaning and g etting ready for bbq was more tiring than gym today!

Tell me about it. About to pick one of the lads now and crack into making a shameless rip off of Elephant and Castle's infamous buffalo wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Good work chap.
    Enjoy the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Ridiculous how much that fran time has improved in the last 8 months or so. Not bad for an old man ;)

Birthday Fran - 3 minutes 12 seconds

You'll have to excuse the pull ups, my shoulder doesn't like them.

<<So I showed her my bare butt...>>

Foam Roll - 8 positions

Baseball - Feet

Hip Mobility - 2 movements

Thrusters:
    42kg 2x5
    62kg x5
    82kg x5
    102kg x4.5

Front Squats:
    107kg 2x5

Bench:
    62kg x5
    82kg x5
    102kg x5
    112kg x5
    122kg x5

Pyramid Helen:
    1,200m run
    63 swings w/ 25kg 'bell
    36 pull ups
    800m run
    42 swings w/25kg 'bell
    24 pull ups
    400m run
    21 swings w/ 25kg 'bell
    12 pull ups
    TIME: 23 minutes 12 seconds

Fairly happy with today!!

Thrusters were solid, just couldn't lock the 5th rep with the 102kg out.

Front squats were solid too. I'll keep hitting them consistently.

VERY happy with the benching. First time doing anything chest related in about 4 weeks, and first bench in probably 6 weeks or so. The shoulder work's obviously helping. The 122 x5 was relatively easy too. I reckon 130 x5 will go in the next couple of weeks if I want it. I think I'll continue to ignore it for now and keep pushing shoulder strength to get thru Kalsu tho.

Pyramid Helen's an evil fcuker. The workout's essentially a double Helen. The first round is a full Helen. Think I did it in 9.45, which is around 1 minute under my PR, but doing it straight thru's a complete mind fcuk. Obviously my pace slowed down after that because the "second" Helen (rounds 2+3) took the guys of 13 minutes and 30 seconds. Evil evil evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I wonder is there anyone at a higher bodyweight with a faster Fran time on Youtube?

I'd say you'd struggle to find one!

Fair play man that is some level of conditioning.

And the partially unlocked arms on the pullups are completely nullified by your inability to swing off the bar like an epileptic gibbon ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

I was totally distracted by the breaking internet and resulting mushroom cloud to tell you how awesome that session was earlier on...

kevpants wrote: »
    I wonder is there anyone at a higher bodyweight with a faster Fran time on Youtube?

I'd say you'd struggle to find one!

Fair play man that is some level of conditioning.

And the partially unlocked arms on the pullups are completely nullified by your inability to swing off the bar like an epileptic gibbon ;)

Ah dude I'm only about 95kg at this time. There's lots faster I'd say!! Thanks for the vote of confidence tho ;)

And lolz I was thinking that about the arms. If I was able to butterfly kip I'd definitely be doing sub-3's!
    I was totally distracted by the breaking internet and resulting mushroom cloud to tell you how awesome that session was earlier on...

Hahaha I woulda been too fcuked to appreciate it anyway. I need something stupid to do on Thursday. Maybe 10 rounds of Kalsu w/ 5 thrusters per round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Hahaha I woulda been too fcuked to appreciate it anyway. I need something stupid to do on Thursday. Maybe 10 rounds of Kalsu w/ 5 thrusters per round.

ohhh i know how ill be passing the morning in work tomorrow :P ill come up with some interesting suggestions...

Feel free to have a look at some of the CF hero workouts for suggestions. I might just man up and do Murph.