Craziest thing you've done by choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

What does that mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Terry wrote: »
    What does that mean?

Purple monkey dishwasher!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

See below :eek:

xzanti wrote: »
    See below :eek:

You caught an alien?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

MediumWell wrote: »
    That looks like great fun op!

I'd love to do the bull run as well one day.

I haven't really done anything crazy at all, unless voluntarily walking around in -110C for three minutes in nothing but shorts and runners counts.

Where on earth can you walk around in -110c when the lowest temperature ever recorded (on earth) is -89.2c??

For me... craziest thing? Hmmm.. probably moving to a country where I didn't speak the language and knew nobody else but the wife's family. Not that crazy... sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Derryleigh wrote: »
    Drive the car blind drunk with a fella sitting on the roof.

The Camino del Rey, that's just adrenaline, that's an achievement, that's only risking yourself. You, however, could have seriously injured yourself, the guy on the roof, or any other innocent in another car. If you really did that, you should cop yourself on tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yea right...... I took a shit in a GAA club .erm shitter.

Fcuking risky enough for me.

Bricking it as I lowered my Ys... bunted a sludgie one off the rim.;)

Get a bit real buddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Posing for a photo outside a police station whilst drinking a beer.

Because I could.

Get a bit real buddie.

Flut...

...you never fail to amuse me!

On topic,

1/ I ran through a minefield once.

2/ Waved my gun at and took a photo of an Israeli soldier.....yeah, I know it doesnt sound crazy...trust me...its frowned upon.

3/ Me and one other guy walked into a rebel village in Liberia and demanded they hand over all their weapons and ammunition...didnt go down too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

benwavner wrote: »
    Flut...

...you never fail to amuse me!

On topic,

1/ I ran through a minefield once.

2/ Waved my gun at and took a photo of an Israeli soldier.....yeah, I know it doesnt sound crazy...trust me...its frowned upon.

3/ Me and one other guy walked into a rebel village in Liberia and demanded they hand over all their weapons and ammunition...didnt go down too well.

Top Hole there Ben

Defense forces lad are we?

Well done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Get a bit real buddie.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

deman wrote: »
    Where on earth can you walk around in -110c when the lowest temperature ever recorded (on earth) is -89.2c??

The cryotherapy centre in Wexford Town. http://www.whitesofwexford.ie/cryo-packages.html

You walk into a -10 or so chamber then straight into a -50 or so chamber then straight into the main chamber at -110C where you walk in circles for 3 minutes.

It's a bit scary trying to catch your breath at first but after twenty seconds or so it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Im not at all extreme but ive done a couple of things that are a bit mad. As someone said a tandem skydive isnt that crazy anymore so we'll skip that one.

An unusual one ive done is like the bike version of the camino del rey, the death road in Bolivia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_Road

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtUaherTC50 (I havent watched this video properly but im sure it gives you an idea.)

It was also made quite a bit more scary because i hadnt been on a bike since i was kid when i did that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I took peyote once and then took a large pipe hit of salvia mixed with DMT crystals once I was tripping fully on it. Not something I'm in a hurry to repeat anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

strobe wrote: »
    I took peyote once and then took a large pipe hit of salvia mixed with DMT crystals once I was tripping fully on it. Not something I'm in a hurry to repeat anytime soon.

Fúck me...Salvia is bad enough on its own!

Craziest thing I ever did was agree to share a flat with two wimminz...sounds fun in principle.

It isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

After a night out about 3-4 years ago, I scaled the perimeter of a construction site and actually climbed a crane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Apart from Yore Ma of course.

I'm taking the plunge and going to walk the "El Camino del Rey" next month. I'm absolutely bricking it. I've read about it and watched many video's of it in the past but always assumed it was in some far off land. Turns out i'll be holidaying within a few miles of it next month so feck it, i'm going for it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmDhRvvs5Xw - Short sniplet of someone walking it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caminito_del_Rey

So come on boardsies, tell us of your adventures

you clearly have never been on adverage irish scaffolding then... :rolleyes:

on chance: tbvh... if i mentioned anything i'd not only be breaking rule 1 and 2 but id also be arrested here for a minimum of 20 years.

Honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Im usually a pretty sensible person, but i did climb this tree:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gloucester_Tree

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

dr gonzo wrote: »
    Im not at all extreme but ive done a couple of things that are a bit mad. As someone said a tandem skydive isnt that crazy anymore so we'll skip that one.

An unusual one ive done is like the bike version of the camino del rey, the death road in Bolivia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_Road

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtUaherTC50 (I havent watched this video properly but im sure it gives you an idea.)

It was also made quite a bit more scary because i hadnt been on a bike since i was kid when i did that.

I did that in a van with a drunk driver. Only noticed a few minutes after he'd switched on the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Sweet jesus - that El Camino del Rey looks crazy. I'd struggle to walk on the parts that are fenced at the edge. No way would I go near the beams - that is some scary lookin shít ! Fareplay OP if you manage it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Russian Roulette. :(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Pdfile wrote: »
    you clearly have never been on adverage irish scaffolding then... :rolleyes:

on chance: tbvh... if i mentioned anything i'd not only be breaking rule 1 and 2 but id also be arrested here for a minimum of 20 years.

Honestly.

Leave those kids alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Climbed up Pacaya Volcano in Gautemala
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacaya
    At the top we walked over hardened lava that was as sharp as knives.
    Under that hardened lava we could see lava flowing.
    We got up for sunset and as we walked back in was dark.
    Crazy country Guatemala.

We also got charged at by an Indian Elephant in a National Park in Kerala.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Fancy That

Went Oink Oink to an old copper as he passed us one night afer pub. He turned on his heel, blamed my mate told us get home. Jez did we laugh afterwards.

Don't think he found it too funny though.

Ah well...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I did a solo skydive. Scariest thing I've ever done. The second scariest thing was a tandem skydive before that. The third scariest thing is happening next week - I have to do the best man speech at my best friend's wedding.

Good luck with the cliff walk OP looks brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

The craziest thing I've ever done by choice was visit India. Do not recommend it!

Why?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Stripped down to my birthday suit and took a trip through Athlone for charity. Thought we were going to get in trouble with the Gardai for streaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

caught campylobacter, hepatitis A, got totally ripped off at every turn, nearly torn to shreds by wilddogs, everything was filthy, even the sea was full of motor oil and plastic, wild animals including giant rats, boars and dogs everywhere, just horrendous.

OT but briefly - Sounds nasty. I only ask because south India is my favourite place in the world and I'm going again at the end of the summer. You have to be careful not to get ripped off, but we never did. We got the recommended shots so no infections. We took malaria tablets also. Didn't even get Dehli Belly, and we ate street food every day.

There is a lot of dirt and poverty in the cities, but that's part of the experience really. One of the things I learned was that the poor over there do not seem themselves as poor and probably live richer lives than we do in the west. Poor is a state of mind, they say.