Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 335 astonished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Real nice choice there, they're an awesome car.

Nice to get one with idrive aswell, the ones without look really poverty spec.

DMS map is supposed to be incredible, it's about a grand I think but well worth it if you're keeping it for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

+1 OP, I had a 335 as a demo for a short while, and fell in love with the car. Not as brash and in your face as an M3, but supercar performance. In a few years when the values have tumbled, I'll have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,137 ✭✭✭Barr

Very impressive car , how is the auto box ? Wish I had one :)

• Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Auto box is super such a pleasure to drive just sit back and go what more could you want.
    It took me four months of looking to find a car with a good spec and when this one came along with such low milage and still having the new car smell it was used that little I knew this was the one for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

+1 OP, I had a 335 as a demo for a short while, and fell in love with the car. Not as brash and in your face as an M3, but supercar performance. In a few years when the values have tumbled, I'll have one.

Super car is pushing it, but Im sure it performs very favourably to compared say to an e46 M3.
    http://www.fastestlaps.com/comparisons/458da72e81532-vs-458da861dbf7c.html

Remapped it should just about beat it, in pure grunt anyhow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

what a broing grey/black interior , will that be getting a makeover,
    nice car though,

argosy2006 wrote: »
    what a broing grey/black interior , will that be getting a makeover,
    nice car though,

What would you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,659 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Victor_M wrote: »
    There is a lot more to an M3 than just BHP. Almost every mechanical component is different to that found in a regular 3 series (including the 335i), gearbox, brakes, suspension and possibly most importantly the differential, the M diff is the special ingredient that makes the cars so balanced and controlable, power is transferred from one wheel to the other at the rear to compensate for loss of grip.

Appreciate all that and I am a fan of big (V8) normally breathing engines myself, but a 135i coupe costs about half of an M3 and with a remap to 370BHP, I'd say it would beat an M3 even on a track. Some value for money there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

TCP/IP wrote: »
    That's why it's a 335 not an M3 hoping it be a little less showey

I have to say, there's so much talke about M3's, I've never even looked for/at one of these...........sounds very much win-win . 300bhp in any language, ain't slow.......!

Of course, you could do the anti-M3 thing, and buy a......316i badge for it ! :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

What would you suggest?

335i-e92coupe-3.jpg

was it available with this color interior, is this is a 335i coupe interior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

335i-e92coupe-3.jpg

Even if it was, so what ? The car already has an interior...........you only get choices on new ones.....and spending big €€€ to do it doesn't make much sense at this stage.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

e92coupeimage.jpg

i think interior i showed was from this model ,its newer model i guess, so maybe your model never had tan interior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

e92coupeimage.jpg

i think interior i showed was from this model ,its newer model i guess, so maybe your model never had tan interior

That's the same model. The tan interior was available in 2007 as was the wood trim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Gorgeous car. Well wear

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

you had your choice of interiers when the car was ordered brand new, but my god that walnut trim is cack looking, i had it in an E90 before and hated every second of it.

TCP your interier is twice as nice as this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Fair play OP, even though I really hate you it's not nearly as pimpy as an M3 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Qualife LSD ftw

I hate wood in a car so much prefer my own.
    Fitz I have heard amazing things about Qualife do you have in yours.
    Oh and if I get a wheel off ebay were would I go to get it fitted and reinstall the shifters and the airbag along with the controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Looks well - best of luck with it.

The black on black can be a bit dull (exact combo I have in my M3) but the trim looks very well.

Shame so many of these have the auto box though!

To be honest Ken I would never bye a manual I know that is another days discussion but I hate manual auto is so easy and I drive a lot with work so makes by life easy. Cruise control and auto a winning combo.

On another note I was thinking about posting on bmw-driver.net for some advice and to introduce myself would that be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

You just bought a 335...I reckon you'll be just fine...even if you are a baxtard...just stick close to oem with mods and ditch the run flats...you've got me thinking now about a change...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 GoodGuinness

Congrats OP on your purchase... she's a beaut.
    Just put down a deposit on a 07 335i coupe myself, picking her up on Thursday next. Had my eye on that car of yours for a while but really needed a trade on my 07 Golf R32. Have to agree on the power delivery, coming from the R32 I thought I had a quick car but this is in a different league.
    Would any of ye guys have any concern with the remap, I wasn't planning onmapping mine but 370BHP sounds delish...

Congrats "good" post a link to the one you are getting. Maybe we can get a cheaper deal on the remap we are both in Kildare so might work out.

I checked carzone an hour ago and the ad is removed already. It was the one in Murphy & Gunn BMW, was only on Carzone few a week at most. It's also gone from their own web-site. I'll hopefully lash a heap of photos up next Thursday/Friday.

I know the car was it the coupe or the vert? I drove them both lovely cars.

It was the coupe with the cream leather interior.. It was advertised as "coming soon" on Carzone as it wasn't finished being prep'd. They only had the ad updated with the photo and I took it off their hands... easy comision for Larry. :). Unfortunetly there's no roads local to Murphy & Gunn to "open her up", but I also test-drove the one in Joe Duffy and that one got lashed down the M2... err i mean right upto the legal speed limit of 120kph...

Yeah they are some machine to go. I tested about five and was amazed at the power of all of them. I would say you can not wait. I hope they did not rob u on the trade.

Were looking very similiar money to Joe Duffy and the spec on this one was better. Obviously would have been better trying for a private trade, but once I started driving the 335's, the R32's days were over.

Yeah I could imagine same as me. These cars are crying for a remap to unlock them.

http://www.car-care-centre.co.uk/

These guys do the DMS remap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

On another note I was thinking about posting on bmw-driver.net for some advice and to introduce myself would that be ok.

No, stay away, you'll promote rage and jealousy! :D

join away man.

here you go TCP - http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23 and good guinness too :)