Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 335 astonished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

You just bought a 335...I reckon you'll be just fine...even if you are a baxtard...just stick close to oem with mods and ditch the run flats...you've got me thinking now about a change...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 GoodGuinness

Congrats OP on your purchase... she's a beaut.
    Just put down a deposit on a 07 335i coupe myself, picking her up on Thursday next. Had my eye on that car of yours for a while but really needed a trade on my 07 Golf R32. Have to agree on the power delivery, coming from the R32 I thought I had a quick car but this is in a different league.
    Would any of ye guys have any concern with the remap, I wasn't planning onmapping mine but 370BHP sounds delish...

• Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Congrats "good" post a link to the one you are getting. Maybe we can get a cheaper deal on the remap we are both in Kildare so might work out.

I checked carzone an hour ago and the ad is removed already. It was the one in Murphy & Gunn BMW, was only on Carzone few a week at most. It's also gone from their own web-site. I'll hopefully lash a heap of photos up next Thursday/Friday.

I know the car was it the coupe or the vert? I drove them both lovely cars.

It was the coupe with the cream leather interior.. It was advertised as "coming soon" on Carzone as it wasn't finished being prep'd. They only had the ad updated with the photo and I took it off their hands... easy comision for Larry. :). Unfortunetly there's no roads local to Murphy & Gunn to "open her up", but I also test-drove the one in Joe Duffy and that one got lashed down the M2... err i mean right upto the legal speed limit of 120kph...

Yeah they are some machine to go. I tested about five and was amazed at the power of all of them. I would say you can not wait. I hope they did not rob u on the trade.

Were looking very similiar money to Joe Duffy and the spec on this one was better. Obviously would have been better trying for a private trade, but once I started driving the 335's, the R32's days were over.

Yeah I could imagine same as me. These cars are crying for a remap to unlock them.

http://www.car-care-centre.co.uk/

These guys do the DMS remap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

TCP/IP wrote: »
    On another note I was thinking about posting on bmw-driver.net for some advice and to introduce myself would that be ok.

No, stay away, you'll promote rage and jealousy! :D

join away man.

here you go TCP - http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23 and good guinness too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

MojoMaker wrote: »
    Less chance with a 335i, not as many of our country cousins will recognise it. Great purchase TCP/IP. You bollix

No need of that, and I think Bavaria is a cuntry too

Cheers Ken I reckon I will get great advice there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Best of luck tcp and to guinness on the forthcoming purchase. I love the bm coupes. They are just so different. I am glad you didnt go for the A8 I had one and it cost me a bomb on repairs. It was only 07. I bought a 08 passat today for 8.5k to keep me going until the new A6 comes....

Btw the passat has 250k on the clock before someone says im lying..;)

Thanks folks for all the best wishes.... All I need is my bloody car now and I'll be happy as a pig in excrement:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭kdevitt

On another note I was thinking about posting on bmw-driver.net for some advice and to introduce myself would that be ok.

Yeah sure of course, fire away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

Fair play to you man! I love the 335's, beautiful cars.

One thing I would recommend is to retro-fit a M-Sport rear bumper and stick a BMW performance carbon diffuser on to it. Very subtle but I think it makes it look so much better.

Happy motoring and don't go too mad on the remap!

Shame on you TCP, GoodGuinness has already registered :D

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=18144

Unless of course, you still out enjoying the car.............. thats allowed :)

Hi Ken I am registered and all but it will not let me post. I am TCP/IP over there as well can you sort it out and I will say Hi.

Thx a mill

PS - Just been out all day in the car what a blast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭kdevitt

You should be good to go now...

Took my E30 for a spin today, brake caliper seized and I lost a centre cap off one of my wheels, not such a blast :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I hate wood in a car so much prefer my own.
    Fitz I have heard amazing things about Qualife do you have in yours.
    Oh and if I get a wheel off ebay were would I go to get it fitted and reinstall the shifters and the airbag along with the controls.

Dont have a LSD fitted to mine, its the next on my list. However its a non OEM part and will void your warrenty

The steering wheel uses your existing airbag and paddles (make sure you get one for paddle shifters) or like me get a performance wheel which is extra thick, alcantara and has shifter lights and extra car info like water temp and g forces.).

Debadge.....first think to do makes the rear look cleaner and more symmetric. Also give a message to the 320 brigade.

I got performance breaks fitted all OEM parts, keeps the car looking not too modified and does not invalidate the warranty. 6 pots fronts and 4 pot rears.

yes I am wearing crocks:o

Cheers mate working now. Sorry to heat about your trouble.

Thanks fitzgeme without having to go to the UK can any BMW dealer do this work?

Shane732 wrote: »
    Fair play to you man! I love the 335's, beautiful cars.

One thing I would recommend is to retro-fit a M-Sport rear bumper and stick a BMW performance carbon diffuser on to it. Very subtle but I think it makes it look so much better.

Happy motoring and don't go too mad on the remap!

Agreed were can I get these parts fitted for my car and how much?

For an SE look into the aero kit, much cheaper and less wanabe than msport kits. Get up some pics now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I bought one for the OH;) and love driving it ,though not convinced about the run flat tyres. Does anyone know how it compares to the 335d performance wise as the petrol version is thirsty

I have driven a 335d on several occasions and although anyone who has one will talk about the torque and how in the real world its as fast as the 335i, thats total rubbish. In the real world the i is faster, revs quicker and higher, accelerates faster, sounds better and is lighter. The 35d is good but never gives you that "holy crap will this every stop accelerating" feeling of the 35i. If its economy you want buy a 320d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I have driven a 335d on several occasions and although anyone who has one will talk about the torque and how in the real world its as fast as the 335i, thats total rubbish. In the real world the i is faster, revs quicker and higher, accelerates faster, sounds better and is lighter. The 35d is good but never gives you that "holy crap will this every stop accelerating" feeling of the 35i. If its economy you want buy a 320d.

Test drove a 335i and 335d before I bought the 535d and while the 335i sounds much better and is a different kind of fast, I don't think the performance is that different.

As an aside where did you get the OEM performance brakes fitted? Looking to get something better for the 535 at next change

kceire wrote: »
    Shame on you TCP, GoodGuinness has already registered :D

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=18144

Unless of course, you still out enjoying the car.............. thats allowed :)

What can I say Keith, another busy nightshift for GoodGuinness;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Debadge.....first think to do makes the rear look cleaner and more symmetric. Also give a message to the 320 brigade.

What "message" is that exactly?

PaulKK wrote: »
    What "message" is that exactly?

That he has a bigger one than you ..... :p

SARASON wrote: »
    That he has a bigger one than you ..... :p

So if you debadge your car you're showing you have a bigger engine than everyone else? :rolleyes:

TBH I find the "give a message to the 320 brigade" bit very arrogant.

Can you not own a nice car without looking down on people with lesser models?
    I was appreciating the pics and discussion up to that point.

My 320d is debaged, when I bought it it was like that, I'm not trying to send a message to 318s or 316s though, or any other car owners for that matter.

PaulKK wrote: »
    So if you debadge your car you're showing you have a bigger engine than everyone else? :rolleyes:

TBH I find the "give a message to the 320 brigade" bit very arrogant.

Can you not own a nice car without looking down on people with lesser models?
    I was appreciating the pics and discussion up to that point.

My 320d is debaged, when I bought it it was like that, I'm not trying to send a message to 318s or 316s though, or any other car owners for that matter.

Sorry lad I was only pulling your leg. I knew you had a 320d..;)

SARASON wrote: »
    Sorry lad I was only pulling your leg. I knew you had a 320d..;)

Ah I know I have no issue with your post, just the attitude in fitzgeme's post is all.

Come on lads lets get back on track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭986s

got performance breaks fitted all OEM parts, keeps the car looking not too modified and does not invalidate the warranty. 6 pots fronts and 4 pot rears.

Hi fitzgeme where did you get the performance brakes fitted? Have a 335i myself and this is next on my list of jobs to do.

To the OP a list of mods to keep you thinking would be
    1) BMW performance brakes- looks so much nicer than the standard rusty ones (dont know if they offer any great performance upgrade though as the 335 i/d brakes are uprated from other 3 series ones and the discs are fractionally smaller than the ones that they would be replacing)

2) Remap- Evolve, DMS etc can combine this with a larger intercooler to bring the bhp into new M3 range approx- 420 bhp

3) As previously mentioned the Qualife LSD would be very worthwhile and this can be combined with a new suspension setup- (thicker anti-roll bars, M3 bushes etc) developed by Bird's in the UK (who also fit the LSD)- Pricey though

4) If your car has the standard hi fi set-up which is pretty poor you can get an alpine upgrade which can be fitted by most BMW dealers as a factory approved option. Same for ipod connectivity if your car doesnt have the 4fl usb option.

Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

The 335d's acceleration is impressive. At the track it hits 60 mph in 5.9 seconds (5.6 seconds with 1 foot of rollout like on a drag strip). It busts through the quarter-mile traps in 14.1 seconds at 99.1 mph. This is 0.6 second slower to 60 mph than the 335i, a gap that is maintained to the quarter-mile mark, and the trap speed is about 4 mph down on the gasoline-powered car.

Also, are you comparing automatic 335i's to the auto only 335d, or manual vs auto?

The preformance breaks are a rebranded brembo setup, yes the disck are slightly smaller but they are drilled and vented unlike the oem ones. With more pistons on the callipers the pad wear is more even and the bite is stonger with greater contact area. You need to uprate the pads and hoses for maximium performance a company called cool carbon make an uprated pad and goodridge make a braided hose set. Speed religion in the UK used to do them, they dont fit anymore but will supply). Certainly I notices when I changed the bite point is much higher and the breaking is more progressive. The adaptive breaking system in the wet works the same as ever.

Alpine upgrade is defo a good one, I did it and it is a very easy and cost effective upgrade and again is OEM.

The DMS remap is class, as is the evolve and the vishnu map. Look at the JB3 or the JB+ or SSTT2 for a cheaper albeit less powerfull option.

The 335d I drove was auto as was the 335i. Dont get me wrong the d is very fast it just doesnt gain speed like the 335i. its not as exciting and all the stats show it slower (it still a fast car so lets not jump down my throat it just aint as fast as a petrol car). If you want to talk remaps thats a different story, but I never drove a remapped 335d.

To the sulking 320d chaps, yes mine is bigger and less smelly than yours ;) but I pay a lot more keep it one the road. All that extra road tax earns me the right to take the piss just a little bit.:D ( I drive mine at speed with the fog lights on, in the overtaking lane and dont indicate around roundabouts....flame suit on).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

What a beaut.. great purchase OP.. Wish I had the bucks to do the same.. :p

I cant wait to see the finished product once you've put all your finishing touches to it.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭MarkN

Lovely one you found. Watch her in the wet, very twitchy and can catch you at times when you're not even pushing it at all.

Some of the M3 Vs 335 comments are funny. ;)

MarkN wrote: »
    Lovely one you found. Watch her in the wet, very twitchy and can catch you at times when you're not even pushing it at all.

Some of the M3 Vs 335 comments are funny. ;)

Agreed about the tail happyness, espically on the RFT as the lack of suspension travel makes the back end loose traction on uneven surfaces. Somehow I dont think you got too worried when a 335i appears in the m3's rear view mirror ;). ( uh is it remapped....the terror)

No matter what car you have there is always someone with a fast...better...more expensive car. Get over it. A remember the fastest car in the world is a rental car. :D

Mark what you driving now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭MarkN

A remember the fastest car in the world is a rental car. :D

Mark what you driving now ?

Ain't that the truth! :)

At the moment I've got a new E-Class 250CD coupe for a couple of weeks. I've put the money for flash cars into something else for the moment and I'm looking for a mint E30 325i m-tech II, that or an Audi S2 maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭D20903

D20903 wrote: »
    CAR NOW SOLD, WE NEED ANOTHER ONE WITH ULTRA LOW MILEAGE.

Edit - beaten to it by RJ, by a good while too, my bad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

might have to trade the 335d for a house (getting old and sensible so fastest way of getting a deposit:rolleyes:) so I suppose this is as good a thread as any to ask what a 2008 335d SE with 13,000 miles on the clock is worth? no remap

If you are selling i might have someone interested. Does it have an iDrive