Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 335 astonished

• 09-07-2010 5:34pm
    Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads,

As some of you may know I have been looking to change the boxster S into something with more comfort, space and power. Looked at loads of cars, 911, Aston, M3, 5 Series, 7 Series pretty much everything, even thought about a A8 for a second then came back to my senses. I tested a BMW 335i and knew from that minute that was the car that ticked every box. Bought this in the end

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/335i/201024198397418/advert?channel=CARS

All I can say is what a car the power is amazing. I started the mods today by getting a dension kit installed for music and it is working perfectly. Next are new wheels and tyres going to go from 18s to 19s and Msport original wheels.

If anybody is looking for a car in this category I can highly recommend it. After the initial modding is done it is over to these guys for a remap

http://www.dmsautomotive.com/index.asp?upid=2&msid=0

Hope this is of interest
    TCP/IP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I hate you.

Lovely car, happy motoring with her. Did you drive an M3 or a 911 ? Surely the 335i isn't amazing power wise in comparison ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Very nice, well wear :)

I've heard it said plenty of times before, even from M3 owners that there's no point in an E92 M3 when you can get the 335 (stock already over 300bhp) and get it remapped for little more than half the costs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Awesome!

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

I drove a 07 M3 and while it is an amazing car I am like Unkel I dont see the point, I think they made a massive mistake releasing the 335 it is just to good. Got talking to a friend who works for a BMW main dealer and he mentioned the car is so wound down performance wise because it is such a threat to the M3. If I was a better driver and was planning track days then the M3 would come into its own but for a bit of motorway drag racing the 335 is a beaut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

And a new 335i produces 196 g/km CO2. 6 g/km lower and it'd be in the 630 euro tax band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

6.5k miles in 3 years :eek:

Well wear, nice machine!!

homer90 wrote: »
    6.5k miles in 3 years :eek:

Well wear, nice machine!!
    I assumed it was 65k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Well wear I've always loved the 335 but I never realised how competent it was compared to a new m3. What gains are you expecting with the remap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I assumed it was 65k?

Doubt it, 6.5K is low, but not unbelievable. Good choice TCP, looking forward to future updates.

Milage was 6700 miles car was never used.
    I will get at least 370 bhp most likely more.

TCP/IP wrote: »
    Milage was 6700 miles car was never used.
    I will get at least 370 bhp most likely more.
    Nice! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Very nice! Spray it white with a black roof and you're 90% there. :D

No thanks I want it to look as normal as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I've been drooling over that exact '07 car for a while now lol...

Ditch the RFTs to complete the car.

How'd you sleep at night with a 335 parked ouside, btw? Will every knacker in dub not be trying to steal it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Nice motor. I could have sold you my 07 A8L for the same money. Mine had 90k miles though... Fine car would be nicer with the chrome around the windows.

Edit: Forget the chrome I am told im like a magpie.;)

pajo1981 wrote: »

How'd you sleep at night with a 335 parked ouside, btw? Will every knacker in dub not be trying to steal it?

That's why it's a 335 not an M3 hoping it be a little less showey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Good luck with the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

BrianD3 wrote: »
    And a new 335i produces 196 g/km CO2. 6 g/km lower and it'd be in the 630 euro tax band.

Again.....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

pajo1981 wrote: »

How'd you sleep at night with a 335 parked ouside, btw? Will every knacker in Galway or Cork not be trying to steal it?

Less chance with a 335i, not as many of our country cousins will recognise it. Great purchase TCP/IP. You bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

MojoMaker wrote: »
    You bollix

LMAO:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Now there's a car that actually makes me say Niiice out loud to myself!

Beautiful motor, well wear and all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Great car!

Myself and my brother were only talking about 335i's at length recently and just how close they can push an M3 after the remap. And at such a lower cost as well.

Glad to hear you're going to get it remapped and start easing out all it's potential! :)

It can be considered a good thing and a bad thing depending on what way you want to look at it, that a huge amount of people don't realise just how good the 335i is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Nice :)

I had a 135i in today. Same engine as the 335i as far as I can tell? Few kilo's less in the weight department too. 0-60 in 5 seconds as standard :o

You will be keeping Camskill and Esso in business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭White_Wolf

I wish I could afford that, but I prefare the older late 80's models of the 3 series. Would love to be able to afford one of those also.

Seperate wrote: »
    Nice :)

I had a 135i in today. Same engine as the 335i as far as I can tell? Few kilo's less in the weight department too. 0-60 in 5 seconds as standard :o

You will be keeping Camskill and Esso in business!

Wow a 135 that is a rare car what a machine. You guys should watch 135 v M3 it's amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

yeap, you've got a machine which is viciously quick with none of the m3 willy waving scenario attached. well done, she's a beaut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Having had a 335i for a couple of years I can say you wont be disappointed. That car is a good spec and the milage is crazy low. Defo new wheels and non RFT. Think about a turbo tuner box as you will get 350 bhp and 40 more torques for about 300 euro and it plug and play removable. In fact I get better fuel consumption with my SSTT box.

The OEM brakes are a bit week IMHO. Get braided hoses, and dot 5.1 fluid. They are single piston which is a bit odd on a car like this. Also the se steering wheel is pants, change it to a msport or performance one, easy got on ebay and easy to change.

Nice purchase,, many good miles of fast motoring.

The 335i has one of the nicest exhaust notes of any BMW its incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Bearcat wrote: »
    yeap, you've got a machine which is viciously quick with none of the m3 willy waving scenario attached. well done, she's a beaut.

There is a lot more to an M3 than just BHP. Almost every mechanical component is different to that found in a regular 3 series (including the 335i), gearbox, brakes, suspension and possibly most importantly the differential, the M diff is the special ingredient that makes the cars so balanced and controlable, power is transferred from one wheel to the other at the rear to compensate for loss of grip.

The 335i is a great piece of engineering, but I don't think people fully appreciate how good M3's are until they have driven one properly.

I had a 328Ci & I now drive an E46 M3 so the power difference between them and the current range topper and the E92 M3 is similar, the power is only part of the equation, the M3 is so planted in stretches where the 328 would be slipping and sliding.

Congrats OP on the new car, but if you do get it mapped up to 350+ Bhp, don't forget the suspension and brakes to be able to control the additional power.

Totally agree with you when it comes to a track the M3 comes into its own no doubt. But you have to admit watching somebody in their M3 get a fright at traffic light grand prix could be amusing. Dont get me wrong I loved the new M3 I really did I just wanted more from it after driving the 335 and it just was not there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Real nice choice there, they're an awesome car.

Nice to get one with idrive aswell, the ones without look really poverty spec.

DMS map is supposed to be incredible, it's about a grand I think but well worth it if you're keeping it for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

+1 OP, I had a 335 as a demo for a short while, and fell in love with the car. Not as brash and in your face as an M3, but supercar performance. In a few years when the values have tumbled, I'll have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Very impressive car , how is the auto box ? Wish I had one :)

Auto box is super such a pleasure to drive just sit back and go what more could you want.
    It took me four months of looking to find a car with a good spec and when this one came along with such low milage and still having the new car smell it was used that little I knew this was the one for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

+1 OP, I had a 335 as a demo for a short while, and fell in love with the car. Not as brash and in your face as an M3, but supercar performance. In a few years when the values have tumbled, I'll have one.

Super car is pushing it, but Im sure it performs very favourably to compared say to an e46 M3.
    http://www.fastestlaps.com/comparisons/458da72e81532-vs-458da861dbf7c.html

Remapped it should just about beat it, in pure grunt anyhow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

what a broing grey/black interior , will that be getting a makeover,
    nice car though,

argosy2006 wrote: »
    what a broing grey/black interior , will that be getting a makeover,
    nice car though,

What would you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Victor_M wrote: »
    There is a lot more to an M3 than just BHP. Almost every mechanical component is different to that found in a regular 3 series (including the 335i), gearbox, brakes, suspension and possibly most importantly the differential, the M diff is the special ingredient that makes the cars so balanced and controlable, power is transferred from one wheel to the other at the rear to compensate for loss of grip.

Appreciate all that and I am a fan of big (V8) normally breathing engines myself, but a 135i coupe costs about half of an M3 and with a remap to 370BHP, I'd say it would beat an M3 even on a track. Some value for money there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I have to say, there's so much talke about M3's, I've never even looked for/at one of these...........sounds very much win-win . 300bhp in any language, ain't slow.......!

Of course, you could do the anti-M3 thing, and buy a......316i badge for it ! :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

What would you suggest?

335i-e92coupe-3.jpg

was it available with this color interior, is this is a 335i coupe interior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

335i-e92coupe-3.jpg

Even if it was, so what ? The car already has an interior...........you only get choices on new ones.....and spending big €€€ to do it doesn't make much sense at this stage.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

e92coupeimage.jpg

i think interior i showed was from this model ,its newer model i guess, so maybe your model never had tan interior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

e92coupeimage.jpg

i think interior i showed was from this model ,its newer model i guess, so maybe your model never had tan interior

That's the same model. The tan interior was available in 2007 as was the wood trim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Gorgeous car. Well wear

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

you had your choice of interiers when the car was ordered brand new, but my god that walnut trim is cack looking, i had it in an E90 before and hated every second of it.

TCP your interier is twice as nice as this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Fair play OP, even though I really hate you it's not nearly as pimpy as an M3 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Qualife LSD ftw

I hate wood in a car so much prefer my own.
    Fitz I have heard amazing things about Qualife do you have in yours.
    Oh and if I get a wheel off ebay were would I go to get it fitted and reinstall the shifters and the airbag along with the controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Looks well - best of luck with it.

The black on black can be a bit dull (exact combo I have in my M3) but the trim looks very well.

Shame so many of these have the auto box though!

To be honest Ken I would never bye a manual I know that is another days discussion but I hate manual auto is so easy and I drive a lot with work so makes by life easy. Cruise control and auto a winning combo.

On another note I was thinking about posting on bmw-driver.net for some advice and to introduce myself would that be ok.