Overkill UK Police?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The first pic:

" oh sorry officer, I didn't notice the crazy 6ft + gun man in the boot of my little car..."

As for the second pic, they just look like a bunch of mercenaries. Where are the uniforms, highly unprofessional IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Biggins wrote: »
    Please...! Its cops - not a hardened battle drilled military squad!

I think the fact that they are yielding weapons in search of a fugitive negates that argument. Simple spread out formation with 360 cover goes a long way to keeping you safer, regardless of your profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Why cant they just get some super nifty SAS people in to track him down. Jesus we've seen all the documentarys on TV about how awesome they are at finding people. Why dont they just use them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Hogzy wrote: »
    Why cant they just get some super nifty SAS people in to track him down. Jesus we've seen all the documentarys on TV about how awesome they are at finding people. Why dont they just use them?

all still off searching for Osama, that's how good they are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I think the fact that they are yielding weapons in search of a fugitive negates that argument. Simple spread out formation with 360 cover goes a long way to keeping you safer, regardless of your profession.
    ...and simply spread out in a line provides a line you would find in a shooting gallery for a sniper to target on easily before moving in micro-seconds to the next in line target.

There is pro's and cons to different formations and unless you actually know why they are in the formation (as in the second pic) they are in, I wouldn't be so quick to say to rush to assessment.

Clearly the lot in the second pic are cops. Why they are moving in that formation is best know to themselves. I've seen other pics/footage where actual military soldiers elsewhere looking for this man, are moving along in other line forms of detachment.

...One of the factors by the way, is the terrain they are in at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The police got severe criticism in Cumbria though there is very little they could have done.

Now they are using all available resources and it's overkill?

Let the professionals do their job and don't judge them from behind the keyboard OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Biggins wrote: »
    ...and simply spread out in a line provides a line you would find in a shooting gallery for a sniper to target on easily before moving in micro-seconds to the next in line target.

There is pro's and cons to different formations and unless you actually know why they are in the formation (as in the second pic) they are in, I wouldn't be so quick to say to rush to assessment.

Clearly the lot in the second pic are cops. Why they are moving in that formation is best know to themselves. I've seen other pics/footage where actual military soldiers elsewhere looking for this man, are moving along in other line forms of detachment.

...One of the factors by the way, is the terrain they are in at the time.

I didn't say line - because as you rightly point out, a line down the line of sight is just as vulnerable as a closely grouped bunch of cops. I'm sure they got training on such matters of searching in formation. To me, this is just a photograph to turn up the heat and nothing more.

Hogzy wrote: »
    The SAS it has been announced (this morning) has been called in too.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Brady, when using quote, PLEASE have the quote first, then your reply! Its so confusing

...To me, this is just a photograph to turn up the heat and nothing more.
    Well I assumed that all along as my post (earlier No 4)
    ...its deliberate tactics.
    Psychological tactics being used on the man pressure-wise for him to turn himself in.
    They are simply and visibly trying to turn up the pressure on him to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭baldbear

Sky just said 10% of all UK firarms officers are now in the area! So i wonder how many guns those he have? There looks to be some special forces in the area too. Maybe it's just one big misunderstanding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The second picture is clearly a load of guys coming back from a search or something. As the photo is taken head on this means the photographer would have to be in an area already searched/safe and as such those lads aren't on proper alert.

Also, some people have to remember Call of Duty =/= Real Life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Also, some people have to remember Call of Duty =/= Real Life
    Anyone who plays Modern Warfare 2 knows that.

/Commando lunges 20 feet across a room to stab someone. :D

The second picture is clearly a load of guys coming back from a search or something. As the photo is taken head on this means the photographer would have to be in an area already searched/safe and as such those lads aren't on proper alert.
    Very good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

They should just carpet-bomb Northumberland. Instant win.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    They should just carpet-bomb Northumberland. Instant win.

funny, that exact point came up with the work crowd over breakfast today too :D
    and it wasn't even me that made it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭baldbear

Police news conferance now. By the sounds of it your man Moat is after making a right bollox of all the police. People rang the cops claiming to be Moat but wern't him at all!
    The net is closing in, he is somewhere in the UK region....

funny, that exact point came up with the work crowd over breakfast today too :D
    and it wasn't even me that made it!

Gonna be an awkward lunch now that ye knew ye work with each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

If you won't end this now, they will kill you. Is that what you want? It's over Johnny. It's over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

It's all over the news over here, and i have to say I did think it was all a bit overkill, but can now understand the psychological tactic behind it. Apparently he has waged war on the wider public now, so they are stepping their search..still finding it hard to believe they haven't found him yet tho, they've found two places he slept rough so far..

still finding it hard to believe they haven't found him yet tho, t

have they looked behind themselves yet?

"he's behind you"

"Oh no he's not"

" oh yes he is"

"Oh no he's n..." BANG BANG BANG

[wipes off blood splatter]"told ya!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Given that they cannot find a bouncer who's mind is melted from steroids I sincerely hope some soldier who has been tracking the taliban in Afghanistan for 2 years doesn't decide to flip out some day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    If you won't end this now, they will kill you. Is that what you want? It's over Johnny. It's over!

Trautman: It's good to hear your voice Johnny, it's been a long time. Look John, you've done some damage here, they don't want anymore trouble. That's why I've come. I want to come in there and fly you the hell out. Just you and me. We'll work this thing out together. Is that fair enough?

Rambo: Where did you come from Sir?

Trautman: Bragg.

Rambo: I tried to get in touch with you, but the guy's in Bragg never knew where to find you.

Trautman: You know I haven't been spending much time there lately, they've got me down in D.C. I'm shining a seat with my ass.

Rambo: I wish I was back in Bragg now.

Trautman: We'll talk about that when you come in.

Rambo: I can't do that Sir.

Trautman: Look John, we can't have you running around out there killing friendly civilians.

Rambo: There are no friendly civilians!

Trautman: But I'm your friend Johnny! I was there with you knee-deep in all that blood and guts. I covered your ass more than once. Seems like baling you out of trouble's got to be a life-time achievement for me.

Rambo: There wouldn't be no trouble except for that king shit cop! All I wanted was something to eat. But the man kept pushing Sir.

Trautman: Well you did some pushing on your own John.

Rambo: They drew first blood, not me.

Trautman: Look Johnny, let me come in and get you the hell out of there!

Rambo: They drew first blood...

Trautman: Rambo, are you still reading me? Company leader to Raven! Rambo! Acknowledge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

It's the ultimate game of hide and seek.

Man I'd love to be over there looking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It'll all end in tears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

The BBC have reported that Ross Kemp has flown back from the amazon to take on the gunman.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Maybe he is in a hut, with a moat around it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭areu4real?

Get Trent to sort it out. PEOWWW PEOWWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Moat is slowly being surrounded.

Now, THAT's irony :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

Davei141 wrote: »
    The BBC have reported that Ross Kemp has flown back from the amazon to take on the gunman.

Send Ross Kemp's ex-wife instead !