Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overkill UK Police?!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I had to laugh when I heard their figures for Northumbria - 4,100 cops and just 40 trained to use firearms.

Here we have 13,000 with 3,000 constantly armed detectives and then the RSU and ERU for specialist stuff like this. Not often we beat the UK in terms of our ability to have cops defend themselves, imagine if something happened in the far corner of the county now? Intersting that in the US, albeit their gun culture is total bull****, that this just wouldn't be able to happen because every member of the local community would have a gun :P

Time for all cops in the UK to be armed has come if you ask me, and I'll say the same of the Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

sdonn wrote: »
    I had to laugh when I heard their figures for Northumbria - 4,100 cops and just 40 trained to use firearms.

Here we have 13,000 with 3,000 constantly armed detectives and then the RSU and ERU for specialist stuff like this. Not often we beat the UK in terms of our ability to have cops defend themselves, imagine if something happened in the far corner of the county now? Intersting that in the US, albeit their gun culture is total bull****, that this just wouldn't be able to happen because every member of the local community would have a gun :P

Time for all cops in the UK to be armed has come if you ask me, and I'll say the same of the Gardaí.

the de Menezes family might disagree with you

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

harsea8 wrote: »
    the de Menezes family might disagree with you

Theres a difference between armed cops and incompetent armed cops in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The first picture,the police man is aiming the rifle at the boot,not the old womens head,thats what he is there for,to cover his buddy opening the boot....

And no,it is not overkill,armed man goes crazy and is hiding in a huge forest with difficult terrain and is threating to kill anything that comes near him,sure lets send in a few unarmed officers with big sticks to arrest him!

The fact he has evaded arrest this long means he has some cop on and knowledge about living out doors and it seems the whole thing has been well planned by him.

The more police the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭storm2811

All I can say is,they look bad ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

I'm from the North-East of England, and can safely say that Northumbria's finest are absolutely clueless.

That Sue Simm leading the investigation is a joke, asking Moat to hand himself in after saying the previous day that he was hiding in a tent in Rothbury.

Aye Sue, he's going to have Sky News in his tent like :rolleyes:

An incident happened between Sunderland football fans and Northhumbria Police last August, which still hasn't been resolved in court as they ''lost'' the CCTV they allegedly had.

Moat has given them the complete run-around and it's not surprising.

What a bunch of idiots Northumbria's finest are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    He has declared war on the general public as well

He hasn't.

It stinks as a tactic that Northumbria Police have used to put more fear and awareness in people to help capture Moat.

This whole incident is seen as a bit of a laugh in the North-East at how incompetent the police there are.

Raoul is probably sitting in his mothers house in France as we speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3047313/Tornado-jet-called-in-for-Raoul-Moat-search.html

They're sending fighter jets now.

Won't sending all this badass hardware in encourge more people to be hard men? He probably thinks he's John Rambo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

sdonn wrote: »
    Theres a difference between armed cops and incompetent armed cops in fairness.

the London MET would beg to differ

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

What did they send over from N.I ? Was it amour plated X5's or the old landrovers?

(if it was the landrovers he will hear them coming from miles away )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

The english police tend to overload situations with manpower. I was in a pub once when the police came and sealed the place off, wouldn't let us leave. We were let go eventually in ones and twos and ordered to proceed in a particular direction. There were eleven police vehicles, dog units and a helicopter. The reason? Two football fans had had a bit of a scuffle. They were dealt with almost instantly and chucked into the back of a van. Not sure what the rest was about.

This guy Moat is simply committing suicide by cop.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Brady wrote: »
    Hey,

Im sure all of you's have been reading the story about this massive police manhunt for Raoul Moat.

Having read some of the latest developments and checking out the images i couldnt believe hardware on display of the UK police force (check out attachements)

Is it just me or is this overkill?!

Images are Sourced from BBC Newswebsite

No thats not overkill, this would be overkill

http://www.lahc.edu/classes/chemistry/arias/nuclear-explosion.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

They're taking it more seriously because the gunman is mostly out for them, they're more protective of themselves than the civilians. Assholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭Brady

DingChavez wrote: »
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3047313/Tornado-jet-called-in-for-Raoul-Moat-search.html

They're sending fighter jets now.

Won't sending all this badass hardware in encourge more people to be hard men? He probably thinks he's John Rambo.

That is just brilliant... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Brady wrote: »
    Hey,

Im sure all of you's have been reading the story about this massive police manhunt for Raoul Moat.

Having read some of the latest developments and checking out the images i couldnt believe hardware on display of the UK police force (check out attachements)

Is it just me or is this overkill?!

Images are Sourced from BBC Newswebsite

They don't always look like that. Its' just that this Moat guy seems a tad unbalanced. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Nailz wrote: »
    They're taking it more seriously because the gunman is mostly out for them, they're more protective of themselves than the civilians. Assholes.

Yeah sure, they are there in the first place to protect people.

Why would 4000 police travel TO the gunman?

Or was that just a bout of mental diarrhoea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

How long is this guy on the run? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Too much hardware?? They're searching for an armed gunman that's shot and killed innocent victims - what would be the suitable level of hardware then? Time to break out the muskets and blunderbusses....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Too much hardware?? They're searching for an armed gunman that's shot and killed innocent victims - what would be the suitable level of hardware then? Time to break out the muskets and blunderbusses....

i do hope they manage to disable him rather than killing him. a nice life sentence as a vegetable would give him time to think about what he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

orourkeda wrote: »
    They are chasing a gunmen you know

Exactly. A gunman who has stated his intention to target police officers. Unhinged man + loaded gun = very dangerous situation, as the citizens of Cumbria found out recently. With the memory of that still fresh in the mind I'd expect the ploice to be taking no chances whatsoever.

We all like to give out about the police/gardai from time to time but in cases like this they can't win really. If they don't react sufficiently people end up dead and they get lambasted for inaction, if they react as they are now it's 'overkill'.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

The english police tend to overload situations with manpower. I was in a pub once when the police came and sealed the place off, wouldn't let us leave. We were let go eventually in ones and twos and ordered to proceed in a particular direction. There were eleven police vehicles, dog units and a helicopter. The reason? Two football fans had had a bit of a scuffle. They were dealt with almost instantly and chucked into the back of a van. Not sure what the rest was about.

This guy Moat is simply committing suicide by cop.

We have all seen how quick a situation can turn bad in regards football fans in the UK.
    TBH i dont think the having that many police at a football fight is overkill as the two fighting could have been known hooligans. Things can escalate pretty quick over there as i have seen before.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,980 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Good photo of armed UK cops protecting their doughnuts. You have to get your priorities right.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0709/breaking2.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

2 Angles on this ;

If this nutter is hunting the police, hes doing a pretty lacklustre job. Half the UK's police force is stomping around the woods, you'd have though it was open season for him, but he hasnt bagged one yet!

and as for the police, They are fecking useless, give them some 'real work' to do and it all goes tits up. The whole operation is a joke.
    He's been under their noses and given them the slip several times now. I think its funny.

m8d1ch.jpg

lol.....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

^^^lol good pic,

Yeah it is a bit of a joke the way this guy has disappeared. Id say he is well gone by this stage, whether he stole a car or got a buddy to pick him up is fairly likely. He has no tent and no sleeping bag. Hes fooked if hes out in the open. Like he stayed in a tent the first night which was really close to Rothbury. I dont understand how a heat seeking infra red camera would not have seen him?

Unless he is a Vampire and has no body heat at all.

I think he's been driven to it, one of his pals said he had been stopped over 100 times over a period of 4 or 5 months by the cops - they've been victimising him. Its my opinion hes been stitched up by the police big time. I've read many don't trust Northumbria police one iota, if they have it in for you, then basically you're focked! They're as corrupt as can be alledgedly. Remember ehat happened here in the Donegal division with our Gardai - Garda abuse of power is fooking everywhere and this guy is like Michael Douglus in "Falling Down"

He is a creation of the police force . He does have a criminal past but alot of people say that he has been harassed by the police impounding his work truck and stopping him every time they see him.

It was the wife who tipped him over the edge by having the affair and not only that he new boyfriend actually issued a challenge to him , in which he took up.

Now the police have a mess to clean up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,491 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

It was the wife who tipped him over the edge by having the affair and not only that he new boyfriend actually issued a challenge to him , in which he took up.

"I bet you can't shoot me and go on the run from the police"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Reading this story and following it, I'm thinking more and more Rambo First Bloob.

He's got the forrest boobie trapped

in a bunker somewhere, and plod don't have a clue where this bunker is.
    He's probably stocked it up on baked bean & supplies, and could be in there till WW3 breaks out!

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭cupthehand1

Exact same as ERU in Limerick and no one says its overkill, peoples lives are at stake, fight fire with fire and all that