13a = HELL!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

78A is easily the worst bus in Dublin, I know as I get it most days :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

karlog wrote: »
    Ah sure their doing no one any harm. It's good that the law is lenient with these people, they had a rough upbringing its not their fault.

This is sarcasm at its highest

Salt of the earth. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Just take back the buses

.... god bless you Santa Claus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Your problem OP is that you're not seeing the good in this situation.

Think of the entertainment you're getting on your journey. Imagine sitting on a bus with no crazy people, no junkies, no drunks, no gobby teenagers...the world would be a less colourful place.

PS: I'm a people watcher. Nothing delights me more than watching a few weirdos going about their daily business. I have taken note of the bus number for future reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I'd often get the 13a from merrion square to St.Pats and I've never seen any trouble on it.
    The 77a is a different matter though. Always someone smoking upstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I used to get the 13A when I was working in Dublin. Overheard many interesting and colourful conversations on it. Lots of interesting smells on that bus too. My bus in Cork is dull in comparison :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Why is Dublin the only place I've ever been where smoking cigs/hash on buses is tolerated? If you tried that craic anywhere else the police would have you locked up in no time.

I've come across it in both London and Berlin.

However, not with quite the same frequency as on the 78a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Huh!!The 13A?You think thats bad?......You should try The Baghdad Express!

The 220....goes through Ballymun,Finglas,Mullhudart,Blanch and Clonsilla!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

They should hire a few homeless people to sit down the back of the buses all day. The scummers won't bother getting on them if they can't sit at the back.

Or bus drivers should grow a pair and tell them to get the **** off when they start hassling people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    Or bus drivers should grow a pair and tell them to get the **** off when they start hassling people.
    I've heard of more than one bus driver getting battered for following this advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Brendog wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the 13a bus hell??
    i think it's just you :P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

In my time of busing I've only ever seen one driver tell a smoker to get off the bus. Interestingly the driver wasn't Irish and further I never saw him again on the route. Not much hope there then.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I've heard of more than one bus driver getting battered for following this advice.

That's fair enough, but I'm sure bus drivers could handle the usual bunch of teens smoking at the back. Most will buckle as soon as you tell them to turn their music off before you throw their phone out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Brendog wrote: »
    which is why it smells of asperin and pee

...much like the 83. The waft on it when one oul wan got up last wednesday was dire. You could see people flinch...

78A is easily the worst bus in Dublin, I know as I get it most days :mad:

79 is probably slightly more worse, but to each their own. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Do I feel sorry for all the students slumming it on Dublin Bus with the OAPs & poor people?

No, not one f*cking bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

That's fair enough, but I'm sure bus drivers could handle the usual bunch of teens smoking at the back. Most will buckle as soon as you tell them to turn their music off before you throw their phone out the window.

If it were only that simple, grand, but it rarely is,, people shooting up, really unpleasant to see someone debasing themselves, but I've witnessed much more violent and threatening behaviour than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I used to get that bus - don't remember anything bad about it other than once when there were flyer things all over it from Dublin Bus/the transport workers' union advising it would be discontinuing service to certain estates in Ballymun due to the drivers being intimidated every time they went in there.

Thought it was really horrible for all the people living in those estates who relied on the service, especially elderly. :(

Do I feel sorry for all the students slumming it on Dublin Bus with the OAPs & poor people?

No, not one f*cking bit.

I'm no student. I work too far from where I live to cycle and don't want to spend forever sitting in traffic when its faster to get the bus. My choice granted, merely pointing out the anti-social things that go on

Why be a dick to students and oaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Dudess wrote: »
    I used to get that bus - don't remember anything bad about it other than once when there were flyer things all over it from Dublin Bus/the transport workers' union advising it would be discontinuing service to certain estates in Ballymun due to the drivers being intimidated every time they went in there.

Thought it was really horrible for all the people living in those estates who relied on the service, especially elderly. :(
    They're bus drivers, not gardai. They shouldn't have to endure that kind of behaviour whilst at work. The union was dead right on that occasion. Not saying it wasn't unfair on the elderly and good folk however but that's what you have to expect when you live in an area like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

K4t wrote: »
    They're bus drivers, not gardai. They shouldn't have to endure that kind of behaviour whilst at work. The union was dead right on that occasion. Not saying it wasn't unfair on the elderly and good folk however but that's what you have to expect when you live in an area like that.

Well maybe the elderly and some good folk don't have the money to get out of the place.

Anyway , the main unanswered question in this thread is... Why was 'Brendog' born ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

MardiB wrote: »
    I'm no student. I work too far from where I live to cycle and don't want to spend forever sitting in traffic when its faster to get the bus. My choice granted, merely pointing out the anti-social things that go on

Why be a dick to students and oaps?

Because they smell bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

K4t wrote: »
    They're bus drivers, not gardai. They shouldn't have to endure that kind of behaviour whilst at work. The union was dead right on that occasion.
    Oh I agree - I'm not blaming the bus drivers, I'm blaming the dickheads who intimidated them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

Because they smell bad.

Yore face smells bad. :cool:

Don't get me started on that cunting 83 :mad:

Because they smell bad.

Perhaps I'm wrong, but are you not a bit of a self sufficient farmer? Can't say eau de manure is a popular fragrance;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I'm pretty sure (having lived in various parts of the city) that the 77/A/50 busroute is Dublin's worst but mostly because its route takes it through a number of heavily dodgy areas (as opposed to heading or coming from a major bad spot). It really is a 'sit down downstairs' affair and you should be fine but that does not always work of course. Not much can be done until a crackdown begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Whats the one with the Terminus at D'olier street beside the Screen cinema?

the 44?

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Huh!!The 13A?You think thats bad?......You should try The Baghdad Express!

The 220....goes through Ballymun,Finglas,Mullhudart,Blanch and Clonsilla!

A mate used to get this bus sometimes. I couldn't stop laughing when he told me about it. But yeah, I think I'd rather walk in a hurricane with two broken legs than board that bus.

The 77A is bad? I always found the scummers to be very pleasant. Usually they open a window or two if they're smoking, and sometimes have the courtesy to piss into their empty cans, rather than the floor.