Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

13a = HELL!!!!

• 05-07-2010 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or is the 13a bus hell??

I can't take listening to junkie ramblings and terrible techno/tinfoil music upstairs and I also can't take drunk messes in my face downstairs

all it needs is some fire and a guy with goat legs and horns. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Get a job and buy a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Join in and become a scumbag, get to know them and then when they least expect it...BOOM! Well then something happens, not sure up to you I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

had to take a bus today as i totalled my bike/face the other night when drunk. God it's horrific. Stopping every 2 minutes at lights etc.
    Buy a bike you lazy get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Imagine how the driver feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I was on the bus today and they were smoking hash down the back. HASH!!! on a packed bus with people coming home from work with their kids they picked up form creche.

they are just scum!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

And where exactly does the 13A serve?
    Does it go from "town"?

I usually wait for the next, less scumbaggy bus. If I have to get it I sit downstairs.

In all fairness though I've been on far worse buses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

try the 77a,serious needle dodging

And where exactly does the 13A serve?
    Does it go from "town"?

Yup from town all the way to ballymun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

The 17 is the worst in Dublin bar none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Brendog wrote: »
    I can't take listening to junkie ramblings and terrible techno/tinfoil music upstairs and I also can't take drunk messes in my face downstairs
    The music they're listening to is not techno. Techno is a subgenre of EDM and unless you're into your dance music you've probably never heard a techno song in your life.

Sorry for the pedantry but this is a pet hate of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

I was on the bus today and they were smoking hash down the back. HASH!!! on a packed bus with people coming home from work with their kids they picked up form creche.

they are just scum!!!

Welcome to the real world , and Dublin for that matter.

That bus goes from town to Ballymun , and its not the only Dublin bus with drunks and skangers smoking hash upstairs .

Anyone with half a brain cell knows to sit down-stairs or stand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Why is Dublin the only place I've ever been where smoking cigs/hash on buses is tolerated? If you tried that craic anywhere else the police would have you locked up in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

No it is not hell, it is the natural order in Ballymun, two days ago on the same bus I witnessed someone strung out fall over their seat and scramble to their feet, they managed to get off the bus, less than 60 seconds later the same person was buying gear from a dealer outside the shopping centre. My advice get a 11/a or 4/a and walk.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Why is Dublin the only place I've ever been where smoking cigs/hash on buses is tolerated? If you tried that craic anywhere else the police would have you locked up in no time.

Because most knacker behaviour is tolerated in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ah sure their doing no one any harm. It's good that the law is lenient with these people, they had a rough upbringing its not their fault.

This is sarcasm at its highest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

Got the 77 home today as usual, sitting downstairs doesn't always work. Two hammered guys sitting opposite and next to me. the guy opposite me had his face all busted up. Decided to talk **** to me. Kept touching my leg, I was wearing a dress ( and yes I'm female) and telling me how pretty I was. This was interspersed with general racially abuse rants. i'ts really intimidating but I've seen a lot worse on the 77 bus.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

The 17 is the worst in Dublin bar none.

Get on the 78a and come back with that statement.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I noramlly hate when people jump in with Dublin forum at the mere mention of our fair city. But in this case it should be moved there, but I don't expect it to last long.

TheZohan wrote: »

Isn't backseat modding against forum charter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The ironing is delicious....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Isn't that back seat modding? Isn't this back seat modding? Just avoid back seats, especially on the 13a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Get on the 78a and come back with that statement.

Haha had to get that every day for college.. didn't actually find it that bad until one day the guy sitting beside starting smoking heroin...

123 is the worst bus in Dublin, stink of Asprin and Wee and no seats left if you are under 60, if you have to use the 13a stand downstairs or sit down the back downstairs,the bus is usually empty after DCU,btw what I seen was also downstairs so buck up as these things will never change in this Sh1t hole of an area,history repeats itself and this sort of thing has always exisited.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

123 is the worst bus in Dublin, stink of Asprin and Wee and no seats left if you are under 60, if you have to use the 13a stand downstairs or sit down the back downstairs,the bus is usually empty after DCU,btw what I seen was also downstairs so buck up as these things will never change in this Sh1t hole of an area,history repeats itself and this sort of thing has always exisited.
    the 123 is grand,full of grannies

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

TheZohan wrote: »

does the 13A go past there?
    pmcmahon wrote: »

Hence the smell of wee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

which is why it smells of asperin and pee

Isn't that back seat modding? Isn't this back seat modding? Just avoid back seats, especially on the 13a.

It is a joke, the ironing is lost on some people:rolleyes:

Well whatever you are into,personally necrophilia is not for me;),every bus in the Dublin Bus service sucks for different reasons,gives rise to the need for a hired goon squad policing these buses exacting revenge on all those who piss anyone off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

78A is easily the worst bus in Dublin, I know as I get it most days :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

karlog wrote: »
    Ah sure their doing no one any harm. It's good that the law is lenient with these people, they had a rough upbringing its not their fault.

This is sarcasm at its highest

Salt of the earth. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Just take back the buses

.... god bless you Santa Claus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Your problem OP is that you're not seeing the good in this situation.

Think of the entertainment you're getting on your journey. Imagine sitting on a bus with no crazy people, no junkies, no drunks, no gobby teenagers...the world would be a less colourful place.

PS: I'm a people watcher. Nothing delights me more than watching a few weirdos going about their daily business. I have taken note of the bus number for future reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I'd often get the 13a from merrion square to St.Pats and I've never seen any trouble on it.
    The 77a is a different matter though. Always someone smoking upstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I used to get the 13A when I was working in Dublin. Overheard many interesting and colourful conversations on it. Lots of interesting smells on that bus too. My bus in Cork is dull in comparison :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I've come across it in both London and Berlin.

However, not with quite the same frequency as on the 78a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Huh!!The 13A?You think thats bad?......You should try The Baghdad Express!

The 220....goes through Ballymun,Finglas,Mullhudart,Blanch and Clonsilla!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

They should hire a few homeless people to sit down the back of the buses all day. The scummers won't bother getting on them if they can't sit at the back.

Or bus drivers should grow a pair and tell them to get the **** off when they start hassling people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    Or bus drivers should grow a pair and tell them to get the **** off when they start hassling people.
    I've heard of more than one bus driver getting battered for following this advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Is it just me or is the 13a bus hell??
    i think it's just you :P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

In my time of busing I've only ever seen one driver tell a smoker to get off the bus. Interestingly the driver wasn't Irish and further I never saw him again on the route. Not much hope there then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I've heard of more than one bus driver getting battered for following this advice.

That's fair enough, but I'm sure bus drivers could handle the usual bunch of teens smoking at the back. Most will buckle as soon as you tell them to turn their music off before you throw their phone out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

which is why it smells of asperin and pee

...much like the 83. The waft on it when one oul wan got up last wednesday was dire. You could see people flinch...

78A is easily the worst bus in Dublin, I know as I get it most days :mad:

79 is probably slightly more worse, but to each their own. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Do I feel sorry for all the students slumming it on Dublin Bus with the OAPs & poor people?

No, not one f*cking bit.

That's fair enough, but I'm sure bus drivers could handle the usual bunch of teens smoking at the back. Most will buckle as soon as you tell them to turn their music off before you throw their phone out the window.

If it were only that simple, grand, but it rarely is,, people shooting up, really unpleasant to see someone debasing themselves, but I've witnessed much more violent and threatening behaviour than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I used to get that bus - don't remember anything bad about it other than once when there were flyer things all over it from Dublin Bus/the transport workers' union advising it would be discontinuing service to certain estates in Ballymun due to the drivers being intimidated every time they went in there.

Thought it was really horrible for all the people living in those estates who relied on the service, especially elderly. :(

Do I feel sorry for all the students slumming it on Dublin Bus with the OAPs & poor people?

No, not one f*cking bit.

I'm no student. I work too far from where I live to cycle and don't want to spend forever sitting in traffic when its faster to get the bus. My choice granted, merely pointing out the anti-social things that go on

Why be a dick to students and oaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Dudess wrote: »
    I used to get that bus - don't remember anything bad about it other than once when there were flyer things all over it from Dublin Bus/the transport workers' union advising it would be discontinuing service to certain estates in Ballymun due to the drivers being intimidated every time they went in there.

Thought it was really horrible for all the people living in those estates who relied on the service, especially elderly. :(
    They're bus drivers, not gardai. They shouldn't have to endure that kind of behaviour whilst at work. The union was dead right on that occasion. Not saying it wasn't unfair on the elderly and good folk however but that's what you have to expect when you live in an area like that.