Kerry v Limerick - MSFC Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

gipo2 wrote: »
    Kerry are always looking for the refs protection, bunch of pussies. Their the dirtiest team of all and the problem is the refs are afraid of them.
    Hopefully it will be picked up on the Sunday Game tonight and get T O'Se banned

Cool down a bit dude.

Saying that refs are "afraid" of Kerry is stupid IMO, why in the world would a ref be afraid of a group of players? Nonsense tbh.

I don't think Kerry are any dirtier than Cork, Tyrone etc, but they are certainly not afraid to participate in the nastier side of things.

In the early part of the 00's Kerry were widely ridiculed for being too "soft", and were bullied out of the Championship on several occasions by tougher Northern sides.

Kerry have now added that same edge to their game and are being criticised for that too.

It's fair enough, when you're on top people are always going to have a gripe, but you can go overboard as well, and I think you've done so here.

Aidric wrote: »
    Would you like to point out where he was punched and kicked because I watched the whole game and never saw this happen. Pulled yes, but that's to be expected.

I'm sure it probably happened off camera. Tbh it's standard practice among pretty much all teams to rough up substitutes.

Saying that, I don't think it's a big deal, players are well used to it and in general get on with their game without making a fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,395 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Aidric wrote: »
    Would you like to point out where he was punched and kicked because I watched the whole game and never saw this happen. Pulled yes, but that's to be expected.
    No problem. The minute Quirke came onto the park, one of the Limerick midfielder (sorry I missed the number) immediatly shoved Quirke, and both of them engaged in a bit of harmless pushing and shoving. Then the Limerick #15 came behind Quirke and kicked him in the ankle. Quirke swung back with his arm, to which the #15 responded with a punch in the back.

As for what should happen to Tomás. I'll have to wait for the inevitable highlighting of the incident on the Sunday game tonight, which will of course lead to an 8 or 12 week ban. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Then the Limerick #15 came behind Quirke and kicked him in the ankle. Quirke swung back with his arm, to which the #15 responded with a punch in the back.
    Cameras didn't show that one. Hmmm.
    As for what should happen to Tomás. I'll have to wait for the inevitable highlighting of the incident on the Sunday game tonight, which will of course lead to an 8 or 12 week ban. :rolleyes:
    What's with the rolleyes? It was one of the main talking points from the game, of course it will be discussed. He should have seen a straight red for the cynical elbow to Kelly's head after he pointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

aint it just amazing that we get one of the best games we have seen in a long long time, yet people find something to whinge, moan and complain about.

Limerick were absolutely superb, top top class and deserved a draw at least, but Kerry won by 3 points, cos when the game was there to be won, they went into 5th gear and won it.

i have to laugh at all the negativity. wish people would jsut come on and say well done to both teams on a great entertaining game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

I was asking for your opinion.What do YOU think should happen to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

aint it just amazing that we get one of the best games we have seen in a long long time, yet people find something to whinge, moan and complain about.
    It's depressing. :(
    The Sunday Game will probably spend 5 minutes tonight showing highlights of the match and 35 minutes on whether or not Tomas O'Se should have been sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

DeepBlue wrote: »
    It's depressing. :(
    The Sunday Game will probably spend 5 minutes tonight showing highlights of the match and 35 minutes on whether or not Tomas O'Se should have been sent off.

I agree, things have really stepped up a level over the last couple of years in regards to highlighting incidents such as O'Se's. It is all part of the game in my opinion and we have internet users that have never probably kicked a ball in their life complaining about these things and the media just sensationalizing these incidents.

What the hell is wrong with playing good hard football, game is really turning into one big whinge fest. Kerry did this, Kerry did that, BOO HOO, the only thing Kerry have done is dominate football, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

absolutely nothing. if he gets banned, its a disgrace. you cant ban a man for yellow card offences. you cant just add 2 together and say its a red. the ref saw all 3 and took the aproprieate action.

why do people constantly whinge about kerry players, when they are doing no different to every other team in the country.

anyway, back on topic, again, well done Limerick, your team was top top class. I genuinly feel for ye, i wish ye would win a Munster, but not at our expense. the team is a credit to the county and restored massive pride in a country that has got awful exposure in the last 8 months.

you know whats amazing, Sligo and Limerick have given Kerry their hardest games in the last 2 seasons, Cork apart. what does that say about the likes of Dublin, Meath etc etc and the teams who didnt even get that far like Mayo.

Well, I was at the match following the ball go over the bar. I didnt see the incident so I couldnt comment either way. It sounds like a bad tackle deserving of a yellow card, but I'll reserved judgement until i see it properly. Strange thing is none of the Limerick fans around me made any issue of it at the time.

Im just sick of all this after match analysing. Shur leave what happened on the field, stay on the field. We'd all be better off looking at the wonderpoint scored in the first half by the Limerick forward, who kept the ball in play, flicked it over Tom O'Sullivan and stuck it over the bar. Score of the championship in my opinion. Was applauding it myself.

@Aidric. I know It wasn't show on TV, these incidents rarely are unless Paul Galvin is involved somewhere. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If you're talking about me I refer you to my earlier lengthy post. Thanks.
    the ref saw all 3 and took the aproprieate action.
    If you think the ref took appropriate action then I'd have to question if you have any clue. 2 elbows to the face and a lunge with his feet aren't worthy of a yellow now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

I agree totally. Cooper was dragged to the ground by two men in the first half and the Ref gave a free out.
    Quirke was targeted the second he came on the field, and was punched kicked and pulled for the remainder of the game.
    Kieran O'Leary was likewise targeted as soon as he entered the pitch by the Limerick #7.
    Donaghy was dragged for 70mins straight.... etc, etc. etc.

Just because Limerick hadn't won a Munster final in 114 years doesn't mean they should have preferential treatment. But Kerry fought on through these injustice's and found the strenght to win the game.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

See it goes both ways.

p.s To the Cavan poster claiming that Tomás would get 12 weeks in Ulster... Look within your own team first. Your full back Thomas Corr pushed a referee and got nothing. Glass Houses come to mind...

Your entitled to your views but i don't agree with any of your claims. Still though you seem to think that it was ok for Tomas O'Se to assault a player and go unpunished? Even Weeshie Fogarty on Radio Kerry said O'Se should have been sent off. Kerry down to 14 men could have meant a different result at the end of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ergo

Ian_K wrote: »
    TÓS should have gotten a straight red for his late hit, a yellow for the foot-trip and another yellow for raising his elbows. Him getting away with all three was absolutely disgraceful

I basically completely agree with this ^

can't understand how anyone can come on and defend Ó Sé and go on about a "good hard game" or along that kind of line...it was lucky a jaw wasn't broken, there is NO place for this kind of carry on, whatever county you're from

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Your entitled to your views but i don't agree with any of your claims. Still though you seem to think that it was ok for Tomas O'Se to assault a player and go unpunished? Even Weeshie Fogarty on Radio Kerry said O'Se should have been sent off. Kerry down to 14 men could have meant a different result at the end of the game.
    I never once said what Tomás did was ok, or should go unpunished... In fact I specificly said that I didnt see the incident so I cant comment. I wouldnt always go with what Weeshie says either. He thought Galvin should have been booked for diving against Tyrone in the league last year, when McMennaman grabbed him by the liathróidí. Just because he's from Kerry doesnt make him right all the time.

Having said that, Im not defending Tomás yet. But seriously, why analyse every incident with TV evidence. There are a million off the ball incidents which warrent yellow/red cards every game, just the camera's miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Yet another game handed to kerry by a ref.
    Who does a kerry player have to kill before theyre sent off?

The refs must scared that they'll be attacked the way Tohill was, by those ex kerry players that seem to "write" in every single newspaper.

I never once said what Tomás did was ok, or should go unpunished... In fact I specificly said that I didnt see the incident so I cant comment. I wouldnt always go with what Weeshie says either. He thought Galvin should have been booked for diving against Tyrone in the league last year, when McMennaman grabbed him by the liathróidí. Just because he's from Kerry doesnt make him right all the time.

Having said that, Im not defending Tomás yet. But seriously, why analyse every incident with TV evidence. There are a million off the ball incidents which warrent yellow/red cards every game, just the camera's miss them.

Fair point. I do seriously think though that trial by TV is wrong. There were incidents all over the field today and in every match there's incidents and if we were to analyse all these incidents on TV the GAA could be handing out suspensions to half the players on the field! Maybe football has changed too much over the years and maybe the game is gone too soft and us fans are too critical of the carry on in the field!

Yet another game handed to kerry by a ref.
    Who does a kerry player have to kill before theyre sent off?

The refs must scared that they'll be attacked the way Tohill was, by those ex kerry players that seem to "write" in every single newspaper.
    Yes an absolute scandle. Every Kerry victory in the last 126 years has been a conspiricy by the referee's of Ireland. I vote that Kerry should have every All Ireland stripped from them and that they be banned from every competition for the next 100 years. They have clearly intimidated the entire refereeing population of Ireland. Cheats of the highest order.

YAWN. If you are going to troll, put a bit of effort into it Pappy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Pegasusbridge

How can people excuse all behaviour on the basis that there might have been other incidents that we don't know about. Tomas O'Shea is one of the finest footballers in Ireland and has been for many years. However he hit stephen kelly with an elbow after Kelly had kicked the ball. That is a red card and he deserves to be banned (if the ref saw it and didn't send him off then that is a bigger problem). If there were other incidents then let a disciplinary body look at them too. That's the only way people will stop behaving like that. O'Shea is a fantastic player so he should concentrate on playing football.

As regards problems about the trial by TV debate maybe the best way of sorting this out would be GAA officals viewing the game on TV straight after the actual game and deciding before it's aired on RTE later that night that some incidents need to be investigated and this in turn will eliminate the Sunday Game crew going through that process? It probably sounds daft but in fairness it would avoid all the controversy caused by the Sunday Game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

Final result?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

BESman wrote: »
    Final result?

kerry 1-17 limerick 1-14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Yes an absolute scandle. Every Kerry victory in the last 126 years has been a conspiricy by the referee's of Ireland. I vote that Kerry should have every All Ireland stripped from them and that they be banned from every competition for the next 100 years. They have clearly intimidated the entire refereeing population of Ireland. Cheats of the highest order.

YAWN. If you are going to troll, put a bit of effort into it Pappy.

Well you certainly dont put any effort into it.

That elbow when he kicked the point was vicious, Chuck Lidell would be proud of that.
    That Limerick player is one tough mofo to get up after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Just got home from the game. My disappointment is tempered somewhat by the fact that we (Limerick) gave it everything, we left nothing on the pitch. I must give credit to both teams on some smashing scores. We needed a six point cushion at least going into half time, such was the strength of the breeze at pitch level. You knew 3 points wasn't going to be enough and so it proved. Kerry played a containment game in the first 35, funnelling a lot of men behind the ball, knowing well that if they could limit our scoring they would have the strong breeze at their backs in the second half. Thought when they blitzed us at the start of the second half, scoring 1-7 without reply, that would be that.

But credit our lads, we got a bit of luck with the goal and pushed on from there. Thought we slightly shaded midfield overall, though Quirke did very well when introduced for Kerry. John Galvin and Jim Donovan did very well there throughout. Stephen Kelly and Stephen Lucey were also fantastic, thought the latter did a great job on Donaghy. Best player for Limerick on the day was Ger Collins, who gave Tom Sullivan the run-around all day. Disappointed with Ian Ryan but he has other things on his mind at the moment. You must admire Kerry, they never panicked and worked some lovely scores at the finish. Mike Mac, Tomás O Se, Quirke and Gooch were fantastic for them, but the best by far was Declan O'Sullivan who controlled that area of the pitch throughout, although Shane Gallagher did do a good job on him when brought on near the end.

I thought the ref was ok, he made some bad decisions for both sides (O Sé incident) but he did try to let the game flow. The better team won on the day but we equalled Kerry for large parts and i couldn't ask for any more effort.

Ok, I watched the replays online on TV3's website. To be honest I expected worse. The first incident (the foot trip), is a yellow card 50-60% of the time. Due to the inconsistancies in GAA refereeing, you see that more often then not left go.

The second incident, looks bad alright. However, I wouldnt say that it deserved a straight red card. Similer to the Tadhg Kennelly incident in last years final, I wasn't an elbow but a late shoulder, the elbow comes up after the contact. Anyone who plays football knows this happens. I don't think there was any intention to hit with the elbow. However it was pretty late so it should have been a yellow at least, which would have put him off the field.

The third incident was a pure joke. They claim a rasied elbow, but his arms were just up to protect himself. Not even a free in my eyes.

So you have 1 definite yellow and one possible yellow card, meaning Tomás was lucky to stay on the field. However, these things happen in football. I dont believe he should be banned, as it was two seperate incidents.

Now It's obvious that I am not impartial in this. This is my opinion on the incident however, I can see where we are coming from looking for a suspension, but I don't agree with that opinion myself. Would it have changed the outcome if he was sent off? Yes.. but who knows in whos favour. Galway had Seán Armstrong sent off against Sligo last week and overturned a 7 point lead. Kerry more then likely would have done the same, stepped up a gear and ground out a win.

Sin é mo chuidse.

FWIW my opinion is that the trip was a definite yellow card.

The first "shoulder" was a straight red and the second raised elbow was at least a yellow.

Tomas knew what he was doing in each of those incidents and there's absolutely no doubt he should have walked.

I'm disappointed in him tbh, the trip was very petulant, and the two elbows were clearly malicious. It's exactly the type of thing Kerry could have done without after the recent Galvin controversy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

grenache wrote: »
    Just got home from the game. My disappointment is tempered somewhat by the fact that we (Limerick) gave it everything, we left nothing on the pitch. I must give credit to both teams on some smashing scores. We needed a six point cushion at least going into half time, such was the strength of the breeze at pitch level. You knew 3 points wasn't going to be enough and so it proved. Kerry played a containment game in the first 35, funnelling a lot of men behind the ball, knowing well that if they could limit our scoring they would have the strong breeze at their backs in the second half. Thought when they blitzed us at the start of the second half, scoring 1-7 without reply, that would be that. But credit our lads, we got a bit of luck with the goal and pushed on from there. Thought we slightly shaded midfield overall, though Quirke did very well when introduced for Kerry. John Galvin and Jim Donovan did very well there throughout. Stephen Kelly and Stephen Lucey were also fantastic, thought the latter did a great job on Donaghy. Best player for Limerick on the day was Ger Collins, who gave Tom Sullivan the run-around all day. Disappointed with Ian Ryan but he has other things on his mind at the moment. You must admire Kerry, they never panicked and worked some lovely scores at the finish. Mike Mac, Tomás O Se, Quirke and Gooch were fantastic for them, but the best by far was Declan O'Sullivan who controlled that area of the pitch throughout, although Shane Gallagher did do a good job on him when brought on near the end.

I thought the ref was ok, he made some bad decisions for both sides (O Sé incident) but he did try to let the game flow. The better team won on the day but we equalled Kerry for large parts and i couldn't ask for any more effort.

Finally, someone that actually understands Gaelic football

After watching a replay of the O'Se incident again i cannot see anything other than a suspension for him,it was a definte red card offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Just back in Dublin from the game...Devastated!:(.

They always give it everything and a much lesser team would have folded against the all ireland champions in their own back yard. Great to come back and make it a great game of football. John Galvin proved how good he is and 1-14 is fairly unheard of for a limerick football team.

A bit of good fortune and a different break of a ball here or there and things might have gone our way on the day but at half time I thought the writing was on the wall. We needed to be up by 6 with that wind that we had but I thought we didn't utilise the wind to its full potential. Ger Collins was immense as was John Galvin and Jim Donovan. I thought Lavin had one of his poorer games and being honest I think it's unfair the Kerry supporters saying the Limerick backs were hanging out of Cooper and Donaghy all day. Donaghy was grabbing a hold of Lucey's shirt plenty of times but thats neither here nor there. Kerry showed the big match experience that has got them to 9 of the last 10 all irelands (Think I'm right there) and were good value for their win.

I can't ever see Limerick getting over the line in Munster. I'd have given anything to see them win today and I think our chance is gone. We will inevitably lose by a point in the qualifiers and another moral victory. I'm very proud of the effort and commitment they showed today and am proud to be from Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Regarding the O'Se incident I havn't seen it so I can't comment but I think GAA needs to go the way of rugby and get independent citing commissioners to eliminate any ambiguity and put this great "trial by tv" debate to bed

Ok, having seen them in better quality, Tomás should get 4 weeks. From the online pictures it looked innocuous enough, but seeing the better quality, they were very poor challenges. The trip should have been a yellow, and the elbow should have been a straight red. No doubt.

I have no problem holding my hands up and saying im wrong. Indefencable. Very out of character.