What do you think of Paddy Power the bookmaker?

• 28-06-2010 09:16PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭

Paddy Power is on radio shows alot recently which is fair enough seeing as the world cup is on now and he is a very personable guy but I think he is trying very hard to come across as just a regular Joe Dublin who likes a bet, which he is most certainly not. Always being self deprecating and mentioning tales in a jovial manner of how the punters "have got one over them/the bookies"

I actually swallowed a bit of my own sick one the last time when he gave the impression that he doesn't have a clue about who to bet on in the world cup, but gave a tip anyway and said fair play to the trainers of horses who made "millions" to get one up on the bookies , as if he was the local lad down the pub raisng his fist in defiance.

I don' bet by the way so it ain't sour grapes. Just my impression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Bookies never lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Its a mug's game. The house always wins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

nice bloke like

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Paddy Power?
    He leaves a bitter taste in the mouth with me but some like him enough to raise a glass to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

sxt wrote: »
    I don' bet by the way so it ain't sour grapes.

You do bet don't you? It is sour grapes isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not alot, he has some of my money

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

he seems grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

....never made a book in his life...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

orourkeda wrote: »
    he seems grand

a little 2 grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Here's a tip: Stay away from paddypower.com and use betfair.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Here's a tip: Stay away from paddypower.com and use betfair.
    Here's a tip: STAY AWAY FROM BOTH! :cool:

Keep your money for drinks and clean hookers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Paddy Power?

Great name for an Irish Pride parade.

Which would surely have to be sponsored by Irish Pride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Biggins wrote: »
    Here's a tip: STAY AWAY FROM BOTH! :cool:

But you can't lose with betfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭sxt

I genuinely thought that this guy on the radio taking about bets was some radio jock who was abit clueless on sport but genuinely liked to see people getting one over the bookies .and I was enjoying the tales until I heard it was the billionaire Paddy power himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I actually swallowed a bit of my own sick one the last time when he gave the impression that he doesn't have a clue about who to bet on in the world cup, .

He doesn't.

He's the main marketing executive for a PLC company that his father named after him. He doesn't own the company and has nothing to do with it's trading. He knows no more about what to bet on than the next bloke on the street.

He's a top class PR guy though and quite a nice bloke. Some of the abuse he gets on the street would have caused fights with other people.

the billionaire Paddy power himself.

Definately worth a few quid but probable 995 million away from billionaire status.

He does not own the company.

Do you think he is being genuine on the radio though? You will hear alot of tales of people winning , famous /improbable /funny etc.

...but rarely hear from the majority losers?

He is just one of many that started up a business and fair play to him.
    Nothing against him personally. Don't wish him ill-will of any description.
    Each to their own and same when it comes to taking a flutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

he is a lot nicer than ivan yates

...but rarely hear from the majority losers?

He is just one of many that started up a business and fair play to him.
    Nothing against him personally. Don't wish him ill-will of any description.
    Each to their own and same when it comes to taking a flutter.

I don;t wish him bad at all either but I think he is coming across as someone he is not though. He comes across as regular Joe on the radio ,But he is advertising the excitment and fun of betting and big money to be made by betting ...Bascially he tries to pretend he is joe public...?

amacachi wrote: »
    Bookies never lose.

Paddy power will spin it that the bookies lose alot ,that is why I started this thread.

I don;t wish him bad at all either but I think he is coming across as someone he is not though. He comes across as regular Joe on the radio ,But he is advertising the excitement and fun of betting and big money to be made by betting ...Basically he tries to pretend he is joe public...?

I hear what your saying but regardless of money, be he rich or poor, he is a member of the public.

We all know why he might want to spin something a particular way - its in his interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

He doesn't.

He's the main marketing executive for a PLC company that his father named after him. He doesn't own the company and has nothing to do with it's trading. He knows no more about what to bet on than the next bloke on the street.

He's a top class PR guy though and quite a nice bloke. Some of the abuse he gets on the street would have caused fights with other people.

Definately worth a few quid but probable 995 million away from billionaire status.

He does not own the company.

His father didn't name it after him, a group of bookies came together. They got the name paddy from the whiskey they were drinking that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Know what the OP is saying; it's ridiculous when you hear him on the radio being asked for tips.
    It's in his interest that you bet with Paddypower and that you lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

I remember years ago convincing an American girl that Paddy Power on Dorset street was where she had to go to pay her ESB bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Seems like a grand bloke, but as I'm a sour bastard I don't like bookies.

And I've yet to see a poor bookie or a bookie on a bicycle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

he change his name by deed pole to Paddy Power after the company! He is a marketing genius, is guaranteed a job for life and has come up with some great money making schemes that generate the company a lot of free press!!

Fair play to Paddy Power an Irish company doing well for themselves.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

He is a complete and utter tosser.
    There is nothing he can do about Tiddles (or whatever it's name is), a poor little defenceless cat. Need I say more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Here's a tip. Find religion. It's like a free bet on whether there's a god.

nocal wrote: »
    He is a complete and utter tosser.
    There is nothing he can do about Tiddles (or whatever it's name is), a poor little defenceless cat. Need I say more.
    Yes, hopefully with a better explanation. ;)