Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Request bouncer ID number

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I wonder would the same people bítch and whine that there are no bouncers in an establishment when some filthy scumbag is smashing their face in with the heal of his booth? Or getting stabbed in the neck with a broken bottle? Just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I wonder would the same people bítch and whine that there are no bouncers in an establishment when some filthy scumbag is smashing their face in with the heal of his booth? Or getting stabbed in the neck with a broken bottle? Just wondering.

Yes because the only two choices are bad bouncers and no bouncers. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A lot of the "power-tripping" people whinge about is simply bouncers "doing their job" - they have a boss or bosses to answer to, maybe bear that in mind...
    That said, occasionally a bouncer has said to a friend of mine "Not tonight, you're too drunk" when they're not. Well they don't appear so to me anyway! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Frank66 wrote: »
    Was meeting up with friends last year for a birthday night and was refused admission to the Capitol bar on George Street. I had not taken any drink that night yet. I calmly said I was meeting friends that may be inside, could I take a quick look and The bouncer gave me no reason and said he didn't need one. Then my friend(girl) and 3 other girls show up and the guy lets me in. Later he said it was my shirt, which has a hockey team logo on it but there were clearly other guys in the place wearing football shirts so as I saw it, it was a clearly a case of proving he was boss, for no reason. There's good ones and bad and this guy was a jerk.

Everybody knows capitol is notorious for iffy door staff.

I'm actually amazed that I dont get more hassle from bouncers ,its usually only the short ones that are annoying.

Some of them can be cnuts rarely to me but to the girls that I'm with.This has the knock on effect of ruining my night because she's uptight and giving out for the rest of the night.I know its definitely a power trip.I was with a girl going into the mercantile a few years ago with a girl meeting her friends and the bouncer stopped us at the door waiting 15 mins was let in and the place was empty.

Sometimes I'll notice door staff in close proximity for a while the they will go away. I'll usually have a chat to them so they fcuk off to some other part of the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,576 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

DB10 wrote: »
    How do you doubt it though?
    If the picture is a bit off or something...?

I haven't a clue about this sort of stuff, but I wonder is there some symbol when you hold it to the light maybe.

I done myself a copy of my own for a spare, I thought it looked exactly the same except with a dodgey picture. Had to use it one night when I had nothing else, the lad on the door pretty much knew straight away....:confused:

A real drivers licence will have the picture under the paper that you can only see if you hold it up to the light also. The amount of fake provisional licences I see is pretty funny, but the quality of some of them is what really gets me, printed on cardboard, blue instead of green, photo taped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Melion wrote: »
    I had a guy try to use a bus pass a few weeks ago.

Surely you wouldn't need to ID a fella old enough to have a bus pass! :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Surely you wouldn't need to ID a fella old enough to have a bus pass! :eek::D
    :Dhe probably was a young looking 65 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

I was 16-17 just before the time they brought in the age card. I had a patch of grey hair from when I was younger and had an accident and you want to see the sh1te we used to use for agecards. there was one site doing EU or UN drivers licences others doing various forms of crap. Basically it was before the country went nuts about under-age drinking and we were providing cover for the doormen in case we were caught. also I know its not an issue in Dublin but in a lot of towns there is only one night club and if you don't get in then the night is over which can be a pain at 12 O'clock.

I have to say though I have never had much trouble getting into clubs, in fact I can remember on 2 occasions where I have gotten into clubs so drunk that Its only a few minutes after I'm inside that I come out of my black out :P

I think its usually that I can hold my drink most of the time in terms of falling around or becoming a loud obnoxious mess. I do pity bouncers in some places though. specifically places frequented by knobhead D4 types. I honestly think that these are some of the most loathsome people on the face of the earth who seem to become rabid arseeholes at the notion that someone who makes less money than them or there daddy may have some influence over the course of there night. really puts me off going out in certain parts of town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

While bouncers also have a good reason to refuse me (underage, 17 for a little while longer :P ) I have been told by people I look about 25 so that rarely come up. Starting going out around 16 and have been ID'ed about 4 times in my life

But aside from that have only had two altercations with bouncers that wasn't my fault
    The first time was by a relatively young bouncer who said " nah lads yous arent gettin in " after asking why he said **** off I don't need a reason. The three of us hadent had a drink yet and he was just being a prick so we left and got in somewhere else about 5mins latter :confused:

Second time was a bit more understandable but still odd. I was refused entry for being on cocaine despite never doing it or other stimulants. It was new years just gone and if you remember it was quite cold. Apparently I was grinding my teeth but I tried to explain that they were chattering form the cold. He was having none of it and we moved to get in somewhere again 5mins latter

That said the vast majority of bouncers are sound and do their job properly but a small few give the rest a bad name or mabey I am young and hacent been out enough to meet all the ***** yet :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭dingding

MrStuffins wrote: »
    GET OUT!!

You can't just go around making words tyzaesdd up!

Fixed your post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,036 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

you should have taken him....

taken him out for dinner and apologise!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

DB10 wrote: »
    I have a question for the bouncers in this thread.

How do you tell the difference between a driving license and a photocopied one?

Looks exactly the same to me....:confused:

Security lines, watermarks, currency-type foil thread, microprinting and uv printing.

mrDerek wrote: »
    hes not askin for a rhetorical question hes askin a simple legal question.

that bein sed i dno myself

It hurt my brain to read that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Abs by Google

Mine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

MrStuffins wrote: »
    As if a bouncer has ever changed his mind.

"Actually Sir, i now see that you are not at all drunk and are in fact fit enough to re-enter the premises. Thank you for showing me my error! Go right in and have a good night!"

Actually one did exactly that only two weeks ago after refusing to let my mate in as she was "apparently" too drunk. I had a harsh word in his ear and suddenly we were both very welcome into the establishment. So it can work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

If you think your experience was bad OP wait till I tell ya of mine. So I was going into a pub tonight on my own fairly sober only had five or six cans before. I have my two forms of id as always a passport and a student id so I go up to this pub and I was told that my passport is actually a fake. This is complete and utter bull**** and I was actually completely speachless when he said this. I honestly didn't know what to say to your man, I don't know about anyone else but I have never even heard of a fake passport being used by underage drinkers fine iv heard of them for immigrants who buy them for a few grand, but the closest thing I have seen to a fake passport is mates who have put a 2 over the 3 or a printed out page or something but these are blatantly obvious and easy to notice. The bouncer tries to show me how it's missing a hologram or something and uses this other persons passport which is one of the new type of passports and is practically entirely different to mine. I really couldn't believe it like honestly some bouncers are absolutely crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

yesno1234 wrote: »
    If you think your experience was bad OP wait till I tell ya of mine. So I was going into a pub tonight on my own fairly sober only had five or six cans before. I have my two forms of id as always a passport and a student id so I go up to this pub and I was told that my passport is actually a fake. This is complete and utter bull**** and I was actually completely speachless when he said this. I honestly didn't know what to say to your man, I don't know about anyone else but I have never even heard of a fake passport being used by underage drinkers fine iv heard of them for immigrants who buy them for a few grand, but the closest thing I have seen to a fake passport is mates who have put a 2 over the 3 or a printed out page or something but these are blatantly obvious and easy to notice. The bouncer tries to show me how it's missing a hologram or something and uses this other persons passport which is one of the new type of passports and is practically entirely different to mine. I really couldn't believe it like honestly some bouncers are absolutely crazy.
    They prob just didn't want to allow you in so came up with a terrible fake passport line.
    A simple "not tonight mate" is easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Rabies wrote: »
    They prob just didn't want to allow you in so came up with a terrible fake passport line.
    A simple "not tonight mate" is easier.

Yeah i was thinking that might have been why but he still let me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

ye roiggghhhhh.
    I didn't believe it either.

me neither, because a person's home address is not on their passport, among other reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I didn't believe it either.
    ye roiggghhhhh.
    sam34 wrote: »
    me neither, because a person's home address is not on their passport, among other reasons

Hey, I said it was a story, never said it was a true story.:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

In all my years of going into places, both when sober or drunk, I've come across maybe 3 or 4 utter knob jockey bouncers. Thats a pretty low %. Ive very very rarely had hassle. Then again I look harmless so maybe thats a lot of it? They simply figure Im not going to be hassle and if I am any hassle will be easy to handle. I'd say bigger blokes get more static from doormen?

You're gonna always have bad apples. A mate of mine's (sober)wife got injured when a bouncer mistook her for someone else and physically lifted her and threw her out. Lawsuit followed. Of course the security tapes got "mislaid" and the bouncers stories were works of fiction, but another place nearby had captured it and they had a lot of very good witnesses who backed them up. So if you do ever have a real issue get names of witnesses. Dont rely on the club/pub as they'll naturally tend to close ranks.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

How badly injured was she? It'd be great if the bouncers were done for giving false statements....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty badly roughed up. Cuts and bruises and a fecked ankle. They settled out of court when they realised the evidence ranged against them.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

sam34 wrote: »

Some people fill out the next of kin section in the back of their passport and this could very easily contain the persons home address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Some people fill out the next of kin section in the back of their passport and this could very easily contain the persons home address.

true, i forgot about that :o

still dont believe the story though :p