Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Request bouncer ID number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

derra_121 wrote: »
    Thats when things are really poxy when they do that.. pure and utter power trip there on simple as. They get kicks out of ruining 1 persons night.

Refusing people for no reason at all does happen I dont care what anyone says. The good aul Where are you coming from question seems to get me all the time... Generalising people cause where there from most the bouncers are from worse areas

Em I think when they ask that they are asking where you have been drinking before, not where you were born and spent your youth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

rossom wrote: »
    Was at a Dublin Nightclub last night which will remain nameless.

My friend was asked to leave for being too drunk which he did without hassle. I go outside to see if he is ok and then ask the bouncer what time the night club closes at. He tells me the time and says why did I want to know it, to which I responded that I just wanted to reaffirm it for myself. He now tells me I can't get back in because I'm making up fake words that aren't in the English language. I could see the bouncer wasn't letting me back in so I go away for about 45 minutes and try again later.

The second time he once again doesn't let me in and after a few minutes of querying why I couldn't get back in he proceeds to verbally abuse me. I then ask for his ID number (which is displayed on his jacket) which he point blank refuses to give me.

Am I, by law, entitled to get this ID number.

Cheers for any responses!

Have no idea why that laughing face is in the title of my thread!
    Another bit to the story which I should probably disclose. I have him on video verbally abusing me. Thats more of the reason why I wanted to know could I get his number.

Why ask for it? You already seen it :/

Sounds like he was being an ass. But nothing you can do.

Doesn't matter if you had only a few drinks. You had alcohol in you, therefore denial of entry rights regardless of a strong reason are on the bouncer;s side.

Just move on to the next place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

Was at a Dublin Nightclub last night which will remain nameless.

My friend was asked to leave for being too drunk which he did without hassle. I go outside to see if he is ok and then ask the bouncer what time the night club closes at. He tells me the time and says why did I want to know it, to which I responded that I just wanted to reaffirm it for myself. He now tells me I can't get back in because I'm making up fake words that aren't in the English language. I could see the bouncer wasn't letting me back in so I go away for about 45 minutes and try again later.

The second time he once again doesn't let me in and after a few minutes of querying why I couldn't get back in he proceeds to verbally abuse me. I then ask for his ID number (which is displayed on his jacket) which he point blank refuses to give me.

Am I, by law, entitled to get this ID number.

Cheers for any responses!

Have no idea why that laughing face is in the title of my thread!
    No.The doorman is legally obliged to wear the id on show to the public and should not be obstructed so you should be able to get his number
    Thomas828 wrote: »
    Unfortunately bouncers are nearly always a law unto themselves. They're failed policemen.
    I never applied for the guards so therefore am not a failed policeman and bouncers are covered by regulation upon rule upon law
    MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    You should have went home and got the gun.
    thats a great thing to say.the family of brian fitzgerald would love to see this
    orourkeda wrote: »
    What do you intend on using his ID number for?
    he can be reported to the governing body the PSA
    And do what with the video?

I'm pretty sure its useless as you can't record someone without their consent.
    you can record whatever you like once its in the public
    martyboy48 wrote: »
    In my day you would have been knocked out cold for looking at him sideways :)
    and thats why its became so regulated
    Melion wrote: »
    No we dont have to give out our ID numbers. If you want it, say it to a guard. They are the only people we legally have to give it to.
    and the PSA
    Meh, I've been allowed into places after being told I can't. Obviously if the bouncer was being a dick, or i'd done something naughty :D I'd know there's no point , but otherwise: if you do it properly, pleading your case can work.

I get the feeling that staying civil and reserved is the key to not giving power-tripping bouncers the level of satisfaction they crave.
    no it wont.the bouncer can form the opinion that you are becoming argumentative and refuse entry
    jordan.. wrote: »
    most bouncers are complete **** on power trips, law does not apply to them in most situations!

we should name and shame some places :P
    the law very much applies
    the best way to deal with a bouncer is to walk away while continually looking back at him with a smirk on your face, puts the shits up them because they think you might come back with a gang
    and he'll have a more trained gang ready inside
    That's a bit tame. A better way to do it is to go off and find his car and loosen the nuts on the wheel.* Happened to a ex-boyfriend of mine years ago when he was doing bouncer in Kilkee and refused some Limerick guys in because they were drunk and abusive. Next morning we had to take a friend to the bus in Ennis, driving 90 miles an hour to get there in time. On the way back he was doing 40mph because he was wrecked and taking it easy, luckily, the wheel flew off the car, over a hedge and into a field.

*sarcasm, not advice.
    and be done for manslaughter
    [

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Jesus, life's too short. Build a bridge. Move on.

etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

There's a lad in our town who's not the brightest. Famous story (around here anyway) that when he was 17 he tried using his older brothers ID to get into a nightclub. He was refused entry, so he turned around, walked around 5 feet away, pulled out a second ID belonging to a friend and walked back up to the bouncer. They nearly broke their bollox laughing at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I agree with Wazdakka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

If you've even had a few drinks forget about arguing with bouncers, your story loses all credibility if you have taken drink

I never argue with bouncers I realise that some of them are complete assholes and the vast majority of people hate them.I do understand they have a job to do and the sign of good security is staff that recognises and stops trouble right at the door.

In eastern europe they are called face control which means if they dont think you're pretty enough you wont get in.

The moral of the story is the sober mans story is always a more believable story than the drunkards story ,your honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

derra_121 wrote: »

Refusing people for no reason at all does happen I dont care what anyone says. The good aul Where are you coming from question seems to get me all the time... Generalising people cause where there from most the bouncers are from worse areas

Sorry I can't answer everyone's questions, but here's one I'll start with.

Derra, here you display your total ignorance to the situation.

Do you honestly believe for a moment that the door staff care a fiddled fvck where your from?.

We don't, doesn't matter a damn if your from Killiney or Ballyfermot to me. But you've suddenly arrived at the door and I want to suss you out, but I've only got seconds so you throw out any one or two of a few generic questions..

"Whats the story lads, where are yis coming from"...

"Whats the craic lads, are yis all together"

"where yis here before guys"...

None of it mean's a damn, trust me.

Chinafoot, and anyone else... If you ever go to a door and are refused admission on the grounds that you've breached some club/pub rules, ie caused a disturbance, snotty with staff etc.. First thing first, if your innocent ask for the manager (they'll rarely come out to you). Ask to see an incidence book or CCTV - they won't have either.. Then talk to your bloody solicitor and take 'em for a few boob!.

Possibly 70-80% of door staff I've worked with were very good lads, but 20-30% is a sizable amount of **** working the door.

Oh, regulation!.. Another government qwango, its not working, it was never going to work. Don't waste your time with it, if you feel you've cause for complaint see a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Sorry I can't answer everyone's questions, but here's one I'll start with.

Derra, here you display your total ignorance to the situation.

Do you honestly believe for a moment that the door staff care a fiddled fvck where your from?.

We don't, doesn't matter a damn if your from Killiney or Ballyfermot to me. But you've suddenly arrived at the door and I want to suss you out, but I've only got seconds so you throw out any one or two of a few generic questions..

"Whats the story lads, where are yis coming from"...

"Whats the craic lads, are yis all together"

"where yis here before guys"...

None of it mean's a damn, trust me.
    All true. You can gauge a person's level of intox very quickly by asking two or three quick short questions.
    The bar staff should do this too. Not as easy on the bar in busy period, but it works
    Not all door men are dicks. The front door should always have the more people friendly guys out front.
    We run the front door with 3-4 secuirty fri and sat.
    2 on the main door, entry and exit.
    another one or two for the road and footpath.
    Get denied entry and asked to step aside for a while and take a break. Usually 30-60min. Do it with out causing a scene or reappearing every 5min and you'll get in. Don't then the bouncers on the road will keep you away from the front door. No pushing or shouting. Just moved away.
    Come back the next night and its all ok, we don't hold a grudge. Once you're not too drunk, dressed ok, then its fine.

We had a drunk guy come to the door last night. He was denied entry. Tried twice more. Told to move away from the building. He went to the end of the line, took a piss in the queue against the venue, a bouncer walked to him and he quickly crab walked/ran away with his knob out pissing. He couldn't stop mid stream... was funny. He won't be back in for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

Another bit to the story which I should probably disclose. I have him on video verbally abusing me. Thats more of the reason why I wanted to know could I get his number.

Go back to the club and show the video to the boss, get the tosser fired and that'll teach him to stop being such a knobjockey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Nobody uses the word 'reaffirm' in normal, everyday speak, do they:confused:

I've used it in letter writing in work alright but doubt I've ever used it in general conversation......

'He tells me the time and says why did I want to know it, to which I responded that I just wanted to reaffirm it for myself.'

Not a hope thats the full story....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

No we dont have to give out our ID numbers. If you want it, say it to a guard. They are the only people we legally have to give it to.

well can someone tell me whats the point in bouncers displaying their I.D number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Time: Last night.
    Place: Havana's night club, Cork
    Situation: Me and my friends arrived at the night club door on the back of around 8 pints each, except for one fella who had around 12. Needless to say, he was fairly hammered. The bouncer or manager, not sure which, checks ID's and says, "ye are all OK lads, except you could use something to eat to sober up a little." We say, alright ya, we'll go with him then and proceed to go down to road to Sam and Dans thinking we aren't gonna get in but we will do it anyway! We arrive back at the door of the club after food and the manager/bouncer doesn't even make us queue, whisks us in the door not a bother about it.

Some lads are just sound and absolutely logical. Result! :)

Thank god Ive no interest in nightclubs or the pub scene, no interest in giving them my money..... rip off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,009 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

A few years ago, when I was working behind the bar, had this young upstart southsider come up and order a few drinks.

Looked at him, and said, "Sorry pal, any ID ?"

"yes I focking do," was his reply, and chucks a passport at me.

"Em, says here you're 17"

"So give me moi drinks"

"sorry pal, you're underage."

"listen, you pleb, do you know who I am, moi father is a solicitor and I'll have your job!"

"hang on a second... (looked at passport) Kevin (or whatever his name was) I have to make a quick call."

He stands back with a smug look as I go to the phone nearby.

"yeah, hi, can I get a number for (looked at passport again) the Farquors of 17 Knob Lane, Killiney please. Yes, connect"

His face was puzzled.

"hi there, my name is xxx and iwork in xxx hotel. I have a Kevin here.

He's your son? Well, he's threatening my livelihood, and as you're a solicitor, you'll know that's against the law.

Expect a letter from my solicitor outlining the actions that are going to be taken. "

I hang up, and go back over to Kevin.

"think daddy might want a word" and handed him back his passport.

Well, I've never seen anyone leave a bar as quick!

He was on his mobile running out the door!

(i didn't actually call anyone, I rang one of girls at reception. We had a nice laugh over it later)

No bearing on the bouncer story, I just fancied telling it.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Couldnt you tell after your first conversation that you were not going to get anywhere with this guy?

The amount of times i've got in on the second try blows your logic to pieces.

And what if the birthday is in that pub? Do you drink by yourself instead of sucking it in and trying again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Time: Last night.
    Place: Havana's night club, Cork
    Situation: Me and my friends arrived at the night club door on the back of around 8 pints each, except for one fella who had around 12. Needless to say, he was fairly hammered. The bouncer or manager, not sure which, checks ID's and says, "ye are all OK lads, except you could use something to eat to sober up a little." We say, alright ya, we'll go with him then and proceed to go down to road to Sam and Dans thinking we aren't gonna get in but we will do it anyway! We arrive back at the door of the club after food and the manager/bouncer doesn't even make us queue, whisks us in the door not a bother about it.

Some lads are just sound and absolutely logical. Result! :)

Well ye had the cop on to go off get a bit of grub, sober up a tad. Nothing to do with staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

A few years ago, when I was working behind the bar, had this young upstart southsider come up and order a few drinks.

Looked at him, and said, "Sorry pal, any ID ?"

"yes I focking do," was his reply, and chucks a passport at me.

"Em, says here you're 17"

"So give me moi drinks"

"sorry pal, you're underage."

"listen, you pleb, do you know who I am, moi father is a solicitor and I'll have your job!"

"hang on a second... (looked at passport) Kevin (or whatever his name was) I have to make a quick call."

He stands back with a smug look as I go to the phone nearby.

"yeah, hi, can I get a number for (looked at passport again) the Farquors of 17 Knob Lane, Killiney please. Yes, connect"

His face was puzzled.

"hi there, my name is xxx and iwork in xxx hotel. I have a Kevin here.

He's your son? Well, he's threatening my livelihood, and as you're a solicitor, you'll know that's against the law.

Expect a letter from my solicitor outlining the actions that are going to be taken. "

I hang up, and go back over to Kevin.

"think daddy might want a word" and handed him back his passport.

Well, I've never seen anyone leave a bar as quick!

He was on his mobile running out the door!

(i didn't actually call anyone, I rang one of girls at reception. We had a nice laugh over it later)

No bearing on the bouncer story, I just fancied telling it.

ye roiggghhhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

ye roiggghhhhh.

I didn't believe it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Frank66

Was meeting up with friends last year for a birthday night and was refused admission to the Capitol bar on George Street. I had not taken any drink that night yet. I calmly said I was meeting friends that may be inside, could I take a quick look and The bouncer gave me no reason and said he didn't need one. Then my friend(girl) and 3 other girls show up and the guy lets me in. Later he said it was my shirt, which has a hockey team logo on it but there were clearly other guys in the place wearing football shirts so as I saw it, it was a clearly a case of proving he was boss, for no reason. There's good ones and bad and this guy was a jerk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

On a normal night out i would agree with you, but say it's somebody's birthday and most of them have already paid in, or you're in college and it's a class party and your whole class will be there, or one of your friends is playing a gig in the place...it's a little different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

But get stopped for no real reason at times unfortunately

There is always a reason, always.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I have a question for the bouncers in this thread.

How do you tell the difference between a driving license and a photocopied one?

Looks exactly the same to me....:confused:

DB10 wrote: »
    I have a question for the bouncers in this thread.

How do you tell the difference between a driving license and a photocopied one?

Looks exactly the same to me....:confused:

We dont have to accept a driving licence if there is any doubt whether its real or not.

Garda Age card and Passport are the only valid forms of i.d accepted. The amount of people who try to get in using college id is very annoying. I had a guy try to use a bus pass a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

There is always a reason, always.

You don't know every bouncer. Just because you happen to be one of the good ones it doesn't mean they all are. I worked with a guy who boasted of turning away people at random for kicks.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

We dont have to accept a driving licence if there is any doubt whether its real or not.

Garda Age card and Passport are the only valid forms of i.d accepted. The amount of people who try to get in using college id is very annoying. I had a guy try to use a bus pass a few weeks ago.

How do you doubt it though?
    If the picture is a bit off or something...?

I haven't a clue about this sort of stuff, but I wonder is there some symbol when you hold it to the light maybe.

I done myself a copy of my own for a spare, I thought it looked exactly the same except with a dodgey picture. Had to use it one night when I had nothing else, the lad on the door pretty much knew straight away....:confused:

The colour of the paper could be off
    Poorly laminated
    Picture not sitting right
    Different font used in typing

A lot of people a few years ago used to use a scalpel to cut the picture out from the back of the licence, that was a dead give away.