derra_121 wrote: » Thats when things are really poxy when they do that.. pure and utter power trip there on simple as. They get kicks out of ruining 1 persons night. Refusing people for no reason at all does happen I dont care what anyone says. The good aul Where are you coming from question seems to get me all the time... Generalising people cause where there from most the bouncers are from worse areas
rossom wrote: » Was at a Dublin Nightclub last night which will remain nameless. My friend was asked to leave for being too drunk which he did without hassle. I go outside to see if he is ok and then ask the bouncer what time the night club closes at. He tells me the time and says why did I want to know it, to which I responded that I just wanted to reaffirm it for myself. He now tells me I can't get back in because I'm making up fake words that aren't in the English language. I could see the bouncer wasn't letting me back in so I go away for about 45 minutes and try again later. The second time he once again doesn't let me in and after a few minutes of querying why I couldn't get back in he proceeds to verbally abuse me. I then ask for his ID number (which is displayed on his jacket) which he point blank refuses to give me. Am I, by law, entitled to get this ID number. Cheers for any responses! Have no idea why that laughing face is in the title of my thread!
rossom wrote: » Another bit to the story which I should probably disclose. I have him on video verbally abusing me. Thats more of the reason why I wanted to know could I get his number.
Thomas828 wrote: » Unfortunately bouncers are nearly always a law unto themselves. They're failed policemen.
MUSSOLINI wrote: » You should have went home and got the gun.
orourkeda wrote: » What do you intend on using his ID number for?
Gummy Panda wrote: » And do what with the video? I'm pretty sure its useless as you can't record someone without their consent.
martyboy48 wrote: » In my day you would have been knocked out cold for looking at him sideways
Melion wrote: » No we dont have to give out our ID numbers. If you want it, say it to a guard. They are the only people we legally have to give it to.
Prof.Badass wrote: » Meh, I've been allowed into places after being told I can't. Obviously if the bouncer was being a dick, or i'd done something naughty I'd know there's no point , but otherwise: if you do it properly, pleading your case can work. I get the feeling that staying civil and reserved is the key to not giving power-tripping bouncers the level of satisfaction they crave.
jordan.. wrote: » most bouncers are complete **** on power trips, law does not apply to them in most situations! we should name and shame some places :P
admiralofthefleet wrote: » the best way to deal with a bouncer is to walk away while continually looking back at him with a smirk on your face, puts the shits up them because they think you might come back with a gang
up for anything wrote: » That's a bit tame. A better way to do it is to go off and find his car and loosen the nuts on the wheel.* Happened to a ex-boyfriend of mine years ago when he was doing bouncer in Kilkee and refused some Limerick guys in because they were drunk and abusive. Next morning we had to take a friend to the bus in Ennis, driving 90 miles an hour to get there in time. On the way back he was doing 40mph because he was wrecked and taking it easy, luckily, the wheel flew off the car, over a hedge and into a field. *sarcasm, not advice.
derra_121 wrote: » Refusing people for no reason at all does happen I dont care what anyone says. The good aul Where are you coming from question seems to get me all the time... Generalising people cause where there from most the bouncers are from worse areas
Drew Kind Cornflakes wrote: » Sorry I can't answer everyone's questions, but here's one I'll start with. Derra, here you display your total ignorance to the situation. Do you honestly believe for a moment that the door staff care a fiddled fvck where your from?. We don't, doesn't matter a damn if your from Killiney or Ballyfermot to me. But you've suddenly arrived at the door and I want to suss you out, but I've only got seconds so you throw out any one or two of a few generic questions.. "Whats the story lads, where are yis coming from"... "Whats the craic lads, are yis all together" "where yis here before guys"... None of it mean's a damn, trust me.
orourkeda wrote: » Couldnt you tell after your first conversation that you were not going to get anywhere with this guy?
Captain Morgan wrote: » This post has been deleted.
minidazzler wrote: » Time: Last night. Place: Havana's night club, Cork Situation: Me and my friends arrived at the night club door on the back of around 8 pints each, except for one fella who had around 12. Needless to say, he was fairly hammered. The bouncer or manager, not sure which, checks ID's and says, "ye are all OK lads, except you could use something to eat to sober up a little." We say, alright ya, we'll go with him then and proceed to go down to road to Sam and Dans thinking we aren't gonna get in but we will do it anyway! We arrive back at the door of the club after food and the manager/bouncer doesn't even make us queue, whisks us in the door not a bother about it. Some lads are just sound and absolutely logical. Result!
Sofiztikated wrote: » A few years ago, when I was working behind the bar, had this young upstart southsider come up and order a few drinks. Looked at him, and said, "Sorry pal, any ID ?" "yes I focking do," was his reply, and chucks a passport at me. "Em, says here you're 17" "So give me moi drinks" "sorry pal, you're underage." "listen, you pleb, do you know who I am, moi father is a solicitor and I'll have your job!" "hang on a second... (looked at passport) Kevin (or whatever his name was) I have to make a quick call." He stands back with a smug look as I go to the phone nearby. "yeah, hi, can I get a number for (looked at passport again) the Farquors of 17 Knob Lane, Killiney please. Yes, connect" His face was puzzled. "hi there, my name is xxx and iwork in xxx hotel. I have a Kevin here. ... He's your son? Well, he's threatening my livelihood, and as you're a solicitor, you'll know that's against the law. ... Expect a letter from my solicitor outlining the actions that are going to be taken. " I hang up, and go back over to Kevin. "think daddy might want a word" and handed him back his passport. Well, I've never seen anyone leave a bar as quick! He was on his mobile running out the door! (i didn't actually call anyone, I rang one of girls at reception. We had a nice laugh over it later) No bearing on the bouncer story, I just fancied telling it.
FUNKY LOVER wrote: » ye roiggghhhhh.
Limerick_Lass wrote: » But get stopped for no real reason at times unfortunately
DB10 wrote: » I have a question for the bouncers in this thread. How do you tell the difference between a driving license and a photocopied one? Looks exactly the same to me....
Melion wrote: » There is always a reason, always.
Melion wrote: » We dont have to accept a driving licence if there is any doubt whether its real or not. Garda Age card and Passport are the only valid forms of i.d accepted. The amount of people who try to get in using college id is very annoying. I had a guy try to use a bus pass a few weeks ago.